Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backpackshack

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jul 2017
9.1

Have stayed at this pub before. Convenient for west London and transport into the centre. Basic facilities but great value for money. Kitchen / bathrooms clean and all works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

awesome!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Walking distance from metro, super friendly staff, attached to a pub and walking distance from good food! Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
8.6

This hostel is a great value for your money if you'd like a private room. My boyfriend and I stayed here towards the end of our trip out of country so it was important we stayed somewhere close to the heathrow airport as well. It is a little bit of a walk to the train station but overall was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.6

This was probably the most basic of the hostels I've stayed in, but having said that, it was also the cheapest. And basic does not by any means equal bad. The staff were super friendly, replied to my query as to whether they supplied towels & hairdryer (they do) within 3 hours. The room was clean & secure, bathroom equally clean & secure. Shower left me feeling dripped on from a great height so they could maybe do to invest in a smaller head if the water pressure's not great. No other complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
7.1

it was a pity that the kitchen was locked until 8 o clock in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, there is a bedroom right next door to the kitchen. We believe the people in that room are entitled to quiet until 8am. Sorry for the inconvenience but that is why the kitchen is not opened before 8am...

14th Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent place to stay if you don't mind some extra travel time. Good wifi. Excelent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
3.1

The pub has a very musty smell, which is unpleasant. This smell is all through the hostel. The rooms are outdated and dire. Curtains rotting/ moth bitten. The bunk beds ladder didn't have a single rung on it to climb up. Terrible lighting in the room. Heater was not turned on until very late in the afternoon so rooms were cold. not very well organised, and not good value for money! The lock of the bedroom door was breaking also.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The smell in the pub was a temporary problem and is now resolved. I agree with you on the curtains, these will be replaced during our annual overhaul this month as will the bed. The door lock is not broken but the handle does need tightened which will be seen to - security is not compromised. Heating is on in afternoon and evening due to budget constraints. You do make some fair points but the level of negativity is over the top to be fair...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.