Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bulldog

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
The Bulldog Located at Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, , Amsterdam.
The Bulldog
Netherlands
Amsterdam Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220
87% 2949
52.3724191 4.8962705
The Bulldog
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

Great location and very friendly staff. Only down side was the temperature of the room - too hot to sleep!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Couldn't rate the Bulldog and the staff any higher. Clean room and comfy beds what more could you want? It's in the perfect spot for coffee shops and obviously the red light, but what I liked more was the lounge area! Very comfy and you can sit in there until all hours then just stroll upto bed! See you again next year amsterdam... We know where we are staying

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.6

The bulldog was a very fun hostel in an awesome location. They had free breakfast and a great bar on the main floor with many tables as well as a pool table. Would definitely recommend staying there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.3

Best location for those who are looking for enjoying the best of Amsterdam. Staff always ready for any necessary support and also security 24 hours. Also it has a great bar and is the same of the first coffee shop in the city. The accomodations were not the best, but ok. The bathroom could be cleaned more often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Nice place staff very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
6.6

Very much disliked this hostel. Central location, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, but no communal atmosphere and incredibly rude staff members. Very much like staying at a hotel. The rooftop is nice if the weather is warm, but the only other common area is the downstairs lounge where people don't really mingle and it seems that you have to order food or drinks. Staff was the rudest I have ever encountered--did not feel welcome or safe there. Stay in a friendly, nice hostel and walk into the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.1

Place was clean and had good vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
7.1

Better than the Bulldog of old, however my main complaint is if you were in the bottom bunk you couldn't sit up. Needed more hooks in the showers as it eas a mixed dorm one needs somewhere to dress in privacy. As a middle aged woman the staff were sensitive to my needs and put me in a great room. A bit expensive for what you get, however you are in the heart of the action. Very professional operation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
9.4

Me and a friend stayed here for Halloween weekend, we had not stayed in a hostel before but it seemed to be something cheap and a new adventure. When you check in you get a security pass and a room key each and towels if you need them. We stayed in a mixed 12 bed dorm, when we arrived in our room we already had allocated beds (bunk beds) together and one locker each but a lock is not provided. Hostel is literally on the red light district and overall perfect to experience dam for the first time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place to stay . Very central location and superb staff specially reception department very professional and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.