X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dreamer Hostel Reviews

CR 51, 26D-161 Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Diagonal 32, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1079 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

If you're looking for a place to hang out for a while and just relax, not looking for outside/sightseeing activities, the Dreamer is perfect. The owner have created a "hostel paradise" you don't want to leave. The bad side: you will spend a lot of money here! It's also a consumer paradise with very good food and a bar right next to the pool and rooms which makes you want to consume more and more. Very smart business model, friendliest staff, really perfectly managed hostel!


97%

Amazing atmosphere, staff was excellent and very helpful. If you're going to Tayrona it a good spot to leave from. Room was comfortable


100%

best hostel yet good food, good staff, great ppl will defo recommend this hostel

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

i was a great experience

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was excellent, but I think that they should to offer some local meal in their menu, that makes part of the culture.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, enthusiastic staff, very clean, good breakfast, cool vibe with the pool setting.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We were so impressed by this place after the first night, we decided to extend our stay there 3 more days,The kitchen is well equiped, facilities are clean, big swimming pool, the food is faire priced and cheap. Best option for me was the AC Dorm! Close to Tayrona and Minca for day trips! Totally recommend this place! HAVE FUN :)


97%

Awesome hostel! It seems like everyone who works here makes an effort to be extra helpful. Facilities generally very clean. The layout of the hostel (pool surrounded by a bar, some couches, pool table) is conducive to interacting with others. Only complaint (though completely not their fault), was that the bus service they use to Cartagena was supposed to arrive at 3:30 but arrived around 5:15.


97%

No negatives for the dreamer. Got recommended it by 4 different people along our travels and then stayed there and everything was amazing, the staff are super friendly and funny. Will be recommending the dreamer to anyone going to santa Marta.


100%

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, everything at The Dreamer was wonderful, but the absolute best thing was the staff. They were always friendly, helpful, and smiling, and they made our time at The Dreamer feel like visiting really great, fun friends.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a wonderful stay here and was really impressed by the staff. They had a great attitude and it made my day :)

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Everyone speaks English, staff and patrons. Don't expect an authentic Colombian experience though. If you're looking to drink and mingle with Canadians, Americans, British, Australians and Kiwis, this is the place to go. The rooms all face the small courtyard and the bar, so don't expect to get any sleep until the loud music is finally shut off. Location of hostel is in the middle of a residential area so you have to take cabs after dark.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your feedback. Your right, we speak English, Spanish, Italian, French and a little Russian. This is because we love helping people and speaking their languages helps. The music at the bar always stops at midnight. We find that a lot of people like the location because it is very close to the largest shopping center in town. People also comment on how easy it is to get from The Dreamer to: Palomino, Tayrona National Park, Minca and the Lost City Treck. Enjoy the rest of your trip ;)

100%

We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more at Dreamer... The staff were super friendly and couldn't do more to help you. There is a big shopping mall 5 minutes walk away which is ideal if you want to cook your own food and it's about the same distance to the bus stop where you can get the bus to Palamino or Parque Tyrona. There is a TV room with loads of films, a kitchen upstairs and restaurant and bar downstairs. We also took advantage of happy hour where they had yummy cocktails at 2 for 10,000!


97%

This place was excellent. The staff were so helpful, friendly and you could tell they genuinely enjoyed working there. Very easy to meet people here too.


89%

This place is absolutely wonderful! Front desk and bar staff are friendly, helpful and hospitable. Rooms and facilities are clean. The kitchen was a little dirty because guests didn't clean up after themselves. The location being on the outskirts was not an issue as I did not have any need to go into the heart of Santa Marta. The hostel is walking distance to bus stops to many cities and attractions, there is a large shopping center and grocery store across the street. I was sad to leave!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excllent hostel with great staff and opportunit to relax and meet people. Highly recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your nice review! It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you soon again. Enjoy the rest of your trip in Colombia! Esther The Dreamer Hostel Family

97%

Excellent hostel for using as a homebase while exploring all the areas around Santa Marta (Tayrona, Palomino, Minca, etc) because it's right on most of the buslines, very nicely priced and super chill. If you need to stop spending money for a while, volunteer at the bar. I did it for a month and had a blast. Stay there on a Friday night and ride the chiva party bus. Worth the money, and it keeps the noise OUT of the hostel.


89%

Brilliant staff. Great vibe. Couple of excellent communal areas. Very cllose to Quinta San Pedro Alejandrino and other areas (e.g. Minca and Tayrona NP).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review, is very good reading you enjoy our communal areas and our location close to the second museum most important in Colombia, Tayronal National Park and MInca Sierra Nevada Mountains.... Enjoy the rest of your trip in Colombia Esther The Dreamer Hostel Family

100%

fantastic hostel, did not want to leave

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for your comment, We didn't want you leave us either!! we enjoy your time with us a lot and we hope you come back to visit us soon. Thanks again and have a good rest of your trip! Esther The Dreamer Hostel Family

100%

Excellent in every way possible. Really enjoyed my stay here. Will be back!

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(126 results)


View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback