X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Clarence Park Reviews

7 Clarence Square, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
462 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

One of the best Hostels I have ever been!

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff is great. We tried more than 4-5 different hostels in Toronto (incl. three of the five best rated) and this one is clearly the best value for money you can get. It is also well located, five minutes walk from the St Andrew subway station.


80%

Awesome location, great facilities, comforting atmosphere, clean bathrooms. Only negative point: Some of the carpets in the hostel smell a bit strange. But this hostel is definetly the place to stay when you are in Toronto!


97%

Love this place...home away from home and it not all young packers even some my age there 56 years nice

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Location only got a good as it was a semi decent walk from the hostel to the train station and the busier parts of town - which is good and bad (kept noise down atleast!) Cleanliness was only a good as twice I went down in the morning to the kitchen and food from previous night had been left out and pots/pans stacked up.. Facilities is good, it's got everything there, however wifi was unavailable in the rooms and hard to pick up on higher levels of the building! Overall though a nice stay!


94%

My first time staying at a hostel and I was very impressed with Clarence Square. Friendly staff, prime location and an overall comforting atmosphere.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything is fine, except Internet wi-fi connection which is the worst one I've seen for the last few years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We can understand the frustration by this guest. The server in the area was a problem for 3 days during his stay and was not working well in the rooms. But it was working just fine in the common areas. So was the free computer in the common area.

100%

PHENOMENAL. Hostel owner went above and beyond to help us find alternative accommodation during the Toronto International Film Festival. Good solid bunk beds with a huge amount of headroom for the bottom bunk. Bunks do not creak. Very clean bathrooms. Safe, fantastic location, easy to get to from the airport. Nice kitchen and lounge area. Have stayed in plenty of hostels all over the world, The Clarence Park is definitely one of my favourite boutique hostels. Thank you so much Dan!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Excellent location, very near to CN tower Very friendly staff Really good / clean bathrooms Good facilities e.g use of kitchen, TVs etc

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff!! Brilliant location 5/10 minute walk from the CN tower. Clean facilities, hot water. Not a massive party hostel a lot of people staying there long term but still people to chat to/ go out with. Would definetly recommend


86%

It's clean, comfortable and nice. I stay at Toronto HI as well, this hostel is better than HI.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is located in a charming park, quiet street,very accesible with public transport, walking distance to waterfront,ferry port to the island etc. Kitchen full equiped,staff very nice and helpfull Negative > internet access very limited (internet provider is to blame and wall sockets in room didnt work) I loved the place and will recommend it Back to Toronto would definetely return to The Clarence Park Thank you all !

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A great welcome and very friendly staff, clean comfy rooms and awesome location!!


97%

This is a great hostel, the location can't be beat and all the guys working there are really friendly. The rooms are really spacious and I love the privacy curtains and individual lights and power outlets in each bunk. This is a great hostel for anyone visiting Toronto, whether it's only for a few nights or if you're looking for something longer! I definitely recommend The Clarence Park!


97%

excellent stay as always, the staff really go the extra mile for you here - yet they make sure house rules are enforced in a firm, friendly way...kitchen facilities are top notch, two big screen TVs back to back in the pass through between kitchen and living, plenty of room to kick back in comfort, location just can't be beat - lovely park across the street, upscale cafe just next door, steps from the city's finest hotels. share a roof with a United Nations of fellow travelers, of all ages!

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The Clarence park hostel is second to none outstanding on every level location is with out a dout the best in town. CN tower less than a ten minuet walk and the city just around the corner, great places to eat on kings street plenty to see and do great city fantastic hostel couldn't ask for better. Chris Northern Ireland


91%

Great place, really enjoyed our short stay, perfect location, nice and quiet! Could have had a bit more information about the city, staff didn't seem to know where a lot of things were. Other than that would definitely recommend and stay here again! Thanks!

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is excellent, I didn't need to use public transport at all while I was in Toronto. The kitchen is fairly well equipped although it could do with a couple more pans. The beds all have curtains round them, sockets and reading lamps which is a nice touch but there are no lockers in the rooms. The en suite bathroom in my room didn't seem to have a good enough fan so it was quite damp at all times meaning it and the bedroom smelt horribly musty; better ventilation would easily sort this.


100%

Had an awesome time, will come again for sure. The receptionists are of the most awesome kind.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect stay - Amazing for meeting people when you're new to the city.


(256 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback