Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cranky Croc Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,385 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
The Cranky Croc Hostel Located at Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria, Bogota.
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria
88% 1385
4.5998030 -74.0700478
The Cranky Croc Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
7.7

The location is good, the room was very good, clean, nice comfortable beds, good bathroom, hot shower etc. The cleaning staff were very nice and friendly as well. Pity the staff at reception weren't much use. They only did the basic stuff and weren't helpful in regards to tours, activities etc. In regard to one tour we asked about we were told to come back tomorrow morning and talk to the driver of the tour. On check out they continued to do a stocktake while 4 groups were waiting to check out

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Sweet hostel in great backpacker location. Night guard, security controlled front door, beers 24hrs, clean and lots of showers, can change towels, was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Skyscammer f*cked up my flight so I had an epic/stressful overnight bus from Medellin instead of a quick flight, Cranky Croc moved my booking and had a room ready for when my bus got in, awesome! Much appreciated, guys. Really nice room, better than a lot of EU/US hotels I've stayed in, nice vibe, friendly and helpful staff, hot shower (yeah, hot!!), I just wish I didn't have to fly home tomorrow... :((( Definitely my go to hostel next time I'm in the neighbourhood. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel, clean room and bed, good restaurant for breakfast. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about Colombia and Bogota, they also speak very good English. The atmosphere here is very friendly and it is easy to meet people and find people to do activities with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jericurtis
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel. The showers are amazing - really modern, clean and hot which is what you want in Bogota as it's so cold! The dorm beds are nice with a plug socket next to the bed and large locker with plug sockets inside. The food from the restaurant is really good and reasonably priced. You can book the bike tour through the hostel, it's really good! Only negatives are the wifi sucks and the tv room needs some comfy sofas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
4.9

This very clean hostel is very good if you wanna sleep and go to your next stop. But it is extremely boring with no good mood or vibes inside: no chill area, no hammock, no confortable sits or sofas, etc. The staff was very neutral and did not try to connect with us at all. Even though they say it's for backpackers, it is not. It is always empty and you never feel like "home" there. But, I must point out the cleanness and quality of the dorms, was perfect! Best

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
8.9

This hostel is in a great location - easy and safe to walk to the local shops, bars and attractions. The rooms are very clean and the showers are great! Although there are no locks on the doors, there are lockers and some security at the front door. The hostel are great for suggesting and arranging activities - graffiti and bike tour are a must! The perfect place for solo travelers to meet others that have just arrived too - as Bogotá seems to be the start for many people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
8.0

OK hostel but overpriced (40k dorm) and no free breakfast. A few requests for future guests: The courtyard with plants is a bit of wasted space I think since there are no chairs there. It would be nice to have some comfortable chairs or hammocks in addition to all of the picnic tables in the common area. The storage area was unlocked the entire time I was there: I would not feel comfortable leaving my bag with the hostel if I did not have my private locker. The "free coffee" was usually empty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 56 reviews
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Not my first stay and definitely not the last! All the guys who run the place and fredy and Fernando are super friendly and so helpful! The showers are the best I've had in central and south America. Great location and very easy to be social. Cool menu if you can't be bothered to go out too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
8.9

Very clean and good environment. Friendly staff. The showers and cleanliness are AMAZING!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.