Hostelworld.com

The Downtown Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
The Downtown Hostel Located at Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, , Budapest.
The Downtown Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1053 Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7
87% 395
47.4894559 19.0591603
The Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
9.7

The host treats you more like a friend than a visitor, which to me made me feel like I was home. It's in a perfect location, not too far from buda or pest sides. You have pubs in front of you, malls, and convenient stores, The beds are super comfy and you have a disposable kitchen to use. Great stay wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

We loved staying at the downtown hostel. It was the first time on our trip where we felt like the hostel staff actually cared that we would see the best parts of the city and have a great time. Staying at the hostel feels like you're staying at a friends apartment in town. Was lovely. If we're back in town- we'll definitely be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.4

I broke my phone and the staff kept helping me to figure out some good stores to fix it. He never stops helping me and treating me like a friend. I am really thankful to the staff and this hostel is nothing but absolutely excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.7

Really cool hostel, felt clean and great location. Hostel owner was very helpful and gave us loads of information about the city. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
9.1

This place is like home away from home. If you are looking for a party hostel, this isn't for you. If you are looking for somewhere you can come back to and relax and talk amongst the guests, this is the perfect place for you. Martin is extremely welcoming and excellent at telling you the best sights of Budapest and some hidden gems you wouldn't normally get from the chain hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel. We felt like at home :) Thumbs up

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Feb 2016
7.1

Good hostel, I enjoyed my stay, especially because I had a private room. I found it secure, as you have a room key and the front door is double-locked. There is a washing machine and full kitchen, and even hair dryers for your hair. The staff weren't really around all weekend, and everything was fine, but it makes you feel a bit self-conscious. Saying that they respond very quickly to emails so you can be fairly confident they will be there for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2016
7.1

It was tough to find when we came in the first night. A better description would be helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
10.0

The staff was welcoming and friendly, really made our stay the best. The rooms were very clean. Very secure. Perfect hostel overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
8.6

A great place to stay, cozy and a very cool and friendly owner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.