X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Bowery House Reviews

220 Bowery, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
145 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very clean good value for money in a good location. Standard rooms are a bit small if your on the tall side so would recommend upgrading but dont let that put you off as im 6ft 5 and would stay again.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was great. The rooms were a little small but other than that everything was awesome. The staff was super helpful and the showers were great, they were always cleaning the place

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location. The cabins are tiny and the walls are paper thin - so, not suitable for light sleepers, but the beds are clean and comfortable; it's a place good enough to shower (good shower facilities with free body wash and shampoo from Red Flower) and to sleep for the night. Staff is helpful. If you are on a budget, this is the place to be. However, be prepared to wake up early every morning - due to the thin walls, you can hear clearly everybody's alarms going off in the morning.


57%

The rooms are way to small. It was hard to sleep because I couldn't fully extend my legs (I'm 6 feet tall).

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location! Very small rooms (cabins) and not suitable for tall people over 175cm! Very clean. A nice place if you are going to spend mist of your time out.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I am only 1.6m tall, so I had a very comfy stay and I really liked the atmosphere.


94%

I loved staying here. The location is literally where Chinatown/Soho/Noho/Greenwich/East Village all cross. Walking to anything in this part of lower Manhattan is incredibly convenient. Want to go to Midtown or Upper Manhattan??.. no problem - the train you need is about 5 min walk. They have 24hr security and always an additional 1 or 2 people at the check in desk. Also, the place wasn't too busy so I was able to be in a bunk room all by myself! It was plenty warm and everyone was really nice.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

Awesome location! Nice bathrooms! The rest is pretty average. Cabins are pretty much like sleeping in a dorm room as you can hear everything. Overpriced but i guess thats NYC for you.


71%

Great location, short walk from the subway. Hostel was nice and clean. Some staff were great and useful, others were to busy watching videos on YouTube to greet you. The hostel is very secure, you have to leave your key on receiption if you are going out for any reason. Watch out if your in room 412, The air conditioning directly above you. Causing you will wake up with dry lips and bugs being blown out of it. Roof top garden was nice, giving you a nice view over New York, but was always empty.


74%

Neighborhood seems a little scary . It was a little scary when I go out early in the morning And can come in at night . The room is on the order of about a little larger than a single bed . And it's a little darker . there Is a partition , but the sound of the next room I will . Staff still kind Can you shed movies on the roof at night every Thursday


91%

Loved the atmosphere, the theme, and the staff was incredible. Roof top garden is a perfect place to chill out and relax. Perfect neighborhood and close to trains that will take you uptown or downtown. Walking distance for shops, bars,

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Single room is a wooden cabin. It allows somewhat privacy but you can still hear the person snoring next door. No ceilings. Beds are short. You have to bend your knees in order to fit. Bathrooms can be considered as clean. You can't compare it to a hotel but overall it is a high class hostel.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff answered any questions I had, and were inviting.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is key. In the middle of a beautiful area of NY, bars and restaurants everywhere. Would definitely recommend this place. A word of warning, the rooms are comically small, but you shouldn't need to use it that much anyway!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Very small rooms and noisy at night. Location was good.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Bowery house was an ok place to stay, but nothing more. You could hear the night clubs below and it was very hot at night. Very small rooms ! When ur checking in, you have to pay either 50 $ ore they keep your passport in case of any damage. We gave our password, which they just had under the counter, not in a safe as promised. Also not impressed with the service, the hostel couldn't find our reservation at first, and the guy was pretty rude about it !


83%

The price for a private room at this hostel is very reasonable considering its location in Manhatten. The private room is very small and the beds are short. The rooms are like cubicles, located in one very large room, making it very easy to hear anything going on in adjacent rooms. The bathrooms were stylish and kept clean. The staff at the desk were friendly and knowledgeable. I've stayed here twice and will return again. It suited all my needs for a place to stay on weekend trips in NYC.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Bed's too small, I couldn't even straighten out on the bed without my head and feet hitting the walls. Rooms ridiculously small. Couldn't sleep, way too much noise. Toilets always disgusting.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel has a really cool vibe, its decorated really well and has some cool areas to hang out. However from a functionality standpoint, it's horrible. The sleeping arrangements are as bad as the reviews say. My partner and I were upgraded for free to private rooms - which are absolutely tiny. In a room which sleeps 40 people, it only takes 1 dude open mouth burping or gossiping on the phone to wake up the whole room. You will not sleep well. Definitely do not stay here for an extended period.


49%

Avoid!!!!!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback