Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2,128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2,128 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London Located at 10-20 Kingsland Road, , London.
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
England
London London E2 8DA 10-20 Kingsland Road
80% 2128
51.5276360 -0.0779128
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
5.4

This was a convenient location if u want "cool shoreditch stuff" but thats about it. Other guests werent your usual backpackers with some sorta traveller etiquette...rather just kids living there longer term, on iphones a lot. A couple staff were sweet but many others cold and cliquey. All this would be fine...but it was pricier than everywhere else; yet the facilities were shoddy. so just book elsewhere and save yr $ for the bus..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • patrikschneidgen3583
  • Slovakia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.0

I was staying for this hostel only for one night to get some sleep between my flights, but even these couple of hours have been nice experience. Hostel from my point of view has got issues with cleanliness but otherwise, everything else was fine. Especially staff, they were extremely nice and helpful so my overall experience was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • CityKidOnTour
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

I didn't stay too long so I can't comment too much but from what I saw this is a super cool place to stay, the hostel has a good vibe, the staff were very friendly and the location is great for exploring Shoreditch. I would definitely book this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
5.4

The showers sometimes lost pressure completely, leaving you with a head full of shampoo. They were also so small that you couldn't rinse off your armpits . The wall outlets were too far down for you to charge your phone from the top of the bunk bed. The magnetic cards to open your room door only worked 50% of the time. The rooms had almost no ventilation. Also, they send in 4 people to do one cleaning task each in the morning, so in 30 minutes time 4 people enter & leave your room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.7

A very nice place to stay, highly to recommend to people visiting london!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.7

We stayed at The Dictionary Hostel for 4 nights and it was a great stay! The hostel is lovely with a very convenient location (it's 10 minutes walk from Liverpool Station or Old Street Station). Our hosts were welcoming and helpful and we felt our things were safe. We also enjoyed the breakfast which is served from 8am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
7.7

I'd start by saying the staff are amazing. The hostel itself was kind of dingy with beds crammed in my room. The crowd there during my stay was just plain weird. Good people but weird. A little grungy but still cool. This hostel deserves a better rating just for the staff - if beds were more spaced would be much better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2016
9.4

Amazing location, helpful staff. Rooms are quite small but would be fine for a few nights! Plus they give out free earplugs and I was stuck above a snorer so I was super happy with that! Thanks heaps!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
6.9

The bathrooms and living quarters are "cleaned" every day. Meaning a quick sweet and wipe down. It's also very loud with the restaurant/bar downstairs (although I didn't mind but figured I'd mention of you have a hard time sleeping through noise). The location is pretty convenient if Shoreditch is the area you're looking for (I loved that part). It's very a very coffee, indie, music, and art driven community. I just wasn't in love with the lack of cleanliness. Also, there was a security issue.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.9

Nicely designed hostel, convenient Old Street/Shoreditch location, secure front door and helpful staff. I was only there for a night but everything seemed pretty clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.