X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpackshack Reviews

1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
225 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice and clean place to stay located just above a small pub in a calm London suburb. Very friendly staff. Kitchen available. Not close to downtown but easily reachable by tube (30 minutes or less). 30-35 minutes from Heathrow Airport also by tube, walk included. Good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a fair review Amigo, glad you enjoyed your stay...

94%

Will def be back. Absolutely loved the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Sir, welcome anytime...

60%

Stay was ok. Bathrooms were clean and so was the room. Location is close to metro station (5 min walk) which was good. Supermarket and cheap food places nearby. As a lone female traveller, the accommodation was sufficient as I stayed in my own private room. However, the area the hostel is in did make me a bit nervous at times.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel, friendly staff at a reasonable price for London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the feedback, much appreciated...

97%

A very nice stay in here. I booked a single room which is value for money. Quiet and nice atmosphere, with strong FREE WIFI connection in the room.Although it's a shared bathroom, the bathroom is clean and big. Hot water comes naturally. The kitchen has all the kitchenware you want. You can just enjoy cooking anytime you want. Besides, the host is very friendly and provides travelling information to you. The BEST host i ve ever met!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for a great review! Was a pleasure having you here...

97%

The Backpackshack is the perfect place to stay for people who are on a budget and like to take a look in the life of the locals. Since my first visit, I've come back two more times. The rooms were always clean and big enough for all of my friends and their suitcases, which isn't an obviousness in a city like London. The Pub downstairs is another positive aspect I like about this place. After a hard long day sightseeing, you can sit down play pool, drink some beers or enjoy a chat with the owner.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, your comments are much appreciated. It's people like yourself who make it all worthwhile!

51%

The staff is helpful but unprofessional. The rooms only have the absolute bare minimum. The cleaning staff don't seem to realize there's people using the facilities. The location is fine for activities in the area, but not for a London vacation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The staff is unprofessional? We have a rating of 95% for staffing so I don't think that is very fair at all. In fact I went out of my way to collect luggage from your room as you went out very early and store it in my office for you... Location? You paid £26 for a one night stay in a private room. What exactly did you expect for this price? We are 15 minutes by tube to zone 1, Central London where the same room would have cost 2-3 times as much. Very poor and unfair review...

94%

Greetings to Mr. Alexander, he was the best host.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, it was a pleasure having you guys here...

1 2 Next » last »
(28 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback