Hostelworld.com

The Dublin Central Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

We stayed for three nights in a four-bed private room with bathroom, very comfortable and clean. The shared kitchen and toilet in the basement were always clean, and the stuff took care of washing all the plates and mugs in the dishwasher, so the guests didn't have to worry about it. Included in the price is also the breakfast. The people at the reception were always very helpful, and the location of the hostel very convenient, a 10 minute walk from O'Connel street. Highly recommendable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
6.0

We booked an ensuite room and the shower was out of service. The staff did nothing, just one of the receptionists offered us to use another room for having shower, and it was rather uncomfortable because out room was on the ground floor and the other one on the 4th. The manager did absolutely nothing about it. No apologies, no refund the money (we payed for a service that we did not get).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.9

Staff and location was great! 5 min walk from the center so it was perfect. Would recommend to a friend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Great place for on a budget we stayed in a private room for just the two of us. Shower was powerful and the water was nice and hot. Takes 15 minutes to walk into the nice bars and shopping areas. Everyone was very helpful we would recommend a day trip to Howth, lovely little fishing town and great sea food. The only thing I think needs changing is the iron and ironing board in the hostel. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

The place is well located and is very nice. The rooms are large and have an ensuite bathroom. I was in an all female 8 person room and just having one bathroom was slightly inconvienent however the quality of the bathroom was great. Breakfast was provided and was good and there are a couple cafes located near. Towels were also available on request free of charge. Overall, a very nice place and would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
6.6

Staying at Dublin Central Hostel (*private room*) was good in the end, but I think that so much could be improved. For how much we paid, it was overrated. The bed was okay, room a bit small (I would recommend maximum 2 nights stay for this hostel), the wardrobe definitely not okay, it was like a very small walk-in closet, with dirty carpets and no lighting. You had to wait a lot for hot water to come out from the shower.. Good thing, the free breakfast in the kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
9.7

Thank you! We had a great time in Dublin!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.9

We stayed in a private room which was all we really need. The rooms and hostel aren't luxury but if you're considering hanging around in your room when you could be exploring Dublin you're mad. The facilities looked good although we didn't use them. The hostel is in a good location, can walk from the centre or just a quick bus journey for €2. The staff were good and were happy to give recommendations and store luggage. Only issue is wifi didn't work on the top floor where we were staying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
6.9

Good location but expensive for what you get. Rooms are not great, very loud as they are close to the streets. Free breakfast is toast and tea. Not ideal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2016
6.6

The reviews saying hair on the bed sheets, dusty lamps etc are true. That was a little unsettling. Also wifi only on the main floor. Overall the Hostel is quiet, decent walking distance to the main areas. Within 30 mins of getting in to our room we were asked to leave because there was a water leak coming from our room. 15 mins later we were given a new room however this was the room that the water was leaking into - so there was a hole in our ceiling for the rest of our 3 night stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.