X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
324 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Clean, quiet, good service


100%

This was such a great place to stay! First thing he did when we arrived was plan a route for Our time in Budapest so we could see everything important. The place was so nice and comfortable and in a great location. There was even free laundry. If you're going to Budapest, you must stay here!


94%

Great interior design with awesome wall paintings! Very cool details. The owner was very chill and friendly. The hostel is a cozy appartement with 6 rooms. It's a quiet place, not a party hostel. The rooms are not on the street side, so we were'nt bothered by any street noise. Good beds. Good location nearby busstops, the subway, the center and super cozy squares with a lot of breakfast and dining possibilities (around baross utca). Would definitely go back there!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very helpful staff, willing and happy to help in any way, allowing us to stay an extra night at very short notice. Great atmosphere in a great location.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

absolutely wonderful and cozy hostel. The reception was also really lovely and warm.


100%

We had a great time. The place was really clean and had such a relaxed atmosphere. Martin was really helpful and had great tips for us. The wifi got a bit slow if too many people were using it and same with the bathrooms. Overall, I would highly recommend it for someone who is looking for a relaxed and quiet stay.


97%

This hostel is great and I would recommend it to anyone! City center, friendly staff, clean and friendly, definitely choosing it again whenever we decide to revisit Budapest.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was great! Thanks!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Don't recall having been in a better hostel - especially in terms of value for money. Nice and very helpful staff, fantastic location, relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Highly recommended!


100%

The most artistically decorated hostel I have ever been in. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff were super friendly and helpful with directions and tips. The facilities were well equipped (fridge, cookware, washing machine, etc) and were very clean as well. The staff really liked burning incense inside around early afternoons, but I did not mind it at all. The only potential problem is that there are only 2 washrooms which could result in long lines when there are a lot of guests.


100%

Great spot in the city, walking distance from main streets and the river, close enough to train station. Very nice rooms, clean beds and sheets. Great place to spend a weekend for a couple. Staff was helpful and helped with all directions. Really couldn't ask for more 10/10 :)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean. In a prime location in Budapest, near everything. Host Martin was very friendly - extremely helpful, sat down with us and showed us everywhere we should visit, helped book us taxis and just provides the best assistance possible during stay. Jon and Dan

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and well positioned hostel. Really good atmosphere, well equipped kitchen and nice interior. For young people this place is perfect. Very friendly staff.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place to be if youre staying in budapest! Pleasant room, nice neighborhood. Clean facilities, spacious common area. Couldnt ask for more. Very polite staff.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awsome staff, help you with anything you need. Very clean and organized. Good location.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing, clean room and bathrooms. Perfect location, easy to get around. We like this place a lot. If we go to Budapest again we shall stay there.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Worth visiting. Clean rooms, sheets, bathroom. Locationwise ok, great value for money I have to admit.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very well situated hostel, few minutes away from huge shopping center with shops, cinema, places to eat. Close to metro and bus stops. In walking distance to Danube. Staff very polite. Room, beds and facilities clean. Good value for such a great place.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback