X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpackshack Reviews

1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We were three girls attending summer school in London, and stayed at the Backpackshack for 3 weeks. The service was excellent, the manager was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and it was very nice to be able to access a kitchen to prepare and store food. The hostel is located about 20 minutes by tube from Oxford street, so its a bit far, but it is still a good price. We can highly recommend a stay, we will book a room there the next time we travel to London!


97%

We really enjoyed staying here. The neighbourhood is really nice, while it is slightly out of the way of the main tourist attractions, we actually enjoyed this as it was quiet and it gave us a chance to see a different part of the city. Everything is only a tube ride away anyways. Everything was clean and both Derek and Sue were very helpful if we had questions about London or if we needed to arrange transport. I'd definitely recommend this place to my friends!


89%

The Backpackshack had a very short walk to the Acton Town Tube which was easy access into London. When I got there, the owner gave me directions around Acton and two maps. I found this to be extremely helpful to anyone who was new to London. I felt at home there and very welcomed. I will definitely be going to the Backpackshack again.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and kind people, very good position near piccadilly line

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Pros: Derek and the rest of the staff are great! He is very friendly and willing to answer any questions you have about the city or how to get around. He is also very easy to get in touch with via email. Facilities are good-- we ended up staying twice! Cons: The hostel is very far out of the city center (30+ minute tube ride to anywhere in central London). Wifi isn't fantastic in the rooms, but good if you go down to the bar downstairs. Overall would recommend, but be aware of its location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Location is not ideal but I think you are a little harsh - we are 7 minutes walk to the nearest tube station then 15 mins on the Piccadilly Line to South Kensington which is zone 1 and one of the main destinations for tourists in London. Thereafter Knightsbridge, Green Park, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square and Covent Garden are only a couple of minutes apart... Thanks for a very positive and fair review otherwise, was a pleasure...

94%

Incredibly helpful staff, great room, ideal location, amazing kebabs up the road, super affordable, and safe area.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Incredibly great, amazing, and super review!!! Thank you, very much appreciated...

89%

Lovely stay in a lovely place. Derek (the manager) was very welcoming and informative, and helped us with all sorts of things. It is quite close to the tube, which is very handy. The place is quite old, but rather charming in its oldness. The kitchen facilities are quite nice, and the bathrooms are good. Good prices too, and in an interesting area. Lots of little cafes and grocery stores nearby. It was nice to be a bit outside of the tourist area.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for a great review. It is the kind words of people like yourself who make all the hard work worthwhile...

80%

Derek was an amazing host, could not do enough for you, thank you so much :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your very welcome!

86%

Nice and clean place to stay located just above a small pub in a calm London suburb. Very friendly staff. Kitchen available. Not close to downtown but easily reachable by tube (30 minutes or less). 30-35 minutes from Heathrow Airport also by tube, walk included. Good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a fair review Amigo, glad you enjoyed your stay...

94%

Will def be back. Absolutely loved the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Sir, welcome anytime...

97%

This was a great little place. It was a lot closer to central London than I imagined it to be...and it's very easy to navigate the tube. It is above a pub but was never loud. I travelled with my boyfriend and it was great for privacy. We liked the kitchen but wished it was a bit bigger. Very friendly staff. Would stay there again. Boyfriend adds: Short ride in from Heathrow with no transfers. Plus a grocery store is close.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Stay was ok. Bathrooms were clean and so was the room. Location is close to metro station (5 min walk) which was good. Supermarket and cheap food places nearby. As a lone female traveller, the accommodation was sufficient as I stayed in my own private room. However, the area the hostel is in did make me a bit nervous at times.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel, friendly staff at a reasonable price for London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the feedback, much appreciated...

97%

A very nice stay in here. I booked a single room which is value for money. Quiet and nice atmosphere, with strong FREE WIFI connection in the room.Although it's a shared bathroom, the bathroom is clean and big. Hot water comes naturally. The kitchen has all the kitchenware you want. You can just enjoy cooking anytime you want. Besides, the host is very friendly and provides travelling information to you. The BEST host i ve ever met!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for a great review! Was a pleasure having you here...

97%

The Backpackshack is the perfect place to stay for people who are on a budget and like to take a look in the life of the locals. Since my first visit, I've come back two more times. The rooms were always clean and big enough for all of my friends and their suitcases, which isn't an obviousness in a city like London. The Pub downstairs is another positive aspect I like about this place. After a hard long day sightseeing, you can sit down play pool, drink some beers or enjoy a chat with the owner.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, your comments are much appreciated. It's people like yourself who make it all worthwhile!

51%

The staff is helpful but unprofessional. The rooms only have the absolute bare minimum. The cleaning staff don't seem to realize there's people using the facilities. The location is fine for activities in the area, but not for a London vacation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The staff is unprofessional? We have a rating of 95% for staffing so I don't think that is very fair at all. In fact I went out of my way to collect luggage from your room as you went out very early and store it in my office for you... Location? You paid £26 for a one night stay in a private room. What exactly did you expect for this price? We are 15 minutes by tube to zone 1, Central London where the same room would have cost 2-3 times as much. Very poor and unfair review...

94%

Greetings to Mr. Alexander, he was the best host.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, it was a pleasure having you guys here...

80%

Clean room and toilet. Nice staff. Quiet neighbourhood allowing for a good night's sleep.


69%

Clean 'hostel'. Didn't really come over as a hostel towards me, more as some spare rooms above a pub. Room was small but clean, so are the shower facilities. There is a pub downstairs which opens around 8 p.m. but I never stayed there. Hostel is located in Acton which is a Polish suburb, you can party there and think you'll be in Poland... nothing wrong with tho! 5-10 mins walk from the metro station, so good connection to the rest of London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your review - well the positive parts. Not sure what your definition of a hostel is. I have spent years travelling, stayed at hundreds of hostels and find they come in all shapes and sizes. To say we are just a few spares rooms above a pub is just wrong. We offer clean and comfortable rooms, refurbished bathrooms, guest kitchen, free tea and coffee, free wifi, free maps, free use of towels, adaptors etc. We have a great bar with cheap drinks & cool staff. I could go on

66%

The hostel was fine, except in a bad location! It was located about 20 minutes by Tube from central London and in a sketchy location! If you are young and do not feel comfortable walking through a poor neighborhood at night do not stay here! When we came back from the Tube at night we had to take a taxi back to the hostel (9 pounds one-way).

Owner Comment (Hide)
You DO NOT have to walk through a poor neighborhood. We are on the edge of an estate but you DO NOT have to walk through it. The tube station is a 7 minute walk in the other direction. The taxi fare is £6 usually, and only £9 at Xmas & New Year. Our average score on location is 74% which tells me that your outlook is way too negative. We are 20 minutes from Central London but how much would you have paid for a private triple room in Central London? Way more than the £20 per night here.

(165 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback