X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Drunken Monkey Hostel Reviews

Jure Kastriotica Skenderbega 21, Zadar, Zadar, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
516 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Wicked hostel! Staff are really friendly and helpful especially Snowy! Great smoothies and a chilled pool out the back. Will definitely be returning. Helen x

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great environment, staff was helpful and cool facilities


100%

This place was so much fun. We only had one night in Zadar but staying here made me wish we could stay longer. The place has a great communal feel... very easy to make friends. The walk into the city isn't bad at all. The nearby Tequila Sunrise is a great spot to eat, drink, and waste an afternoon away... but you could just as easily spend tons of time hanging out at the hostel.


94%

Great place to stay. The hostel includes a bar, pool, computer access, and is very well taken care of. The service is excellent. It is a 15-20 minute walk outside of the city, but it is a beautiful walk along the coast. I highly recommend anyone staying in Zadar to stay here.


89%

One of the best hostels we have ever stayed at> Thank you for making us feel so at home =

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

At first the name scared me! I expected a bunch of uni students getting drunk & musty rooms, but drunken monkey was far from a college frat house. The staff is cool and down to earth. They truly want their guest to have a good time. Also they make great smoothies!!! The hostel has everything you need; kitchen, clean bathrooms, common area, BAR and a lounge room. The atmosphere was awesome, everyone just wants to have a good time!


100%

great welcoming staff, perfect location to swim everyday, very nice backyard, comfortable beds!


97%

I missed my bus from Plitvice to Zadar and was not able to make it for the first night of my booking. The staff did not charge me for the night I missed, so I was very thankful. Very friendly and helpful, I would recommend staying at the Drunken Monkey hostel to anyone!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic Hostel! incredibly welcoming atmosphere, great bunch of people and just an all round great place to stay! The pool area out back is great to relax in and have a few beers in the evening before heading into the hostel bar. Lots of recommendations were dished out for food and clubs etc. Holly the bar girl is especially lovely, thanks for the Bruchetta recommendation the Sea Bass was bloody awesome!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We had a lovely time in this hostel!! Our first hostel in Croatia, they were very friendly helpful and welcomed us to Croatia really well. The dorms were very clean and showers were good just could have done with a few more. Location was good despite not being in the old town but a nice walk along the coast. The hostel was close to the beach. Would definetely recommend

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is so nice and so much fun. Great atmosphere and bar area. Nice location close to the beach and not far from the center. Very convenient from the bus station. Beds could be more comfortable, but loved the rest of the place.


100%

Super cool hostel with a vibe to match no other! Very clean facilities, comfy beds, and a little kitchen area to make your own food. Ideal for the backpacker on a budget it is incredible value for money with a pool and a sun terrace and staff that go above and beyond to meet your needs and make sure you get the best of your time in Zadar. About 15 minute walk to old town along the beach and near some of the best swimming spots. Awesome common area to meet and drink with new friends at the bar!!!


100%

Staying in a hostel was excellent. The staff is incredibly friendly and available for any information and organization what ever you like in Zadar. Location is excellent, close to the beach in quiet part of town, and close to the city center, 20 minutes away on foot. The atmosphere in the hostel is very friendly!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nothing to fault, great staff that were very patient and friendly, and a good laugh. good layout for hostel with terrace, bar and swimming pool, also great location round the corner of bus station and short walk to town centre. i was there with a group briefly for one night, they showed us the best places to go out. would recommend to anyone going to zadar. BIG UP SNOWY

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, really clean and the aircon was a godsend since it was so hot. Absolutely loved the backyard pool.


94%

Very nice hostel to stay in. It is a bit out of town, but this is made very clear on the hostel site when booking, so no complaints in this regard. The hostel has good facilities, including a nice bar, as well as a pool and garden out the back. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were great. Some good smoothies are available at the bar in the mornings.


94%

A really nice place! Knowing it isn't in the old city, it is still really near the waterfront and the walk to get to the old city is really enjoyable. Plenty of bathrooms, but the kitchen is a bit small. Lot of cool places to chill (backyard, sun terasse, bar..)! Most of the staff was really nice and welcoming, but some (exceptions) were not that friendly (maybe it was just a rough week for them?). Also, some of our questions (like how to get to Plitvice Lakes) weren't answered honestly.


97%

Location is cool - it's located in a nice part of town. The walk to the old city is beautiful. Hostel folks are spot on - friendly, relaxed and helpful. Atmosphere is quality and there are lots of places to relax - the rooftop terrace, beautiful garden and bar. Breakfast is good - pancakes and fruit smoothies. I met some really decent at bar and had a really great time. Beach is really close by. Closest cash machine is at bus station.


100%

Probably the best hostel I've ever visited. Super laid back atmosphere, kept extremely clean, and the owners stop by frequently to hang out with guests. The hostel is located five minutes form some of the most surreal sunsets I've ever had the pleasure of seeing. I will definitely be going back to The Drunken Monkey next trip to Zadar! Thanks again for an awesome stay to all the AMAZING staff (who really set the stay apart!) :) Kind regards from the Canadian with a hammock ;) See you again soon!


97%

The Drunken Monkey is by far the best hostel I have stayed in throughout my time in Europe. Take at least one of their tours to one of Zadar's national parks because they are a much better deal than anything else offered! The staff not only goes out of their way for all customers but add to the warm, fun atmosphere. The bathrooms were nicer than mine at my own apartment. Thank you Drunken Monkey for making Zadar my absolute favorite trip!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Zadar Hostels

Please give us your feedback