X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1286 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

12Beds in a small room with just one window at the small end of the room. Only one shower and one toilet for 12 people in small space. No hot water in 4 days and many time almost no water at all after 30 seconds of showering. Unconfortable beds with 10cm thin matresses and everytime you move it is noisy. I was not happy at al!!!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working on the ventilation, noise and water issues and hope you will give us another try when we have got them all back up and running properly.

49%

NO hot water, sometimes no water at all. air in the 12beddorm was terrible, only 1 window, beds a catastrophy. they came in before 10am both saturday and sunday to hoover! whyyy! not going back or only in a smaller room, where i was last year and it was good.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are working on our water and ventilation issues, and apologise for the inconvenience to you during this trip. We hope you will come back and try us again next time you are in London.

49%

When my friends and I arrived at your hostel, our beddings weren't clean. We had to ask to get them done. Being back home in Germany I soon noticed a lot of red itching dots on my skin and went to the doctor. In the event, these dots are bedbug-bites! My Friend who stayed with me in room W has got some of them too. You soon should do something against it otherwise other guests get bitten too and won't come back to your hostel ever. I will never check int again or recommend the hostel.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, and we're very sorry for the problems you experienced during your stay. We do have a pest control company now working in the building to ensure we are bedbug-free, and have also been sealing the exposed brick walls where we found them to be living. Apologies again.

49%

It was really really really loud at night, we couldnt lock the shower door (although we said it to the stuff) and BEDBUGS! My friend and I was bittten by BEDBUGS...so gross!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, and we're very sorry for the problems you encountered. Our new maintenance manager is working on the locks, and is also helping us with ideas for reducing the sound that gets to the rooms at night. We have also hired a pest control company to eradicate the bed bugs and started sealing the exposed brink walls where we found them to be living.

66%

If you are looking for a hostel located in a good area of London and at the same time you don't mind having a mouse in your room, this is the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We quite like our location, but aren't such fans of the mice. So we have a pest control company coming in to help them move to new accommodation. Apologies to those who might have wanted to share with a mouse ;)

43%

Great location in Shoreditch/East London, heaps of bars and clubs in the area. My bed was taken when I checked in and the room was full, turned out a staff member was sleeping in the bed. Took a while but eventually found a nice staff member who swapped me to a different room. Staff were pretty poor and unhelpful, and bathrooms, kitchen, hallways not very clean. Showers had no water from about 8am-12pm everyday, which they acknowledged. No good common area except bar next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - we quite like the area too. We're sorry for the difficulties with your check in. Customer service and cleanliness are both high priorities for us, so we will be sure to speak to our staff and ensure they are meeting the standards we expect. We are working with Thames Water to increase supply to our building, and also have plans underway to expand the kitchen to create more of a communal area.

69%

1. There's no reason to vacuum clean the dorms at 10 am. This happened every day. 2. Use numbers on your beds, so people know where to sleep and where not to. It will also help you as you can wake those who are sleeping instead of checking out. 3. Invite guests to label their food and make sure to throw the rest. 4. Please, close windows and turn the AC on. Get some fans if it's broken. 5. Ask your guests whilst they're checking out if they had a pleasant stay.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

77%

Cleaning is done by backpackers so not that reliable Tiny tiny showers Really great atmosphere and location in hip shoreditch

Owner Comment (Hide)
Although many of our staff are backpackers, we still expect a high standard from them and will speak to them about your concerns. We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay though :)

71%

It was too hot in the room. In the room when you are 8 persons who sleep together, we need fresh air.. and the Windows are too smal. We have problems with water in the shower.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on solutions to the ventilation issues in some of the rooms, and are also working with Thames Water to increase the supply to our building.

86%

Great location, modern & quirky. Beds could have been cleaner but the room (we had a double) was generally clean and big enough for 2. Lots of bars and good places to eat near by.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We'll remind our cleaners of the importance of keeping everything as clean and tidy as possible, but are glad you enjoyed your stay anyway. Come back again soon!

60%

Stayed for three nights at the Dictionary; staff hardly pay attention to guests, and don't mind waking you up in the middle of the night when doing work that could have been done during the day. In the dorms you just pick whatever bed is available and don't be surprised when you come back at the end of the day and find your stuff on the floor.. Also, in the patio there is a fridge that makes the most annoying sound all night/ day long. Why can't this be repaired or turned off? Won't come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We will speak to our staff about your concerns, and appreciate you drawing our attention to the other points.

97%

Really cool place, very nice ambiance. Staff was attentive enough and all the facilities were clean and proper. The next-door coffee shop and bar were great too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! :)

91%

Great, fun atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We're glad you had a good time!

94%

A clean and friendly hostel, right at the modern heart of london. Close to all areas with pubs and bars and an excellent own bar next door. Definitely a recommendation to stay if you are in london for a few days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review - we appreciate it! :)

83%

A very nice place to stay in London, beds are very comfortable and very very clean. The hostel is near Liverpool Street tube/rail station (10 min. walking), to get Circle and Central lines to go to the city center. In 20mins from London City Airport with the DLR and Overground. Shoderitch is a multicultural district, if you love art and alternative style of life you have to stay at The Dictionary hostel in London. Breakfast is not included but you get discount at the Translator Pub (next door).

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! :)

60%

There were mice, so grab a top bunk. And be insistent with the staff. Though nice enough, they weren't the most helpful and didn't always seem to care to help. The bar next door was a wonderful resource, however, so I suggest you go there for questions.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - we appreciate the feedback. We have employed a pest control company to deal with the mice, so hopefully now our bottom bunks are equally as appealing as the top! We pride ourselves on having friendly, helpful and outgoing staff, so we will be sure to speak to them, to ensure they are always providing the level of service we expect.

71%

Have cockroach on my pillow when I woke up in the morning Good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Eek! A cockroach is not a good surprise to wake up to! Thanks for the feedback!

40%

AFTER paying they told us we had to split up.. 4 for us in one room, the other one alone in a room. There was no discussion possible and the girl ("Kirsty"?) was very rude to us. The last day 2 beds in our room came available, but again nothing possible. Finally the beds were stil empty and she could move to our room. WHY didn't they tell us this before?! The worst of all: 2 girls came home with BEDBUGS! This was mentioned before on this site but nothing changed! PLEASE AVOID THIS HOSTEL!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry for the inconvenience. We have a pest control company working in the building to solve our bedbug problem and are also sealing the brick walls where we have found the bugs to be living. Although we do try to keep our guests together as much as possible, when we are busy it is sometimes necessary for groups to be split in order for everyone to have a bed. We will remind all of our staff of the high standards we expect for our customer service.

20%

I requested the quietest room in the hostel. The hostel is located above a club that plays bass music until 3:30am, it was so loud my head was actually vibrating and it was impossible to sleep. The sound of the generator was also very loud, the shower cold, evidence of mice and the door lock faulty. They wouldn't relocate me and when I said I won't be staying for the second night they refused to refund me (& rude and condescending). After years of hostelling, this was the worst nights sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for providing us with this feedback, and we're sorry for the negative experience you had during your stay. We are working closely with Translate to reduce the amount of noise that comes through to our rooms from the bar, as we recognise that a good night's sleep is important for our guests. We also have a pest control company working to ensure that the building is mouse-proof, and our maintenance manager is checking all of the locks. We're sorry again for the problems you had here.

89%

Staff and location great, 10 minute walk from underground, trendy east end, and bars and food places, bar next door was amazing for chilling out and had pretty good WiFi. Staff weren't entirely on top of the room cleanliness, some sheets and stuff went unnoticed, but that's also because some of the people staying forgot to put their washing in the cages provided!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your reminder to our cleaners to ensure they are keeping an eagle eye on everything that needs to be done to keep the hostel up to scratch!

(166 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback