X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House Reviews

506 SE 16th Str, Fort Lauderdale, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
378 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

I arrived at the posted check-in time of 300PM. I was checked in at 400PM. This hostel is an extended stay hotel/crew house that has been renovated from an apartment complex where almost everyone smokes cigarettes. I shared a 2BR 1BA with 5 other guys in their 30s. It was pretty gross. Having said all of that, it's location is pretty choice. There are bus stops everywhere. Getting to the beach, mall, Culture Room, and to/from the airport is a breeze. Unfortunately, I would not recommend.


71%

The reduced office hours make it almost impossible to check in or check out. Definitely a smoking property and a party hostel, so if you need to rest during the night consider to go somewhere else. Otherwise the hippy vibe, the overall athmosphere, the wasted faces around the pool are ok, oh and the infosigns are cool.


100%

Neat decor in the room and a nice pool area with a BBQ grill. There's a sweet kitty that belongs to the staff that hangs around with everyone. Really good location and FREE wifi and parking!

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good basic dorms with kitchens in the room. A motley collection of short trip travelers and seasonal visitors that makes for interesting conversations. Not dirty as expected from other reviews. It's a bit older and could use some paint and an update. A little dust in the corners and the usual dorm mates belongings all about. But dirty? No.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Scrappy little place, a bit out of the norm. Definitely not a hostel run by a big corporation like you see every where these days, Eccentric but nice community feel.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The man who was sharing the other bedroom in #9 had been staying for some time which is fine, but he had random people in and out for the 3 days. Some borrowing the shower

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

What nice change I liked it

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A cool place to stay close to the airport and party spots in the city. Clean, kind of big room, compared to the hostels I've stayed at in Europe. One of the reasons I really like the Chocolate is because the people were really fun, had a great time partying with other guests. Carlitos is really nice. Can't beat the price.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The place was a mistake. I asked for a blanket and was told it was warm enough. I asked for a towel and was told they didn't provide them. I was handed dirty shirts that I could see dried mucus on and was told they were clean. I asked for a room that didn't have a cat and was told there weren't any cats, while a cat was walking around in the room in front of us, and while there was a bowl of cat food in my room on the floor. I ended up staying somewhere else even though they wouldn't refund.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

no servise persoonal


43%

Rooms and bath rooms were pretty dirty, just converted apartments, hadn't seemed to be cleaned in a while. No real standard compared to European hostels or even south American hostels. Lots of strange old fellas seem to be staying there. Wasn't a very comfortable stay. Girl ay reception was really nice and it's close to the airport.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was good for what it was intended, a few nights a bed and for the price you also get a kitchen, free wifi and parking. Can't complain. Ideal location, cool crowd, helpful staff and a good experience overall. Would recommend and will come back.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really cool place to stay, enjoyed the atmosphere. My room was quite clean , the dorm was an apartment with a kitchen so can't complain. Thank you guys

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

i came at night, and there was no key waiting for me. luckily, i knew which room was the girl's dorm, and i was let in by the other girls. and in the morning around 6am there was a weird guy waiting outside of the room, saying that his friend 'stormy' had tried to get a room there earlier, and he wondered if there were any open beds. very strange. perhaps it is a florida thing.


34%

The bedroom and the bathrooom were really dusty, dirty and disgusting. It was the worst hostel that i have ever stayed. Plus, when i was using my hair dryer, the energy of my bedroom went down, because someone was using the shower...i would not recommend this hostel. The only thing good about it was its location.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The noise factor--pot smokers smoking outside and coughing loudly, music not turned down after 10. Sunday office staff seemed out of it upon check in and they seemed to be closing office earlier than posted time of 9 pm. Keys taped to door with your room number on them not very secure. Staff will enter your room wthout knocking or calling first, phone not working. Loved the cats!




View all Fort Lauderdale Hostels

Please give us your feedback