Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downing Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.7

I hade great time here was quiet during the week then parting on the weekend 😁 staff are fantastic, everyone is happy to help 😁 The manager mel is a superstar she helps everyone out when needed and she is a great person to have about

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.1

The staff at the Downing Hostel were fabulous! So kind and lovely and friendly. Our room was adequate and suited our needs. It is a shame that there is not more of a common area, however I get that space is limited due to the location. The location was great and everything was within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

The downing hostel is in the perfect location with such friendly and welcoming staff and an amazing atmosphere ! The hostel is cleaned everyday and is always well presented. The manager, Mel is doing a fab job of running the place, she is lovely and very accomodating with great enthusiasm! I've had so much fun staying here and I would recommend it to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Superb hostel! Located right in the heart of the city, you are 2 minutes away from bars, shops, gardens and bus services to all the beaches! Staff were great and as I was travelling alone but the friendly atmosphere in the hostel really helped me settle. You also receive discount on food and drinks at the bar below the hostel which was a nice surprise on arrival. The hostel was very well looked after, the kitchen facilities modern and spotless. Could not recommend it enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in for a long time!! The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout my stay and with a central Sydney location what more could you ask for!! Look forward to staying with you guys on my return trip to Sydney!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel is in a perfect location in the city, can walk to bars and Hyde park over the road. Staff seem friendly and helpful, would recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.1

Would recommend this hostel to anyone! It's a great hostel that has both short and long term guests. All the staff are very friendly and happy to help with any questions you might have. It's in a perfect location with access to public transport right on the doorstep and I've met so many of my close friends from this place as it's so sociable. There are also free washing and ironing facilities which are fab. Definitely stay at The Downing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Was booked into the Downing hostel for 4 nights and will most definetly be returning in the forthcoming future. The staff here are brilliant! Very helpful and friendly. Working tirelessly to keep things up to date and keeping it clean! Location is unbeatable! Highly recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
8.3

Fantastic location great staff noise level was a bit high but that can be expected for a hostel in the middle of the city beds were comfortable could do with a bit of a fix up but pretty good overall a good place to stay and very cheap

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HaydenWard5
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Hostel staff are great and helpful , kitchen facilities are the best I've had in a hostel plus guests receive discount in the bar downstairs on food. You won't get a better location staying in Sydney , located next to lots of bars, cafes and restaurants, a shopping centre, Hyde park and also a 1 minute walk from Museum train station. The hostel has a mixture of long term stayers and guests there for shorter periods , it's a welcoming crowd which allows for people who are looking for either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.