Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
5.1

We stayed in 2 different rooms and both smelled extremely horrible! A kind of sour, sweaty, damp mouldy kind of smell that was bad the whole time even with all the windows open. Some of the staff were rude and you have to pay to use plates and cutlery! Wouldn't stay here again, I'm sure there are nicer places in Wellington.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.9

Stayed here alot top spot,great staff, breakfast the best, so handy to everything,be back very soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.7

Was an ok hostel- nice big rooms and beds. It was just let down by the small things: only an hour free wifi in 24 hours; you have to hire plates and cutlery from reception and some of the doors didn't lock properly in the toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Apr 2017
6.6

This hostel is not as nice as it sounds in the reviews tbh. The kitchen is gross and has few facilities. The rooms are dark and smelly with no lockers or anything. The dining space is tiny. You have to get crockery from reception which is long. Only get an hour of internet a day which is unfair. The only upside is the bathrooms which are clean with good showers and a hairdryer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Apr 2017
4.0

Our room had a big window onto the smoking area of the bar of the hotel meaning the room smelt of smoke and was quite dirty. Most of the rings on the cooker did not work properly. We left some food in the fridge with names dates etc on which got thrown away when the fridge was cleaned (probably because of the raw fish that had been left in there for days). Despite this the staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the location is also good. Would be lovely if hostel was done up!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

Good location, $3 eggs for breakfast is good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
4.3

Horrible six-bed dorm. I was put in the room at the end of the corridor and it was one of the worst places I've ever stayed in. The "window" was right outside the smokers area. This meant the room was filled with smoke, whilst drunk people kept us up until the early hours of the morning. There was even one point when a drunk person was gesturing at my girlfriend through the window before we went to bed. Not nice. Also very unfriendly/slightly scary people living full time in our hostel room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Apr 2017
7.7

Great location = near all the main tourist spots. Toilets and showers top of the range and very clean. Atmosphere let this hostel down. Small kitchen/lounge are with sparse equipment. Having to place deposit for cutlery and crockery was slightly ridiculous as you then had a set of plates in your dorm with you. Good for a couple of nights stopover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.4

I love this place, there's honestly nothing to complain about. Even in the share room, we happen to have our own TV, fridge and sink. Breakfast in the bar area is cheap and so tasty,and so cheap to do laundry as well! The bathrooms are clean and nice, and the staff is exceptional. It has a hotel feel throughout, even the backpacker sections. The location is great too. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
8.9

Great central city location within easy walking distance of all main attractions. Clean and comfortable room. Being able to leave my pack there for the day after check out was super handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.