Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Cranky Croc Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.4

A really nice hostel. Always clean with amazing hot showers. The breakfast isn't free but it's delicious (omelette & pancake are highly recommended). It is well located, heaps of bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were very kind and helpful, helped me by printing off a bus ticket. Private room was cosy and pleasant. Free walking tour is worth doing. My only problem was the cat which kept yowling in the middle of the night, spoiling my sleep on nights 3 & 4 (I'm a cat lover but this wasn't good)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
9.1

This is a fantastic hostel. Very clean, and has hot water. It's located in downtown Bogota, the security is great. But a local friend of mine told me it's somewhat a bad neighborhood. I did a tour right down the block and the tour guide mentioned that people got robbed last week on the same tour when they feel behind. But if you remain vigilant you won't have any issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
9.4

The only things I would improve for this hostel are 1) the mattresses are so hard and uncomfortable, so replace them, and 2) the wifi is unreliable and slow, so make it faster. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is ok. It's not a party hostel but you will inevitably find people who want to party.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.4

this is probably the cleanest hostel we have ever stayed in. big sigh of relief when we saw the private bathroom. great breakfast, v helpful staff. room is hotel-equivalent. complaints: they let you leave your bags in a storage room if you need to check out early, but that room is not locked. our room for some reason had heated floors (must have been something downstairs) and was therefore insufferably hot. doors are wacko hard to lock/unlock

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Such a nice hostel!! The staff is super nice and helpful, help booking taxis, trips and give great advice. The hostel is located just in the Candelaria, which is nice for walking around and enjoying the street-art. Close to supermarkets, ATMs and nice bars & restaurants. The facilities are great as well and everything is super clean! Rooms with individual lockers It's not a party hostel but has a really nice atmosphere. :) Would definitely come back !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice hostel in the cool centro historico area. Comfy bed, good wifi and good guest kitchen. Staff seemed a bit disinterested at times and the place lacks a bit of atmosphere. Overall a good hostel though, would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
7.7

Facilities and bathroom were brilliant and you could get a decent breakfast for extra cost. The place lacked atmosphere and the staff didn't really help when we were asking advice on trips etc but it was a pleasant enough stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.6

A very nice hostel, very modern with excellent bathroom facilities, breakfast options and activities including a walking tour each day at 3pm. Only negative would be the very small size of the dorm and lack of any chargers near the beds. Overall though, a very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.4

So far the Sugar cane hostel has been the best hostels I've stayed in Colombia. The rooms are a little tight but it's manageable if everyone is respectful of others personal space. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have the best time in Medellín. The location is right outside el poblado(if you enjoy the nightlife) and close to the metro(super convinient). The restaurants in the area are worth trying(about 30.cop).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel, awesome field trip to the local soccer games.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.