Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
The Downtown Hostel Located at Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, , Budapest.
The Downtown Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1053 Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7
87% 414
47.4896081 19.0594285
The Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Real life hostel, made us feel like locals, martin's a top bloke. Much love

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.6

Awesome place and staff! The host was incredibly friendly and really helped make the place feel comfortable. The place itself is really interesting, it kind of looks like it's in someone's loft apartment which is right near the ruin bars and close to all the good sights. Unfortunately there weren't a lot of people staying there when I went so I kind of missed out on the social aspect, but I think going at a different time this place would be perfect! Would recommend to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay- Ewa was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

Its a quiet and cozy little hostel. It has a very good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

Nice and easy! Good location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Ewa, the host was awesome. She took her time in explaining options around the city. She has great people skills. Place is really close to the metro station making it easy to arrive and leave. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.1

I stayed three nights at the downtown hostel. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it. Staff were helpful and hostel is well situated, close to restaurants and the city market. Ewa was an excellent host, and lives in the hostel so is around when you need her.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
7.1

Basic place to sleep. No ambiance. Noisy in early morning. Kitchen only has single burner so difficult to cook a meal. Asked for a single bed or lower bunk. Got a double bed and charged for two beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
9.7

The host treats you more like a friend than a visitor, which to me made me feel like I was home. It's in a perfect location, not too far from buda or pest sides. You have pubs in front of you, malls, and convenient stores, The beds are super comfy and you have a disposable kitchen to use. Great stay wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

We loved staying at the downtown hostel. It was the first time on our trip where we felt like the hostel staff actually cared that we would see the best parts of the city and have a great time. Staying at the hostel feels like you're staying at a friends apartment in town. Was lovely. If we're back in town- we'll definitely be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.