X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Bowery House Reviews

220 Bowery, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
121 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very small rooms and noisy at night. Location was good.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Bowery house was an ok place to stay, but nothing more. You could hear the night clubs below and it was very hot at night. Very small rooms ! When ur checking in, you have to pay either 50 $ ore they keep your passport in case of any damage. We gave our password, which they just had under the counter, not in a safe as promised. Also not impressed with the service, the hostel couldn't find our reservation at first, and the guy was pretty rude about it !


83%

The price for a private room at this hostel is very reasonable considering its location in Manhatten. The private room is very small and the beds are short. The rooms are like cubicles, located in one very large room, making it very easy to hear anything going on in adjacent rooms. The bathrooms were stylish and kept clean. The staff at the desk were friendly and knowledgeable. I've stayed here twice and will return again. It suited all my needs for a place to stay on weekend trips in NYC.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

Bed's too small, I couldn't even straighten out on the bed without my head and feet hitting the walls. Rooms ridiculously small. Couldn't sleep, way too much noise. Toilets always disgusting.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel has a really cool vibe, its decorated really well and has some cool areas to hang out. However from a functionality standpoint, it's horrible. The sleeping arrangements are as bad as the reviews say. My partner and I were upgraded for free to private rooms - which are absolutely tiny. In a room which sleeps 40 people, it only takes 1 dude open mouth burping or gossiping on the phone to wake up the whole room. You will not sleep well. Definitely do not stay here for an extended period.


49%

Avoid!!!!!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I always stay at the Bowery house when on a budget in NYC

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice neighbourhood. Close to everything. The staff was very friendly. I think it was too expensive considering the size of the room. The bed just fit into the room (I'd rather call it a cubicle, since the walls didn't go all the way up to the ceiling and one could hear everything going on around - the hostel provided earplugs though) and I couldn't fully stretch. Also I could just fit my bag next to the bed. But I suppose it's cool if you're only going to sleep there. Bathrooms were clean.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome place. Keep in mind that the rooms are small and little noisy, expecially if someone makes a call in his room. The staff is great and the place is well connected.


66%

You should provide a more accurate picture of the size of you single bed 'rooms'. Fix the bathroom doors (perhaps rubber stoppers?) so they don't unnecesarily slam shut, waking-up all those people sleeping in nearby single bed rooms.


74%

Yo, they tell you to leave your room key because it's a $20 fine if you lose the key but then when you come back in you literally just have to ask for the key to the room and show no ID whatsoever. I mean. ALSO the private rooms, girl, you better not even have any kind of big luggage because it's a twin bed with walls around it. PLUS the walls are not all the way to the ceiling, and I get it, heating cooling whatever, but a garden lattice roof?!?!?!?! I felt like it was rude to cough.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, easy access to public transport, restaurants, bars etc. Bathrooms kept very clean and comfortable couches in the lobby. Rooms are very small, beds are not suitable to anybody over 5'9 and the noise travels greatly between but earplugs are supplied. If your after a cheap bed in a central location then the Bowery is sufficient. Not a good spot for meeting other travelers or for hanging out in.


66%

Smallest hostel rooms ever. Could not even fully stretch legs while on the bed because it hit the wall.


97%

Great location for the money. Will be back

  • 4th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The baths can be better , the stay was good in general


54%

The private room is smaller than jail, the hall is so dark. Visitors were very careful, but the structure makes there is not quiet. Location is really good, but compare with price, that is unacceptable place. No elebator, dryer..I used 2towels for 3days. If I go to NY one more time, I'll not choose this hostel.

  • 31st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Please beware, the rooms have no roof (it is a big hall separated by thin walls), so it is very noise. You hear everything that's going on in the other rooms and vice versa. If you are very sensitive to noise when you sleep, don't stay here. Otherwise it is an okay hostel in a good location and about as outrageously expensive as any other form of accommodation on the great island of Manhattan.


63%

The place to sleep is too small (really really too small: no windows, no roof, just boxes with a bed) and then, too noisy.

  • 30th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Great area, shame about the hostel. The small beds, the ability to hear every single thing everyone else on the whole floor is doing in their room and the constant light shining into your room all night long are a hundred times worse than any review can communicate. Not recommended if you actually want to sleep.

  • 24th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms are crazy. Definately not european style but still acceptable.

  • 13th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback