Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 999 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 999 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Stayed there for 3 nights and I can say by far it's one of the best hostels I've been to! The staff is amazing, the bar never disappoints and it's right next to the beach. I highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.1

Awesome staff! Some rooms are a bit cramped. Our air conditioning didn't work well at night so it was a bit hot!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
9.7

A very good hostel ! A little bit far of the old town (20 minute of the entry by walk) but you can walk along the sea so it's nice. Very good atmosphere and a lot of activities every night which is really cool for meet people (BBQ, Bear pong...). All of the staff is really welcoming and give us a good help for our trip ! For sure a good booking !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Friendly staff, close to bus station but not really to old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
8.0

The Drunken Monkey is a little far outside Zadar (25min walk) but has its own bar to hang out with other hostelers and very close walk to the beach. A few of the hosts were very friendly offering things to do and recommendations for places to eat, though some of the others were friendly enough but didn't want to chat. On Saturday they had a BBQ at the neighboring Lazy Monkey hostel, which was really good food (and also with a bar).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Gcassandro
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.1

The Drunken Monkey is a great hostel with a good atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and they are always available for any questions you have. The bar is great fun and open till late, there is also a lovely terrace and a garden with a pool. The beach is 5 mins away and the water is beautiful. The kitchen is slightly small and sometimes you find yourself waiting to use the shower. Overall a great stay and would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

I liked the atmosphere at their sister hostel, the lazy monkey, way better, but they're so close it doesn't really matter which one you stay at. Really awesome people who work and stay there make this hostel amazing. Was supposed to be there two days and stayed four. Will certainly return again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

The stay was fantastic. Very nice and helpful staff, the bar was very nice at night with all the guests partying and great atmosphere. It is around a 20min walk to the old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Just love this hostel!! The perfect atmosphere to meet other travellers, have a drink and chill out. The thematic nights organized by Drunken and Lazy Monkey are great for that. Not close to the center, but really close to the bus station and the beach (for us it was even more important). Also super friendly staffs, volunteers and the owner. I highy recommend it! =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
6.6

I encountered a problem with this hostel. I was not informed that reception hours were limited so the following morning i could not check out and get my key deposit back (50 kunas). One of the employees was sleeping in a dorm so I asked her for help and she didnt care, she told me i have to miss my bus and wait until reception opens, how rude! Also, There was no atmosphere when i was there. Overall it's an OK hostel for one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.