Hostelworld.com

The Capital-Inn

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
The Capital-Inn Located at Sudurhlid 35d, , Reykjavik.
The Capital-Inn
Iceland
Reykjavik 00354 8962204 105 Sudurhlid 35d
72% 266
64.1224704 -21.9005370
The Capital-Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th May 2016
7.7

The Capital Inn is very much a "get what you pay for" hostel. It's great if you're just looking for a place to sleep and shower and won't be spending a lot of time hanging out in it. It's clean, beds are decent, and the hot water works, which are the most important things (to me at least). It is about a 40 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik but you can take the bus #18 downtown for 420 kr. The doors lock manually which is concerning for larger rooms, and you have to pay daily to ren

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
6.9

They need better mattresses. The ones there are only 2-3 inches thick and you can feel the wire under frame.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Toilets, showers, and kitchen are ok, it'd be nice if it would have cutlery and stuff for cooking. Beds are not so nice in the other hand. The hostel is a bit far from the downtown but if you have a car is no problem. You get what you pay for. Is not the best hostel in the world (neither the worst), but is very affordable for Iceland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mimiiiito
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2016
6.9

We chose the location because we had a plane to catch early in the morning and Capital inn was close to the airport, the place is far from the city. The rooms are nice. The kitchen is well equipped but it was too small for so many people. The water in the showers was really hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

The location was great because we had a car which I would definitely recommend. The hostel was pretty clean but security is non existent. There isn't even a lock on the door to the 16 bed dorm. I just left my clothes in the room and nothing was stolen but I would still never leave valuables. The kitchen was pretty clean and there is a restaurant with great prices when compared to the rest of the city. Walk in fridge was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.7

:) wished it was much more quiet at night when the people "party" and others try to rest to go and do the tours and trips etc. I found at times that the staff wasn't very friendly sometimes :( the place is really far from the city centre :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.0

Mostly a good stay but the first night was dominated by a huge party of people (mainly people that were not staying within the hostel) that were extremely loud until the early hours of the morning. I spoke to a member of staff who put up a bit of resistance about asking them to keep the noise down but he did eventually say something. The rest of our stay was pleasant but the location isn't great if you intend on going into town a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
3.7

The infrastructure is quite good, but they have the worst staff I've ever seen in hostels. Especially an old guy who stays at the reception, he is impolite with every guests and not willing to help you or answer any of your doubts.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • superbolong
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Mar 2016
8.6

Very friendly staff, great kitchen area to hang out though in terms of facilities, I faced some trouble operating the stove, while the shower doesn't have the warmest water. Still, great hostel overall for the price!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
5.4

The hostel is not in the city center, if you are staying here you should definitely have a car (that's the best way to see Iceland anyway). Our first night here at the start of our trip we were in a bigger dorm maybe 15 people and the room was so humid because it was right next to the bathrooms. Our last night of our trip we were in a private room because we had to wake up early for our flight and that room was fine, basic hostel. Cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.