Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
The Bulldog Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, , Amsterdam.
The Bulldog
Netherlands
Amsterdam Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220
85% 2846
52.3724191 4.8962705
The Bulldog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
5.7

I stayed 3 days 2 nights, The room smelled musty, you have to ask for the shampoo and soap at the Lobby The staff is more rude than friendly, mainly in the Lobby. Breakfast: You can't take more than 2 eggs in the breakfast otherwise, one bold guy will make you return the additional eggs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nmkay
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

I had such a rest time staying at the Bulldog Hotel with my friends. Only problem was the slow internet, but other than that security is strict and the location is conveniently close to many bars, restaurants and coffee shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
10.0

I accidentally booked this hostel on the wrong day when I was in town. When I tried to check in and realized my mistake, the hostel was fully booked for that night. But the manager was SO nice and helpful! He cancelled our reservation for free and even helped us find another place to stay. I wish that I had gotten to stay here because it's in an awesome location, the atmosphere was great, and it was really clean! I'll definitely be staying here next time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing atmosphere in the heart of Amsterdam. Best coffeshop and loungebar ever

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay and excellent location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.9

Great Hostel only five mins away from the Dam Square and a ten minute walk to Centraal Station. Friendly staff and lively atmosphere. Only warning I would give is that it is located next to a coffeeshop where they sell weed, not a problem for me or most but if you aren't comfortable around that sort of thing then maybe don't stay here. That aside I had a fantastic time and felt safe and comfortable staying there, definitely would recommend and will probably go again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
28th Aug 2016
9.7

Excellent location in the centre of Amsterdam. The room was very clean and comfortable, and was very quiet inside despite being so close to the central tourist area of the city. The beds were also extremely comfortable, and staff were helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location! The staff were lovely and we always felt safe. This hostel had everything we needed for our time in Amsterdam. We will definitely come back here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The Bulldog hostel was in a great location. About a 13 minute walk to the main train station, and close to endless food options and shops. I walked from the train station to the hostel at 1am, and along the way it was a bit intimidating being a solo female traveller, but once I arrived, the staff welcomed me with enthusiasm. They have a good security system, as there are staff monitoring at the door who comes and goes. The beds were clean, as well as the washrooms. Def would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

Loved it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.