Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
5.4

Our first experience in a Hostel, everything ok, breakfast rather poor and bathroom definitely could of been quite cleaner.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
7.4

Good spot, but noisey at night. Showers are questionable. Good stay though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.4

One of my favorite hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Great location close to off license and food stores/ restaurants. Bar/Clubs next door be prepared to not sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
6.0

This hostel is in a great location, but beyond the hipster-y facade, it's pretty terrible. The places is not secure at all- baggage storage was wide open when I arrived & I was told to go right in & leave my bag. Also, the place is absolutely filthy. There was sticky stuff all over the stairs when I arrived & it still wasn't cleaned up when I left 3 days later. Same for the room I was staying in- trash that was in the bathroom & on the floors when I arrived remained there the entire time. Boo.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
7.1

Great location, easy walks to Old St, Shoreditch High St + Liverpool St locations. Beds were comfy and clean. Kitchen area was nice with a tv and good facilities. Staff were nice but their vibe wasn't that friendly. Ensuite bathrooms tiny and not very clean. Shower had no pressure + only a tiny sink, by the toilet - this was all between 10 people. They close the kitchen after a certain time at night, when I asked for access to drinking water I was advised I would have to buy a bottle for £1.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2017
4.6

Room "K" has the LOUDEST hinge I've ever heard ...but a drop of oil would fix it :-( And why do the locks beep multiple times on entry, in the middle of the night, so they wake people up? We were even disturbed by people going into the dorm opposite! It's totally the wrong product for that environment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
5.7

Is was very unclean, I don't think they ever washed the floor during the 4 days we stayed there. The bathroom had a stench of urine and there was mold all over. It was also way too hot sleeping in 20 degrees celsius, they should install aircon. Always loud music in the common and breakfast area, not cool early in the morning. Nice place if you are travelling alone and want to make friends, cool location in shoreditch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
4.3

The bathrooms were horrible, several of the toilets didn't flush, and the showers were so full of mildew it made the whole room smell. There was a bar downstairs that played music super- super loud until about 4am, even with ear plugs it was impossible to sleep. It was also about 10 degrees hotter inside the rooms and there were no fans or anything to help. Most of the locker cages were broken or missing parts. Would NOT stay again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
6.3

Slow check in process: 20min Stuffy rooms, real warm. Noisy outdoor as on a street with bars Bedding was not clean which was biggest disappointment Would not recommend: many others exceed the offering of Dictionary

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.