Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Connemara Hostel (Sleepzone) Reviews

Leenane, Connemara, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


909 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


This is such a lovely hostel. The staff is very friendly; I even caught some names and had some conversations. The location is perfect, out of the way of everything and right by the fjord. There were some quirks, like the water wasn't drinkable (which is NOT a normal thing, it had just happened, so it'll probably be drinkable when you're there) and I had to wait a while for a receptionist to check me in, but I felt right at home anyway. Also, wifi worked great. And there's plenty of tea!


+ Nice hostel in picturecque place. A lot of space and big public rooms. Real peat chimney in dinig room wich is realy enjoyable in rainy days. Tolerant alcohol policy. - Pure aviability by public transport. You will defently need a car or at list a bike to visit places of interest all around.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


If scenic is what you want look no further, breathtaking location in the Conemmara national park and the friendly staff are happy to offer their knowledge for the best hikes in the area. A must if you're staying in Conemmara!


The staff was very kind and the place nice, 10 minutes from Kylemore Abbey.


this hostel was great! the staff was really nice and willing to help, also there was a tv room, a very clean and fully equipped kitchen, a dining room, a bar, a room for your food with fridges,.. so this was just perfect! great landscapes, but not really close to the national park in connemara. and another thing: we had mould in our dorm. that's the part i did not like about the hostel. but except this, i had a wonderful stay here :)


Nice hostel in the middle of nowhere, which is great because of the beautyful landscape. Cosy common room and a dining room with nice view. Wifi could be better, it works just in the common room. There are a lot of french tourists, so it's a great advantage if you are able to speak french.


Nice place in an amazing location. Experience was not excellent since security code system at dormitory entrance door get blocked often and people were not able to enter in. Even staff was not able to fix it so we had to leave door open in the night to let people coming back.


typical, classic grungy, run-down irish hostel


The staff was extremely nice (even knew me by my first name, and it was pretty busy). Good location for people who like being out in the mountains. Only issue is with the hostelworld listing which lists breakfast as being included. Breakfast is not included (the booking confirmation from the hostel itself even say it is not, so this isn't a complain to them), only tea, coffee and kitchen facilities provided.


Amazing stay at Connemara Hostel. The staff is very lovely, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfy and very clean. The view on the Killary Harbour is incredible. That's definitely a super spot to explore the area with a lot of treks possible around. The bar is also very nice to chill out and the kitchen is well equipped. Highly recommended !


Terrible smell of mould and very high humidity in our bedroom (Nr 2). Heaters didnt work, as a consequence the room was very cold.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. It was unfortunate that there was a prolonged spell of very wet and humid weather while you were here and we hope you have lots of sunshine for your next visit to Connemara. Also we have addressed issues relating to a water leak in the room you occupied.


Bring your food with you! The nearest place to buy food is miles away, so plan a bit in advance and bring everything you need with you. The location near the fjord is great, but without a car it's a bit complicated to go anywhere. So make friends with everyone in the hostel to see if someone can give you a ride, or hitch.


Everything was great, it's a beautiful place and the staff is very nice, we enjoyed a lot.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Thank you Fergal and staff. You were great hosts and the hostel is excellent. Mimi Williams and family.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Amazing location with gorgeous views, great place to stay that is a little different. Perfect spot to use to explore the connemara area


the kitchen / cleanliness

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


Very clean, spacious and well-run hostel. Paper towels in the kitchen would be a helpful bonus. A great location for people who like to get away from it all and experience a pristine natural environment. Guests arriving by Galway Tour Company coach should be prepared for a pleasant 1km walk from the main road to the hostel. Watch out for midges as well.


The hostel itself is in a great spot, close to Killarny. Good value for money but you get what you pay for: The private rooms are of the usual hostel standard (bunk beds, tired furniture, mould and non draining sink in bathroom). The breakfast is poor; hot water, instant coffee and teabags plus toast, jam and butter. Staff is a mixed bunch, some were very helpful and friendly and some of them could do with a little hospitality training.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you feel you received good value for your money. As with any large rural building in constant use maintenance issues continuously arise and we appreciate being informed so that we can rectify them as soon as possible. Our breakfast is complimentary and very simple. We hope you will have another opportunity to return and enjoy our spectacular setting. The Manager


Damp smell in our room, sloppy maintainance, everything was a litltlebit greasy, didn't trust those jars of jam where everybody sticks his/her dirty knife in and 2 half empty jars were filled into one

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hostel is in a beautiful location and setting. Good kitchen facilities. A shade was broken in our room.

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)

View all Connemara Hostels

Please give us your feedback