X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1299 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very noisy from the street and the hot water will frequently run out even outside of the "most used" times. Staff are friendly but reception can be a bit slack. Good location though, expensive, but London just is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on increasing our water and decreasing our noise. We'll talk to reception about picking up the pace too :)

60%

Not enough fresh air for 12 people, it was like a sauna. Only cold water if indeed. Start to clean the room at 10.00 that is too early

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are working on the ventilation and water issues and hope to have them both working properly soon!

94%

Everything was fine and nice but I'd rather say that it's food for out-going and cheerful person, Not the person who prefer calm and quiet because this street is the street of the youth and very vibrant place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. :)

66%

A fun and excellently located hostel but loud. So loud. And dirty. A guy vomited in the sink of the only toilet on the floor and it wasn't cleaned or unblocked for 4 days. There are mouse traps in the rooms but they don't tell you not to take food in. I heard tell of bed bugs after we left. Seems to be a lot of confusion over bed allocations, people consistently coming into reception saying there were no beds in the room they'd just checked into. The bar/coffee shop attached are excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review you stay, and we apologise for the issues you experienced. Cleanliness is very important to us, so we will be sure to speak to our cleaners about your concerns. We do have a pest control company that is working to deal with all of the small unwanted guests we seem to have attracted lately.

34%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in. How can you not have as many key cards as beds?? I didn't get a key and had to ask someone at reception to come with me every time I wanted to get into my room. Also incredibly dirty kitchen/fridges. Cleaning lady came into the dorm room at 10 am (!!!) made the most noise humanly possible, turned on the light and started to hoover (!!!) the place. Wow, just wow. Never ever stay there!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We have now sourced some more key cards, and apologise for the inconvenience of not having one for you during your stay. We will speak to our cleaners about your other concerns.

80%

Staff was cool, mainly Matt, who does an outstanding job. My room was quite light after sunrise (4 am during summer time, it may be a problem for some. Amazing location, cool environment! I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our long, sunny (at the moment) days are pretty good for making the most of all the sightseeing there is to do in London! We think Matt's pretty cool too. :)

46%

12Beds in a small room with just one window at the small end of the room. Only one shower and one toilet for 12 people in small space. No hot water in 4 days and many time almost no water at all after 30 seconds of showering. Unconfortable beds with 10cm thin matresses and everytime you move it is noisy. I was not happy at al!!!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working on the ventilation, noise and water issues and hope you will give us another try when we have got them all back up and running properly.

49%

NO hot water, sometimes no water at all. air in the 12beddorm was terrible, only 1 window, beds a catastrophy. they came in before 10am both saturday and sunday to hoover! whyyy! not going back or only in a smaller room, where i was last year and it was good.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are working on our water and ventilation issues, and apologise for the inconvenience to you during this trip. We hope you will come back and try us again next time you are in London.

49%

When my friends and I arrived at your hostel, our beddings weren't clean. We had to ask to get them done. Being back home in Germany I soon noticed a lot of red itching dots on my skin and went to the doctor. In the event, these dots are bedbug-bites! My Friend who stayed with me in room W has got some of them too. You soon should do something against it otherwise other guests get bitten too and won't come back to your hostel ever. I will never check int again or recommend the hostel.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, and we're very sorry for the problems you experienced during your stay. We do have a pest control company now working in the building to ensure we are bedbug-free, and have also been sealing the exposed brick walls where we found them to be living. Apologies again.

49%

It was really really really loud at night, we couldnt lock the shower door (although we said it to the stuff) and BEDBUGS! My friend and I was bittten by BEDBUGS...so gross!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, and we're very sorry for the problems you encountered. Our new maintenance manager is working on the locks, and is also helping us with ideas for reducing the sound that gets to the rooms at night. We have also hired a pest control company to eradicate the bed bugs and started sealing the exposed brink walls where we found them to be living.

66%

If you are looking for a hostel located in a good area of London and at the same time you don't mind having a mouse in your room, this is the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We quite like our location, but aren't such fans of the mice. So we have a pest control company coming in to help them move to new accommodation. Apologies to those who might have wanted to share with a mouse ;)

43%

Great location in Shoreditch/East London, heaps of bars and clubs in the area. My bed was taken when I checked in and the room was full, turned out a staff member was sleeping in the bed. Took a while but eventually found a nice staff member who swapped me to a different room. Staff were pretty poor and unhelpful, and bathrooms, kitchen, hallways not very clean. Showers had no water from about 8am-12pm everyday, which they acknowledged. No good common area except bar next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - we quite like the area too. We're sorry for the difficulties with your check in. Customer service and cleanliness are both high priorities for us, so we will be sure to speak to our staff and ensure they are meeting the standards we expect. We are working with Thames Water to increase supply to our building, and also have plans underway to expand the kitchen to create more of a communal area.

69%

1. There's no reason to vacuum clean the dorms at 10 am. This happened every day. 2. Use numbers on your beds, so people know where to sleep and where not to. It will also help you as you can wake those who are sleeping instead of checking out. 3. Invite guests to label their food and make sure to throw the rest. 4. Please, close windows and turn the AC on. Get some fans if it's broken. 5. Ask your guests whilst they're checking out if they had a pleasant stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

77%

Cleaning is done by backpackers so not that reliable Tiny tiny showers Really great atmosphere and location in hip shoreditch

Owner Comment (Hide)
Although many of our staff are backpackers, we still expect a high standard from them and will speak to them about your concerns. We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay though :)

71%

It was too hot in the room. In the room when you are 8 persons who sleep together, we need fresh air.. and the Windows are too smal. We have problems with water in the shower.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on solutions to the ventilation issues in some of the rooms, and are also working with Thames Water to increase the supply to our building.

86%

Great location, modern & quirky. Beds could have been cleaner but the room (we had a double) was generally clean and big enough for 2. Lots of bars and good places to eat near by.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We'll remind our cleaners of the importance of keeping everything as clean and tidy as possible, but are glad you enjoyed your stay anyway. Come back again soon!

60%

Stayed for three nights at the Dictionary; staff hardly pay attention to guests, and don't mind waking you up in the middle of the night when doing work that could have been done during the day. In the dorms you just pick whatever bed is available and don't be surprised when you come back at the end of the day and find your stuff on the floor.. Also, in the patio there is a fridge that makes the most annoying sound all night/ day long. Why can't this be repaired or turned off? Won't come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We will speak to our staff about your concerns, and appreciate you drawing our attention to the other points.

97%

Really cool place, very nice ambiance. Staff was attentive enough and all the facilities were clean and proper. The next-door coffee shop and bar were great too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! :)

91%

Great, fun atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We're glad you had a good time!

94%

A clean and friendly hostel, right at the modern heart of london. Close to all areas with pubs and bars and an excellent own bar next door. Definitely a recommendation to stay if you are in london for a few days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review - we appreciate it! :)

(170 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback