X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Doctor's House Reviews

Pehlivanuša 67, Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
252 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Perfect stay. Thank you Cat and Edina and Team! Kind regards and see you next time

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel doesn't feel like a hostel: it feels like you found your lost home in Sarajevo! It's clean, cozy, has a full equiped kitchen, and is well situated: the location is not right in the center but just 5 minutes walking up the hill, which I didn't mind at all as made everything more quiet + gives a great view on the city from the balcony. Best thing of all is the staff: helpful-without-limits, great recommendations and occasional soup for everybody. I stayed 4 days more than planned.


97%

I would stay there again, for sure. Location is uphill from the main attractions. That might be an issue for some, or a good way to get some much-needed exercise for others. An excellent choce.


100%

Only stayed for one night. Staff were really helpful with directions and recommendations of things to do and where to eat. We were sad we couldn't stay for longer.


94%

This was one of the best hostels I've been to. Friendly atmosphere with excellent staff who happily organized group dinners and other activities. Great for solo travelers and groups alike. Cat, wasvery helpful throughout my whole stay, explaining how to get places and showing us the best places Sarajevo has to offer.

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent atmosphere and staff, staying at this hostel was certainly a highlight of being in Sarajevo.


97%

Home away from home. What a hostel should be (not a hotel). Great kitchen w/amazing staff that cooks. Good traveler's vibe. Buy beer/wine on honor system. Beautiful views from balcony. Real living room w/couches & lamps. Short climb to hostel keeps lazy riff-raff out (3 min walk to center). Cool people here. Real-feeling up here with neighborhood shops, talkative pizza shop owner, smiley vegetable lady, etc. Good vibes trickle down from owner to staff to guests. That's how all hostels work.


97%

People took the name of this hostel a little too seriously when I stayed and everyone was sick or injured. However, it was an amazing hostel and the room upstairs has a great view. The staff is amazing and very helpful. The outdoor areas are also such a bonus to hang out on. The kitchen has everything you need: coffee,oil, sugar, spices, spaces. There is tons of common space and the beds are a nice hidey place. If you make it up the hill it's heaven as a hostel. :).


97%

Beautiful hostel - cozy common areas, the best equipped kitchen we've come across, and incredibly helpful staff. We are cycling and there was a place for us to lock our bikes up undercover which is always a plus. It's a bit of a walk up the hill to get in and out of the city, but hostel, the views and the neighbourhood more than make up for any effort (plus the walk helps to work off the tufajia).


100%

Thank you Cat for such a lovely stay! We had a private and it was clean and comfortable. Really friendly atmosphere and fantastic kitchen. Just up the road (a good little steep walk) from the city centre in a quiet street. Great place to meet fellow travellers. Thanks a bunch!


100%

There is nothing bad to say about this hostel! Staff are incredible, beds are comfortsble, showers and hot and clean. The location is right near in city centre. It is a walk up a hill but this means you have the most incredible view over the city from your hostel balcony! There is also free parking on the street. Will be returning to this hostel again!


100%

Great location, great city. Must visit!

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had great time at The Doctor's House. Cat and Sarah were so welcoming. A really lovely hostel. Great view over the city, the dorm was comfortable. The soup Sarah made was beautiful, a real treat. Thank you all Rich


100%

Everything you could want in a hostel! We felt at home as soon as we arrived. Amazingly comfortable beds, everyone just turns into a big family straight away, highly reccomend staying here!


97%

Best hostel of the whole trip! Everything you wish for as a traveller as well as a very friendly atmosphere with a great staff! I should have stayed longer... :-)

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place. Highly recommended


97%

Very comfortable. Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. You can see that the hostel has an attention to detail. I highly recommend. The only negative is the walk up to the hostel from the old city. However, you can take a cheap taxi ride from the bottom if you're feeling lazy :)


54%

Wifi very week , rest rooms are dirty and kitchen gets untidy all the time Climbing up the hill to the hostel is not easy thing

Owner Comment (Hide)
R, thank you for taking time to review our little hostel. I apologize that you had some trouble with the wifi during your stay. As we did our best to communicate, in these days we were actively working with our provider to improve our wifi service and there were outtages and signal issues while they worked. Glad to report that we've got a new wifi system set up now and it's working great! We do our best to keep everything clean and tidy and I apologize too that we didn't meet your standard.

97%

Very well kept with good facilities and able to buy beers from the fridge. Staff are great. Was starting to get a bit quieter as it was the end of the season, the kitchen landed up being fairly social with people hanging out there even when not cooking but the common area most of the time was just people on laptops which was a shame. Half of the people here did land up following me to Mostar!


100%

It was a friendly and homely experience, a good location and a team of very helpful staff. Would recommend!

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Sarajevo Hostels

Please give us your feedback