Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpackshack

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
The Backpackshack Located at 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB, London.
The Backpackshack
England
London W3 8JB 1 Mill Hill Road, The Talbot Pub, W3 8JB
86% 440
51.5064853 -0.2737140
The Backpackshack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.7

It is a very nice, safe and quiet hostel. I enjoyed my staying there very much, and the owners were great people!:-) I totally recomand it, and definitely I'll stay there again in my next visit to London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice place to stay, I'd probably repeat next time I go to London.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.4

Back pack shack was a really great place to stay in London. Our room was perfectly clean and had a large balcony. The kitchen and bathroom facilities were absolutely fantastic, the place like home very quickly. Only issue was accessing the east side of London. A trip to shoreditch took about 45-50 minutes from Acton Town station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
7.4

Stayed in a double room for 5 days. Staff are very friendly and relaxed, location is around 10 minutes walk to Acton Town station (30m to central). Room itself was clean with sockets, wifi and kitchen on the middle floor. Not a social hostel but clean and comfortable, accessible 24h as you get a key. Pricey but so is everywhere in London.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.6

This was a little rough around the edges , but clean , friendly and good beer and near acton town and tube station . the street was quite to .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Had a fantastic stay here. Very close to the tube station and over ground line. Lovely rooms, great kitchen facilities and very big clean bathrooms. Staff could not do enough for you, very relaxed and easy going. Felt at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.3

Adequate place to stay for a reasonable price in London. A bit tricky to find as first as the sign is saying "Talbot's inn", and we found no reference to the backpackshack outside. The reception by the innkeeper was pleasant helpful and hospitable. The building standard was not very good with some doorhandles feeling loose, and the lock to our room not properly fastened (made geting the key out a bit tricky, but the lock worked). But the place was clean, and not falling apart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.0

The bed was really comfortable. The room was a bit high (stairs). Only issue: window not closing and they say they couldn't do anything about it. Hopefully it was spring, not winter...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.6

Derrick was very helpful and the room was great! Clean bathrooms and usable kitchen space was great. The location was close to markets and the underground system.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
7.7

Rooms are kept simple (a bed and a closet), but who wants to stay at the hostel if he can visit London? ;) The staff is very kind and you can simply come in contact with people from that area at an evening in the pub. Beware that you have to walk about ten minutes to the underground and ride it about twenty minutes to the city. But after all, its worth its price. Tiny breakfast recommendation: look for Churchfields near the overground station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.