Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Backyard Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Limhs
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
4.6

The receptionist is too busy to attend. Checked us in at someone's room. Found someone else in the room with luggages. When we enquired back, she took the easy way out and said our room is a shared room. That gave me a shock as I bought a private room for two. Later after checking only she gave us the private room. Worst thing is "no free WiFi"!!. The sold the WiFi for NZD5.00 per user for 24 hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.3

Staff welcoming when I arrived. Room was comfortable. Bathroom + dining-room/kitchen clean. Would have been useful to have displayed stickers to put on hostel guests' food within kitchen area. No stickers on food so, technically, it could have been thrown away, so I alerted staff to the hostel's own signage. Two rugby teams were staying overnight and, around midnight or later, I had cause to get out of bed + ask them very politely to quieten down please. Grounds were clean, parking ws fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Mar 2017
4.0

This place feels like it's been stuck in the 70's and looks like like it's not been cleaned since the 90's. Kitchen and shower facilities are dreadful, rooms are crammed and overall atmosphere is absent. No alcohol allowed unless purchased at the bar. One plus: the pool is warm. Only stay here if there is no other option.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2017
4.3

Not worth what i've paid! The pics in your website are misleading

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Rooms basic but clean. Only had one plug socket for four bed room so would be handy to have another one. Reception staff helpful when assisting with booking tours etc. Plenty of kitchen and living space for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

The only problem we had was our room was too hot during the night otherwise we enjoyed our stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
8.3

Had a good stay, the hostel is a renovated motel. Lots of good facilities to include showers, pool, and a big common/kitchen area. Staff was very friendly and the facilities were very clean. A short walk away from downtown, very accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Nice heated pool and very secure rooms. Secure to the point we locked ourselves out of our own room. The staff was great and very professional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.