X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1063 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Best hostel I have been to so far. Next time when I am in London I am gonna pick the same hostel!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was cool!


86%

Ok, so the mice are definitely a thing, learned that the hard way, BUT just don't bring food to your room and they aren't a nuisance! Overall, killer staff, great atmosphere, super trendy location. Not recommended for those that like a quiet environment: footsteps are the stairs can be thundering in addition to the bar, Translate, which rocks out pretty late at night. But earplugs in and it's not so bad. Besides, the range of people and experiences make the noise worth it.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If you want to party and drink every night this is the place! The area is the best of London, lots of bar/café, super fashion, etc. You all have to go to the BrickLane marcket every sunday! Don't go there for a calm night of sleep, it's not the place for that haha. **WIFI SHOULD BE FREE THERE ARE MICES!


71%

Not a fan of big hostels, but this means 'economizing' in London. The rooms are quite spacious, love the big lockers underneath the bed that fit everything, thus reducing luggage pileup on the floor. Fantastic breakfast, if you're up in time. Good kitchen facilities. Fast wifi, friendly staff. But it's not very clean, especially the bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback :)

94%

Very clean, cosy and friendly hostel! One of the best ones I have stayed at. Staff were very friendly and the overall vibe was great! Will definitely recommend to fellow travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love to hear that!! :) Can't wait to see you next time you are in London!

71%

It s a clean and good hostel but there is not too much of a hostel atmosphere ( no common room ) the pub crawl is nice good location for a night out ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! :)

77%

This hotel has a very good location and well equipped surprisingly clean kitchen. On the other hand weekend nights are incredibly noisy. The bar is currently being refurbished so there is missing a pleasant common area to rest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Being located in the heart of the East definitely means we have lively weekends! :) Apologies for the bar refurbishment.! The bar is almost finished and it is actually an acoustic ceiling we are adding to help reduce the noise. We hope to see you next time you come to London! Thank you for the review.

86%

Clean place,friendly environment. First hostel experience,way better than expected

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Such an enjoyable stay, will be returning in 3 weeks with friends! Came to London to scout hostels out and found the perfect one straight away. So friendly and chilled, perfect location.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Although the price might be unbeatable for its location, The Dictionary was actually quite a distance from the nearest tube station. And for the cheapest 10-bed dorm, you get 4 electrical sockets at the disposal of 10 guests. Please bring your own socket expander if you need battery juice. You've been warned!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We have been working on adding more sockets into our rooms. Please feel free to ask at reception to get your stuff charged free of charge!

100%

Great location for Vietnamese food. Near late night spots, but still relatively quiet. Tube stops about 5 min walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yum! We love the Vietnamese food around here. You'll have to come back and try some more spots next time you are in London :) Thank you for the review.

94%

My first but definitely not last visit in The Dictionary Hostel. Place is very cozy and staff is nice. Would recommend this place for sure.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is pretty cool. It's really chilled and easily accessible Everything was good - except for the noise. It's very noisy at night but that's not an issue of the hostels. That's just life. The courtyard at night can be loud too but is monitored and 'closed' at 10pm The staff are good - a few who were a bit unfriendly but mostly they were great. I would stay here again - plus the breakfast is such a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great review! Your feedback is always appreciated. Hope to see you next time :)

63%

Excellent staff, particularly the canadian girl on reception, good vibe all round however facilities were pretty basic. no mirrors with powerpoints, so had to dry hair in corridor, showers didnt have enough room to get dressed in, and was shocked to find that bunk beds were directly next to each other with not even a rail to seperate from stranger sleeping in essentially the same bed as you. Felt like the 14 person room should have been 10 person to avoid this as there simply wasnt enough space


100%

Stayed at The Dictionary for 5 nights and had a wonderful time! The staff members were so helpful with helping plan trips in London and everyone was super friendly! Great location for a night out; Shoreditch has plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. Translate, The Dictionary's bar, was fantastic as well. Perfect atmosphere! I will most definitely be coming back!

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome review, thank you! Hope to see you back at The Dictionary soon :)

57%

check in at 14.00 - checkout at 10.00. Why? Light, noise, the cleaner get in the room at 11.00, switch on the light and starts vacuuming! Why? Impossible to sleep there. You have to pay for towels and for padlock.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel is cool and there is lots going on in the neighbourhood, but I didn't love the atmosphere. The common room is in the middle of a couple of the dorms so if you want to go to bed, you can stil hear everyone outside. You have to pay for the wifi which didn't even work. The fire alarm went off 6 times at 4 am so I didn't get any sleep. The free breakfast is good though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies the issues you had with your stay! We appreciate the feedback as it only helps us get better. Sorry for the fire alarm, we seemed to have someone who thought pushing the break glass would be a funny joke!

80%

Very warm welcome from the front staff! (blonde girl, nose ring) everything clean, and great facilities!

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a fantastic place to stay in trendy Shoreditch. Better atmosphere than the hotel that I stayed at the previous night for almost 10X the price. OK, I shared a large dorm instead of having my own room but that was fine.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(115 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback