Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
3.4

I was expecting a better experience. Comparing to others places I've been, you have to pay a lot money, there's no security and anyone can have a free pass to sleep there and enter and hang around which apparently it's against the rules. So I don't recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! London is an expensive city, but compared to other hostels we are one of the cheapest in the city and we're very proud of that fact! We do also take security very seriously, with a 24-hour manned reception, a security door to access the building and keycard access to all of our rooms to ensure that only guests in each room can enter. I'm sorry that you didn't have such a great experience on this occasion, but I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in London! Kind regards, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Nice hostel, clean and good central location ion. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. Just not enough plug sockets in the dorms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel if fantastic 10/10 for everything, Stephano, Ellie and all the staff were happy to accommodate all our needs.Great location, Loved the cafe downstairs for breakfast treats and great coffee.Our room was a double, clean sheets like in a Hotel,industrial decor and lovely view out the window.Shower and toilet close by which was great.Bues outside the door to take you to all London Attractions.Took my 17 year old daughter and we had a truly fantastic and memorable stay,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
5.1

It's a cheap hostel, let's put it that way. Definately not clean, I felt like someone was sleeping in my bed right before I checked in. Haven't seen anyone keeping the room clean. The room bathroom was disgusting. Breakfast wasn't good. It's probably an okay hostel if you want to party all night and dont mind loud junkie people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
3.7

The shower in the en suite I'd paid extra for was not working,when I got home after work with sore muscles to have a relaxing hot shower to ease self into bed,shower was freezing cold and broken and the room didn't smell fresh no ventilation, the bottombunks are so short you keep banging your head and can't sit up in it their so low,there is so much space on the top bunk to the roof,why not increase the space on bottom bunk?can't even put shoes on comfortably, room cramped, rude male at desk!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jswabak
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.7

I stayed in room G, a 4 bed (bunkbeds) ensuite (toilet and sink, showers are shared with other rooms), everything was clean and worked just fine apart from the shower that kept switching from hot to cold no matter how the nob was turned (i failed to mention this to the staff but i am sure it has most likely been fixed by now). I felt very welcome and was provided with all the information needed for the stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lockers for valuables were also present. Great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the brilliant review! I do believe the shower issue has been fixed but following your feedback we will keep an eye on it to make sure. I hope you enjoyed your time here in London and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Kind regards, Toby

3rd Apr 2017
6.0

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very dirty. Outlets are only for the bottom bunk and won't reach the top. Wifi was great. There was a very disgusting smell coming from the lobby/locker space. They weren't sure where it was coming from, hopefully they find out soon before it gets any worse. Overall a decent stay, facilities were just a let down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are looking into solutions to have a plug socket for everyone, so will hopefully have that resolved in future if you choose to stay with us again. I am VERY happy to be able to say that we discovered and removed the source of the smell - it was not pleasant and I apologise for that issue during your stay! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time here in London, and that you'll consider staying with us again on future visits! Thanks again, Toby

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
5.7

Staff and location were superb! However the rooms (especially the toilets and the showers) were quite messy. The breakfast selection could also have been improved slightly by offering more options such as yogurt, fresh fruit and a wider range of cereals. All in all a good hostel to stay in for a few days and an ideal base to explore shoreditch and the surrounding areas of east London.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location, and also that you found our staff to be helpful! As you can imagine, housekeeping in such a large and busy hostel is a considerable challenge but we are always working to improve so I apologise that you found things to be a bit messy during your stay on this occasion. Thanks for your feedback about the breakfast options, we'll look into what we could add or expand to provide a better range of choices with the breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your time here in London overall, and hopefully we'll see you back again on your next visit! Thanks again, Toby

24th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel in an amazing location. Literally everything was perfect during my stay at The Dictionary. Staff was friendly, went above and beyond what they had to do. Beds were clean and some of most comfortable ones I've ever slept on. Great bar downstairs that gets rocking around midnight with a good mix of music. And it's the Shoreditch area of London! There are tons of restaurants, bars, pubs, music venues to visit nearby. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
6.9

Definately a party hostel, everyone came home loud at 3-4am. Also bathrooms had Mould and no windows so very damp. However awesome staff and a super location! Can't have it all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.