Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpackshack

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
The Backpackshack Located at 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London.
The Backpackshack
England
London W3 8JB 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB
83% 466
51.5064853 -0.2737140
The Backpackshack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.4

Door locks were broken. I went into first room, the door knob was broken,so I requested to change the room. unfortunately, the second room had the same issue. the staff is very friendly and very helpful. they have central heating which they switch-off during the nights, So in winters it can be really cold in the rooms. however, you can request for extra blankets. Morrisons is close by. Overall value for money. try to reach the hostel by 9.30PM.the area is not so good to roam late in the nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The door handle in the first room was broken, unfortunately it broke whilst the room was being prepared for you. There was no broken door handle in the second room and also there was no broken door locks. It is important to recognise the difference between the door handle and the door lock - NO door locks were broken, so your review is wrong. We have an excellent record in terms of security and are disappointed by your inaccurate comments. Also in over 7 years no guests have come to any harm in the local area either at night or at any time....

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
10.0

One of the better hostels I've been to - close to the supermarket, laundromat, public transport. Have made its pub my local (even though I now live an hour away).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.9

The Backpackshack was a very neat little hostel above a nice little pub. The people were interesting and there was a toilet, a bed and a shower. And for 25 quid. You can't expect anything more. It was a very tight knit place and felt very personal. I would totally stay again if I came round the same parts again and was in need of a bed. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2016
8.9

Took a trip to London for a gig in Islington and although the Backpackshack was a little far out of Central London (about 35 minutes on the tube/£30 taxi) it was an absolute bargain. Friendly staff, really cheap and we had everything we needed. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
10.0

I liked it the staff were polite and helpful even the night staff in finding me a cup of tea... a 3.00am when I could not sleep certainly stay there a gain..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic little find . Very clean . Staff couldnt have been more friendly andhelpfull. Will definately use again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

This place was more of a hotel than a hostel! All private rooms no dorms and proper private bathrooms as well as a large fully equipped kitchen. Seemed like a quiet family pub which I preferred as there is no noise for a good nights sleep and there's 24hr access if you want to go out for a party experience. The owner was lovely and helped us with our bags. Defiantly worth the extra couple of dollars a night for a couple or two friends. Wish we could have stayed longer I'd defiantly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.9

Authentic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
5.7

Kitchen open only 08:00-24:00 so forget about breakfast when going out early. No loundry facilities. Windows dont close proparly even in the bathroom. 2shower rooms for whole building. Good price(£25/ night)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
7.4

A quiet, chilled-out place to stay. Pretty far out of town, but easy access to the Piccadilly line and Heathrow (ten mins walk to Acton Town station), and easy bus to Shepherd's Bush/White City etc. The people that ran the place were lovely and really helpful. Pretty basic, but clean and tidy enough. Everything you need if you're on a budget and not needing to be in the centre of London. We were happy with our stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.