Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.6

Nice place, helpful staff. Gorgeous old building full of nooks and crannies, and an overall interesting spot in Shoreditch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.7

The only major issue I had was the lack of plugs. There was a great bar next door and I had good experiences with the people in my room. However, there isn't a huge hostel culture vibe so maybe if I didn't have friends in London and made friends in my room- I may have had a worse time. Overall I had a great time. Shoreditch is an awesome area- plenty of bars and clubs and cafes. About an hour walk into Oxford street.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
6.6

Nice staff and awesome location. It is a bit grungy but if you're only there a few nights it's worth it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel, clean and comfortable. Great location too so definitely enjoyed my short stay. Staff were friendly and answered all my questions. Plugs by the bed would have been nice but that would be my only negative. Will definitely stay here when I return to London for sure! Thanks team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.3

The hostel is in a great location - near to buses, a 10-15min walk from Old Town underground station and surrounded by bars, restaurants and the renowned Brick Lane. My room was quite cold, but the staff immediately brought in extra heaters when notified. The bar next door was great value, with good food. The only thing I think could be improved is having a larger communal space that is separate to the reception. Definitely would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Basic bed, great location! Really friendly staff. Secure and safe, decent place to crash for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
5.7

The room was dirty, towels were not clean. Trash in the room from previous stay. Bathroom sink had a leak. The shower door was loud and difficult to close. The window shade was broke, but was fixed during our stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Staying at Dictionary Hostel was a wonderful experience! Excellent neighborhood, close proximity for walking London, super accessible to metro with close under and overground stops nearby, bus stops literally right outside. Then again there's also no need to leave when the surrounding area of Shoreditch has so much going on and even the bar at the hostel was a sweet spot to meet fellow travelers. I originally chose for convenience but would make it a point to return out of pure affection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are lucky to be in one of the coolest London areas. We really do hope to see you again! Safe travels!

23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Really great hostel with large rooms, cheap and clean with a good location near Liverpool Street Station. Could be improved by putting a plug available for each bed. I recommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your kind words, we are currently working on a plan to improve the plug situation in our rooms and i am sure everyone will love what we are going to do. Thank you again and hope to see you back again!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel and will definitely return even though I only spent 2 nights here. The location is prime and all the staff are super nice and helpful. Don't go to any other hostel! Stayed at St. Christopher's Inn before coming here and I can say Dictionary is 100 times better than that place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you so much for your review. We are humbled by your comments, and really do hope to see you back again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.