Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 531 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
8.3

Really close to a lot of cafes and pubs, but if you're interested in coming to a hostel to meet lots of people there wasn't much of that. Clean rooms and facilities, and the discounts at the attached pub were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Came to this hostel expecting something mediocre. Happily surprised nice rooms great bathrooms, cozy kitchen and lovely staff. Not to expensive either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Reception was the best- I arranged to arrive early and there was no problem, also received a lot of help in planning my travels the next day and overall smiles throughout the conversation. :) lovely bunch of ladies! The bathrooms were very clean and beds comfy. Rooms -decent size. Shared space could've been a bit better but all good anyway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Reasonably priced for it's convenient location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the stay!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
8.9

Great value for money, comfortable and clean. Not 5 star, but definitely not 5 star price either! Would use again and recommend to friends as long as they don't want posh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th May 2017
3.7

It was such a bad hostel! All the negative reviews in this website described very well this hostel! Dodgy people, dirty toilettes and smelly room! Horrible one! Won't come back again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
10.0

I book here every time I'm in Wellington. The place is clean, warm and staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Love it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2017
5.1

We stayed in 2 different rooms and both smelled extremely horrible! A kind of sour, sweaty, damp mouldy kind of smell that was bad the whole time even with all the windows open. Some of the staff were rude and you have to pay to use plates and cutlery! Wouldn't stay here again, I'm sure there are nicer places in Wellington.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.9

Stayed here alot top spot,great staff, breakfast the best, so handy to everything,be back very soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a very old building, so, while the very high ceilings are cool and make rooms feel big, it's quite dark in the rooms. We were also in a room that had a window that didn't close properly - combine that with Welly's famous wind, it made for a little bit of a disturbed night's sleep. But it's a good location, lots of showers and toilets and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×