X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Clarence Park Reviews

7 Clarence Square, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
529 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great place to stay in an awesome location and the staff were riendly and helpful.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel was OK. It is in a very good location, you can basically get almost everywhere by walking. The beds in the hostel were pretty good and comfortable. Some people seemed to stay in the Hostel for a longer period of time, so it felt like most people already knew each other. The cleanliness generally was OK, just the bathrooms were not really clean, and it wasn't really nice to use them. In our bathroom there were a lot of hair and dirt on the floor.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

great stay in a lovely hostel.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The Clarence Park hostel is nicely situated in Toronto's center. The dorm could be better by making better use of the space by choosing better types of bunkbeds.Ditch the heavy stairs,make steps which could be multifunctional as cupboards/lockers and a place to sit at. I missed having no table and chairs.My mattress wasn't comfy, I switched it (didn't flip it over) but it didn't help much.Great to have curtains,but attach little nightlights on each bed for reading. Cleaning could be done better.


80%

Only stayed for two nites,Jeff at recp.was very welcoming

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good hostel and location. But it doesn't has breakfast, so is a bit expensive.


100%

The hostel is in a great location, with the CN Tower and Rogers Centre just minutes away. Chinatown was just a short walk, and lots of good bars are easily accessible. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was cleaned daily, and the communal areas were always clean and tidy. There were lockers available (not in room, which required own padlock!). The guy on reception was very helpful and informative. Overall an ideal hostel to explore Toronto, reasonably priced and good fun.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The man who is in charge of the kitchen is such a PAIN !!! He is always complaining. He must understand that The Clarence Park is a hostel not his house !!! Besides that the hostel is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for any confusion but we do not have anyone who is designated " in charge of the kitchen". Our kitchen does close at 23:00pm and if you are trying to cook after that hour you will be instructed to stop like this guest was every night during his 3 night stay. Besides that, thank you for your kind words about our hostel!

83%

No lockers in room but they are available downstairs which is a little annoying. There was a problem with the air con in the room but after mentioning it to the staff the next day they fixed quickly which was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It may seem a little annoying not to have lockers in the dorm room.....but the pluses soooooo out way the minuses not having them their! We have them in the hallway away from some one trying to get a good night sleep! It was the biggest complaint we received when we opened 10 years ago and we fixed the problem immediately. Hope to see you soon!

91%

parking was a pain due to event in the park across the street, other than that a great stay.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Both the dorm and private room were nice. I liked the fact that the dorm beds have individual curtains to draw around the bed. Nice atmosphere, definitely one of the better hostels I have stayed at.


94%

The staff was friendly, very helpful and in excellent moods.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was great!! really! nice people, nice place! you're downtown all right and the staff is super helpful! our bedroom was nice and the place was quiet which is nice! the kitchen is a good help for any very low budget travelers!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel with young people and a very cool staff

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Rooftop patio needs some sprucing up. Deck boards broken. I get the impression that it is not used much, but could be a nice space. The air conditioner was really noisy, maybe a window insert would be better?

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Really nice, new hostel, with all new facilities. More like a guesthouse.


89%

The location is excellent, walking distance to most important sights. The facilities are good. Nice kitchen, which is a bit messy sometimes. The only thing we missed in the room were the lockers, apart from that, very nice.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at the hostel on my own for a couple of nights. The hostel itself was great with great facilities and felt safe and clean. You could happily leave all your belongings in your room in the open and know you'd come back after a full day out and they'd be there still. The atmosphere if the hostel did feel quiet though. People mainly kept to themselves


97%

The hostel was huge and super clean the staff was awesome on recommending good bars and activities to do. If you're looking for a party hostel this may not be the one. Most of the people were staying long term. But overall great experience


74%

Excellent location. Big room and TV, full of places do hang clothes. Good bathroom. The only issue was the delay in check me in, because the person before left the room late... They should be more rigorous with the guests when others are waiting...


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback