X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Bunkroom Reviews

106 Brook Street, Chester CH13DU, Chester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
134 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is located about 10 minutes walk from the city centre, so still quite central. The room was clean and the bed was comfy, but we felt that one bathroom for so many rooms was not enough. Still, we'd recommnd it.


34%

Our room had bunk beds that were very noisy! If either of us moved a tiny bit it was very creaky, and we didn't get hardly any sleep. Also any time someone came up the stairs the lights came on and shone under our door and the keys were very loud, old fashioned keys. We tried to check out with someone when we left but there was no one at the front desk and after ringing the bell and waiting awhile we gave up and left.


97%

You get everything you need, easy paying, friendly staff and good facilities. We had a good time for little money.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It is a nice place to stay, very close to the train station and city centre. Two nice guys run the hostel! I recommend it

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a convenient, cozy and clean place to stay in. People here are friendly and helpful in so many ways. I'd love to come back again next time when I visit Chester!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is not perfect but it is at a walkable distance to the main shops and attractions.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The staff were absolutely lovely and so friendly. Everything is so close in Chester that the location is also great.


91%

a great place to stay and an excellent attitude from the staff

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Bunkroom is one of the cutest hostels I've stayed in. Beds are done up with comfortable patterned duvets and each bed has it's own reading light. The rooms are small, but have plenty of storage space, and the 4-bed female room I stayed in had a small but full ensuite. The facilities are well cared for, and the staff does their best to accommodate guests.


100%

Very warm staff and well maintained facilities. I have stayed in many hostels in many parts of the world and The Bunkroom is one that I rate highly.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Brilliant friendly staff

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect! We stayed only one night but the people working there is so so nice, we felt like we were staying in a friend's house. It's really clean and bright. Lovely place!


91%

Very close to the train station. Staff members really friendly and willing to help. The place is clean and quiet.


94%

Only stayed for a night before heading to creamfeilds. The hostel itself was brilliant with a fully equipped kitchen and a nice smoking hut in the back area. The rooms were really nice and comfortable with plenty off space. It was relatively easy to find, only problem we had was down to a dodgy sat nav sending us down the wrong street. One of the best hostels I've stayed in all year! Recommended!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Passed our expectations by many miles. Very clean and tidy.Pleasant surprise to get breakfast in the morning. Staff friendly and informative.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, comfortable and safe hostel which felt very welcoming :)


83%

Cheap and clean!!!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. Good-size rooms, comfortable beds, clean, nice decor and lovely communal areas. The kitchen is very well equipped and the people who work there are very nice and helpful. I stayed there for almost a week and would definitely stay there again!


86%

The hostel was light and airy, everything was clean and the 4-bed room had enough space and comfy beds! Great location, 5 minute walk to the train station, and a 15 minute walk to the middle of town. 2 owners really friendly. Continental breakfast was included, but had no specified start time, and wasn't set out until after 8am on 1 or 2 days. A few people were up before then and couldn't find the breakfast foods. Free tea/coffee and a bowl of apples always available though.


94%

Thanks a lot for the great time! I can really recomend this Hostel as one of the best i have a been to!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Chester Hostels

Please give us your feedback