Hostelworld.com

The Dublin Central Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
The Dublin Central Hostel Located at 5 Blessington Street, Dublin, , Dublin.
The Dublin Central Hostel
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Dublin 7 5 Blessington Street, Dublin
84% 1171
53.3563851 -6.2662625
The Dublin Central Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Clean and friendly atmosphere and central to main locations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
9.4

Very friendly hostel in a great location. We got towels for free, the room was comfy, but there were no lockers in the room. However we were all satisfied.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
7.7

This hostel was pretty great. Good location, nice people, comfortable rooms. The only real problem I ran across was the silverware in the kitchen... We weren't allowed to wash it ourselves or use the dishwasher. Not sure why. But it wouldn't have been a problem if there had been enough silverware and if it hadn't looked completely gross, rusty and with old food on it. Otherwise I would say it was a pretty great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
4.9

This hostel's high rating must be based on the private rooms. We stayed in the female dorm. THE GOOD: -friendly staff -long beds THE BAD: -the sheets were old and yellowed. they didn't feel clean, and were covered in hair/hairballs -our ensuite toilet did not work and became clogged. it wasn't fixed until the next evening, and they only other toilet was 3 floors down -the breakfast dishes were dirty, and the provided cutlerly looked as if it hadn't been cleaned at all -poor location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.9

Overall we had a great time at the dublin central hostel. Its in a very good location, and you can do your own walking tour from the hostel, they have everything you need to get going. Private bathrooms for every dorm room is a great feature too and they have Good cooking facilities also. Great price for what you get

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.6

My boyfriend and I stayed as a couple in a double private room. The location was amazing, it felt like you were living in your own apartment in the middle of the city. Short 10 minute walk to the canal where all the pubs, restaurants and shops are located. If we had a location that was a little ways away, it was extremely easy to flag down a cab from the front door of the hostel. --Wifi was weak and the bed was a little uncomfortable. Overall we enjoyed Dublin and I highly recommend the stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
8.6

Lovely Hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities such as lockers, breakfast, TV room etc. Could do with more bathrooms and is a bit of a walk to Grafton St but they are the only negatives. Overall a nice place to stay and great value for money. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully stay here again on my next trip to Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.6

You get what you pay for - nice staff, clean, easily accessible. Overall good experience :) Ian is awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
4.6

This hostel did not meet my expectations at all and the photos are very misleading. I booked a double room with an ensuite and was expecting something similar to the room in the pictures but it wasn't even close. The room felt damp and dark. While the toilet, sink and bed were clean, everything else was filthy. The floor was covered in clumps of long black hair including pubic hair! There was dust everywhere and cobwebs in the closet. The shower did not work, we had to wash in the sink.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
7.7

I booked two double rooms. One of the rooms (10) was fine, but the toilet in room (11) is awful because the plumbing needs serious maintenance. The shower was kind of broken as well. The showers and the toilets in both rooms were not very clean. Last time I stayed at this hostel breakfast was better. Apart from that, the hostel is really convenient if you are looking for an ensuite double room. The staff was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.