X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dublin Central Hostel Reviews

5 Blessington Street, Dublin, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
433 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great hostel, nice staff, very helpful, and great value!

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Iam

91%

Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stacey, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Ian

60%

Not far from O'Connell street, but pretty far if you plan on walking to most of the tourist spots. TV signal in the common room goes out every time a bus drives by, which is every 2-3 minutes. Cash only payment was inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kaytlun, many thanks for your review, Best Regards, Ian

91%

Really need a shelf in the shower and the blinds were broken. But loved the room overall. Best hostel we stayed in during our Europe trip.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi many thanks for your review. Sorry for the blinds, they will be replaced soon. :-) Best Regards, Ian

94%

The place is super clean and quiet! Great for a restful night of sleep. The staff is really friendly and the facilities are nice. Would stay here again.


77%

The hostel was very nice. This is on the opposite side of town from Trinity College, St. Stephens, etc. That would be my only recommendation when considering this location. Make sure you know where you are staying. This side of town is a little rougher, but the accommodations better than those we stayed in on the other side of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katie, many thanks for your review. We are a "proud north side" hostel, we do have Step hen's Green, but the Phoenix Park . No Trinity College, but the Braden of Remembrance and the GPO. No Temple Bar, bit true Dublin pubs. :-) Best Regards, Ian

89%

We stayed with my boyfriend one night and we liked the room but not the mattress... It must be renewed because it hurts on your back. The breakfast was ok and the hostel has all you need ( kitchen, terrace, and well located).


83%

The girl at reception was very nice and helpful. Laundry is available, which was nice. The wifi worked well and overall had a nice experience here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Er in, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Ian

89%

Very good hostel for a decent price. Staff was very nice and helpful about all the things I needed :) I give a thumbs up about the shower/toilet in our room. Very good thing. Thicker door or double door in the room would be nice because we heard all the sounds at the lobby in the middle of the night.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Regards, Ian

97%

A great place to stay in Dublin. A little way out of town but easy to walk into the centre. Safe, clean and secure. I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kathryn , many thanks for your nice review. Best Regards, Ian

91%

I can only comment on the private room with ensuite bathroom, which was quite nice, clean, and included a mini-kitchen/refrigerator as an added bonus. Definitely a good value. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your great review. Best Regards, Ian

91%

My friend and I had a great time at this hostel! The location was a little far from the city's nightlife but not unreasonable and in the end, the distance was actually beneficial because less foot traffic outside made it easier to sleep. The breakfast in the morning was limited but the perfect start for the day and the staff at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful! I'd definitely stay here again :)

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Carolyn many thanks for your great review. We hope to welcome you vack. Best Regards, Ian

89%

Our room was spacious and modern. We enjoyed our stay very much. Unfortunately the wireless did not work very well. We were a bit surprised about the cost for coffee for breakfast. But it was no big problem for us, since we are uncomplicated.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Coriine, many thanks for your review. The WIFI works perfectly fine in the public areas. We charge 1 euro for a good coffee. :-) Best Regards, Ian

74%

Friendly staff. Walking distance from everything. clean and comfortable. Unrespectful people where very noisy at night but that’s not the hostel’s fault. Free wifi everywhere. Free bed sheets and towels. Comfortable mattress Free breakfast is served in the morning including bread and jam, 1€ for hot drink unless you bring your own Private room is small but clean and with a key

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for your review. Best Regards, Ian

100%

Great for large groups.! Just a walk to everything you will need. Would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sophie, many thanks for your high rating, Best Regards, Ian

97%

One of the best hostels we stayed during our month long trip. It's sooo close to downtown and temple bar is just a short walk away.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Julia, many thanks for the great review. Best Regards, Ian

100%

This place was great and if I was ever in Dublin again I would definitely stay here! Location is perfect, only a 5/10 minute walk to the center of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachel, that's great to hear. Thanks for your support. Best Regards, IAn

91%

This is a really great deal near the city centre, nice and clean place. The staff is pro and very helpful.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi many thanks for your review. It was great to have you here, hope everything will work out well for you. Best Regards,

97%

This hostel is a short five minute walk from the city center. It is mellow and friendly. Ian is extremely knowledgable about Dublin and Ireland; he can help you plan what to visit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mirabel , many thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you here. Best Regards, Ian

54%

Breakfast was included, but You have to prepare by yourself. Coffe was need to pay! I didnt like.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your feedback. Best Regards, Ian

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback