Hostelworld.com

The Custom House

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 7.4
The Custom House Located at 252 Haven Road, , Nelson.
The Custom House
New Zealand
Nelson 7010 252 Haven Road
71% 119
-41.2642593 173.2718825
The Custom House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2016
9.4

The hostel is located 15 min walking from downtown and has a big common area with tennis table, fussball, pool and a huge TV room with lots of DVDs. The owner is super nice and let me leave my stuffs there when I went on the Abel Tasman track for a few days. It is true that the kitchen is a kind of a mess, but obviously the guests are to blame, not so much the hostel (they actually clean it everyday). Beds are really comfy. I would definitely come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2016
8.0

The owner, Marcus, is the friendliest person we have ever met. Facilities were fine and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.3

This could be a great hostel if it was cleaned properly. There's great facilities, good atmosphere, very helpful and nice manager, free wifi, big kitchen and dining area. The only issue I had was with how the hostel is very messy and needs to be cleaned properly. Sort out that issue and the hostel will be really great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
8.9

We really loved to stay in that hostel! The bathroom was clean, just the kitchen was a bit disordered caused by all the untidy travelers, keeping Markus, the owner busy. Markus is a great and very funny person! He was so kind to borrow us a camping cooker for the Abel Tasman Walk and we could store our unneeded stuff there. He tries to make your stay as awesome as possible by cheering you up and joking around. The TV room is big and comfortable with a huge selection of different movies.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • neshwin
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
6th Feb 2016
5.4

The place was just one big mess. The kitchen was extremely dirty, the computers don't work, the shower had one stream of too cold/too hot water if you were lucky. The walk into town or to the beach is long, especially if it's hot out. The atmosphere was very good though, people were nice, there is a big tv where you can watch movies for hours and next to the hostel you can jump in the water if you're hot.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2016
7.4

Marcus is a lovely guy and gave me a free upgrade and looked at my car when I mentioned it was running great. The daily wharf jump is fun and makes you feel part of the team. It's a super friendly hostel, kitchen could be cleaner, people don't tend to clean their own dishes which is a shame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2016
8.9

Love it! It seriously feels like a little home away from home. Everyone is friendly and easy going. Nothing but positive things to say about Custom House

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2016
6.6

Hole place needs cleaning from top to bottom but staff are nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dtrail123
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
4.3

This place could do with a serious update. Felt dirty and stuffy. The owner was very nice but I wouldn't stay here again. Location is a little out of town but owner drive guests back to the town center after checking out which was really helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.