Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 434 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers Located at 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, Wellington.
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers
New Zealand
Wellington 6011 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington
80% 434
-41.2952200 174.7825884
The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
7.4

Overall good place. Small kitchen with no ovens, but other than that it was a pleasant stay. Wi-Fi situation was a joke though. One free hour per 24hr period. But encountering this problem in many places. Having the sink and fridge in the 4 bed dorm was a joy though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.9

I have stayed here numerous times and have always had a pleasant experience, the place is clean, good location, great showers and washing facilities and the staff are always (apart from 1 occasion) very helpful and welcoming. I was seen to by Charmaine recently and she was very rude both times I spoke to her. All other staff I have come across can't help enough. Definitely recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.6

Even though I never slept there my stay was made all that more comfortable thanks to the helpful and friendly staff and access to 10% discount off food and drinks at the bar / kitchen at the pub next door :) close to te papa and public transport I would stay there again for sure :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.0

No parking, but It was a great location. I was able to see the museum, galleries, port, many beautiful place by walk. There are lot of students, so I never relaxed in the kitchen. The room was mess. There was so much noise, I couldn't sleep very well. But It was ok. that's why, my room was for 6 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.6

Set in a lovely building, dorm rooms were a bit scruffy but atmosphere in common area was friendly - although again quite cramped for number of rooms available. Could do with some lockers in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Dec 2016
8.3

Nice hostel (in an old beautiful building) for your stay in Wellington. Kitchen is good but there are not many spots available at the table. But that isn't really an issue. Bathroom is great and special. I liked the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
9.4

Had a great stay here, staff were lovely and really helpful, helped us change our booking and sort out for ferry over to picton. Kitchen was quite small but wasn't a problem waiting for people to finish and there was a small area to eat, watch tv and read but dorms were big. Would definitely recommend staying here as centre of everything and easy to get to places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.4

Comfy clean private rooms. Not into the vibe at the pub down stairs, but lots of cool places near by. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, clean rooms, clean showers...a nice kitchen although that could be cleaner and cheap laundry. You couldn't open the window in my room though...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.