Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dragonfly Guesthouse

  • 200 Pingdeng Rd, Dali Old Town, Dali, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • andyellmers2087
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Dragonfly has great facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and is very much value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2017
10.0

GREAT HOSTEL!! We loved the atmosphere in the common areas - easy to meet other guests, but also easy to find some quiet time alone if you wish. The roof is a nice place to hang out and has hammocks and beautiful views of the mountains. We stayed in a dorm and a private room on separate nights, both kinds of rooms were spacious and comfy. Showers are good, clean sheets, yummy breakfast! Plus the staff is really wonderful and helpful. If we ever return to Dali, we will stay here again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

Ideally located, really good staff and owner has fantastic information about the whole of China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.7

Excellent staff that are more than willing to help. Whether your planning a trip, wanting a good restaurant or even wanting to learn how to play chinese chess, you'll get friendly advise. Nice clean roomd, great roof top, comfortable bar / lounge area and a good breakfast....what more could you want. Chris and his wife were great hosts.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place to stay, convenient in old town Dali. The owner is very nice and helpful, gave me some tips to plan the rest of my trip up through the back-door route through Sichuan. Dorms are clean and the there's a nice rooftop area for hanging out and doing laundry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.6

Great little place, expat owned and run Staff are super helpful and have a real knowledge of the area, beds are better than most hostels, bar prices are good and the location is cool. It's in a quieter part of the old town, so you can get a good night's sleep here, really comfortable vibe Maybe a block or two walk from the night life, and close to the bus terminal for people who want to travel on early Would definately recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.7

Wonderfully comfortable beds and a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay at the Dragonfly and will stay there again next time we are in Dali.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.4

Wonderful old-style hostel in Dali, early check-in (we arrived at 6am) no problem. Softest mattresses of our entire stay in China! Bathrooms are outdoors, so it can get quite cold in winter...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.