X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1460 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a great time at the Dictionary. Location is great, and you have everything you need close by. Within walking distance to Old Street station, so it's real easy to get out and doing things. Staff is great too. Cheers guys ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for such a great review! We loved having you to stay! Hope you'll pop in and say hello again at some point. Thanks for your positivity! :)

37%

They take advantage of the location to allow a bad management. We were 16 in the room with 1 toilet. No common space except the kitchen. In the kitchen no windows, 1 fridge was broken the other one full of disgusting things and 1 sink was broken so 1 sink for the whole hostel. The staff act as if you were bothering and except the cages under your bed there is 0 security (anyone enter in the hostel, the rooms and the luggage room). I heard of 5 different stories of things missing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. You came just as our maintenance man was renovating the kitchen. We have 2 brand new, bigger fridges now & a brand new worktop (which is why the sink was temporarily out of order). We're having a big extension in the basement next year to create more chillout areas. Hopefully that'll be a big improvement :) All our rooms have keycard locks & there's a coded security door & CCTV so hopefully you should feel safe. At least you liked the location ;)

71%

This hostel was good! They had cage lockers underneath the bunks which I really appreciated -- but of course bring your own lock. The staff were really friendly. The only problems I had were the bathrooms and the noise level. The water from one of the showers would run on then shut off. With the noise level, the hostel is located in an area with a lot of bars -- should've done more research on my end for that. You can definitely hear bumping music from around the hostel at night.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your kind comments. We're working on the shower situation. It happens at peak times when lots of people are trying to shower at once. We are getting a bigger pipe from the water authorities though, so all should be resolved soon! :) Shoreditch can be a bit of a party area, so we have earplugs at reception if you ever need them. Glad you liked our cage lockers - they're cool aren't they!? Hope to see you again soon! :)

34%

After waiting to be checked in we were taken to our room and told to choose two beds...there was only one bed as they do not actually assign beds. One of us went downstairs to resolve the problem, after waiting a decent amount of time the staff came up to look at the situation only to decide that he couldn't figure it out and would have to talk to management and asked if we needed the bed right away (we arrived at 7pm or so). There was only one key that the staff had so you needed them to enter.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. I'm so sorry for the problems you encountered. We have had a delivery of keycards now and are trialing a new bed allocation system, so hopefully there will a be an improvement in that respect. Reception should also become quicker as we have a new passport scanner and computer. Hopefully you'll come back soon and see the improvements for yourself! :)

83%

This was my first experience with hostel and i was not dissapointed. It´s clean hostel with willing employees and it´s in the center of London so it´s perfedt for tourists.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah great! We are so glad you loved staying in hostels! Hopefully this will be the first of many stays to come. Hurry back to London soon!

63%

Be prepared that there will be no air to breathe in the night - as the window opens for a closed space. I would except more toilets for 16 people. One is not enough. You never know which bed is free and sometimes it was difficult to figure out for new people....

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your feedback. It is appreciated! We are trialing a new bed-labelling system which should help the problem you mentioned. Most of our en-suites have one toilet, but there are communal toilets you can use around the hostel if one of your roommates is taking a particularly long time in there... ;) Hope to see you again in the future.

46%

This place could be so great, but really, it's very, very ordinary. Check in was absurdly slow, as was anything to do with the front desk. 6 bed room was obscenely small. Lockers not particularly secure. A lot of noise from the street, windows wouldn't close. Avoid thursday to saturday if you want sleep. No vibe in the common areas. Only thing going for it is the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback - it helps us to improve. We've bought a passport scanner & new computer to help speed everything up on reception based on guest comments, so hopefully that should help. :) The area can be noisy as there are lots of bars and party goers around, but earplugs are available at reception if you find it gets too noisy. Locker cages all shut with a padlock, rooms have keycard entry & there's a coded security door downstairs, so hopefully your things should be safe! :)

83%

Well, actually it was so good. Some of staff were really rude but beside this is was definitely ok. Rooms were clean but in 16 dorms were bit warm. I recommend stay there and definitely will come back!!!! :) Friday night in bar translate? The best night in london.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahh thanks for your lovely comments! :) Sorry to hear that one of our team wasn't friendly with you. If you email me at info@thedictionaryhostel.com and let me know who it was, I can have a word with them. Glad you had a great stay overall though! Can't wait to have you back!

