X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dictionary, Shoreditch Reviews

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1422 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The staff was great , rooms were ok with lockers and wifi was good. Many shops nearby

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We think our staff are pretty great too!

83%

Very clean, safe, friendly staff, in a good location for what we wanted, very good price. Had trouble sleeping- noise from club next door kept us up, automatic light in hallway annoying, staff walked in at 2am turning main light on in room, check in was too early considering we couldn't sleep- we would have paid extra to have a later check-out time.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very busy, good vibe. Although very noisy at night so would definitely recommend it to partygoers who don't plan on going to sleep before 3am.


63%

Rooms had poor ventilation so the air had mildew in it all the time. WiFi did not work in rooms unless you purchased "fast WiFi" showers were either scalding or frigid. Alright location, would spend the extra and get a nicer hostel next time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on both the ventilation issue and the showers, but thanks for taking the time to let us know.

31%

FIVE OF US STAYED AT THIS HOSTEL IN ROOM "W", DURING OUR FOUR NIGHTS THERE, WE WERE VICTIM OF A BED-BUG ATTACK, WHICH LEFT US ITCHING AND COVERED IN LARGE RED LUMPS. AS FAR AS WE ARE CONCERNED, NO MENTION WAS MADE TO US AT THE TIME OF OUR CHECK-IN TO AN EXISTING PROBLEM WITHIN THE BUILDING. IF WE HAD KNOWN BEFOREHAND, NO WAY WOULD WE HAVE BOOKED THE ACCOMMODATION IN THE FIRST PLACE, LET ALONE SLEEP THERE. PROSPECTIVE GUESTS SHOULD TAKE NOTE! WE ARE WITH HOLDING PAYMENT. LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very sorry for the negative experience you had with us. We have a professional pest control company working on the bed bugs and were under the impression that that room should have been bug free. We appreciate that this was an uncomfortable and distressing thing to have happen, and again, our sincerest apologies.

91%

/ great hostel / amazing staff / great location - just need to have trained cleaners


89%

Neighborhood and staff were awesome. My compliments especially go out to Jade and Giorgio, you rock guys! Only bummer was the fridges in the kitchen. There were many unlabelled plastic bags and definitely this could be improved. Apart from that I had the best time and very much liked the place!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback - we will make sure our cleaners are regularly checking the fridges like they should be! Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay though!

74%

It's next to several bars and clubs so it's very lively in the night. If you don't like party and prefer a quiet neighborhood probably you don't wanna stay here. But if you come for party, it's perfect to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do quite enjoy our location in the party area, but also hope that those looking for a good night's sleep will get that with us as well.

43%

I had a really bad experience during my last stay, as it happened that the bed in which I slept for two nights was infested by flees or similar insects. When I ask to change bed I was told everything was booked, 5 stayed free all night in the room I was. I contacted the manager on advise of the personal at the entrance, but still haven't got any answer back.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we're very sorry for the negative experience you had during your stay. We have received your email, and someone will respond to you very shortly. Again, our sincerest apologies.

57%

Our experience was turned straight down the second night in our stay , when we returned back to the hostel to find all our stuff in Garbage Bags in the reception. The excuse was that they had made an error with an other booking and preferred to give a room of four to these new customers rather than us, They then proceeded in telling us that we had to be split in independent rooms. The cherry on the cake was that clean clothes were put into bags with shoes and dirty stuff. Really Disappointed!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was in a great location and kept clean, although one of the girls had bed bugs in her bed, the hostel reponded very well and gave her a refund, the bar/cafe was excellent and the food was great and very reasonable. We were in a room at the top of the hostel and it was ver hot and humid but this isnt a regular problem in England!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us, and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on getting rid of the last of the bed bugs, and also trying to work on a way to increase the ventilation in our rooms, although you're right - it is uncharacteristically warm at the moment!!

89%

The Dictionary hostel seems to cop a lot of negative feedback from people in the reviews section... I really don't understand people's problem. If you want a sparkling clean, quiet, private place to stay where people don't "keep you up all night" then book into a 5 star hotel and don't stay at a hostel, period... If people are being loud - wear ear plugs? Seems logical...The Dictionary hostel was nothing but great. The staff are awesome, the location is amazing, and the atmosphere is amazing too

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon :)

60%

Got bedbugs in our room, which wasn't so pleasant. Seems like this is a problem that the hostel is struggling with. The staff was understanding and gave us a refund. Shoreditch is a nice area to stay in.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for being understanding. We do have a professional pest control company in dealing with the bugs, but we're very sorry that you still experienced a problem with them.

91%

This hostel had some of the friendliest staff I've ever met, and it's connected an awesome cafe and bar. If you're wanting to meet some of the most fun and hilarious people in London, this is the place to go! The showers are not great, but if you're coming to London to have an amazing time! come to the Dictionary! Absolutely loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! We're working on our shower issue, installing bigger pipes to get more supply from the mains, so hopefully that will be fixed soon too!

91%

The Dictionary is very good. All the staff were really, really friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be that when I awoke very, very hungover at 5-6 in the morning I found no way of getting some water, the vending machine was broken, the tap water was allegedly unsafe to drink. This was during the recent heatwave as well, if I'd have had a method of drinking loads of water I could have saved myself from a hellish few hours writhing around in bed with a horrible headache.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. The taps in our kitchen have filters on them, so drinking water is available in the kitchen, should you ever find yourself hungover in Shoreditch again :)

74%

This was my second time in the Dictionnary and it was definetly not as nice as the first time. Room was messy, noisy, boiling hot and untidy. Ensuite bathroom was FILTY. Staff at reception was almost rude and really unhelpfull (ppl in the cafe and the pub were great though). We had to upgrade from the biggest dorm to a 6 bed dorm on the last night since the hostel was full. HUGE difference with before: room was nice, clean and quiet, but prepare to pay a hell lot more pounds!


43%

the service was poor, almost no facilities, missed free breakfast and wifi, there were mice in the kitchen, the bathrooms didn't work properly, showers were cold or no water at all, our toilet was broke, not enough bathrooms to facilitate hostel, the location is good, lots of pubs and other places around, but that means lots of noise at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, that is a lot of things to go wrong during one stay, and we're so sorry for the disruptions it must have caused to your trip. We are currently working on improving the water supply in our building, and looking at ways to insulate the rooms against noise. Our wifi is back up and running and we have a professional pest control company addressing the issue with the mice. Again, our apologies - everything seemed to go wrong at once!

66%

Very dirty floors, loud because it is over a bar Great area, nice to have a bar and restaurant and laundromat and cafe so close

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are working with Translate to reduce the sound that comes through from the bar, as well as looking into solutions to reduce street noise in the rooms. We will speak to our cleaners about the floors. Glad you were able to make the most of our facilities during your stay :)

100%

Great location. Thanks guys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! Hope to see you again soon!

34%

To be honest the only good thing about this hostel was its location and it is only good if you are a party animal as music was blaring until 4 in the morning and after that the noise from outside was ridiculous. Facilities were zero the toilet in the room didnt work so we had to go downstairs to a toilet there was no light in. The shower was disgusting and didnt work even though we used it in non peak times. The staff were unfriendly and didnt care. Cool area bad hostel. Dont stay here.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, and we're sorry you had some negative experiences during your stay. We are working hard to reduce the amount of noise in the rooms, looking into new windows and increased insulation from Translate. Our new maintenance manager is getting on top of the facilities issues, and we will speak to our cleaners about ensuring they always meet our high standards of cleanliness. We are working on the water supply issue with Thames water.

(188 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback