Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2017
9.7

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! As a solo traveler it's a great place to meet people and the hostel makes an effort to put on events or activities that make it easy to meet other backpackers. The location is amazing and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Listen to Ellie and do the pub crawl - it's totally worth it. Only word of advice is to being a big lock because the lockers have really big bars and the lock I brought did not work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
8.0

I stayed in two rooms in my time here, and my experience was the smaller the better. The lockers beneath the bed are large and work well. The staff is strangely mixed; some act as if your presence is a burden, while others emit the most radiant and joyous energy possible. Solid wifi, and an even more solid breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
7.4

Loved under the bed locker & the funkiness of the whole place! Shower was horrendous though bad water flow & would overflow after not even 5 minutes, only found out there were public ones outside the room on my last night!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
6.9

Nice kitchen, not too much a party hostel, bad odour in the dorm (really hot too).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
9.4

Dies ist die beste Jugendherberge, in der ich je übernachtet habe. Die Angestellten sind wunderbar und hilfsbereit, vor allem josh. Aimee ist die freundlichste Person und tut so viel für die Gäste.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.7

The Dictionary was the best hostel I stayed at during my trip abroad. The location is great to get to the train and the tube and there are many great bars around it as well. The staff is super friendly and is very helpful as well. It was always great coming in and them knowing you by your name. All the guests that were there as well were super friendly and the sign that says "sleep with people around the world ;)" definitely holds up. Also Josh and Nick are amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • signemp
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.1

Such a nice place to stay. The staff are so lovely and helpful. The beds are a bit uncomfortable, but everything is pretty clean and nice. Great lounge area, offering cool activities and creating a social atmosphere. Close to city central. Everything is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Loved loved loved. Clean, great location with lots of food nearby and a bus stop right outside. Super friendly staff. Will return some day for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
3.4

I was expecting a better experience. Comparing to others places I've been, you have to pay a lot money, there's no security and anyone can have a free pass to sleep there and enter and hang around which apparently it's against the rules. So I don't recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us! London is an expensive city, but compared to other hostels we are one of the cheapest in the city and we're very proud of that fact! We do also take security very seriously, with a 24-hour manned reception, a security door to access the building and keycard access to all of our rooms to ensure that only guests in each room can enter. I'm sorry that you didn't have such a great experience on this occasion, but I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in London! Kind regards, Toby

  • andreas7631
  • Germany, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
5.7

Based on the other reviews, I expected much more. Overall, the hostel looked quite dated. The room was stuffy, the bed uncomfortable, the facilities and the kitchen dirty. OK for a night but in future bookings I would prefer Wombats or even St Christopher's Inn.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.