X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dublin Central Hostel Reviews

5 Blessington Street, Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
324 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We were warmly welcomed by Ian who was very friendly and informative as were all the staff we met. Stayed 5 nights in a good location quiet and secure. Good kitchen facilities & the breakfast provided had a wide range of cereals and condiments. Free Wifi was a bonus and a comfortable lounge area with a range of books and DVDs to watch. Only minor negative was a bad smell outside our room which the hostel was attempting to deal with using an automatic air freshener.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved it!

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

No lockers. Really nice and helpful receptionist, clean and quiet room. 1 bathroom per dorm so can get queues. Convenient for airport and O'Connell Street


100%

Highly recommend!Clean,cosy,well located,staff helpfull,washing and drying service at reasonable price of 5 e,unlike in some othet hostel..Internet connection in all areas.Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, wow many thanks for the great rating. Best Regards, Ian

57%

Beds squeak very loud, more than usual. Windows have no noise insulation, so it's very loud with the main street in front of the dorm. Bathroom with mildew at the ceiling and bad looking shower. Variety of kitchen facilities was a little bit low and looked very used; also the opportunity to wash up. No free coffee, like in other hostels in Ireland. Staff was friendly and helpful. Chill out area was quit nice. Good Wi-Fi connection the dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your review. We will look what we can do with squeaky beds. Best Regards, Ian

100%

Highly recommend.It s not a party hostel,but a nice,comfy,tidy,clean,relaxing place to stay.


83%

Friendly, helpful staff, great tv room, excellent security. Quite, cosy hostel. En-suite ceiling needs a lick of paint and wardrobe hidge was broken.Quite, Kitchen was closed when I arrived at 9:30pm, I would have loved a coffee.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Raymond, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Ian

86%

As Dublin is not too big and easy to explore walking, the northern location was really not a problem! Very friendly Staff, we could store our luggage for more than 12 hours even after checking out (Flight back home was at night...) Bathroom was hostel-clean and surprisingly there was soap! (great PLUS as we forgot ours), kitchen was good, Thanks for breakfast (even with missing orange juice on 2 days of our stay - maybe there's only juice on weekends?) & free Tea! (3 Girls, age 20, 4bed-private)

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We booked a room for two people and got a room at the backend of the hotel except the room was absolutly ok (small, but with a own bathroom which was clean, less funiture but in good shape) it felt like going into the basement. The common roomes were really nice with big screen TV, lots of dvds to watch, sofas and table football/soccer. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The little breakfast was quite ok not much but definately great for the price you pay. I would stay there again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mathias, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope to see you again. Best Regards, Ian

89%

This hostel made me feel very at home each time I returned from a day out. Aside from the fact that it is in need of a little updating in some areas, it was very clean and comfortable and not a far walk into the city center. However it is a little off of the beaten path and had I been Travelling alone I would have picked a hostel more centrally located to return to on my own at night.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alexandra, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Ian

80%

Nice hostel, the location is quite good and easy to find since it's on Dublin's biggest street, still a bit far though if you are tired or carrying big luggage. We slept in a dorm and everything was fine, except the beds themselves which could make an organ jealous from the range of sounds they make. The kitchen is great, well-equipped and spacious. The TV room and Living room are great, really movies also available. Globally great hostel, not too partying style though.


71%

This hostel are one of the less good due to the fact that is a bigger hostel. Nobody wants to know nobody, it is less familial and warm. The ambiance is more cold and you just cook for you. The staff is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alain, sad to hear that you felt alone at the hostel. We always have guests in the public area enjoying their time with us. Best Regards, Ian

89%

A nice hostel. People should be aware that "continental breakfast" has a certain meaning when you are on an island which is famous for its' breakfast. But there are a lot of grocery stores nearby and the kitchen is well-equipped so it is no problem at all! The rooms are clean, big enough and the service is excellent. The staff is more the friendly. Guests don't always respect the 10 pm curfew for noises, but that is, as well, to be expected in a hostel. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff, very friendly and extremely helpful! The hostel's location is very good, as it is a stonethrow away from the city centre. The only thing which could be improved is the wifi connection as it was not very strong, particularly inside the room. The rest was grand!

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lucia, many thanks for your review. We will looking into the WiFi issue. Best Regards, Ian

83%

The Dublin Central Hostel was a great stay. I liked the location, especially for catching buses. The rooms were kept clean. Additionally, there was WiFi available and it always worked when I was in the room. The breakfast was good as well. I would say the only thing that was a little disconcerting was there were no lockers in the room itself (I think the staff said they were doing some renovation), but there were lockers near the kitchen but it was kind of inconvenient. Overall good!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly, clean and comfortable hostel. Great flat screen lcd tv and leathers sofa to relax on.


91%

Our stay at The Dublin Central Hostel was really good. It isn't as central as the name might suggest, but everything is within walking distance and the public transport system is really closeby. The staff in the hostel was really nice and helpful and our rooms were clean and really nice too. Still from time to time it was quite noisy in the room, as you could hear the people in the rooms above or closeby. But for the price we paid the hostel was really good!!


94%

The hostel was absolutely lovely, it really made our visit great!

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really liked it there. It´s the kind of small hostel where you can feel really homy. Will go there again next time in Dublin.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Quite, friendly Hostel. Warm and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. See you soon, Ian

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback