Hostelworld.com

The Bulldog

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3053 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay the only problem was in my dorm of 12 there were a group of girls being noisy thru the night and very unclean. I know this is out of your hands but I wish these sort of people could be banned to stay in hostels. Just makes it bad for other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
8.9

The staff is not as good and warm as you expect them to be. The location is great, just beside De Wallen and walking distance from the central station, dam square and Jordaan. So you can reach to all the places in around a 20-25 minute walk tops. The hype has gotten into the staff's head though. A good experience, definitely recommended but majorly due to the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.7

It is a special hostel, you must stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Perfect hotel loved our stay there, I will 100% be returning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.6

Will be recommending to all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

The hostel was very well located and the breakfast was satisfying. However I had previously emailed the hotel staff if my large suitcase would fit the lockers and they told me yes which was not the case. They did not offer me any other solution when I got there and found out and so I had to leave my suitcase with all my values just hanging in my dorm. The staff was also not very helpful when I asked for directions and attractions in Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

Enjoyed the location a lot, but it was difficult to meet people while traveling alone. The bar/smoking room was loud, dark, and hazy so it was difficult to try to meet other people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.6

Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere inside. Quickly literally in the middle of anywhere you would want to go in dam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words! we hope that the location managed to save you a lot of money in transportation costs!

27th Jan 2017
7.4

Had a great time and it's easy to meet all kind of people. A stones throw from the red-light district and everything you need is close by. Pretty central to all the sights in Amsterdam as well. Only thing was our room was super hot and it can get noisy since you are right on a street with heavy foot traffic. Would stay again though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words. You know - in every room, there is a temperature control, so you can decide for yourself how hot or cold! any trouble, just ask us and we'll be happy to help :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel, spacious room with Wi-fi and power points by bedside. Lockers are provided but you require you own lock. Locks can be bought from vending machine at reception. The bar downstairs is very cosy and had a great atmosphere. Bed are very comfortable with clean bedding. This place is one of the top hostel I have been to in Europe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.