Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Central Backpacker's Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7
The Central Backpacker's Hostel Located at Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest, Budapest.
The Central Backpacker's Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 105299 Karoly Korut 10, 1st floor, 1052 Budapest
75% 545
47.4946465 19.0592837
The Central Backpacker's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Aug 2016
9.4

The hostel is nice and the staff was always helpful. The room and facilities were OK. Good place to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
8.9

Staff that was working there was really good! I would come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Cool place to stay in Budapest. really good location. The hostel is located on a traditional old building so old bathroom old floors and windows but it makes the experience special. Nice staff and defo would stay again. The hostel room wasn't overly busy so it was perfect for an uninterrupted sleep. Would recommend it to all not so picky travellers :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
5.7

Location of Central Backpackers Hostel was great. Guy was lovely and willing to help, however very unorganised and quite clueless. We were in a 8-bed dorm with only 3 working lockers that weren't the best quality. hostel was generally quite unclean, rundown with easy fixing. Such as the light in the main shower not working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place for students traveling on budget. Clean and quite with nice atmosphere. Very good location. Not much responsive to emails though. But it did not matter, because no one had problem with us checking in at 21:00 .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
6.3

There were pros and cons to this hostel. Unfortunately, the cons outweighed the pros. It took about two hours from the time I arrived until I was checked in. No one was there for the first hour, then the process to get a bed took another whole hour. Look, I understand this isn't a 5-star hotel, but Tama checked in people who arrived after me BEFORE me when I ran out to get money, then did laundry while I sat on the couch waiting to check in. I would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

This was the very first travel hostel I ever stayed in my life. And this hostel has given me all the god reasons why I would always stay in hostels. Tamas, the caretaker staff was always available, very helpful, friendly. Attracts nice people; I made Italian, Greek and American friends here. Everything is just as how it should be. This is the hostel i'd go if I ever come back to Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.1

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff were really friendly and helpful, the kitchen was great and the wifi worked well. The only problem was one of the showers which you had to hold up while you showered (but that's minor- there's another shower round the corner which is nice). The hostel is also in a great location, really close to two different metro stops and within walking distance of most things. p.s don't 'forget' to buy metro tickets bc we didn't and got fined 8000HUF.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.9

The place is great if all you want is a bed and a shower. It's not the sort of hostel where there is a massive social aspect. There was free laundry which was good, but all the showers you had to hold up yourself and some of the locks on the toilets didn't work. These are easy fixes, then I would rate the facilities higher. The staff were lovely. Especially Tamas, we had a few issues which he really went out of his way to fix!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.6

Lovely small hostel that really feels more like a share house than a hostel. Really easy to meet people, beds are comfy, great location right in the middle of Budapest in a nice neighbourhood. Only issue was that the staff were often not at reception when we needed them and I was even asked to watch the doors and let people in because The guy working there was leaving.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.