Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
8.9

This hostel is very nice, but unfortunately when we arrived the owner was sick, so he was absent basically all the time. Without any staff other guests were quite loud in the late evening (and we chose this hostel because it was promised that the place is quite). I think it would be great if there are more workers to prevent such situations. But the location is great, you can actually walk to all the tourist attractions in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2017
6.9

I stayed in here for 6 nights in September. The owner was extremely helpful with how exactly to get there, and was accommodating of my arrival time. The location is great! The only public transport I took was a (straight) bus from the airport. I could walk everywhere else. In terms of a hostel, Downtown is an apartment converted to a hostel. It's perfect if you're looking for is a place to come back to sleep. There isn't really a 'hostel vibe'. But, it's clean, cheap and has no curfew!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.7

The officer was very kind and helpful. Cleanliness is enough for stay there. The hostel is very close metro. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.7

Loved this place. Very central and an easy walk to everything. The owner was super friendly and helpful. Common areas and toilets were very clean. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
5.1

The only thing I can think about the place is the sfaff was nice and helpful. Bu the place is really bad. The pillow, the sheet..the toilet is not clean and the chicken is not a place for Hangout. The place most of the time smells...cleanness really is an issue here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
8.9

I enjoyed my stay here! The owner is so nice and helpful. The hostel was artsy, cozy and almost felt like staying at a home in Budapest, I really appreciated the more laid back and intimate atmosphere. It was a little hard to mingle with people outside of my own dorm as people don't tend to hang out in the common areas. The room could use brighter lighting. Overall the place was great and I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Quiet, nice and central, good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

We had a very lovely stay at the hostel and the location is perfect, it is far from the noise but very close to all thw mayor attractions. The host is amazing and very kind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×