Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
The Downtown Hostel Located at Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7, , Budapest.
The Downtown Hostel
Hungary
Budapest 1053 Kiralyi Pal utca 5-7
85% 435
47.4896081 19.0594285
The Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Oct 2016
8.6

Sraff was very helpfull and all was very easy. Only problem was to get contact before, but then no problem. Peaceful and nice place. Little bit cold...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Oct 2016
4.0

The hostel is a flat with no reception and no staff. The rooms keys are in the corridor where anyone can grab them, only 2 lockers in a 5 bed dorm, found the flat door unlocked twice. Did not meet anyone except for the owner's friend who gave us the keys on the first day. The sink in the kitchen was full of dirty dishes, don't think they've cleaned the floor in ages. No toilet paper left in any bathroom.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
7.4

Owner wasn't around so we were let in by a friend who didn't say much. Security was good, but when I asked for an extra set(we had a private room) he looked in a jar in the entrance hall with other keys. I didn't expect a party hostel, but barely noticed others and part of the reason for the hostel was to meet fellow travellers. So if you just want a quiet cheap place to stay good pick. Well located in city center and public transport hub nearby so you can get around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful Staff. Very clean and tidy room and facilities. Place is perfect located near the Danube.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.7

The hostel is small and cozy, with a great accessibility from metro or by walk from the city centre. The place was calm at night and the stuff was friendly and helpful. Bathroom was clean during the whole stay. In the kitchen you can prepare a coffee or hot tea. Definitely a nice place to stay! We only kind of missed lockers and free towels - are there any? However we didn't need any of this so much. ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Best location in the heart of Budapest. Staff was very professional and organized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Perfect location near the bridge and old market place. Few minutes away from Danube. Restaurants and a lot of places to party nearby. Very cheap and clean place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

I met a lot of lovely people there and the staff was kind and friendly. Great location, a lot of parties nearby. Very sociable district of Budapest. The vibe of the place was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Attractive location, cozy bedroom. Very polite and friendly staff. Great quality,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2016
8.3

Location is absolutly ideal for the city for both site seeing and also for nightlife, room was comfy and great security. Is rather dark however with not the most homely or welcoming of vibes. That being said our host was very nice and gave us all the information we needed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.