Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London Located at 10-20 Kingsland Road, , London.
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
England
London London E2 8DA 10-20 Kingsland Road
81% 1989
51.5276360 -0.0779128
The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel, and it was convenient having both a shower and toilet in our 10 bed dorm but shower was a super awkward and small space with a light but wide inescapable stream. Not a total turn off though, I'd definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location, close to two stations so super easy to get around. Also within walking distance of a few markets and lots of great spots to eat and drink. Would stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Loved my stay here. Cool bunch of people running the hostel and a fun crew as long term residents. Close to relevant amenities and as many pubs as you can handle (unfortunately for my wallet and sobriety). Only drawback would be the room size (super small) and the showers were quite unclean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.1

One of my favorites. Active, young, and international. Definitely a real hostel. Everything nearby. Shoreditch is my kind of neighborhood, the tourists stay away! Bar downstairs with exceptional food, laundrette, and plenty of storage. Stella in reception made my week! Several good chats with people. Bed's not bad at all for a hostel. Ensuite toilet. Showers nearby and clean. I'll go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
7.4

The floors were a bit sketch (kind of sticky?) and the bathrooms could have been cleaner (one sink and one shower didn't drain well, and the floors were kind of sketch). That being said, for the cost it was a good place to sleep with WiFi and basic breakfast, and close proximity to bus stops and not far from train stations. Many people were there to party, though, since Shoreditch is that kind of place--people tend to return at odd hours. For a place to crash on a budget, it's a solid pick.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Not a bad hostel, quite clean and the beds are comfy, the free breakfast is not bad. However, it is so SO loud. Like oh my god. I was there four nights and by the third night I was going mad from the yelling, sirens, motorbikes that go til 3 in the morning. If you want peace and quiet, don't go here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.0

great location, shoreditch is a great neighborhood for bars and a more alt vibe. The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the underground but has bus stops right outside the door. The bathrooms were generally clean but older and there's only one shower per room (and only toilets in the common bathrooms). The lockers under the beds weren't great, some didn't even allow you to lock it and others required you to pull the whole thing out to open it. Overall a good cheap place for a short stay in London

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.0

Helpful staff, nice comfortable beds and a social vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
7.1

The Dictionary Hostel is in a good location relative to the major sights of London. The hostel is located next to several bars which get pretty rowdy at night. I'd say overall there's a big party atmosphere at this place, so if you're looking for a sound nights sleep you might check elsewhere. They say they clean the bathrooms every day at 10, I was there for 3 days and saw no evidence of that. Friendly staff! Fine for the money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel, amazing value for money. Great location and facilities with a cool quirky design.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.