Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Chocolate Hostel & Crew House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.0
Rating 478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 5.0
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.4
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.0
Rating 478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 5.0
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.4
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2017
4.0

I expected nothing and nevertheless was disappointed. The hostel was dirty, the staff was friendly but the organization was a mess believe me it's true, 2 of our group did not had a bed for half of the stay despite reservation. The staff was drunk nearly every evening, but at least the tremendous dog was walking around if you don't care for cleanness, silence and safety this is your place to stay if not consider your choice. For 30 you get probably a bed and a great story, if you make it

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
4.0

This bussines is not run properly, seems that nobody take care of the place. The reception hours are not true it s difficult to find somebody in the office and nobody answer the phone if you need then as was my case. The positive point is that they are so relax with the checking out hours and it helps.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Mar 2017
6.9

Security: Meh. In the suite, they have lockers (like the ones in high school) but you need to bring your own lock or buy one. Location: It is very convenient if you're traveling to FLL. Driving there rakes 5 minutes. Plus there is a small shopping area and grocery store 10-15 min. walk away. Staff: Lazy. Receptionist was late for office hours & disinterested in helping & the cleaning crew didn't do a thorough job Cleanliness: Dirty. Old. Outdated. Facilities: Convenient. Like an apartment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kcosmogirl
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.3

Good place to stay, just a lot of older people stay here. Not the usual hostel for younger crowd. Location is perfect near downtown Ft. Lauderdale. Is that nice one-bedroom apartment 6 bunk bed in the bedroom and it has a large living room with kitchen and bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
5.7

My business suit was stolen from my room. I emailed the hostel and didn't receive a response.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
2.0

It was absolutely horrible, the rooms were gruesome, the hygene of the people were disgusting as I was brought into the room I was asked if I was ok with dogs. Upon entering the unit, a large pitbull walked out, the unit reaked of cigarette smoke, dirty laundry, my reservation for 3man was wrong, only 1person was listed, there was so many other horrible things about the place, no where to lock away items was another, the area it's located is a drug addict Haven area, it was more a halfway​house

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
8.3

Need utensils for kitchen .. kettle etc.. plates ; cups.. microwave oven used as kettle boil water!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Feb 2017
6.0

This was a chill place. If i were on vacation or backpacking, this would've been a better fit. People were nice. Lots of smoking everywhere. Simple facilities. Old mattress. Not a great stay for a conference visit to Fort Lauderdale but again, would be good if you're looking to hang out and relax... and at a much better price than others accommodations in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
5.7

This property is a small 2 story apartment building with no security. I stayed in one of the 1 bdrm aprtments. The one bdrm had two bunk beds and 1 twin bed with a 5 drawer chest of drawers and a large clothes closet. There was also 1 twin cot used in the living room. There are 6 locker rm lockers near the entrance hallway. Full kitchen with cabinets and small bathroom with tub and shower. Cleanliness is dependent on occupants. This place is better for men than bad reviews indicate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
4.9

Wouldn't recommend it. Has a lot of, shall we say, undesirable people here. Not really a young backpackers crowd, but rather, middle aged people with nowhere better to go seem to stay here...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.