X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff was welcoming and friendly, really made our stay the best. The rooms were very clean. Very secure. Perfect hostel overall.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A great place to stay, cozy and a very cool and friendly owner!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A place is cool home


97%

Great Hostel! Everything is well-organized, tidy and the staff is really willing to help. Overall I'm very satisfied.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful place, super clean. The location is nice- close to a metro stop. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good location. Clean room, beds, bathroom and facilities. Wifi working fine, great staff.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a home away from home. Quiet sanctuary with the perfect location and has everything you need. The owner is incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and creates the perfect atmosphere, a geniuely awesome guy. We will be back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thx yo! Take care guys! Yous are good people!

97%

We had a wonderful time in Downtown Hostel. The receptionist/host was great, gave us all the necessary tips we needed to have a great time in Budapest and was very flexible and kind with respect to our arrival and departure. The hostel was clean, centrally located, equipped with all necessary facilities including an open kitchen and a fast WI-FI connection. It was a great pleasure staying there and we strongly recommend this hostel.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Big up! Hope there was no snow storm on Your way back :D

40%

I'm not not a complainer but we were very disappointed. Decorations and kitchen were nice but bathroom floor was always wet, there were no towels for showering, bathrooms were dirty, and our sheets smelled like mildew. We only saw the staff to check us in. We tried emailing the hostel about printing boarding passes but didn't get a response until the evening the following day. I am very surprised the hostel received such high scores because we were definitely not comfortable. Disappointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cmon, You ve send an email at 1 o clock in the night. It was a new years night, ...and there was towels available. Anyway You have a right to comment so no worries, but not everything was as tragic as You wrote.

74%

the first days and nights was pretty cold in our room, because there was just a mini electric heating. And the silvester prices a far more expensive, than paying average here on other days ;-) the location is top situated

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a really nice 2 night stay at the Downtown Hostel :) Ewa was very friendly and helpful,and gave me some good tips on making the most of my time in Budapest. It's worth noting that they don't operate a 24-hour reception, but I didn't have any problem with that. Has more of a airbnb feel to it than a lot of hostels I've stayed in, which is a good thing! Much more homely! It's in a great location in the centre of Budapest too-near the river, near the market, near lots of nice cafes/restaurants!


100%

It was great!

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Prefect place to spend some quality time for a couple in Budapest. Very nice girl working there, polite has shown us all place worth seeing in the city. Hostel itself is in the city center so it is close to all places. Room was very cosy and warm, beds comfortable and clean. If we come to Budapest again we will stay in downtown hostel for sure. Great place to stay at this time of the year.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Cold!! No heaters, tall ceiling, and old building make for a cold hostel! Also, if it's not clear from the description, this is like a 5-bedroom apartment, so don't expect to see another person during your stay. Lock on the front door to the hostel means that it's often left unlocked; primitive keys to the rooms. Staff friendly but reception is hardly open (only for check-ins). Otherwise, clean and a fine place to stay.


97%

Very nice place, everything was clean and comfortable. Good location, wish we could've stayed more.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place with great people and guests. Very cozy place with all facilities an comfortable bed. Big plus for the location as it is close to all interesting places in the city.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was amazing in all aspects. Beds are comfy, local transport is close and easy to navigate, staff was lovely and so helpful. One of the best hostels I have stayed at


97%

Relaxed, small hostel in a great location for exploring Budapest. Perfect if you aren't looking for a party hostel for your stay in the city. Ewa was very helpful all the time -- thank you!


100%

Excellent Hostel, providing everything you would want in a Hostel, great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Keep up the good work guys.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hostel was aweaome and the service great! Can only recommend... Ewa, the staff at the hostel, was very nice in particular.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback