X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Chill House Backpackers hostel Reviews

Calle de la Tablada # 7 - 12, Centro, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
535 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I loved my time at Chill house, Thanks for the air con. and all the tips . Nice , friendly and safe place.


54%

Bad:man on night shift leaves hostel unattended at night, door open and there are no lockers/safe. Also cornered a friend in the kitchen at night - so would definitely not recommend for girls travelling alone. broken air con dripping on my bed. Poorly equipped dirty kitchen. Hob frankly dangerous. Poor showers. No drinking water/coffee/towels/laundry available. No pool as advertised. No toilet paper or soap. Good:friendly day staff, good music, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not true at all. You spended four days in the hostel and there was a lady in reception at night because the regular receptionist was on vacations. We know you didn´t like cartagena because of the heat and you were complaning all the time because of this. We understand this, but the hostel was not the problem as far as we remember you were not making any friends while you were here. and we were full with friendly people. All of them happy with our staff.

60%

Great location in the middle of the walled city however don't count on a good nights sleep as the evening staff play extremely loud music until late even if most of the guests are in their dorms rather than in the common area. There are only two bathrooms in the whole hostel, one of which is in a dorm so if you're sleeping in there you'll have a stream of people coming in all night. There are lockers however they are quite small for those with a lot of valuables.


83%

OUTSTANDING STAFF!


71%

We stayed in nonAC dorm which was our bad - so hot and full of mosquitos. We go to bed early and are up early so the loud music right beside the dorm was a slight turnoff but the staff was nice and I think for more party oriented travellers it would be alright - not super clean mind you.


54%

We chose to stay there on a last minute decision to go Cartagena. Location was excellent, situated bang on in the centre of the old town (full of toursits - very safe). However we chose a 6 bed dorm with aircon.. The aircon was only allowed for a few hours a night and therefore the room was absolutely boiling. The majority of the staff don't speak good English so when asking for directions or help they seemed to just laugh among themselves. One bathroom/shower for the whole place. Definite no no


1 2 Next » last »
(26 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback