X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House Reviews

506 SE 16th Str, Fort Lauderdale, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

59%

Rating
406 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

dirty and very expenivde


80%

Low key. Great location and good social hub

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

love the atmosphere of this place.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

The shower didnt work also everything was dirty, nobody was around only drunk homeless people


34%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. Arrived at 3:30 (check in is available from 3:00) and no one was there so I had to wait outside. We had no toilet paper and you can get that at the office, but such limited office times that we had to wait all night to go to the bathroom. Sheets and mattresscover were both just pieces of fabric. Not clean at all (although that might have been my roommates' fault I don't know) and to top it off the shower didn't work so I had to wash my hair in the sink.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The rooms seemed to be in a complete mess. Five beds in a very small room. The apartment smelled like hydrogen peroxide. My room key did not work. But one thing that I like is the people that stay in this hostel who all were very friendly


86%

Nice, friendly people, rooms are big


43%

Needs to be cleaner, needs to be choosey on who can and cannot stay.

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely the best Hostel ever!. I spend awesome times there. Security: there was security cameras everywhere. Location: great, a lot of good food around in the restaurants, 15 min to the beach, 8 to the airport and 10 to the night Clubs in Las Olas, the downtown (awesome, 100% recommendable). Staff: Very nice, professionals and kind girls Atmosphere: Good music every evening, all tastes, people happy, great barbecues, awesome relax times at the pool, wonderful weather, nice talking nights

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice place, very nice people staying. Mia was very kind and helpful in accommodating me. Recommend

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Christmas Island
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

I was a late arrival (I had notified I would be). There was no key where it was supposed to be left. A staff person eventually opened the office to give me a key, but it was unclear where to go. Around an hour after I arrived/went to bed (around 1am), there were people yelling at each other in the common area outside the bedroom door. This happened again around 3am and went on for awhile. Between the noise and anxiety about security, it was very difficult to sleep. I was also given no towel.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It's a fully furnished flat for £25, can't complain with that!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I paid $100.00 for our own room, and we got our own bedroom inside an apartment sharing with 4 others this is not my version of my own room. Also I feel ripped off considering one of the guests was only paying $135.00 per week and I paid $100.00 for 1 night. The beds were bad mine was an old spring bed which just sank way too soft and every time you moved it squeaked. And my friends bed was as hard as a brick. Overall this shouldn't have been more than $20.00 per night.




View all Fort Lauderdale Hostels

Please give us your feedback