X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dancing Eesti Reviews

Sauna street 1, apartment 5, Tallinn, Estonia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
529 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We stayed here for one night and it wasn't the best. It was difficult to locate the hostel from the directions given. The hostel itself was like a maze and hard to navigate. About half of the lights in the place didn't work. It was very noisy until about 4am due to the nightclub downstairs. The bathrooms looked very old and in need of repair. However, we had a private room which wasn't so bad for the price and when we eventually found the hostel, we realised it was in an ideal location.


34%

This place is disgusting!!! Been to over 60 countries and I have never seen anything like this! Disco on the lower level so literally no sleep all night.! No staff available just to check in take r money and off you go. 'Deluxe 4 bed dorm' with extremely worn out mattress! Awful experience....


57%

The real let down of this place is the staff- or lack of. No one is ever at reception, so even when you first arrive at the time indicated there might just be a note saying you'll have to wait a couple of hours. Then, if a guest doesn't let you in you're stuck on the street and can't even get in the building! Multiple people were given keys that didn't work in the front door, again leaving you stuck outside. A plus is the location and number of showers/toilets (although dirty). Lots of potential


20%

Very durty, noisy space. Room was just horrible. Not recommanded at all. Pass your way


63%

The hostel is well situated, though the tips to find the hostel need a bit of updating. Room was ok. There was no hot water from the shower. If you plan on staying in the hostel in the weekend make sure to take earplugs with you, as there are a couple of nightclubs downstairs which keep on running until 6 AM.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The dancing eesti was impossible to locate but in a very central location. Its insides are a labyrinth too. The rooms were kept tidy however and staff (biigit) was amusing and did a brilliant unofficial bar crawl. Security is average as the main door is left open most of the time.


57%

Location was great, atmosphere nice, but it just wasn't clean enough.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The room for six people was very small and dirty and there was an humidity smiling mark on the ceiling. The toilets are not clean, and during the night there was a club on the first floor (the rooms are at the second floor) with hight music until 4 am.


71%

Pro: the staff is very friendly, the hostel is in the middle of town, the rooms are furnished quite comfortable and have their very own charm. con: it's difficult to find the entrance, once you're inside it's hard to find the staff, the hygiene in the bathrooms is on a low standard. All in all, we enjoyed our stay in this hostel and we think others might aswell, as long as you enjoy an non average accommodation.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in the center of Tallinn Old town. Nice and cozy rooms and an awesome bar downstairs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect hostel to enjoy everything Old town has to offer - amazing tourist attractions and of course awesome nightlife.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a good place, great staff and wonderful time . Loved the bar downstairs and location is just so great. Big thanks to little blondie Birgit, super friendly and beautiful girl. Very cool tattoos and she totally made our trip. All the best for you guys!!


94%

Great location in the old town, everything is very easily reachable, friendly, helpful stuff and a great atmosphere make your stay an unforgettable experience. Would definitively book it again! Thanks a lot for this good time!

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

No plate on the door showing the hostel. Old&trashy interior. Needs to climb the ladder to get to the living floor from the reception. If you're aged - be very careful.Microwave oven on the kitchen was broken. No staff on the reception was available to address that. Refrigerator for short term stayers-small. Bed sheets old and with holes. No towels were given. Not enough cups on kitchen. Noise isolation of room from other areas - none. Earplugs are the must. Garbage bin - never emptied in 24h.


91%

Friendly super helpful staff. The place has a fun grungy feel. Loud on the weekend. Great location, right in a good part of the old town. Would visit again!


71%

A bit hard to find. The info on Hostel World about check-in times contradicts reality. No, the place isn't squeaky clean, but what can you expect for such a small price? The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable; the location is excellent. Yes, I woke up every 30 minutes until 7:30 AM because of hysterical yelling and loud music from below, but I guess I probably should have expected that. I would probably stay there again because the pros slightly outweigh the cons.


66%

The staff is all very friendly, but also at times hard to find. The location is great (right in the middle of Old Town), but the hostel itself is very hard to find, and there could really be better directions given on the website. The bathroom facilities are sub-par. One of the toilets was broken, and the shower was dirty. When we asked for towels, we were given one damp towel for the four of us (I don't know if this is a regular occurrence). All that being said, the atmosphere was great.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Centre of the city,in the heart of old town.place is clean and in overall very nice place to stay especially if you are on budget,price for value is great!in the weekends the hostel bar is also open,and most of the times it's full until morning,the drinks also are very cheap!beer start from 2€.and also the other bars in sauna street keeps playing music until morning,so it can be little bit noisy in weekends.but for this price nobody can expect things to be perfect


100%

I had my best private ever in this wonderful hostel. The locations was perfect:close to the main sights and there's a cool club 50 meters from the entrence. There's a cozy bar at the reception where some random parties happening with some nice people.I have noticed that people were complaining about nonsense things.Always keep in mind that as nince you are to other people as nice they are going to be to you If you wanna get your arsh shiny go to a hotel.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

It was more than dirty. Toilets and showers DISGUSTING. not Bathrooms, only one little sink in the toilett. extreme STINKY. the bedlines were smelly and dirty. There was loud music and party all night, until 7:30am! even after asking to be silent, no reaction! And the so called Manager, was the most impolite and rude person ever! That's never happened to me before! a hostel manager who is offending and being rude to guests.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Tallinn Hostels

Please give us your feedback