Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dublin Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
The Dublin Central Hostel Located at 5 Blessington Street, Dublin, , Dublin.
The Dublin Central Hostel
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Dublin 7 5 Blessington Street, Dublin
79% 1379
53.3563851 -6.2662625
The Dublin Central Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
6.6

Staying at Dublin Central Hostel (*private room*) was good in the end, but I think that so much could be improved. For how much we paid, it was overrated. The bed was okay, room a bit small (I would recommend maximum 2 nights stay for this hostel), the wardrobe definitely not okay, it was like a very small walk-in closet, with dirty carpets and no lighting. You had to wait a lot for hot water to come out from the shower.. Good thing, the free breakfast in the kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
9.7

Thank you! We had a great time in Dublin!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.9

We stayed in a private room which was all we really need. The rooms and hostel aren't luxury but if you're considering hanging around in your room when you could be exploring Dublin you're mad. The facilities looked good although we didn't use them. The hostel is in a good location, can walk from the centre or just a quick bus journey for €2. The staff were good and were happy to give recommendations and store luggage. Only issue is wifi didn't work on the top floor where we were staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
6.9

Good location but expensive for what you get. Rooms are not great, very loud as they are close to the streets. Free breakfast is toast and tea. Not ideal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2016
6.6

The reviews saying hair on the bed sheets, dusty lamps etc are true. That was a little unsettling. Also wifi only on the main floor. Overall the Hostel is quiet, decent walking distance to the main areas. Within 30 mins of getting in to our room we were asked to leave because there was a water leak coming from our room. 15 mins later we were given a new room however this was the room that the water was leaking into - so there was a hole in our ceiling for the rest of our 3 night stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
7.4

The toilets are equipped with some kind of flow restrictor and would take ~15 minutes to refill before the next person could use it. We seriously used the garbage can to fill the tank up faster. Room was fairly clean but there was some mildew in the shower, and a small spot on the sheets. The main light in our room had a red paper shade that made the entire room red when turned on. not a total deal breaker but just a huge pain when trying to get ready.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
5.7

Heaters were not able to be turned down, we asked staff if they could be turned off. They stated they would but nothing happened, the room was far to hot and if we opened the windows the was a smoking area outside and made the room stink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.6

Quite central. Not all that modern; bathroom in mixed dorm is very dated and could do with a 'spare' bathroom. Nice that they provide free breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
4.0

The worst ever hostel I have stayed. Female dorm facing the street and super noisy with people screaming in the middle of night. Hardly had good sleep for 3 nights after long day out. Toilet in female dorm is difficult to flush with limited water. Made my life so miserable :(

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • esemkvar6156
  • Romania, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Sep 2016
6.6

Although the hostel was very well situated and clean our room was extremely hot, the heating was working full power so the room and the bathroom windows needed to stay ajar all night so there was terrible noise. Some neighbors created the noise but also the guests were behaving very impolitely, talking and laughing very loud late at night or very early in the morning. Also there was a very loud machinery going on and off constantly which was very bothersome and made the night rest uncomfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.