Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cranky Croc Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
The Cranky Croc Hostel Located at Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria, Bogota.
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria
88% 1331
4.5998030 -74.0700478
The Cranky Croc Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Sep 2016
5.1

The showers were hot and powerful. The actual bed was comfy but I found it difficult to get up on it as there wasn't really a ladder. Also to my great dissappointment the hostel organized a taxi for me in the morning to go to the airport. The driver ended up charging me 40,000. About 10,000 more than suggested and then the driver gave me fake change back of 20,000 so it ended up costing me 60,000. I also noticed the driver slipped the staff something when he came to pick me up. Feel very sad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, everything else was good. Hot showers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
7.7

Stay was Nice. The only issue we had was after checkout we were trying to get to the bus station, We knew a cab would be around 20k.The man with the glasses at the front desk told us there was a private driver who would bring us there for 20k so we decided to support the hostel. After the ride to the bus station the driver demanded 40k, over 15 usd.His reasoning, " because you are traveling, you have money" " I know you have more money." We got tired of arguing and gave 30k.. We felt ripped off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
2.3

The min we walked in the guy behind the till was a a***hole rude didn't welcome us thought he was clever and blunt! Wouldn't reckoned so where to get food even though he told some girls arrogant.. The next day cold showeres really really roughn be neighbour hood would not recommend here go stay up northern rich part of city when we checked out early made us not a extra day and we lost a deposit

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
9.7

Excellent location. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Clean and quiet facilities. My only negatives were that the street was being overhauled (dug up and relaid) by the municipality (not their fault), and that they do not accept credit cards.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing staff great spot loved staying here and will be again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ggoodwin93310
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Guys at the front desk are super friendly. It's quite a big hostel so definitely opt for a big dorm room to meet people, as it can feel a little empty. Great lockers, with power points inside them. Generally good and clean facilities! Wifi lacked in my room is my only down point :\

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

Good location. Clean toilets. Good area to mingle with other travellers. rooms are a little small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2016
7.7

Hostel very clean and in a great location. Big lockers in rooms with lights and power outlets. Wifi is terrible and only in common areas. Common areas lack comfortable and warm space to hang out and it is not a very relaxing place to be when you want to chill out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
8.6

The beds with the duvet covers and individual toilets/ showers were the best part! However, I would say that the staff is subpar. They were nice enough, but they weren't particularly helpful or friendly. They didn't have good /touristy city maps (only ones on computer paper that weren't particularly helpful). Hangout area is ok, but not super comfortable. I couldn't get wifi in my room. I did meet a lot of fun people, but I think you can get a similar caliber hostel for less somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.