Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bunkroom

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
The Bunkroom Located at 106 Brook Street, Chester CH13DU, Chester.
The Bunkroom
England
Chester Cheshire CH13DU 106 Brook Street, Chester CH13DU
88% 176
53.1965097 -2.8840452
The Bunkroom
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.3

The staff really nice ..........

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpskichic3780
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Would highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • terrysmith1111294
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
9.7

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
6.6

I stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm ensuite. Room ok, bed/mattress were fine. Reading light at bed, but charging points weren't convenient to bed. Ensuite had shower/toilet both were clean, hot water and good pressure. Sink and mirror were in room with the beds. Not very convenient. Wifi worked well. Kitchen ok, not great. Common room/eating area ok. Outside terrace and eating space were nice. Location was ok, close to train station, 20 to bus station. Would recommend for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Had a great stay at the bunkroom. Excellent location with a good backpacker vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Thank you for a very comfortable stay in Chester, I was very satisfied with your bunkroom, it is run very efficiently, with friendly & helpful staff. I will certainly recommend it to my traveling friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

Very friendly staff, and the location was great just few minutes wake to the train station and about 10 minutes walk to center of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jun 2016
6.3

The wifi was amazing and the hostel felt like you were just chilling at home. But the staff were super lax. When we got there the door was locked and if we didn't have a phone plan we would have been locked out for hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I don't know the exact circumstances of your arrival. The door is kept locked for security purposes, as you would expect in a city centre hostel. There are two doorbells, one for reception hours and one for outside reception hours. Our phone is redirected to my mobile 24/7. You rang and we got you in. I don't see how any of this is 'super lax'. Looking at your booking details, you said you'd arrive at 4pm and then turned up around 7pm instead. Saying that you would have been locked out for hours without a phone is just pure speculation. We have never had a guest waiting around for hours.

5th Jun 2016
9.1

A solid hosteling experience. Its one of those smaller hostels where the guests feel right at home and make friends fast. The location is great. Located close to rail station and 8 mins walk to the town center. Good shower. Reasonably clean. Well-equipped self-catering kitchen. Good Wifi. I recommend The Bunkroom as a better alternative than staying in Liverpool. Good base for exploring the Liverpool/ Birkenhead-Wirral area and Conwy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
9.1

I had a very nice stay there and the staff are very nice and the location is great and the kitchen is excellent. I recommend it to everyone. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.