Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 480 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 480 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Very loud as next to pub, but people were friendly and staff were helpful. Kitchen wasn't very good and lights in toilet and shower would go off after 1 minute so was difficult to shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.1

Very good hostel. Stayed in a 2 bunk bed room, it was roomy. Bathroom/showers were superb. Kitchen area was rather small to cook in. Had a late check in time, and they'd mixed up the room we had initial booked. We had to get a different room than initially wanted, but they negotiated the price for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.9

The first night I got there all of the beds in my room were taken besides one that hadnt been cleaned so they put me up in a private room for the night, which was great. The second night I was in an 8 person dorm, which was pretty standard. The staff was very nice and the hostel itself was decent but there really wasn't much of an atmosphere to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.3

Stayed here a few times - generally good. Bathrooms all very clean, location great and reception staff very helpful and friendly. Kitchen is often dirty so generally avoided. Wifi is fast but only 1 hour free and more is very expensive! Some odd characters around which made me feel a bit wary, but generally ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

Cant fault this hostel really. Comfy bed, clean facilities, fast internet (may have to pay a few extra $$ after you use up your free time), about a 5-10min walk from the centre of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
7.1

Very nice place. Room is only beds but very comfy. Showers and toilets were very clean and good. Staff were not that socialable and kitchen didn't not have much equipment to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
4.9

The hostel was rather dirty. The carpets were all stained and worn over, the kitchen smelled like bread mold and there were crumbs all over the counter. The beds were okay at best. That being said, if you're in a pinch and need a place to stay in Wellington, it wasn't the worst hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.0

There needs to be information on the Cambridge hotel and backpackers website as well as hostelworld to tell you how to get there from the bus station or ferry... its a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute NZ$2 bus ride. The place is centrally located within Wellington at the base of mount Victoria and next to base backpackers and is a nice change to it. NZ$3 will gey you an egg breakfast. However its kitchen needs a clean and smells and the doors are often left open when sharing with a tour group.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.3

Our room was pretty dirty and smelly. Internet is limited to an hour a day, which is a bit painful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Great place with friendly staff and a plentiful, cheap breakfast. Room smelled super clean, bed was okay though a bit springy and small. Shared bathroom is a little cramped with one shower recess spraying water all over the floor. Toilet paper also wasn't replaced in the only cubicle that had a working light. Wonderful location. Thanks for the friendliness and hospitality. Stay here if you're looking for convenience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.