Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Apr 2017
9.4

I love this place, there's honestly nothing to complain about. Even in the share room, we happen to have our own TV, fridge and sink. Breakfast in the bar area is cheap and so tasty,and so cheap to do laundry as well! The bathrooms are clean and nice, and the staff is exceptional. It has a hotel feel throughout, even the backpacker sections. The location is great too. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
8.9

Great central city location within easy walking distance of all main attractions. Clean and comfortable room. Being able to leave my pack there for the day after check out was super handy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Very loud as next to pub, but people were friendly and staff were helpful. Kitchen wasn't very good and lights in toilet and shower would go off after 1 minute so was difficult to shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.1

Very good hostel. Stayed in a 2 bunk bed room, it was roomy. Bathroom/showers were superb. Kitchen area was rather small to cook in. Had a late check in time, and they'd mixed up the room we had initial booked. We had to get a different room than initially wanted, but they negotiated the price for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
8.3

Comfortable beds, big rooms, and pretty clean. The hostel didn't have very much of an atmosphere though. I was traveling alone and found it a bit difficult to meet people. The kitchen was nice but you have to stop by the front desk to get cutlery. Wifi not great, and only free for an hour. Location was good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.9

The first night I got there all of the beds in my room were taken besides one that hadnt been cleaned so they put me up in a private room for the night, which was great. The second night I was in an 8 person dorm, which was pretty standard. The staff was very nice and the hostel itself was decent but there really wasn't much of an atmosphere to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.3

Stayed here a few times - generally good. Bathrooms all very clean, location great and reception staff very helpful and friendly. Kitchen is often dirty so generally avoided. Wifi is fast but only 1 hour free and more is very expensive! Some odd characters around which made me feel a bit wary, but generally ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

Cant fault this hostel really. Comfy bed, clean facilities, fast internet (may have to pay a few extra $$ after you use up your free time), about a 5-10min walk from the centre of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.0

The bar has a $3 eggs breakfast deal so we went there many times during our stay. Don't let the dark corridors put you off this hostel. Shower cubicles had shelfs which is sorely missing from many places! Kitchen operates on a loan system for crockery, but you don't have to pay a deposit. The extension box in rooms is a nice touch, especially in the 6 bed dorms where everyone wants to charge their phones!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
7.1

Very nice place. Room is only beds but very comfy. Showers and toilets were very clean and good. Staff were not that socialable and kitchen didn't not have much equipment to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.