X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Backpackshack Reviews

1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
334 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The Backpackshack is a really nice place to stay when visiting London. We got lots of information where to go and what to see from the owner. He was very kind and always interested in what we were doing. That created a very nice atmosphere. Still, there are some things we didn't really like. For example, the kitchen. It was not fun to stay there and eat your food. This needs improvement. However, we enjoyed our visit in London and the time at the Backpackshack.


97%

I've stayed in hostels in 4 continents and Derek is easily in the top 3 best hostel owners I've ever had the pleasure of staying with. He was unbelievably accommodating! Excellent hostel, will definitely stay here again next time I'm in London.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Welcome back, anytime...

100%

Excellent Service, very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back and stay if I'm ever in the area again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, very much appreciate your comments...

91%

Great spot I'll be back for sure.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Sir, see you for a few beers in the future...

74%

Very frendly and helpfull owner. Good beer.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The owner, Derek, was very efficient and readily available. Anything he could do to help, he offered and was very accommodating. The showers are great and very large!!


100%

Great hostel, extremely helpful staff! Not only recomend, as I m already planning to stay again on this hostel in August!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly and nice Scottish owner. Waited for us to check in despite our midnight flight arrival.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Would definitely recommend this place. The staff are amazingly kind and very helpful and so are the locals. Loved staying here and would come back.


100%

I recently stayed at the BackPackShack and loved it!!! Derrick was the best at indicating the best sights to see, giving advice whenever needed and really enjoyed relaxing with him and the others at the pub after a long day of sightseeing. If I'm ever to return to London I have no doubt I will book there again! Just the overall atmosphere at the BackPackShack made the visit to London that much more enjoyable. If you are ever in London this is the place to go!!!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Derrick was a great host. Clean, well-maintained, efficient place.


100%

Awesome. Derek was great and super helpful. Fully recommend.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantasic value for London! Staff were superb, Could not do more. Will definitley recommend! We was only there for one night and it was fairly in and out but from time I was there the service was 10/10

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great affordable place to stay in London, owner is very kind and helpful!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly staff. Hostel is "covered" under Talbot pub, so - from the beginning is little bit confusing to find Backpackshack hostel, but, after call to owner all was solved :)


89%

Friendly, great atmosphere and location

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We really enjoyed our stay, the hostel staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was nice and homely.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Would recommend to anyone. Lilies to the Piccadilly line, friendly staff, and clean facilities

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really good hostel. Derrick, the guy running it, was incredibly helpful and a really nice guy. The hostel is clean and 7 mins walking from metro. In terms of value for money it is excellent.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Although the Backpackshack is a 20-min tube ride away from the center of London, it can be easily reached, especially from Heathrow. Derek, the owner of the hostel, is a very nice guy and still let us check in at 2am when our flight was delayed :-) The hostel and the pub belonging to it have a cozy and familiar atmosphere; bedrooms and bathrooms are simple but clean and nice. So, everyone looking for a comfortable and rather cheap stay in London - the Backpackshack is your choice!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(204 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback