Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Capital-Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
The Capital-Inn Located at Sudurhlid 35d, , Reykjavik.
The Capital-Inn
Iceland
Reykjavik 00354 8962204 105 Sudurhlid 35d
69% 321
64.1224704 -21.9005370
The Capital-Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
3.7

Security... There is none. When reception is unmanned, literally anyone could walk in right the way to the bedrooms. We weren't given keys so there is no way of locking anything. Location... Want to walk 45 minutes/1hr to get anywhere in the city centre? Then this is the place for you. Seriously the location is awful unless you have a car. There are cheap hostels in the city centre - don't waste your money here. Oh and the staff don't give you any information (and were pretty standoffish).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
5.4

There is no security whatsoever. Doors do not lock at night, and there is no front desk agent to monitor who is coming in and out of the front door. Individual rooms did not lock either which resulted in us having to leave our personal items in the car. Bathrooms were not clean, showers dirty and full of mold. Great location, and many people from all over the world to meet and talk to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
4.0

My fiancé and I were afraid to come back in the evening to this hostel after we checked in and left for dinner. For the dorm, there were 0 locks to get in. A stranger could walk straight in to the hostel and the bedroom without anything. The dorm also stank and was dirty and dank. The common room was filthy with other travelers trash. I guess you get what you pay for, but I would highly recommend anyone without a very strict budget avoid this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
4.9

The staff were mostly nice but the head of the inn was very rude and breakfast prices were not properly labeled. The atmosphere was mostly friendly but too loud during night time. It was alright for the cost but if i ever come back i would look to stay elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
6.3

I have a few major complaints about this place. One is the public area like the kitchen and the tv room are right by the bedrooms, so it can easily be noisy with people just talking at breakfast. Also, the rooms get very hot. Its a 50 min walk to downtown Reykjavik, which was fine for me, as I like to walk but some may not. This is truly a no frills hostel buts if youre looking for a place to sleep for a niight or two, its not terrible, but its far from ideal. Stayed in 10 person dorm

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
3.1

First night, a massive group of more than 12 guests had a party until 2.10 am and they stopped after a number of verbal discussions with other guests who wanted to sleep. No one from reception stopped the party at 12 as most hostels do. Couldn't sleep at all. Nightmare. Reception area is just over the open kitchen so 100% they heard the noise and not action taken. Dissapointing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Good place and good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
5.7

Anyone can enter in the hostel, cleanliness in shower/wc coud be better, given that there is only 2 shower and 2 wc for 30+ people. Mattress are really cheap as the pillow. No personal light, just one big light for room of 10+ peoples, no personal power supply. Also, all the chambers are in the basement and there is lot of humidity in the chambers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
7.4

clean and practical nothing fancy nice restaurant

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.9

20 minute walk from the city center. Super clean. Rooms are small but not crowded. Late checkout, which I liked. Breakfast every day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.