X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dreamer Hostel Reviews

CR 51, 26D-161 Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Diagonal 32, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
806 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The dreamerhostel is a bit far outside the city centre of Santa Marta, but easy to access by bus and taxi. It has a great swimming pool and kitchen! The atmossphere in the hostel is good and the breakfast delicious.


100%

Had a great time in this hostel!! Tayrona park was amazing! Thanks

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the great review, it’s wonderful to hear that you loved Tayrona park!! we are always delighted to hear back from happy customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit. Fulvio, manager, Dreamer hostel

100%

Had a great stay in this hostel, I was there the night that they made a party to celebrate the victory for best hostel in Colombia, they offered food and drinks to all. The hostel itself is one of the nicest I seen, looks like an oasis! great pool in the middle of the garden, lots of activities, recepcion staff very helpfull, Also is close to Tayrona park, the main reason to be in S.Marta. Hasta pronto Javi de Argentina!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola J. Gracias por tus bonitas palabras, cada vez es un placer recibirte por aquí y un honor que nos premies con tu comentario. Espero volverte a ver en 2 años por la boda de tu prima, Esther quiere tu invitacion!!! Saludos, Fulvio Manager, Dreamer hostel S.Marta

74%

The staff at the front desk deserves an excellent. But the poor performance at the bar (19year old who doesn't know a bit of bartending) forces me to rate with good...

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I can not stress enough how great this hostel is, we loved it so much we made it our base for exploring the surrounding area for three weeks. Staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for accessing places like Taganga, Tayrona, Palomino etc. Although always busy it never feels too much with space if you want to chill or people drinking if you want something livelier. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel as standards were so high.


89%

from the front desk to the kitchen staff to the cleaning ladies, the staff here were second to none. location was ideal for grocery shopping and had easy access to the local buses. atmosphere was always upbeat. the kitchen facilities were widely used and many joint international dinners occurred yet if you ordered from the hostel's own restaurant, nothing but excellent food was served. IF there was a complaint or concern, the matter was dealt with immediately. Great Hostel!!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I arrived late at night because I came with the bus from Cartagena. They take time for you, really feels nice. Didn’t eat yet but they just made a sandwich for me even though the kitchen was closed. The staff is lovely, bit over qualified ;). You can ask them anything and will always take the time for you. Hostel beds are nice. Nice to come back after the hike to the lost city and chill at the pool. Thanks for the nice stay!! Regards, Sander

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your visit to our hostel and for your incredible review. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful experience with our staff and that you loved our pool and other facilities, thanks for sharing it! We look forward to welcome you back at The Dreamer soon! Fulvio, Manager, Dreamer Hostel

97%

Hostel has a great vibe. There are lots of common areas to meet people and a full kitchen to use. Hostel is located outside of the city, which actually makes it easier to get to. You can catch buses to Tayrona just two blocks from the hostel which is super convenient. There is a mall walking distance from the hostel also with a grocery store and ATMs. Overall great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at Dreamer Hostel and for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read your comments and to find that you enjoyed our location close to the most important natural attractions as well as supermakets and stores. Hope to see you in the next future Fulvio, Manager, Dreamer hostel

97%

We absolutely LOVED this hostel and ended up extending our stay twice! Diego at reception is fantastic! Really helpful and happy guy! The pool and bar area is awesome and we met so many new friends. Great kitchen and BBQ facilities too. Would highly recommend staying here.


94%

Such an amazing place to be when you visit Santa Marta! Awesome stuff, excellent balance between party and relax, very good advises about what to do and how to go to everywhere. Very clean!! awesome pool! Big kitchen but only one stove and no oven :S I will definitely recommend this hostel to everyone... Just to add, Colombia is outstanding!! nature, landscapes, culture, party... whatever you want is there!!


97%

We had a great time at the dreamer, we actually made a mistake and booked the wrong dates and they were very helpful in finding us another hostel for the night until there was availability the next day. The staff were lovely always and the kitchen had everything and was very clean. Rooms were always clean and the pool are was great. Staff knew everyone on a first name basis which made you feel special! Definitely recommended.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Drinks in the bar were very unfull all the time. The location of the hostel is not very convenient, you'll always need a taxi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate your feedback. The drinks size is standard, they are also very cheap, from 2 dollars for a cocktail!! As the beauty of S.Marta are the surroundings areas, doesn't matter wherever you stay in the city, you'll need a cab to go around and visit the best areas (beaches and Sierra Nevada! - we are the closest to Tayrona too) Thank you very much again for staying with us! Fulvio, Manager Dreamer Hostel

100%

Staying at The Dreamer has been an experiance like no other hostel. They run a very organized and cleanly operation that includes a great resturant and bar! As well, the staff are extremely helpful, especially when it comes to reccomending tours and booking your next hostel. In the area they have some awesome tours including the ´Lost City hike, Minca. Friday nights the hostel organizes a Chiva bus that is essentially a huge party on a bus! Great time here. Would highly recommend it.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your stay at Dreamer Hostel as well as leaving such a wonderful review about your experience, in particular we are happy you enjoyed our Chiva on Friday night!! We are very excited to read your comments and are happy to know that you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel soon! Ciao, Fulvio Manager Dreamer Hostel

97%

I love this hostel, it is definitely one of the best I have stayed at, the rooms are clean and the bed linen is changed every day, the pool is beautiful, the staff are super friendly, really helpful and work so hard to make sure that you have the best time. The boys who work behind the bar, Ben and Will, are awesome, they create such a great atmosphere every night and make sure that everyone feels included.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is a really nice place to chill out for a few days, with a friendly atmosphere, great staff and good food. The pool and bar are always clean, and I totally recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest , We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Dreamer! it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We also appreciate your comments regarding the athmosphere, our cuisine and our magnificent staff. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Fulvio, Manager The Dreamer hostel

74%

Good base for going to tayona but note it's not in Santa Marta. It has a nice kitchen and restaurant but I thought it was quite overpriced for a hostel not in the center. Room was clean and comfortable though. Don't stay if looking for a Colombian experience. The bar staff can't even speak Spanish and the receptionists will unlikely engage in any castellano conversations and when we were there the American Super Bowl was on TV haha.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveller, We would like to thank you sincerely for your comment concerning the quality of the guest kitchen,restaurant,rooms and we are happy you enjoyed our proximity to Tayrona. Regarding the comment of our staff wich doesnt speak spanish we would like to inform that almost all workers are Colombians and love to speak spanish if people speaks it,also the Superball is one of the major sports events in the world and is normal to be on Tv in a hostel bar. Have a nice trip, Ciao, Fulvio

89%

Very clean except kitchen. Close to mall for grocery, water, fast food, movie, juan valdez. Easy to get to Tayrona. Walking distance to Quinta de San Pedro Alejandrino. Good breakfast. Good atmosphere. Quiet after midnite. No wifi in room. Got to cartagena using hostal to hostal service which is fantastic.


97%

Very much a party hostel. The place was beautiful and the place was nice and laid back. Two issues worth noting. First, the music was loud and didn't stop until midnight. I wanted to sleep earlier than that and could still hear to thud of the bass while wearing earplugs, so I couldn't sleep until the music stopped. Second, I ended up getting food poisoning and my preceding meals had been at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveller, Thanks for your review, we are happy you enjoyed our place! We do not consider ourself a party place but of course as a hostel we provide entertainment untill midnight, playing games and listening music, after midnight the bar close and a good sleep is guarantee. we work hard to allow people to meet other travellers and make new frieds. About the food problem, as you only spent one afternoon and night here, please consider as a cause something bought outside, Come back soon!

77%

Food not covered and flies all over food at breakfast time. Pretty off putting but everyone seemed to eat it regardless.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for your comment. Our breakfast is one of the highligths of the hostel, served as a buffet in the garden next to the pool. Is possible that sometimes flies can be around although we have not noticed significant amounts, however we will take your comments in consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Fulvio, Manager Dreamer Hostel team

100%

Dreamers was excellent! A good base for exploring the area, including Park Tyrona and Minca. The Atmosphere is great, it's really easy to make friends and the staff organise fun activities each day. The staff are so friendly and really helpful with a wealth of knowledge on what there is to do. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed are stay here and would hinny, recommend it! Thanks to all the staff who made our experience really fun. Digo is a legend, as were Ben and Koran!

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(67 results)


View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback