X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1680 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Very disappointing the hostel. We checked in and moved out 2 hours later. The 6 pers dorm was absolutely dirty. The shared bathroom even worse. Hostels in Cambodia are cleaner than the dictionary. There is by far better Hostels in london for less money.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you felt you had such a terrible experience with us. That sucks :/ Our rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily and some communal areas twice daily. As with all shared accommodation, once someone uses the shower after it's been cleaned, it can look as if it was never cleaned at all (thinking of those big, hairy boys here ;) ) but if there's ever an issue, you can contact reception and they'll get the Head Cleaner to come and sort it out asap. All the best for your future travels.

91%

The best hostel to smoke outside and people-watch. Made friends, drank cider from a bottle positioned provocatively between a lady staff member's legs, and nearly got water thrown on me twice by a surely jealous resident in the alley round the corner. The perfect Shoreditch experience. If Rob wanders in off the street, ask him if he's seen my sexist nemesis from the Sunday Speakers Corner in Hyde Park lately.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sounds like you had an unforgettable stay. Whatever floats you boat! Hope to see you again soon :)

60%

Omg the rooms in london!! what is the deal ? how do they get away with charging so much for such tiny rooms ? craziness. i stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was tiny, but i dont really care that much cause its in SUCH a good local that i wasnt in there that much, but it was frustrating because the cages that you keep your bags in are under the bed and pulling them out required a huge amount of work moving eveything else around. and it was sickenly hot. apart from that its fine. location is amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. :) London's an expensive city, but I believe we offer great value. There are high season, weekend stays from as little as £18 a night including breakfast. Considering we are in zone 1 of the tube and located on London's most popular street for partying (so no taxis home ;) haha) I think this is a pretty good deal. We have installed fans in the rooms that got stuffy during the heatwave so hopefully your next stay with us will be breezy ;) All the best!

89%

Great spot to access night life... not so great, in my dormitory, for a chill night as there was a night club right below playing loud music till the wee hours...but hey it was still worth staying!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks so much for your review :) You're right - our location is great for those who want to take advantage of Shoreditch's amazing nightlife. But everyone should be able to get a great night's Zzzzs so there is a limiter on the bar's speakers and we offer free earplugs to all so you are guaranteed to wake up feeling fresh. Don't forget to pick up your free pair from reception next time :) Hope to see you again soon.

89%

Really great staff. Loud at night and rooms get very hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We have installed fans in some of the rooms that were getting stuffy during the heatwave. :) We offer free earplugs to everyone so you're guaranteed to get a great night's Zzzzzs despite our great location for partying. All the best :)

74%

it was a blast!Polite and corteous staff!Folks this is where it is happening.The DICTIONARY is good.It is bellisimo.....

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! Hope to see you in Shoreditch again soon!

91%

Fantastic hostel. Great location, great atmosphere and really good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much :) Come back soon!

94%

Had so much fun there! Only problem was, there wasn't enough baggage space. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Well worth it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. So glad you had a great time with us! Yaaay! :) Each bunk has a locker cage underneath big enough for a large suitcase. Few guests travel with more luggage than this, but there's always the luggage room in reception should you need more space. So glad you had a great night's sleep on our beds. See you again soon :)

66%

Could really have done with more sockets in the room. Maybe some USB ports for charging.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are planning to put a plug and USB by every bed over the course of the winter. This is obviously quite and undertaking, so we are planning to do a room at a time whilst the hostel is quieter. Come back next summer and see the improvements for yourself :) All the best!

83%

The staff is helpful, and happy to oblige. The atmosphere of the hostel very jovial and light.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review :)

69%

Big rooms. Large cage locker under bed. Card entry. Free wifi only in reception but pretty fast. No cell phone service in hostel (I was using "3" network), can get 2 bars on street out front. Good breakfast with toast and cereal. Towel rent 2 pound. Trendy area. Supermarket close. Tube 10mins. If I want specifically Shoreditch area again, then I will stay here again, but otherwise I'm staying elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for your review. Free wifi is available everywhere now :) I also use 3 and can get reception inside. As ever with mobiles, it probably just depends where you're standing since it's a big building. Old St station is a 7 min walk away, but Shoreditch High Street is less than 5 for the Overground. ;) Hope you will indeed come back to Shoreditch in the future. All the best! :)

91%

Really enjoyed this place. Made friends who I am sure I will bump into later on in my travels. Dan was an excellent party host and made sure everyone had a good time. would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! Will pass on your feedback to Dan. He'll be pleased :) Cheers!

80%

Excellent location and good bar but the showers were TERRIBLE. Both showers I had ran out of water within a minute. Also, take the free earplugs, you'll need them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Showers are all fixed now as we have installed a new pump and tank. Sorry for the problems you experienced. All the best :)

69%

very very cool but do NOT stay here in summer the rooms have no windows and are absolutely sweltering

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thanks for your comments. Just to clarify, none of our rooms are windowless. Three of our 25 rooms have multiple skylights instead of windows, but all rooms benefit from natural light. We have installed fans in some of the rooms which became stuffy in the heatwave to help ventilation. For future reference, our 10 bed dorms have beautiful big floor to ceiling windows if you love your room with maximum natural light :) Sounds like they might be a great choice for you :) All the best

83%

Its a good place to stay in terms of location. However, the air condition was not working in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We have installed fans in the rooms which became stuffy during the heatwave. Hopefully this should solve the situation :) Cheers!

94%

Hostel world had a problem with my reservation but the employee helped me find a place ( another hostel to stay) because most places were booked. So that was very nice, I liked the hostel tho.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comments. Hope you enjoyed your stay in London and I'm glad we managed to help you find somewhere else to stay. Hope you'll get to stay with us next time you're in town. All the best with your travels :)

86%

Good location to restaurants and bars and Liverpool street station is only a 10-15 minute walk. Didn't like that you had to pay a pound each day for Internet in your room. Also, our room had absolutely no air circulation so during the day in a London heatwave was absolutely miserable. The room trapped the hot air in so even when it was cool at night, the room was still so hot and sticky. The staff was nice and helpful and the bar was good and pretty good prices.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review :) Glad you enjoyed the location and bars so much! We have now installed fans in the rooms that were getting a bit stuffy during the heatwave. Wifi is also now free everywhere. Hopefully you'll be able to see the improvements for yourself next time you're in London :) All the best

66%

Overall experience was okay. Poor ventilation in the room on the top floor. The shower and tap just turned off multiple times due to no water pressure. Floor could do with a vacuum. Power outlets for each bed would be an improvement, but was okay. Highly highly recommend Translate Bar next door, excellent coffee, drinks and food :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments :) Sorry about your water issues. We've installed a new pump and tank and it's all resolved now. We are working on installing sockets and USB chargers by each bed over the winter, but it's quite an undertaking, so we will be doing it a room at a time. So glad you enjoyed Translate bar - hope you made use of the 20% guest discount :) All the best!

66%

The hostel is a great hostel in Shoredtich High Street for a party. I live in East London and know the area well, and I know it is loud, noisy, and filled with nightlife, however, I think the hostel needs to let people know just how loud it is. Unfortunately, I was just there for a layover in between trips, but got zero sleep. Would come back for a crazy weekend, but they need to advertise that you are basically sleeping inside a club. Showers/bathroom suck and are dirty, but I suppose its LDN.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We advertise that we are located on Shoreditch High Street which is London's best place to party & that we have our own bar with regular parties. However it's still perfectly possible to get a great night's sleep. We even offer free earplugs to make sure you get guaranteed Zzzzzs. Bathrooms are cleaned every day. Given that accommodation is shared, as soon as one person takes a shower it can look as if it wasn't cleaned. Rest assured this isn't the case. All the best :)

51%

Please clean showers and sinks upstairs!! Also sweep rooms, we had so much filth on the floor from other people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do clean all the showers & bathrooms every day, but since this is shared accommodation, it only takes one person to use it & sometimes it can look as if it wasn't cleaned that day. Take a shower just after 2pm and you'll have a sparkling clean experience :) We sweep & mop all floors every day, but we try not to move personal items around too much (especially if they are spread all over the room) as we don't want to interfere with people's things. Hope you understand :)

(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback