Hostelworld.com

The Chill House Backpackers hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
The Chill House Backpackers hostel Located at Calle de la Tablada # 7 - 12, Centro, Cartagena.
The Chill House Backpackers hostel
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 57 Calle de la Tablada # 7 - 12, Centro
75% 866
10.4261644 -75.5481934
The Chill House Backpackers hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
3.7

Great location, housekeeper was super friendly but got scam by daytime front receptionist. We booked and paid for isles de las Rosario which was islands hopping cruise. She told us all about it but then booked us for something cheaper and kept the difference. We found out after we were sent to the wrong activity. She apologized for her "mistake" but couldn't give us back the difference. The whole hostel is filthy! The bathroom was small and disguising, kitchen was dirty, room and sheet smell bad

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
3.1

Absolutely filthy. Toilets and showers seemed like they hadn't been cleaned ever. My sheets were wet upon arrival, and bed didnt feel clean at all. Also, NO POOL! Wouldn't recommend it. It might be located central, but you can find better options!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jun 2016
4.9

Hostel's good location is only good thing about it. Paid extra for 6bed ensuite but staff directed everyone to use the bathroom (only one other). This was at all times of the night - bad for sleeping and security. Bedroom door was propped completely open by staff very late at night to encourage people to use toilet. Shower leaked into our room and got clothes soaking wet. The bathroom floor and inside the toilet (?!) full of long hairs that weren't cleaned. Would be OK if cheap but expensive!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • chrmeyn5720
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.6

We absolutely enjoyed our time at Chill House Backpackers. The staff was helpful and very friendly any moment of the day. The location is perfect, there is hardly a more central place to be in Cartagena. You can have breakfast just outside the hostel and there is a beautiful park right infront of the balcony! However, they don't provide towells, which is a bit of a nuisance in a city as humid like Cartagena. Sadly, we witnessed another guests mobile phone getting stolen by an unknown thief.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jun 2016
9.1

The beautiful staff here will look after you! They are so welcoming and lovely and always greet you with a smile. They clean constantly and are happy to help with any problem. There is only 2 bathrooms which isn't great but the balconies overlooking the lively Parque Fernandez de Madrid make up for this. It can get a bit noisy with rowdy guests and loud bars nearby but if you want atmosphere that's a price you have to pay. A huge thank you to the fantastic girls who work here. You are amazing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.7

The staff here make the place. Sofia is AMAZING! She is the cleaning lady/ coffee maker/ comedic relief. Jaqueline (sp?) is also super helpful! Both ladies made our stay great. The AC works great in the dormitory I stayed in. The coffee is delicious and the location is prime. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
9.1

The lady who greeted us at the reception was really nice. There was AC at night and the room was cold all morning too. There's a lot of places for travelers to hang out if you're looking to meet some people. It was a great location too. We just walked right outside for breakfast and dinner. The beds were comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
4.9

Very poor experience. CONS: -in MORE expensive room (6-bed ensuite), there's no A/C!; -blaring music all night, couldnt sleep -Beds falling apart (saw girl's bed break while she sat on it) -owners/management COMPLETELY ABSENT... and it shows. -w/over 48 hours notice, they refused to cancel ANY remaining nights! ("We don't have any cash to give you the refund." "We dont do that here.")...Cancellation policy = No cancellations. PRO: cleaning ladies working there EXTREMELY

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • shantakumar7400
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th May 2016
8.9

The receptionist was so lovely and helpful. This hostel had good facilities and communal areas. Great location, dorm was a little crowded but comfortable and with air con

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Best location in Cartagena if you want to enjoy the spirit of the city, staff was amazing . I loved the balconies facing this amazing square and how safe and near everything the place is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.