X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Dublin Central Hostel Reviews

5 Blessington Street, Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
573 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Warm, clean and comfortable. Very cheap

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

THe central Hostel is very easy to reach from the airport , although is not very central located , good value for money. Our room was a double private room , was ok , very basic and a bit noisy because outside our room there was the washing room. They could improve the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the towels.


100%

Truly an exceptional hostel! We were able to check in early by a guy at the front desk who immediately sent us to a free sightseeing tour, told us the best place to eat, and bent over backwards to help us in any way he could. The hostel was clean, and our room was quite large. The kitchen was well stocked (and clean!), and the common areas were comfy. Free internet (fast!). All of this within about a 5-10 minute walk to the Spire. Truly a fantastic hostel.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a good time, clean and pleasant staff and guests too. Would return again.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

We were really satisfied with this accomodation. The staff was always very friendly and helfpful. The city centre was in walking distance. The standards (cleanliness, breakfast, rooms, facilities, ...) equates other hostels. We would really recommend this hostel for a short trip to Dublin.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, Ian

94%

Only here for one night, very cheap , nice breakfast and very friendly staff. A pitty that we didn't see much guests... :). I definetly recommend this place as a good accomodation!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your review. Most of our guests are out all day and explore Dublin. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

It was a very good stay. The hostel was quite and it is perfect both for short and long stays. Everybody is very kind and welcoming and it is possible to feel like home. I would strongly reccomend it!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your kind review. Best Regards, Ian

89%

Good hostel, rooms are clean and the staff is really friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend it to everyone

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura, many thanks for the great review. Kind Regards, Ian

80%

A cosy and clean hostel where the dorm rooms are spacious and staff are friendly. A word of advice, if you are a light sleeper may be worthwhile requesting a room that doesn't face the main road. If you like to be left to your own devices then I would definitely recommend this place. A 15 min walk and you are in the city centre. Frederick Street is the closest bus stop for bus 16 from the airport,2 mins from the hostel. Only thing which would have helped was if each bed had a small reading light

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your great review. Kind Regards, Ian

100%

Cosy wee hostel, wonderful chilled out staff. We enjoyed our stay a plenty! Thank you for having us and we hope to see you again! Much Love

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kayla , many thanks for the lovely review. Kind Regards, Ian

97%

Great location. Hostel was clean and the facilities good. Fast Internet and free breakfast made it very good. Staff were knowledgeable about the area and there was a big display of various day trips and discounts available. Would definitely stay again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you very much for your great review. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

Too bad we couldn't stay longer :(

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
many thanks for your review. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

I stay in dublin central hostel for one night in a double room with my boyfriend, it has a great atmosphere, in the common areas, the room has private bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The guys of the staff was really nice and all was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

This was a nice place, very friendly environment. It's run by a family, and is clean and also reasonably close to downtown-about a ten minute walk. Also they had a free continental breakfast which was a huge plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your review. Kind Regards, Ian

89%

Perfect location so we could walk pretty much anywhere and the staff was amazing. We didn't like the fact that they didn't have any lockers in the rooms. Nothing happened but it'd be good if they added them. Mirrors closer to the sockets would be good, since in the UK for some reason they do not have any sockets in the bathrooms, so drying your hair can be complicated. And in a shared room is not a good idea to dry your long hair for 10 minutes while others sleep. We totally recommend them!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi we have no sockets in the bathroom out of safety reasons. Anyhow, you blow dried your hair in the common area. Kind Regards, Ian

91%

This hostel is less than a 5 minute walk from O'Connoll Streer!! They have free wii fi. A lovely little common room. We booked a 4 bedded dorm on a bank holiday Sunday night and was only 18e each which was great! Bout 8-10e for taxi from there up to temple bar which is good!! Breakfast included some cereal n toast n tea!! Definitely will be coming back 😀

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi many hanks for your great review. Glad to hear that you guys will be back. Kind Regards, Ian

77%

The hostel was nice. The main issue is that there is no car park in the street or just beside the hostel. We were obliged to find a place in a street 5-10 minutes walk from the hostel, which was not handy with the luggage and a young child. The hostel is after Parnell Square, so, it's not so close from the South part of the city. And the neighbourhood of Parnell is quite poor with kids/teenagers hanging around at night doing stupid things (like burning bins...). We saw the dark side of Dublin.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are located on the north side. There is no free parking in Dublin City. Normally the guests check in and leave the luggage here and we will show them the way to the nearest public parking. You have those "strangers" in all major cities, as well as on the south side of Dublin. Our hostel is safe and secure, so no "strangers" around here. :-) Kind Regards, Ian

89%

I am Irish and usually have a place to stay in Dublin but this time I was not meeting up with my usual friends so needed a place to crash. I found the place really good. Loads of tourists. I got a free light breakfast and I could have bought coffee for a euro but I was not bothered. I'd recommend it. The doors were lockable and quite secure. They had a main reception with its own door also.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks a lot for your review. Kind Regards, Ian

100%

No complaints at all. Everything ran as well or better than expected. Would definitely recommend.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi many ranks for your great review. We work hard to keep up that high standard. Kind Regards, Ian

60%

The linnens were dirty (with the hairs under the blanket). This fact prevail over other "normal" hostel services.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we wash and dry the bed linen and towels after each guest. You will also find hair in a 5 star hotel. I am glad to hear that "the hair" was your only negative thing to say about our hostel. Kind Regards, Ian

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback