Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downing Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Great location right in the heart of CBD. Close to supermarkets, train and bus stations. Helpful and friendly staff. Would stay again iif back in sydney :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.6

This hostel has a great atmosphere! The staff were friendly too! The location of the hostel was great as I was just visiting Sydney it was so easy to get around with the bus stop and train station right on your doorstop and being right in the city to explore!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2017
9.1

A great hostel with very friendly staff, they are always trying to arrange for nights out which is great! On the down sides: carpeting should be renovated and people don't always clean after themselves in the kitchen, but the hostel is cleaned twice a day so that's alright. The best: great location in the heart of CBD!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.4

This hostel is central to everything you'll do in Sydney; everything you want to explore - Darling Harbour, Opera House... - is on your doorstep. It has all essential amenities with a Coles and a Liquorland only a stone throws away! Staff are all more than happy to help. If you want a fun, homely feel to your time in Sydney you have to stay at The Downing Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel is very friendly with a great atmosphere, the staff were so friendly and nothing was a bother. Perfect location with a 10 miunuet walk into the city. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff at this hostel are incredibly friendly, outgoing and helpful - having made me feel at home there even though I only stayed one night. The laundry and wifi are both free - which is a great bonus these days and despite the fact I was in an eight bed dorm it was much cleaner and quieter than expected. Everyone seems to get along here and it feels like a large family, I would most definitely stay here again after the pleasant stay I had, especially with it being so well located in the CBD!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

"Nice & affordable place in the CBD" The location of the hostel is great, direct in the CBD center and 2min walk from Museum train station. All the staff members are really friendly and helpful, was feeling very welcome thanks guys :) Rooms are basic and there is enough space for your luggage, stuff, etc. Kitchen is open 24/7 what is awesome if you come back after a night out! Laundry & wifi is free to use as well. I can definitely recommend this place if you need a cheap & cozy place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
4.9

The other hostel guests were incredibly rude, some guy left a perimeter of dirty clothes and plates of food around his bed. The floors were dirty everywhere, staff was not helpful and was unfriendly when I reported that my skin cleanser has been stolen TWICE. I've been to my fair share of hostels so I didn't have any high expectations, but I am SHOCKED at how awful things were.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
5.4

Almost all of the hostel was very dirty. Found cockroaches in my bed. Not a good time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
7.4

The place was in a good location, close to the train station, Hyde park and Sydney harbor. I stayed for 2 nights and I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone, the rooms were incredibly hot. There was no ventilation, the window in the room opened up to the stairwell. I was dripping sweat while lying in my bed. Also, there were baby cockroaches everywhere. They crawled into and around my bag. Don't spend your money here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.