Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Connemara Hostel (Sleepzone)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2017
10.0

Fantastic place amazing views very cosy and all details looked after down to the candles lit in the dining room in the evening. I would definetely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
5.7

The location is superb, but the hostel isn't. The rooms, sheets and towels are dirty. The staff seems to have only basic English skills. I was happy I only had to stay there one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
10.0

We were a group of three friends on a weekend trip to Connemara from Dublin and Kildare. The hostel is in a beautiful location and is good value for money. We got a discount for Kylemore Abbey from the hostel reception which was very welcome. I would also like to say a huge thanks to staff for finding my phone for me in the bedroom and holding on to it for me at reception until I could get back to collect it. Much appreciated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
4.6

- This is NOT a YH geared to hikers and to friendly, collaborative use of communal resources. - Kitchen is worst I've ever seen in a YH: TINY for the number of people. Far too little equipment, rubbish & faulty stoves. Everyone annoyed. Safety nightmare. Dining & food storage space also too small. - Bedroom filthy & STANK of sweat. - Staff pleasant but all temps & therefore not knowledgeable or invested in the place. - "Quiet" room had loud action films all evening. - Countryside lovely.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
5.7

I booked two rooms and one was fine but the other, the room on the ground floor was extremly damp. So was the bathroom where you could see water on the walls. The smell was terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Jul 2017
6.9

Decent sized hostel. Needs a little maintenance. Quite far from any pubs. Only weird thing was that everyone was French. Maybe we missed something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Fabulous location, extremely friendly and welcoming staff. If we'd known how lovely this hostel is we'd have arranged to stay longer than just one night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.6

The staff were friendly and available, the location ideal, the amenities were sufficient but not extraordinary. The atmosphere was amazing and we made quite a few friends in our one night stay. The cleanliness of the showers and rooms was not ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.4

The fireplace in the living room was wonderful, and the place was really nice. I recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've had the pleasure of staying in. The location is spectacular. Beautiful views of the Killary Fjord from the dining and social areas as well as my room. The staff was a pleasure to be around and the owner gave great walking/hiking advice for the area as well as some very interesting local history and culture. I only planned for two nights at the hostel and the only negative of my stay was that it was not long enough. Will definitely plan a longer stay my next trip to Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×