Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3094 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • craiglambard
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel, really enjoyed my stay! Only thing I would say I wasn't 100% on was the hotel bar. It's very small and it's super hard to get a table. But everything els was perfect. Clean, safe and the staff are nice and super helpful! I'll be back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
9.1

The Bulldog is a great place to stay. Being that it is in the middle of the Red Light District, some people would be hesitant to stay there, but it is a great place. When you get to your room, there isn't much more than that bed. As far as I could tell, a towel for the shower isn't provided. When you walk out the front door, everything you would need is within 2 minutes. I would highly recommend staying there, and I would go back too. Good value, and good people that work there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Really happy with my stay, ideal location,all the facility's you need. Friendly staff and lovely food, coming back in September ....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

I loved everything about The Bulldog. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, and the facilities were top-notch. I would definitely stay here again. However, we chose to stay in a mixed 12-person dorm which to our surprise only had one shower. This was our first time staying in a hostel so we were not sure if this was normal, but having two showers for twelve people seems much more reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.7

In a great location with very comfy beds. Sometimes hard to meet other solo travelers as many are in groups and the bar is very hard to meet others. Would stay here again though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

The bulldog is a wonderfully located option, though more of a hotel than a hostel. It's a street away from the red light district, and situated between many (busy) coffee shops. A fun 20 minute walk will put you in the heart of the museums. Staff was always helpful, and the 24h security eased any worries I had. Comfy beds, and large rooms. With the bar downstairs it can be a little loud, and with a cafe a wall away, the smell can be quite strong. All in all a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
6.6

The location is great - right in the Red Light District and surrounded by lots of fun bars and places to explore. The included breakfast is also pretty good. However, I was very disappointed with the completely bare bones dorms - there was no soap or shampoo. Usually people will leave things to share or at the bathroom will at least have soap by the sink. But it was completely lacking of any amenities. For 45 euro a night for a bed in a room with 12 other people, you can do better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, There is plenty of free soap and free shampoo , along with free towels. to use. You need only ask at the reception. thank you for your comments.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

Best lokated hostel in Amsterdam, right in the middle of the famous red light distrikt. Great sekurity, friendly staff, shower was in the room I stayed at. I booked in advance so got a great price. Overall would very much rekommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel. Toilet and shower are in two different rooms which is great when sharing a room with 6+ people. Red Light District is kind of loud at night so be aware of that if you need quiet to sleep. It's also the first hostel I've seen with an elevator.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words and we are glad you enjoyed yourself :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.