Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers Located at 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, Wellington.
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 6011 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington
76% 381
-41.2952200 174.7825884
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

Great place in the heart of Wellington. I'll recommend it strongly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

Good place, super fast internet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
7.4

Best thing about this place is the new shiny modern and clean bathrooms/showers. Room smelled slightly mouldy and of feet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
8.3

The place was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
2.6

I honestly never rate places I've stayed. I tend to excuse a bad experience somewhere as just an off day or week for them but this place was really bad. Aside from bathrooms every aspect of the place was filthy. The kitchen was smelly and swarming with flies. It looked liked it hadn't been cleaned in months. The rooms were gross as well, very hot, dirty and smelly. I could not wait to leave! I know this sounds like a whiny review but seriously DO NOT stay here unless you absolutely have to!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Feb 2016
5.7

Kitchen wasn't very good and our room was dirty. Staff didn't think it was their problem that the windowsills were filthy and kept blowing rubbish into the room and on the beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Montenegro, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Feb 2016
3.1

After 32 countries and some 100 hostels i managed to stay in worst one. Where to start? My room smelled of cigarette smoke, carpet seems to be there since 1886, and when cleaning staff entered they just changed pillow cases. Thats why quilts and sheets smelled like sweat of other people. As for the staff i met 3 of them and only one member was OK, others tried to overcharge me, didnt booked taxi as agreed, and wasnt very helpfull. There is nothing in dirty kitchen that you can use. No free wifi

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2016
9.1

More a hotel feeling, which I loved after all the YHAs as this is a very nice old school hotel feeling. The bar next to it puts the final charm to it. Wifi is just ridiculous expensive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
6.9

They have nice big showers. The rest is alright. Nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
7.4

Too big and filled with kiwi experience people not really looking to meet new people

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.