X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpackshack Reviews

1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
334 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The shower could use a little work on it since it is not very powerful. There are a few signs of disrepair, such as wallpaper peeling off walls. Other than that I have no complaints.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
To be fair we are in the process of upgrading and during January repainted the top floor and relaid carpets throughout the bedrooms. During February we will continue with this and will replace the hall carpet at the end of the month. The wallpaper actually peeled (one little bit) only 1-2 weeks ago when I was painting which was unfortunate but will be fixed soon. By the end of February our facilities will be in a better condition than they have ever been.... Thanks for your feedback!

94%

A lovely place to stay for the weekend and a great value for money. People were friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Derek was lovely, so accommodating and happy to help us with what we needed. He told us the best way to get where we needed, and was so friendly. The bed was super comfy and we had a great stay, would definitely recommend and return.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Simple & wonderful: really helpful staff, nice and relaxed atmosphere :)


94%

Really friendly host! Felt very welcomed and was a very pleasant stay!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words, welcome back any time...

80%

Nothing fancy but very nice. The fact that there's a kitchen and cheap supermarkets near saves a lot of money and we never needed our earplugs as there was no noise from the pub at all (we were on the top floor). Nice and clean. Cleanliness of bathrooms and kitchen partly depends on fellow visitors. We spent a fun evening in the pub downstairs when they had live music and the locals and owner were very nice to us and interesting to talk with. Nice neighbourhood. About 30 min to central London.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

derek is a good guy nothings to much bother.basic rooms with a good pub down stairs sky sports and a good friendly atmosphere.good shops round about and the tube stations only 5 min away.great wee stay at a bargain price.cant wait to go back.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good man R, see you next time...

89%

Really nice people, easily accessible from London and great money for money. Would definitely recommend to friends

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

a nice little hostel situated a bit outside of central London above a local pub. The city center can be reached via tube within 20 - 30 min. though, and the price is excellent :)


89%

Very cheap and very cheerful. Very good value for money with an excellent location.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Derek was extremely helpful and we especially appreciated the free luggage storage! The rooms are clean and comfortable, but I would suggest adding rubbish bins to them, and the bathroom as well. Regardless, it was a great stay, thank you for everything!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Derek Alexander is the owner. He was extremely nice and went out of his way to make sure I found the hostel and he provided me tips on things to do and how to get around.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff, incredibly helpful. Location was close to the tube and lots of restaurants and supermarkets. I'll definitely recommend this hostel. Thank you for everything Derek!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great staff, very helpful. Nice atmosphere in the pub downstairs. Good value for money.


94%

Owner was very helpful and friendly. Hostel is above a bar but its quite so no need to worry about noise. Close to station, main street and local nightlife. Clean and tidy


74%

The people who own it were absolutely lovely and were incredibly helpful. The bedrooms were clean (however a bin would have been nice), but the bathrooms and kitchen weren't clean. I understand that he's busy running his pub but the bathrooms and kitchen were pretty gross - saying that, the other guests are partly to blame too. Location was close to the tube and lots of restaurants and supermarkets. Apart from the dirty facilities, the place was great.


100%

Great staff clean rooms


97%

It's a really nice hostel and staff are kind and great. I'll definitely recommend this hostel.


63%

Stayed for 6 nights in late Oct. Derrick(spell?)the owner- polite, helpful, offered map of the local town of Acton. Room/facilities are average & clean. Hostel is a 10min walk to the Tube. Main street of Acton Town is within a 2min walk and it has all the necessities: post office, cafes, bars, shops, church. Goods & dining are cheaper than in the city. Fairly quiet place. My only criticism: water pressure in the showers is way too low. Sinks are fine. Good price for longer stays.


77%

The place was basic as expected, located on the first and second floor of a neighbourhood pub, but cleaner and better maintained than any hostel I've stayed in in London. Breakfast is excluded, but there's a supermarket around the corned that even serves a cheap full English breakfast in its cafe, for the interested. Bottom line is: staff were friendly and excellent, the place was spotlessly clean and the location, though remote, is in a nice neighbourhood and on the essential Picadilly line!


(204 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback