Hostelworld.com

The Backyard Inn

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2017
4.3

Not worth what i've paid! The pics in your website are misleading

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Rooms basic but clean. Only had one plug socket for four bed room so would be handy to have another one. Reception staff helpful when assisting with booking tours etc. Plenty of kitchen and living space for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

The only problem we had was our room was too hot during the night otherwise we enjoyed our stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
8.3

Had a good stay, the hostel is a renovated motel. Lots of good facilities to include showers, pool, and a big common/kitchen area. Staff was very friendly and the facilities were very clean. A short walk away from downtown, very accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Nice heated pool and very secure rooms. Secure to the point we locked ourselves out of our own room. The staff was great and very professional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Nov 2016
3.1

Bathrooms were grimey and not regularly restocked. No space in room for baggage or any lockers to secure valuables. Only one powerpoint in the room for four people to share; went down to common area and just as few in there. Beds were so uncomfortable; springs busted. Staff seemed pretty indifferent. Location is about 20mins walk from town and main attractions. Had to pay for wifi, $5 for 1 day, $10 for three days. Kitchen a decent size and common areas fairly social. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
4.3

the facility and the bathrooms are not maintained well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
2.6

Dirty, horrible smell, poor facilities and quality of room and rude staff. Would not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
4.9

This was one of the worst hostels I have stayed at in a while. Our private room had a strange odor. The staff was not very friendly and if anything, just wanted to sell us overpriced tours that I'm sure they receive kickbacks from. The showers/bathrooms are outside which made the stay during a cold night extremely unpleasant. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
9.4

The Backyard Inn was a nice cosy place that suited well for Rotorua. The wood and the colors used was generous and it was very appealing. We were 3 and took a 4 sharing room where a 4th person never came there, so we had it to ourselves. They had a huge lounge area and kitchen and everything was generous (maybe I was there when it was not a busy month). The hot pool was a great addition and the price is more than worth it. They also exclusively have discounts for many activities in Rotorua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.