X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Bowery House Reviews

220 Bowery, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
130 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Great location, short walk from the subway. Hostel was nice and clean. Some staff were great and useful, others were to busy watching videos on YouTube to greet you. The hostel is very secure, you have to leave your key on receiption if you are going out for any reason. Watch out if your in room 412, The air conditioning directly above you. Causing you will wake up with dry lips and bugs being blown out of it. Roof top garden was nice, giving you a nice view over New York, but was always empty.


74%

Neighborhood seems a little scary . It was a little scary when I go out early in the morning And can come in at night . The room is on the order of about a little larger than a single bed . And it's a little darker . there Is a partition , but the sound of the next room I will . Staff still kind Can you shed movies on the roof at night every Thursday


91%

Loved the atmosphere, the theme, and the staff was incredible. Roof top garden is a perfect place to chill out and relax. Perfect neighborhood and close to trains that will take you uptown or downtown. Walking distance for shops, bars,

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Single room is a wooden cabin. It allows somewhat privacy but you can still hear the person snoring next door. No ceilings. Beds are short. You have to bend your knees in order to fit. Bathrooms can be considered as clean. You can't compare it to a hotel but overall it is a high class hostel.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff answered any questions I had, and were inviting.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is key. In the middle of a beautiful area of NY, bars and restaurants everywhere. Would definitely recommend this place. A word of warning, the rooms are comically small, but you shouldn't need to use it that much anyway!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Very small rooms and noisy at night. Location was good.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Bowery house was an ok place to stay, but nothing more. You could hear the night clubs below and it was very hot at night. Very small rooms ! When ur checking in, you have to pay either 50 $ ore they keep your passport in case of any damage. We gave our password, which they just had under the counter, not in a safe as promised. Also not impressed with the service, the hostel couldn't find our reservation at first, and the guy was pretty rude about it !


83%

The price for a private room at this hostel is very reasonable considering its location in Manhatten. The private room is very small and the beds are short. The rooms are like cubicles, located in one very large room, making it very easy to hear anything going on in adjacent rooms. The bathrooms were stylish and kept clean. The staff at the desk were friendly and knowledgeable. I've stayed here twice and will return again. It suited all my needs for a place to stay on weekend trips in NYC.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Bed's too small, I couldn't even straighten out on the bed without my head and feet hitting the walls. Rooms ridiculously small. Couldn't sleep, way too much noise. Toilets always disgusting.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel has a really cool vibe, its decorated really well and has some cool areas to hang out. However from a functionality standpoint, it's horrible. The sleeping arrangements are as bad as the reviews say. My partner and I were upgraded for free to private rooms - which are absolutely tiny. In a room which sleeps 40 people, it only takes 1 dude open mouth burping or gossiping on the phone to wake up the whole room. You will not sleep well. Definitely do not stay here for an extended period.


49%

Avoid!!!!!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I always stay at the Bowery house when on a budget in NYC


66%

Nice neighbourhood. Close to everything. The staff was very friendly. I think it was too expensive considering the size of the room. The bed just fit into the room (I'd rather call it a cubicle, since the walls didn't go all the way up to the ceiling and one could hear everything going on around - the hostel provided earplugs though) and I couldn't fully stretch. Also I could just fit my bag next to the bed. But I suppose it's cool if you're only going to sleep there. Bathrooms were clean.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome place. Keep in mind that the rooms are small and little noisy, expecially if someone makes a call in his room. The staff is great and the place is well connected.


66%

You should provide a more accurate picture of the size of you single bed 'rooms'. Fix the bathroom doors (perhaps rubber stoppers?) so they don't unnecesarily slam shut, waking-up all those people sleeping in nearby single bed rooms.


74%

Yo, they tell you to leave your room key because it's a $20 fine if you lose the key but then when you come back in you literally just have to ask for the key to the room and show no ID whatsoever. I mean. ALSO the private rooms, girl, you better not even have any kind of big luggage because it's a twin bed with walls around it. PLUS the walls are not all the way to the ceiling, and I get it, heating cooling whatever, but a garden lattice roof?!?!?!?! I felt like it was rude to cough.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, easy access to public transport, restaurants, bars etc. Bathrooms kept very clean and comfortable couches in the lobby. Rooms are very small, beds are not suitable to anybody over 5'9 and the noise travels greatly between but earplugs are supplied. If your after a cheap bed in a central location then the Bowery is sufficient. Not a good spot for meeting other travelers or for hanging out in.


66%

Smallest hostel rooms ever. Could not even fully stretch legs while on the bed because it hit the wall.


97%

Great location for the money. Will be back

  • 4th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback