Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
The Drunken Monkey Hostel Located at Jure Kastriotica Skenderbega 21, Zadar, Zadar.
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
Croatia
Zadar 23000 Jure Kastriotica Skenderbega 21, Zadar
90% 849
44.1018553 15.2424681
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Easily, one of the best hostels worldwide, so much fun! The staff are great. Hands down the place to stay in Zadar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.6

Great hostel, I'd recommend if you're keen to mingle. If you'd rather keep yourself to yourself and be quiet in the evening I'd stay elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.6

Fun hostel, lots of American/Australians. Location is fine, just 10-15min walking to Zadar centrum. Friendly staff. Kitchen small, but was working.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leighmartin2491
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

When we stayed here it was the people who really made it as the staff were quite moody in the bar area at night times. The location was great as its only a 15 min walk to town but was nice to be close to the beach. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marobinson91
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Aug 2016
9.4

BBQ in the back garden was a welcome site after 6 weeks away! Being away from the old town was great. It was a bit quieter location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
9.7

This place was sweet! Off the beaten trail for sure (they'll remind you of this about 100 times) but definitely worth staying at. We could only book one night so didn't hang out in the hostel too much but the vibe was great. Plenty of common space including a small pool and rooftop area (separate). The place was well kept. Definitely a younger party type crowd but didn't diminish the experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

The hostel has the most spacious and cleanest toilet I've ever seen and the kitchen is well-equipped. The room is clean and the AC works well. The outside terrace & the swimming pool are nice places to chill and hang out with other travellers. 20 mins to the centre, but the walk along the sea is a pleasant one. The hostel also offers pickup service at regular times so distance shouldn't be a problem. It's close to lesser-known beaches and the port if you want to explore some other islands too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
7.1

This is not a party hostel. The name is really misleading, it is a nice hostel with a nice pool and the fact that it is out of the old town does not matter. But even on a Saturday night everyone is made to leave the hostel by 12/1am. The staff don't help organise any activities or fun communal things. The hostel around the corner the lazy monkey seemed a lot busier however there was still a noise cut off at 10.30pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi we are sorry you didn't enjoy our hostel and we have written all over the website and Hostelworld page we are not a party hostel. You only have to do some research to see this. Imagine if we were called Hostel Vampire, what would you expect?? Our atmosphere we believe is fantastic and almost all other reviews show this. We can only try and do our best. As owners we are always around and our staff always tend to take guests out in to town or hang out down the beach after hours. I am also from the UK like yourself and most pubs and bars shut at 11pm so I think 1am is pretty reasonable for a hostel. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and will make sure our content is written correctly for everyone to understand we are not a party hostel. Thanks for your review.

28th Jul 2016
9.7

Great vibes here. Not in the old town but really close to the beach. Depends what you want from your holiday, relax or sight see. Hostel has a bar, mini pool, and free shuttle service to the old town. Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Nicest staff and great people. Great ac

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.