X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Clarence Park Reviews

7 Clarence Square, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
693 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

There was mentioned a BBQ on the balcony, unfortunately it wasn't so....nos screen protection on the room window, we had to sleep with the window closed because of a racoon on the balcony. We wanted to bring our own food to the kitchen but the refrigerators were all full so we went to restaurants instead.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The BBQ is for the guests use. We have 4 buildings and is located on the roof of the main building. Come see us for use! Being the summer, the 3 fridges with 85 guests can get busy! Sorry if for that inconvenience!

100%

The people were super nice, It was clean and I am usually very picky about the places I stay and I am about to book there again

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Cosy hostel with good vibe. Living room and rooftop terrace to have some drinks with other guests, but they made sure it was quiet enough after 11pm to get some sleep at night. I liked that every bed had seperate curtains but it would be an improvement if every bed also has a bedside lamp.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Arrived to find the place a mess, the staff were rude and bordered insulting, no lockers in the room with a window held up by a plank of wood, not to mention that it smelt of mold. Location wasn't bad but overall I expected more considering it's reviews.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel bed this guests stay was not anything but pleasant. Our staff are always considerate and understanding to our guests needs! To add, we are struggling to understand what room they are describing. The room this guest received does not have mold in it nor is the window being held up by a plank of wood!

74%

This hotel is a good option if you are looking for something cheap in a good location. The rooms are a bit small and the cleaning is very superficial. I stayed four days and they only sweep the room once (the last day).


94%

I had a great stay here. The staff were super supportive and the location was great for my first visit to Toronto. I wish the rooms had been a bit cleaner, as my dorm mates and I made a game out of killing flys and mosquitos, but the large windows and balcony in the room made that pretty difficult. Overall I would recommend staying here if you have never been to the Toronto.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location was the best thing going for this place. The staff was courteous. The facilities good, but just adequate. A few things would have made the room much better: More hooks on the walls (travellers usually drape their stuff all over chairs, which we didn't have), and wi-fi in the rooms away from the main building. We enjoyed our stay there. Thank you.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff are so funny!! And helpful !!!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

First time visiting Toronto for the Nike Women 15k, GREAT locations within walking distance to the train. Staff was very friendly, will visit again!!


94%

It's a great experience. The location is the best, very easy to go to any Toronto's attraction. The staff is always in the right mood an they are very polite.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

What can I say, this place is awesome. The staff are great, the facilities are super and the location is perfect! I think it definitely helped that the hostel was full of awesome, friendly people and wish I could have stayed longer. If you are ever planning on going to Toronto, you HAVE to stay here. Big Dan.


71%

Good location.


89%

Two night stay, excellent location downtown Toronto. Room was small but efficient with decent bathroom. Staff friendly. Parking available at a good price as well. I would stay here again.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

We were visiting our daughter in Toronto who was there for six months. Toronto is a fabulous city and she was able to show us around the various districts which we explored mainly on foot. The Clarence Park is in an ideal location to see the city when you are on a budget. We were older than the normal hostel crowd but we had our own large en-suite room which was fine. They emptied the bin everyday.. Wifi was good and the shared facilities appeared adequate although we didn't partake.

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Wifi was unstable and very slow especially in the room (upstairs). Only 2 persons connect and it's stuck, made me irritated! Room was not clean. A lot of rubbish under the bed. It seems that it's not mopped quite a long time! They don't change bathroom floor mat everyday, yet they ask us to hang it every time after shower which means we have to touch thousands of bacteria just after shower! Staff was away when I needed and I had to wait at reception until I don't know when they're return.


71%

Floor was dirty, we found roaches on the last day which was pretty gross. Dorms are small but the rooftop patio and bbq was great. The front desk guy was super helpful. Paying was difficult as they didn't take credit cards. Website stated all beds had reading lights and privacy curtains this was not the case and pictures on the website are very misleading.


89%

Nice house, very clean. You can "close" your bed with a curtain (very useful for early sleepers) and the facilities are great. The host is sympathic.


91%

Best staff ever! Awesome room in a great location. The only downside: Our room was right next to the building entry and the walls are very thin, meaning that we heard everyone coming in and going out during the whole night.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

great friendly staff, superb location and very affordable.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A comfortable hotel. Nice staff. I have left my cell phone in room 402. Did anyone find it? If so please send it on. You have my address I will refund postage. Thanks. Brenda Batts

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback