Hostelworld.com

The Cranky Croc Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
The Cranky Croc Hostel Located at Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria, Bogota.
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Calle 12d No. 3-46, La Candelaria
90% 1249
4.5998030 -74.0700478
The Cranky Croc Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2016
9.4

He beds in the hostel where insanely comfortable with proper duvets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.6

The hostel run a lot of events such as a party bus and Freddies walking tour which is a must do. The only cons are that there are a few shady looking people wondering around the area that the hostel is located in and there are no hot showers. The beds are super comfortable and everything is really clean. If you're looking for somewhere quiet then this isn't the right place as there were times when I was woken up in the early hours by drunk party goers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
10.0

Cranky Croc is the best hostel for your first stay in Bogota ! I didn't even feel like I needed time to settle into Colombia, and I think I can attribute this to where I stayed. The hostel seems to be designed to make you socialise, we met people straight away! It is also in a super cool place with great bars and restaurants legit in spitting distance. There's security guards overnight, a big iron gate and someone at the desk for 24hr, and the staff and owner are lovely as!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Great atmosphere comfy beds good staff, great hostel, recommended!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
7.4

I had heard the Cranky Croc is one of the best in the area. Decent beds, cleanliness was good. The hostel is fairly small, so the atmosphere is dependent on how many people are there on a given night. Good location just under constant construction. Value for price: no free breakfast, no bar, and only 1 desktop computer that worked while I was there. The wifi was as good as expected.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.7

Great vibe in this hostel with very helpful staff and lots of things happening, particularly social aspects during the week and in the weekends. The walking / graffiti / bike tours here are really good so definitely do these if you stay here. Bathrooms are also very new and nice and the showers are awesome. Wifi worked well for us basically the entire three days we were there too. Cheers Croc!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thelonewanderer
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.3

Sociable hostel with plenty of activities in the popular but slightly dodgy La Calendaria area. Great beds with individual lights and lockers with power points. My only complaint is that if you order a taxi from them to get you to the airport it's almost 50% more expensive than getting one off the street ('special white cab' the driver told me when I queried the cost) and in addition the firm they used was tardy (15 minutes late) too!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2016
6.9

Fine but average and nondescript hostel. Beds so uncomfortable and rooms VERY sparsely decorated although clean. Facilities average although bathrooms were nice. Pretty social but overall pretty underwhelmed. Did the party bus to André carne de res which was for the most part a waste of money although we did have fun (for the whole two hours we were there which considering it takes 50 mins there and back was kind of pointless).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.9

Lively hostel unbeatable for location in la candelaria, but can be a little noisy at night due to proximity of bars. Dorms and bathrooms were as good as you can get in a hostel. In house cook makes a good breakfast. Great place for a solo traveller as plenty going on!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Love this hostel! Location was great to get to lots of places like Moserrate and the Museums. The free walking tour with Freddie is a must! The hostel is very clean, wonderful staff and very affordable delicious breakfast! Also a great place to meet travellers from all over the world!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.