Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London Located at 10-20 Kingsland Road, , London.
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
England
London London E2 8DA 10-20 Kingsland Road
81% 2075
51.5276360 -0.0779128
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.3

Only stayed here one night, although my experience was pleasant. The location is the main draw, bang in the middle of Shoreditch. The facilities are decent and the staff were helpful, the bathrooms could have been cleaner, but it's a hostel you get what you pay for. There's a cool bar next door and the atmosphere is good. They have a max 14day stay so everyone is another visitor; rather than a Londoner living there using it as a flat...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.0

There was no hot water while I stayed which was VERY off-putting. I understand that these things happen, but the hostel made no attempt to offer a discount or anything. It also took far too long to fix. Fixing this should have been a top priority and it wasn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
9.1

Rooms can get really hot, but get drunk to fix this your in shoreditch, the place is awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
5.7

Was rather disappointed by this place given that it had such high reviews. The rooms and bathrooms were dirty, mould growing up the walls. Only one power point board per room; so frustrating when your stuff is across the room and you need it. And very, very noisy! Above a pub and on a main street with sirens going off nearly every half hr - so pack ear plugs. Good things would be closeness to train stations, only a 10 min walk away and complimentary breaky.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
4.6

There are so many better options in London.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
7.7

It was a nice hostel except for the fact that my dorm was on the street side and the windows didnt close properly so it was so loud at night time, with the buses and cars and people carrying on outside. Also my locker under the bed was broken so had to use another, luckily there was a spare as the room wasn't full. The bathroom was ok, the toilet floor looked like it hadnt been cleaned in a while but the shower looked clean enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2016
10.0

If you need a good night sleep or if you want a good night out, this hostel has it all. The staff are extremely nice and helpful, the location is perfect, the facilities are nice and clean, and there's a café and a bar just next door with good coffee and great food if you don't feel like walking too far. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

This hostel is not for light sleepers as the neighbourhood is quite noisy. The hostel itself is great! Clean and comfortable with very helpful and welcoming staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Loved dictionary hostel ! It was in close proximity to a sweet night life and food. All of the tenants were amazing and I left with so many new friends. We would definitely book here again !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sophieweaver
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.1

Only had a short stay, but the time I was here was lovely! Shoreditch has so many places to explore and the hostel makes it so easy with the bus stop practically on the doorstep and the lovely cafe/bar next door! Will definitely be back guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.