X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Downtown Hostel Reviews

Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Nice hostel, located near the central area of Budapest. A lot of parking place. Lockers in the rooms, kitchen could be bigger but apart from that very nice place. Clean bathrooms and clean rooms.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very pleasant place to spend time in. Near city as well as bus and metro. Place with great vibe and nice people including staff. Rooms were ok and facilities as well. Even though It was quite hard to get around Budapest, people working there explained me all things I needed. Will come back once I am in Budapest again.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

it was really interesting to stay at this hostel. there is no reception, only one guy who arrived at the beggining when you arrived to the hostel. we didn´t know where should we leave they key when we were leaving. The guy tell us to leave it at a neightbour, but there was nobody. :)))

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The room was very good, very clean - with a nice touch, because of the colourfull wallpaints. Many thanks to Geza! He was very helpfull and easy to contact. For this price, it's a miracle, that it's not always overbooked - very good hostel!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The Hostel is very central and near the metro. The stuff was very friendly as well. Allthough it was horrible to stay in the Downtown Hostel because it was so dirty and disgusting. Every morning we woke up with new insect bites from bugs or fleas. And the bites won't heal for about a week. Additionally you couldn't open the bathroom door from inside.


97%

Great location and vibe. Really friendly staff, nice seated area, great location and lockers available in the rooms for valuables.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Affordable and great location. Amazingly nice and friendly staff, the guy at the front desk was so helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again the next time i'm in Budapest.

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great budget place to stay with interesting people staying in and friendly people working there. Room was nice, bed was comfortable and sheet was clean.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Facilities and room were clean. Close to the city center, Staff friendly. Overall nice atmosphere.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I highly recommend this hostel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean. I also met some great people whilst staying at the hostel.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel has a great location. Staff are friendly, make a nice atmosphere in the hostel and are ready to help if one is needed. Place was clean and bar downstairs is a big plus.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice and welcoming staff, very good location: close to public transport. Good value for money.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback