X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Everything was great! Thanks!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Don't recall having been in a better hostel - especially in terms of value for money. Nice and very helpful staff, fantastic location, relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Highly recommended!


100%

The most artistically decorated hostel I have ever been in. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff were super friendly and helpful with directions and tips. The facilities were well equipped (fridge, cookware, washing machine, etc) and were very clean as well. The staff really liked burning incense inside around early afternoons, but I did not mind it at all. The only potential problem is that there are only 2 washrooms which could result in long lines when there are a lot of guests.


100%

Great spot in the city, walking distance from main streets and the river, close enough to train station. Very nice rooms, clean beds and sheets. Great place to spend a weekend for a couple. Staff was helpful and helped with all directions. Really couldn't ask for more 10/10 :)

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean. In a prime location in Budapest, near everything. Host Martin was very friendly - extremely helpful, sat down with us and showed us everywhere we should visit, helped book us taxis and just provides the best assistance possible during stay. Jon and Dan

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and well positioned hostel. Really good atmosphere, well equipped kitchen and nice interior. For young people this place is perfect. Very friendly staff.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place to be if youre staying in budapest! Pleasant room, nice neighborhood. Clean facilities, spacious common area. Couldnt ask for more. Very polite staff.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awsome staff, help you with anything you need. Very clean and organized. Good location.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing, clean room and bathrooms. Perfect location, easy to get around. We like this place a lot. If we go to Budapest again we shall stay there.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Worth visiting. Clean rooms, sheets, bathroom. Locationwise ok, great value for money I have to admit.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very well situated hostel, few minutes away from huge shopping center with shops, cinema, places to eat. Close to metro and bus stops. In walking distance to Danube. Staff very polite. Room, beds and facilities clean. Good value for such a great place.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

This is a hostel with only four rooms. I stayed in one of them for countdown night, as it is a special day, therefore the price was extremely expensive, it is too pricey and not worth it in my own opinion (I am not sure how much they charge for normal stay). The hostel is located 20mins walk away from the city centre. The inner yard of the building isn't look very nice and old, but fair. Staff are nice, and they are always out of hostel, so make sure you have their cell phone number or email.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi :) thx for upgrading the comment as it was 51% before :) it was a new years eve so the price was the highest indeed, as in all the town and other towns all over the planet. As to the location, we are in the city center, the fifth district, the name of our district is Belváros, that means, inner city a.k.a city center :) our space is located between Astoria, National Museum, City Market and Vaci street, like it cant get more central :) !!!Once again BIG THX for upgrading the score!!! Martin

97%

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this place. The staff were friendly, bed was clean and comfortable. Location was great.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, metro few minutes away. Hostel is near to shopping streets, cafes and bars. l really enjoyed the stay at this place.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Spacious room, clean bed, good wifi and most of all nice atmosphere. Very unique place for a stay.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback