X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Clarence Park Reviews

7 Clarence Square, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
549 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I loved my stay here, the people were great and it was close to everywhere you would need to go.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Well equipped kitchen, but really dirty due to people not cleaning up after themselves. Hostel was opened last year so it is all modern, but already lived down by the guests. Bins in our room weren't emptied as we arrived. Room had no proper window, only emergency door with no glass you could see through. No go: a huge bug-like creature crawling around the room. Very nice staff on welcome though, helped carrying our luggage. WiFi didn't work properly in the room.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Couldn't ask for better. Great location, good value for money, the friendliest of staff, great facilities, warm comfortable rooms, heaps of communal space, great kitchen. Short interesting walk to china town and kensington markets. Right in the heart of the city. Best place to stay.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff was helpful and congenial. I found location very convenient, close to downtown and transportation. A couple things that would be appreciated are at least an additional stove in the kitchen (waited at least 1/2 hr one night) and storage cubicles in dorms.


80%

No washing machine :(


89%

We stayed in a private ensuite and were very impressed. It was like a mini hotel room. The room was nice and quant, bed was comfy, suprised that they had a little flat screen TV in the room as well as that is not something we've seen in other private ensuites that we had stayed in. Location was good. Only negative was that we were awoken by rowdy crowds coming back from a night out around 1am but it is a hostel after all so that's to be expected. Would definitely stay here again though.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay in an awesome location and the staff were riendly and helpful.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel was OK. It is in a very good location, you can basically get almost everywhere by walking. The beds in the hostel were pretty good and comfortable. Some people seemed to stay in the Hostel for a longer period of time, so it felt like most people already knew each other. The cleanliness generally was OK, just the bathrooms were not really clean, and it wasn't really nice to use them. In our bathroom there were a lot of hair and dirt on the floor.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our bathrooms are cleaned spotlessly every day! But it is unrealistic to assume that the bathrooms are cleaned after every use!! If you have ever spent any time in a hostel you would have to expect a level of compromise between you and the guests that you share the room with. If our hostel was in the state of disrepair as stated, this guest would not have extended their stay 3 times. We hope to see you soon!

80%

great stay in a lovely hostel.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The Clarence Park hostel is nicely situated in Toronto's center. The dorm could be better by making better use of the space by choosing better types of bunkbeds.Ditch the heavy stairs,make steps which could be multifunctional as cupboards/lockers and a place to sit at. I missed having no table and chairs.My mattress wasn't comfy, I switched it (didn't flip it over) but it didn't help much.Great to have curtains,but attach little nightlights on each bed for reading. Cleaning could be done better.


80%

Only stayed for two nites,Jeff at recp.was very welcoming

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

First hostel I stayed at that had separate buildings, no looks in the room. Nice kitchen and lounge though.


80%

Very good hostel and location. But it doesn't has breakfast, so is a bit expensive.


100%

The hostel is in a great location, with the CN Tower and Rogers Centre just minutes away. Chinatown was just a short walk, and lots of good bars are easily accessible. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was cleaned daily, and the communal areas were always clean and tidy. There were lockers available (not in room, which required own padlock!). The guy on reception was very helpful and informative. Overall an ideal hostel to explore Toronto, reasonably priced and good fun.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The man who is in charge of the kitchen is such a PAIN !!! He is always complaining. He must understand that The Clarence Park is a hostel not his house !!! Besides that the hostel is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for any confusion but we do not have anyone who is designated " in charge of the kitchen". Our kitchen does close at 23:00pm and if you are trying to cook after that hour you will be instructed to stop like this guest was every night during his 3 night stay. Besides that, thank you for your kind words about our hostel!

83%

No lockers in room but they are available downstairs which is a little annoying. There was a problem with the air con in the room but after mentioning it to the staff the next day they fixed quickly which was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It may seem a little annoying not to have lockers in the dorm room.....but the pluses soooooo out way the minuses not having them their! We have them in the hallway away from some one trying to get a good night sleep! It was the biggest complaint we received when we opened 10 years ago and we fixed the problem immediately. Hope to see you soon!

91%

parking was a pain due to event in the park across the street, other than that a great stay.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Both the dorm and private room were nice. I liked the fact that the dorm beds have individual curtains to draw around the bed. Nice atmosphere, definitely one of the better hostels I have stayed at.


94%

The staff was friendly, very helpful and in excellent moods.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It was great!! really! nice people, nice place! you're downtown all right and the staff is super helpful! our bedroom was nice and the place was quiet which is nice! the kitchen is a good help for any very low budget travelers!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback