X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Connemara Hostel (Sleepzone) Reviews

Leenane, Connemara, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
877 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff was extremely nice (even knew me by my first name, and it was pretty busy). Good location for people who like being out in the mountains. Only issue is with the hostelworld listing which lists breakfast as being included. Breakfast is not included (the booking confirmation from the hostel itself even say it is not, so this isn't a complain to them), only tea, coffee and kitchen facilities provided.


100%

Amazing stay at Connemara Hostel. The staff is very lovely, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfy and very clean. The view on the Killary Harbour is incredible. That's definitely a super spot to explore the area with a lot of treks possible around. The bar is also very nice to chill out and the kitchen is well equipped. Highly recommended !


57%

Terrible smell of mould and very high humidity in our bedroom (Nr 2). Heaters didnt work, as a consequence the room was very cold.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. It was unfortunate that there was a prolonged spell of very wet and humid weather while you were here and we hope you have lots of sunshine for your next visit to Connemara. Also we have addressed issues relating to a water leak in the room you occupied.

80%

Bring your food with you! The nearest place to buy food is miles away, so plan a bit in advance and bring everything you need with you. The location near the fjord is great, but without a car it's a bit complicated to go anywhere. So make friends with everyone in the hostel to see if someone can give you a ride, or hitch.


100%

Everything was great, it's a beautiful place and the staff is very nice, we enjoyed a lot.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Fergal and staff. You were great hosts and the hostel is excellent. Mimi Williams and family.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

the kitchen / cleanliness

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, spacious and well-run hostel. Paper towels in the kitchen would be a helpful bonus. A great location for people who like to get away from it all and experience a pristine natural environment. Guests arriving by Galway Tour Company coach should be prepared for a pleasant 1km walk from the main road to the hostel. Watch out for midges as well.


66%

The hostel itself is in a great spot, close to Killarny. Good value for money but you get what you pay for: The private rooms are of the usual hostel standard (bunk beds, tired furniture, mould and non draining sink in bathroom). The breakfast is poor; hot water, instant coffee and teabags plus toast, jam and butter. Staff is a mixed bunch, some were very helpful and friendly and some of them could do with a little hospitality training.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you feel you received good value for your money. As with any large rural building in constant use maintenance issues continuously arise and we appreciate being informed so that we can rectify them as soon as possible. Our breakfast is complimentary and very simple. We hope you will have another opportunity to return and enjoy our spectacular setting. The Manager

63%

Damp smell in our room, sloppy maintainance, everything was a litltlebit greasy, didn't trust those jars of jam where everybody sticks his/her dirty knife in and 2 half empty jars were filled into one

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hostel is in a beautiful location and setting. Good kitchen facilities. A shade was broken in our room.


100%

We had a very good time in Sleepzone Connemara! As a group of carers with disabled people, we appreciated the comfort and security of the place, as well as all the things we found there to facilitate our stay ( towels, bathrooms, breakfast, stuff to cook...). It was also real fun and enjoyable to see all these people from different countries, and we were glad no one looked down at us, as we were with a group of disabled people. They all keep good memories of Sleepzone!


100%

I had my best time in Ireland in the Connemara region and the hostel contributed to it! Everything went perfectly for me! Georgious spot, friendly staff, very confortable hostel I would've stayed for years!


100%

The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. On arrival the staff showed us around the facilities, happily chatting and detailing the breakfast arrangements and other useful facilities they provided.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect Location for Gaelforce fantastic value for money

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved it here! Great hostel!


100%

Firstly the view is incredible. Absolutely best thing to wake up to. The staff are awesome as anything. When they found out I was from New Zealand one of them ran and got a rugby ball. Felt straight at home. The nearest town is about 6kms away. Totally worth the walk. Breathtaking. 11/10


100%

I have been there several times and it is always a great pleasure to stay at this hostel.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were exceptional : friendly and helpful!


100%

The view from the hostel is beautifull, the staff is very friendly. It you want to sit near the fireplace with a good book after a long walk and if you want to have a great view on the fjord while eating breakfast, this place is for you.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Connemara Hostels

Please give us your feedback