X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
338 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very good place with great atmosphere. Good security comfortable beds. Close to city.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome place to stay. Clean beds and facilities. Helpfull staff.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very cozy and safe place where you really get to know other travelers. Clean rooms and helpfull staff. Would definitely recommend this!


89%

It was a great stay the we had at Downtown hostel. It was quite and nice. Its not far from th center and everything is walkable.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A friend and I were here for 4 nights! The hostel is so cool! There is a nice ambiance, the staff is so friendly and it's is clean! Also the style of the hostel is cool, there are very cool paintings on the wall, and that creates a relaxed ambiance. The location is also good! You can travel easy from the train station, and the centre of Budapest is only 5-10 minutes away by foot! When we arrived the staff told us the coolest things to see and to visit! They really make time for you!

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a great hostel to stay in Budapest. Even though there was a problem with the reservation, the staff made a great effort for us to get accomodation and then treated us great when we arrived to the Downtown Hostel. The girl from the hostel gave us a map and told us her reccomendations to visit and it really made our trip easier. Thank you for everything!!


100%

Martin n Eva are really nice people, they try all to help me . The hostel is close to the central market n the metro station, perfect location, very cozy hostel like home. The time I spent with them in the hostel was my best memory in Budapest .

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Girl ! You are the HERO!!! :) Take care!!!

74%

Owner was away when we checked in so it was kind of dirty but as soon as they returned they cleaned everything so that was good. free laundry and great location right near central market and metro overall a good stay


94%

Extremely friendly staff, who were so helpful in showing me where to go and things to see - Martin spent around half an hour going through the map with me and recommending places to eat and providing a price guide. Very clean and amazing location in the tourist area very close to public transport. Clean towels provided (free for you to take), washing machines etc. Only downside is due to traditional apartment style and courtyard, rooms are lovely and cool but quite noisy because of echoing.


100%

Clean, quiet, good service


100%

This was such a great place to stay! First thing he did when we arrived was plan a route for Our time in Budapest so we could see everything important. The place was so nice and comfortable and in a great location. There was even free laundry. If you're going to Budapest, you must stay here!


94%

Great interior design with awesome wall paintings! Very cool details. The owner was very chill and friendly. The hostel is a cozy appartement with 6 rooms. It's a quiet place, not a party hostel. The rooms are not on the street side, so we were'nt bothered by any street noise. Good beds. Good location nearby busstops, the subway, the center and super cozy squares with a lot of breakfast and dining possibilities (around baross utca). Would definitely go back there!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very helpful staff, willing and happy to help in any way, allowing us to stay an extra night at very short notice. Great atmosphere in a great location.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

absolutely wonderful and cozy hostel. The reception was also really lovely and warm.


100%

We had a great time. The place was really clean and had such a relaxed atmosphere. Martin was really helpful and had great tips for us. The wifi got a bit slow if too many people were using it and same with the bathrooms. Overall, I would highly recommend it for someone who is looking for a relaxed and quiet stay.


97%

This hostel is great and I would recommend it to anyone! City center, friendly staff, clean and friendly, definitely choosing it again whenever we decide to revisit Budapest.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Everything was great! Thanks!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Don't recall having been in a better hostel - especially in terms of value for money. Nice and very helpful staff, fantastic location, relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Highly recommended!


100%

The most artistically decorated hostel I have ever been in. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff were super friendly and helpful with directions and tips. The facilities were well equipped (fridge, cookware, washing machine, etc) and were very clean as well. The staff really liked burning incense inside around early afternoons, but I did not mind it at all. The only potential problem is that there are only 2 washrooms which could result in long lines when there are a lot of guests.


100%

Great spot in the city, walking distance from main streets and the river, close enough to train station. Very nice rooms, clean beds and sheets. Great place to spend a weekend for a couple. Staff was helpful and helped with all directions. Really couldn't ask for more 10/10 :)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback