Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Central Backpacker's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
The Central Backpacker's Hostel Located at Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest, Budapest.
The Central Backpacker's Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 105299 Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest
76% 524
47.4946465 19.0592837
The Central Backpacker's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place for students traveling on budget. Clean and quite with nice atmosphere. Very good location. Not much responsive to emails though. But it did not matter, because no one had problem with us checking in at 21:00 .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff were really friendly and helpful, the kitchen was great and the wifi worked well. The only problem was one of the showers which you had to hold up while you showered (but that's minor- there's another shower round the corner which is nice). The hostel is also in a great location, really close to two different metro stops and within walking distance of most things. p.s don't 'forget' to buy metro tickets bc we didn't and got fined 8000HUF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.9

The place is great if all you want is a bed and a shower. It's not the sort of hostel where there is a massive social aspect. There was free laundry which was good, but all the showers you had to hold up yourself and some of the locks on the toilets didn't work. These are easy fixes, then I would rate the facilities higher. The staff were lovely. Especially Tamas, we had a few issues which he really went out of his way to fix!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.6

Lovely small hostel that really feels more like a share house than a hostel. Really easy to meet people, beds are comfy, great location right in the middle of Budapest in a nice neighbourhood. Only issue was that the staff were often not at reception when we needed them and I was even asked to watch the doors and let people in because The guy working there was leaving.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
3.7

The location was great. HOWEVER, the staff were a disgrace. Our first night they double booked our room and told us 2 hours after our check in time. The solution? We were told we either had to wait another 3-4 hours to check into a different room at another location or to check into a single room and one of us sleep on the floor. No refund was given and a mattress 'couldn't be found'. The manager yelled at me over the phone trying to sort things out. We checked in 28 hours late, no apology.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Aug 2016
4.9

Awful staff. Not helpful at all. Had booked 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm but they weren't available when we came. Happened to most other guests too. No shower heads, just a leaking tube you had to hold in the right position to get any water from it. Only three showers and toilets for the whole hostel.... Facilities in the kitchen was bad as well. Quite dirty. Extremely thin walls so a lot of noise. Only good thing was the wifi and the staff member with dreadlocks who was fixing things and friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bschroer2009
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2016
6.9

The location is good in central Budapest, the staff are friendly, all good, but the place is very run down, with broken basins and showers, a dump, in fact.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Super cool budget hostel. If you want to travel cheap and like to stay directly in the city, this hostel is perfect for you. The stuff is awesome and he people there are very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.3

We arrived and had to wait 45 minutes to check in. Whilst waiting we heard conversations that three beds (bunk beds) were broken and needed to be fixed. Facilities were very poor with showers without heads and not working properly. The kitchen was ok, however a little dirty. But there was free tea and coffee and the wifi was good. Also a free washing machine to use. Overall very disorganised but if you are just looking for somewhere cheap to stay this is the place as location is very good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
7.7

Tama was a very friendly member of staff. The rooms were in an good location, it was easy to get on the underground. The facilities were sufficient for what we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.