54%

Not sure when the showers and toilet were last cleaned, rooms are very squishy, Couldn't get a key card to access my room for 2 days. Checking in, out and anything involving staff was painfully slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey. Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear about your problems! The hostel is cleaned top to bottom every day (including showers and toilets) and there is also a night cleaner, but sometimes your fellow guests might get there before you unfortunately. We have just got a load of new key cards and a passport scanner delivered to make check in/out quicker and smoother. Hopefully you'll notice if you come back again. :)

94%

Loved this hostel!! Staff was so nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Come back soon! :)

97%

Friendliest staff in the land! Specially the Hungarian who greeted me on the way in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback. I will let Viki know that her customer service is appreciated :)

31%

We arrived at the hostel late Saturday night and had a difficult time finding the entrance to the hostel behind the line to the club next door. Once we finally got inside the hostel employees were very unhelpful, once we finally got their attention they seemed annoyed to help us. They ran out of keys for our room, room was disgusting, couldn't find a clean bed, very loud, overall an uncomfortable experience.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently seeking planning permission to put up a sign outside, but these things take time. We have recently had a new batch of key cards delivered, so hopefully that particular issue should no longer be a problem. That's no excuse for our stall being unfriendly though and I will be speaking to them about your feedback. Hopefully you'll give us another try in the future. :)

91%

This is the perfect hostel to stay at to enjoy the coolest area I have been to in London. The staff were friendly from the first moment I stepped in the door and and felt more like friends than employees. Definitely check it out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So great to hear that! Thanks for the feedback and hurry back soon! :D

83%

It was pretty nice, the staff gave good info about the surroundings. The only problem was that the fire alarm went on at 4am, and it was pretty tiresome to get out of the building (it was also cold). Besides that, I had no problem at all.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your comments, great to hear. We're sorry about the fire alarm, but we think you'll agree, being outside and cold is better than being inside and on fire! ;) Hope to see you again soon.

83%

So many good things here. Staff, guests, location, beds. I stayed a few days then changed plans so I could stay a while longer! Seems like they're recently under new management and issues mentioned by others are being dealt with. I was sad to go and by the time I left it felt like saying goodbye to family. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Can't wait to have you back again soon! Thanks for the great feedback :D

57%

Shower didn't drain properly, woken up by staff at 3am to confirm who was in the room and which person had overstayed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're so sorry about that! We have a maintenance manager so I've sent him to look in the shower in your room asap. If you let reception know in future, they will be happy to move you to a new room if there's a problem.

100%

Amazing location in shoreditch, friendly staff, nice rooms. Nothing to complain about! Would definitely stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow. Such a lovely review! Thanks! Come back soooon! :D

60%

Young people working here with little sense of what it menas to act professional. They made a misstake once with our key and then acted very badly. Sweet people but not very smart.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. It's good to know. I have had a word with our receptionists and we have a new front of house manager, so hopefully this won't be happening again :)

63%

The staff greeting was very poor. They were chatting amongst themselves and did not even say hello until they approached the main desk computer, which they said was undergoing a software update and would be very slow. Check-in took absolutely ages, and despite there being multiple members of staff on-site, service for purchases not even needing computer assistance was ridiculously slow. The hostel itself however was fine, clean and the bathroom was always stocked with toilet paper and soap.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't have a great welcome :( not cool! The good news is: we've got a new front of house manager and 2 new PCs for receptions which should smooth out any customer service issues and make check in waaay quicker. We did have a new computer system last month and there were some technical teething problems (technology!) but it's all sorted now. Hopefully we'll see you again soon and you see the improvements for yourself :)

77%

Pretty bumping hostel, awesome friendly staff. Facility's are a bit aged and shabby but that's how cheap anything works in London! If you want a clean palace for this price travel east or drop some serious pounds. Don't expect to sleep much, if at all. Party on the street in front of the hostel had locals thinking it was a bumping bar. A bit far from the centre of London but great for shore ditch. Don't stay here if your a princess.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good time. I'll pass on your kind words to the staff! We are working on improving our hostel all the time - there's going to be a big new basement with a bigger kitchen and chillout area next year. :) Hopefully we'll see you again so you can check it out!

(182 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback