Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
The Bulldog Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, , Amsterdam.
The Bulldog
Netherlands
Amsterdam Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220
85% 2812
52.3724191 4.8962705
The Bulldog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

The Bulldog hostel was in a great location. About a 13 minute walk to the main train station, and close to endless food options and shops. I walked from the train station to the hostel at 1am, and along the way it was a bit intimidating being a solo female traveller, but once I arrived, the staff welcomed me with enthusiasm. They have a good security system, as there are staff monitoring at the door who comes and goes. The beds were clean, as well as the washrooms. Def would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janaya_rs
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

Wonderful place to say, nice and central to everything, super clean & loads of space in the dorms too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Over all good place, best location, nice breakfast and comfy beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.9

I can't say a bad word about The Bulldog; it provided everything we needed and wanted. The rooftop terrace is perfect and the bar downstairs is good too. You're right above The Bulldog Coffee shop and there's another couple down the road. The hallways look like a normal hotel, not like a hostel at all. The rooms are basic but clean and pretty nice to be honest. We stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm and 12 bed mixed dorm, and both were absolutely fine. Staff are lovely. Perfect location. I'd go ba

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • huggybhoy1
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Travelld solo and couldnt fault the place. Local to evrything. Staff. Or crew as ther known very helpfull i.m.o!!!! Shared a dorm and met some good people from all over. Wudnt book anywher else nxt time i go. Prob better than all the 3 star hotels. 2 thumbs up fr me. 3 if a had 3👍👍👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Lovely staff, spacious rooms and a decent breakfast. Would 100% stay here again. Only downside was the sore back I got from the mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.4

Central location. Simple included breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
9.4

This is an amazing hostel. The only problem is that it has no place to socialise apart from the bar. A lot of people arrive in groups and stay in groups. The staff is awesome and the security is tight. The location can't get any better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Great spot, expensive in backpacker terms but a great hostel. It is hard to get somewhere decent for cheap in amsterdam, so you may as well pay an extra few quid a night to get a significantly better place as you'll be paying enough anyway. A really nice smoking area, bar and COMFY beds. If you are staying in the red light district, this should be the main stop. Book early- enjoy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.6

Good hostel. Very close to the main train station (10 min walk), within walking distance to a lot of major sites. The rooms are fine, the lockers are a bit skinny, I couldn't fit my backpack but I was able to fit my valuables. The staff is nice, and the patio on the top floor is a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.