Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bunkroom

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2017
9.1

This hostel was everything we needed and more. The owner is so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are basic but clean and have a sink and comfy beds. There's a kitchen and communal area for cooking and chilling out too. We only needed one night as a base due to doing the 3 Peaks but it was above our expectations and we had a great nights sleep. What more could you want for £18?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
8.6

A small hostel near to the train station. Wish the reception was open a bit longer during the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2017
8.6

My stay was very comfortable and homely and the beds and pillows were fantastic for a hostel. I know some people were worried about security. The manual locks on the doors are normally left unlocked and there is no night reception. I had no worry during the weekdays, the place had a really safe feel, things might be a bit different when the place is full on the weekends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, thanks for your review, I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I know there was a concern about security when you stayed but in the end I'm not sure the issue was as big as people made out. Having said that we will have a think how we can make people feel more secure when they stay. I would like to point out that both front doors are on coded locks, which we now change weekly or more frequently if necessary. Everyone is issued with a key for the lock on their room and we will encourage people to lock their doors behind them. Perhaps it is a sign that people feel comfortable here that they feel they can leave their door open from time to time. We are also very careful (or snobby lol) about who we allow to stay at the bunkroom - If you're not working or travelling, you're a drunk or your face just doesn't fit then you're not coming in! I hope this reassures people considering a stay here. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in the UK. Kind regards, Graham.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2017
9.4

For the price it was brilliant, 5 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes from the centre of town. Kitchen and Dinning room facilities were clean and plenty of space. Bed in the room was comfortable and being there mid week, I didn't notice any noise. There were not lockers in the room but I did notice lockers in the dinning room. The reception was not open when I arrived which meant waiting for a couple of hours before I could check in and this was not advertised before arrival. Good Stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
9.1

Hostel is well located (a walk distance far from the town centre) and staff is really helpful/friendly. The room was surprisingly clean and common areas are quite small. Despite the room being ensuite, shower was not working, but there was a bathroom downstairs we could use. Check reception working time before booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Easy walk to Cathedral and town centre. Short flight of stairs up to my room a bit hard on my arthritic knees (!) But fine for anyone younger and fitter. It seemed a bit understaffed, night and early morning? Reception only open for a few hours in the 24. Graham was very helpful and friendly, though, and saw me settled in. Very friendly place, quiet and clean. I enjoyed a peaceful night. Excellent value for money. Would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
8.9

Very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

A nice hostel, the staff were helpful and friendly, it's near the train station and close to the city centre, the rooms were clean and large, I would recommend and use it again in the future...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yarnellka
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms, and great kitchen space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jun 2017
9.4

The man working reception was great and very attentive. The bed I had was wonderful and comfortable, I slept like a log. The self-catering kitchen was clean, well-equipped, and there was free tea and coffee (score!). As far as I could tell there weren't any lockable cupboards in the rooms though there were some downstairs for valuables. Overall though, I really liked this hostel, and would recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×