Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Connemara Hostel (Sleepzone)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1045 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've had the pleasure of staying in. The location is spectacular. Beautiful views of the Killary Fjord from the dining and social areas as well as my room. The staff was a pleasure to be around and the owner gave great walking/hiking advice for the area as well as some very interesting local history and culture. I only planned for two nights at the hostel and the only negative of my stay was that it was not long enough. Will definitely plan a longer stay my next trip to Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
10.0

Great location with beautiful views. I was unexpectedly upgraded to a private room, which was very nice. Good faculties, staff were helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
3.7

No potable water; no hot water in shower; no heat; smelly room. Would never stay there again and deter others from doing so.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

Excellent. The rooms were not cramped, they were clean and well maintained. The self service kitchen was well stocked and the dining hall was perfect. Nice touch having the tables candle lit in the evening. The hostel is so nice and the staff were amazing. They went above and beyond the job to ensure that everyone was comfortable and happy. The location in Leenane was beautiful and I enjoyed my stay immensely. One of my top three places to stay in Ireland. I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.0

Beautiful setting on the fjord and perfect stop on a road trip along the wild Atlantic way. I used it as a base for hiking in Connemara. Loads of stuff in surrounding area to visit. If you didn't have a car you would be a bit isolated as the pubs/shops are not within walking distance. The hostel is well equipped with big common areas and has a basic breakfast. There were a few backpackers staying and unfortunately a large noisy school group which ruined the atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Apr 2017
6.6

Don't go here if you don't have a car, the location is very out of the way. The view is beautiful but there's nothing within walking distance. Staff was great and most friendly I've seen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.1

A little difficult to find and easily confused with another hostel of a similar name, but worth it for the views

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.1

The facilities were not so clean when we were there, and it's qite an expensive hostel for such a remote location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.