X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
351 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is great! Nothing to complain about. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good facilities even though I didn't use the kitchen. Would stay here again.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location close to centre however very quiet and not many people around. Receptionist was so helpful and let me do laundry for free and give free towel and products for the shower. She was very welcoming and informative when we arrived and throughout! It was very cheap so you get what you pay for, basic bedroom etc. we were given the key to the hostel therefore we could bring anyone in and out which is kind of dangerous! But overall good experience and value for money


91%

I had a great expierience in the hostel, specially because of the staff Ewa who hosted all very well.


100%

Polite and courteous staff. Really enjoyed this place. Had so much fun there! Only issue was that sometimes wifi was slow.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Downtown is in a pretty good location for all the bars, clubs and markets in Budapest. Great atmosphere. Nice staff and nice people. I have enjoyed my stay at the Downtown and would recommend it to anyone looking to make new friends.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great place which is very easy to reach and also pretty close to major sights! Nice design, chill vibe. A true backpackers hostel.


60%

There are many downsides that we weren't expecting at all from the very high rating of the hostel. People were sleeping every night in the couch in the hall of the hostel, leaving luggages, shoes and clothes on the way, it was difficult to walk through and we couldn't talk in the common area, afraid to wake them up. The staff is really helpfull, but isn't a 24 hours reception. The rooms are comfortable, good location. Wifi works fine. The are only two bathrooms, so really long queue every day


77%

Pretty good hostel. Eva was beautiful at helping us whenever we needed. Despite the room smelling like cigarettes, the kitchen was great, the toilets and showers were clean and it was in a good location with a 24 hour supermarket right around the corner. Great for a short stay. Thanks Eva!


97%

Very good place with great atmosphere. Good security comfortable beds. Close to city.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome place to stay. Clean beds and facilities. Helpfull staff.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very cozy and safe place where you really get to know other travelers. Clean rooms and helpfull staff. Would definitely recommend this!


89%

It was a great stay the we had at Downtown hostel. It was quite and nice. Its not far from th center and everything is walkable.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A friend and I were here for 4 nights! The hostel is so cool! There is a nice ambiance, the staff is so friendly and it's is clean! Also the style of the hostel is cool, there are very cool paintings on the wall, and that creates a relaxed ambiance. The location is also good! You can travel easy from the train station, and the centre of Budapest is only 5-10 minutes away by foot! When we arrived the staff told us the coolest things to see and to visit! They really make time for you!

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a great hostel to stay in Budapest. Even though there was a problem with the reservation, the staff made a great effort for us to get accomodation and then treated us great when we arrived to the Downtown Hostel. The girl from the hostel gave us a map and told us her reccomendations to visit and it really made our trip easier. Thank you for everything!!


100%

Martin n Eva are really nice people, they try all to help me . The hostel is close to the central market n the metro station, perfect location, very cozy hostel like home. The time I spent with them in the hostel was my best memory in Budapest .

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Girl ! You are the HERO!!! :) Take care!!!

74%

Owner was away when we checked in so it was kind of dirty but as soon as they returned they cleaned everything so that was good. free laundry and great location right near central market and metro overall a good stay


94%

Extremely friendly staff, who were so helpful in showing me where to go and things to see - Martin spent around half an hour going through the map with me and recommending places to eat and providing a price guide. Very clean and amazing location in the tourist area very close to public transport. Clean towels provided (free for you to take), washing machines etc. Only downside is due to traditional apartment style and courtyard, rooms are lovely and cool but quite noisy because of echoing.


100%

Clean, quiet, good service


100%

This was such a great place to stay! First thing he did when we arrived was plan a route for Our time in Budapest so we could see everything important. The place was so nice and comfortable and in a great location. There was even free laundry. If you're going to Budapest, you must stay here!


94%

Great interior design with awesome wall paintings! Very cool details. The owner was very chill and friendly. The hostel is a cozy appartement with 6 rooms. It's a quiet place, not a party hostel. The rooms are not on the street side, so we were'nt bothered by any street noise. Good beds. Good location nearby busstops, the subway, the center and super cozy squares with a lot of breakfast and dining possibilities (around baross utca). Would definitely go back there!!

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback