Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London Located at 10-20 Kingsland Road, , London.
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
England
London London E2 8DA 10-20 Kingsland Road
81% 2003
51.5276360 -0.0779128
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jul 2016
7.1

No complaints about the location, just a 12-15 minute walk from Liverpool St station and I found to the staff to be friendly. The hostel itself is a bit cramped, but then again for what you get for £15 a night in today's world is not bad value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
6.6

We had two major problems. Firstly there were inhospitable temperatures in our room with no way to cool down. It wasn't even hot outside but our room ( room X ) was like a sauna. We hardly got any sleep during our two nights stay. A simple ceiling fan or an external fan shouldn't be much to ask. Will never stay here again unless it's winter time. Secondly, the checkout back storage didn't allow us to lock our own bags, so anyone could've easily stolen our things.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Ok, this place was the place to be in London! Shore ditch has the best bar scene in London, and is conveniently right next to old street station! Our stay was Awesome here because of the three people we me in our hostel. Two from the states and a girl (Sabrina) who was on the staff. All the beds were very clean, the staff was friendly, the showers were convenient, and with the connected bar downstairs and the stockpile of supply's the hostel will sell to you, you really didn't need anything else

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
6.9

Not the cleanest hostel, the coffee shop and bar attached were great and the people in there were really friendly. Not much socially going on in hostel though. Great location if you want to chill and do the hipster life!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Sweet building. A twisted vertical maze in a great area. The lockers are the best I've ever encountered. Staff was a bunch of immature teenagers suffering from drama. That would have been fine if they didn't close off the communal kitchen for their hangouts. Other than that inconvenience, a fantastic though very loud place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, and it was convenient having both a shower and toilet in our 10 bed dorm but shower was a super awkward and small space with a light but wide inescapable stream. Not a total turn off though, I'd definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location, close to two stations so super easy to get around. Also within walking distance of a few markets and lots of great spots to eat and drink. Would stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Loved my stay here. Cool bunch of people running the hostel and a fun crew as long term residents. Close to relevant amenities and as many pubs as you can handle (unfortunately for my wallet and sobriety). Only drawback would be the room size (super small) and the showers were quite unclean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.1

One of my favorites. Active, young, and international. Definitely a real hostel. Everything nearby. Shoreditch is my kind of neighborhood, the tourists stay away! Bar downstairs with exceptional food, laundrette, and plenty of storage. Stella in reception made my week! Several good chats with people. Bed's not bad at all for a hostel. Ensuite toilet. Showers nearby and clean. I'll go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.1

The room was quite packed for its size but it was by far one of the cheapest hostels we found in London. Staff were quite helpful and the location is great if you want to experience the night life in Shoreditch. Facilities could be better and cleaner, the noise from the street at night meant you couldn't get any sleep till 3am the next morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.