Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2398 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2017
9.4

Had a great time here for the couple of nights that I stayed. Staff were super friendly, rooms decent and free breakfast a bonus. Met some awesome people here, never felt isolated as a solo traveller, everyone was really friendly. Would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rickguerrero83
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2017
8.9

I didn't spend a lot of time at the hostel to comment on the atmosphere. But while I was there it was good. It's clean, they clean everyday from 10 to 2. It is noisy at night because it's on a busy street and next to 2 bars, so be aware if you're a light sleeper. I was also in one of the rooms facing the street. I don't mind the noise and usually sleep with headphones in so it didn't bother me. Bring a lock otherwise you have to buy one which they can sell you. Great place I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Aug 2017
7.4

A great hostel in a great location, however it was the hottest hostel room I have ever stayed in! I sweated through the night, with one small fan for a huge room! Maybe reconsider in summer....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
4.3

Staff unfriendly. Upon arrival got asked for a passport as drivers licence was not good. First time this has happened upon staying in Hostelworld hostels over 15+ times in multiple countries (Latvia, Italy, UK, Germany). Room with no window at night, not clean washing facilities. No access to kitchen in evening to store food/cook your own food. Not allowed to stay in chillout lounge after 23.00 PM. Worst experience using Hostelworld hostels ever!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anouketje
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Aug 2017
9.4

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff is friendly (and funny), you can tell the rooms, toilets and showers are regularly cleaned, but maybe best of all are the activities. For example: on thursdays there is a free dinner for all guests, based on a different country's cuisine each week. At the time I was there the theme was Lebanese food and there were options for vegans, vegetarians, and, also gluten free people. But most importantly: the vibe was great. Thanks dictionary crew!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tk26932219
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2017
10.0

Love this place! Second time I've stayed here on my trip and can't recommend enough. Great staff, clean rooms, good breakfast! All you want from a good hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
9.1

Great stay at the Dictionary Hostel! Good price, awesome location close to bus stop and short walk from tube, near lots of fun restaurants and bars. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was nice and they even had a free dinner on Thursday night! Only downsides were they charged for a towel and I didn't feel like there was too much of a social atmosphere. Overall, I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to stay in east London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
8.9

I really liked this hostel. Free breakfast, great staff, great kitchen. There aren't many outlets in the rooms though but there was a swing in mine sooo how awesome is that! They were good with recommendations and there's a bar next door. If you're a light sleeper, definitely get or bring ear plugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Perfect location, the staff was super helpful and I was very happy with the security here. I would 100% stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • judgejordan273560
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

very nice place to stay... loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×