Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1568 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We already knew the hostel was really close to bars, so we were prepared for the noise. There's actually a lot, but we weren't bothered by it. The hostel is clean and the room we stayed in was spacious. The bathroom was always clean. Unfortunately we had a problem with another guest, but the staff was extremely helpfull doing everything they could to make things better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. :)


The room was pretty cold. we could feel the cold coming in through the window

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your comments. I'm really sorry to hear that you were cold! We have a heater in every room, but it is especially chilly at the moment, so maybe that wasn't enough :( We have just entered a planning application to have all our windows upgraded, so hopefully your problem should be solved soon. In the meantime, if you ever need to, feel free to speak to reception and they can provide extra duvets if necessary. Thanks :)


Absolutely excellent place full of wonderful people. The staff are chilled out and really helpful, the location is great and the hostel its self is decent with everything you need.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the wonderful comments. Come back soon!


I didn't actually sleep here because I had a to - do list, but they let me use the room to change clothes for the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! All the best for your future travels :)


The staff was amazing! Rhiannon at the reception was the friendliest, most amazing staff member I've met and EVERYONE else was so great. this was important because i was there over Christmas without family and I didn't feel it for ONE moment. the rooms are decent sized, cleaned everyday, GREAT value for money; the breakfast is good and there's a couple of local stores around that you can always shop at for something to cook. the wifi was a wee bit shaky, but it wasn't so much of a problem.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you had such a good stay with us and that you enjoyed Christmas here at The Dictionary!! Thanks for your feedback and please come back soon. I'll pass your kind words on to Rhiannon :)


The place is ok. It is warm but very basic. The internet was limited to the area of the lobby, which is very inconvinient for a traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We offer free wifi in the reception, kitchen, courtyard, bar & cafe. You can also pay £1 for 24 hrs' high speed access in your room. We do try to provide lots of extras that you don't get in other hostels, but we are always looking to improve! At the moment we offer things like free breakfasts, all day tea & coffee, roof terrace, table football, laundrette, events in the evenings, our own bar & there are swings in some of the rooms too! ;) Thanks for leaving us some feedback. :)


Good size dorm, showers nearby. Its a great location yet quiet when its time to sleep Simple breakfast, but it does the trick.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Glad you had such a great time! Come back soon! :)


Nice and clean kitchen, clean toilet and shower in the 4-bed dorm i stayed in. Good location too. They could do with putting a sign up saying "rooms m-z, this way ->" when coming up the first set of stairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments! Glad you liked the room and location. :) We are obviously on the same wavelength because we are just about to revamp our internal signage. ;) Thanks for your feedback and all the best for your future travels.


Rooms are very small and bathrooms were extremely dirty. The location is very good obviously, right in the center of Shoreditch but unless you are some party animal there is no point staying in that place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comments. I will have a word with the cleaning staff about your points. The whole hostel, including the bathrooms, are cleaned every day, however, since you were in a shared dorm with 13 other people, it could be that your room mates just got to the bathroom before you and so it looked messy. Glad you liked our location. We love it too! All the best :)


Good hostel, great area, great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments! Hope you had a great time in Shoreditch. Come back soon. All the best for your future travels!


Nice location, right in the middle of Shoreditch. Well located, good bus service, tube station just 7 minutes walking and Boris Bikes just around the corner. Not a quiet place at nights specially at weekends, but a really good atmosphere. Just had problems having shower in the first day (i guess it was because they were fully booked), in that day low water pressure or no water at all, a bit unpleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Lovely to get nice feedback. Glad you found the location to be so great. We adore it too. Sorry about the showers! We are getting our pipe upgraded any day now, which should give us much greater pressure. You'll have to come back and try out the new and improved showers...! All the best for your future travels! :)


Good vibes top location good bar!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for such a great review! We love our bar too!! We love the 20% guest discount even more though ;) Please come back soon - we can't wait to have you back again! Tell all your friends! ;)

1 2 3 Next » last »
(52 results)

View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback