Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
10.0

The Bulldog is a fun place to stay! They were accommodating, friendly, and it was awesome to have access to their wifi all down the street at their bar, coffeeshop and cafe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel to stay at. Extremely comfortable and in the best location. Everything is either on the same street as the bulldog or not more than 10 mins away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Bulldog is an iconic location in the heart of red light Amsterdam. When I come to Amsterdam, I stay at bulldog. This is what you are looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a million for the kind words!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Only negative is the wifi logs you out all the time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, The alternative is that you cannot connect because hundreds of people are connected and not using their phones! Glad you had a nice time , we'll hope to see you again.

15th Jun 2017
4.3

Had an issue with booking and both front desk personnel were really aggressive about it and tried their best to convince us it was our fault. The shower had a drainage problem and smelled of urine. Door handle fell off of the bathroom door in the middle of the night. Hallways had an extremely unpleasant odor as well. Lobby area was really dark and dingy feeling.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Let me just clear this up....Frankly, this was your fault. What actually happened is that on 15.03.17 you emailed us, asking us to change your arrival date from the 15th to the 14th of June: " The Bulldog Hotel - Info; Ok can you add the 14th to our existing reservation? Sent from my iPhone. We happilly did this for you and sent an updated booking confirmation to you. On the 14th you never arrived. As per the policy, you were charged and the booking was then cancelled. You then arrived on the 15th after emailing that you, our hostel is full each day in summer. Our staff scrambled to make sure that we could find you a bed since you did not come when you said you would and we didint want to just send you in to the busy streets of Amsterdam with no place to stay. You now have posted a review, not at all thankful that the hostel did everything they could to assit you, from , yes, your mistake, made negative statments about our property and all we did was our very best to help you. Disappointing to be sure.

14th Jun 2017
8.3

This hostel was great! Very central location in the city and the rooms were clean. They have a bar which was good to get ready for a night out. The hostel is surrounded by bars and right on the edge of the red light district, so as a solo female traveler I wasn't always comfortable leaving by myself at night. But they have security at the door so the hostel itself is very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, its actually really safe in the RLD. the biggest issue out there is pickpockets... but we are really glad you felt secure at the hostel. Safe travels!!

13th Jun 2017
6.6

The location of the hostel was fabulous, only a block away from the Red Light district and there are plenty of coffee shops nearby. We stayed in a 12 bed room and it was insane!!! People were up all hours of the night doing hard core drugs (not weed) and being very loud. And we had stayed out pretty late till about 2 and when we returned we were one of the few back so far, so we got little sleep here. I would suggest staying in a smaller room if you decide to stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It seems that just syaing it after you leave doesnt help much. Why not inform on our site secuirty/staff if there is an issue you are not happy with ? you could email the front desk , if you wanted to be conspicuous. We cant help you if you dont tell us! And yes summer time in Amsterdam and the redlight district can often best be desribed as "insane"!. Safe travels.

13th Jun 2017
9.1

Awesome in every way other than the wifi not working in rooms. But that's not even really a problem. Perfect location and nice staff with everything you need, stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words man!

12th Jun 2017
9.4

Great, friendly and helpful staff. Very great location, 3 minutes from the underground, walking distance to Westminster sights and sounds. Great food too. Wifi is strong throughout. Social hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, we're glad you had a good time :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.7

My stay at the Bulldog was fine, however I don't think it was great value for money. I think if you are after a trip where all you intend to do is smoke, then the Bulldog is perfect for you, however if you want a bit more out of your trip then I would stay elsewhere. It's location was great, and you do get breakfast included which is a plus, however there wasn't too much advice offered on activities or trips or things to do in the city in comparison to hostels I have stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.