Hostelworld.com

The Dublin Central Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
The Dublin Central Hostel Located at 5 Blessington Street, Dublin, , Dublin.
The Dublin Central Hostel
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Dublin 7 5 Blessington Street, Dublin
83% 1143
53.3563851 -6.2662625
The Dublin Central Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Very clean, quiet place. Located in a house building, and feels and looks very comfortable. Despite the staff saying that wifi coverage isn't too good above the ground floor, I managed to get good coverage on the 3rd floor. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.9

No kettle in room.kitchen tv room all locked up at night so if you couldn't sleep not able to go watch TV or get a book.came back with food couldn't get into kitchen for cutlery or a plate

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Stunning. Thank you. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
5.7

Rented a pretty expensive double bedroom but don't feel like I got any value for that money. The heating was way to hot and couldn't be regulated, and there was some kind of generator right next to our window making noise all night long and keeping us from sleeping. The staff was really nice though overall. Hostel is a 10 minute walk from the center which is okay but not too "central".

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
9.1

We stayed in a double bed in suite for two nights Dublin and there really is nothing to complain about. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room had a decent size and was clean. The bathroom was also clean and the shower was very good. The kitchen wasn't available except for breakfast at the two nights we stayed as it was being renovated, but what we saw at breakfast also made a very good impression. The hostel is close to the city centre and there's a bus-stop right in front. Great Stuff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic location, straight walk down the hill to all the hotspots of Dublin. The hostel was extremely clean, quiet and well facilitated. The staff on the welcome desk were extremely welcoming, polite, professional and made me feel at ease being a lone female traveler. I definitely recommend this hostel and will be staying again. Tip, get the number 16 bus from the airport, stops on the corner of the hostel and is even cheaper than the advertised city airport link bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.0

This was a great place for one night. It's close enough to downtown, and close to bus stops to and from the airport. The breakfast was just cereal and toast, and there wasn't any coffee. The room we stayed in was comfortable, but right next to the road. Heard traffic all night. Overall, it was fine for the money! It's great if you are on a budget. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.0

The hostel had secure locks on the doors and lockets to put your stuff in, but the plug sockets were oddly located so you couldn't have them next to you / locked away if you're charging them overnight. Street outside was noisy overnight. The breakfast was OK, but onlyhad toast, cereals, orange juice and hot drinks ; most hostels gave a slightly wider variety. It's also the wrong end of O'Connell Street for the majority of attractions, so we ended up spending a lot of time walking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are 5 minutes away from the Spire, so located in the heart of Dublin.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.0

The location is good - about 30 min walk from Connolly Train Station, and very close to the main O'Connell Street. I booked a bed in 8-Female Dorm Ensuite - the room and toilet were cleaned, but the shower could have been cleaner. The breakfast is supposed to start at 7:00am as advertised, but it was actually at 7:30am - which is quite frustrating as I have to depart early for my booked day tour. In general the hostel is quite ok and recommended for those visiting Dublin on budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We serve breakfast from 7.30 am to 11.00 am. We will try to get the shower cleaned better, which is a hard job in a 8 bed dorm. :-) Kind Regards, Ian

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
4.9

They do not actually have lockers in the female only dorms, so no good way to keep your luggage secure. You can keep it in a luggage closet that people store their luggage in before they can check in, but its only available between 7am-12am, which isn't functional for early tour trips or late nights. Beds were blocking half of the outlets in the room which made it difficult for a full room of people to charge their phones. One of the windows in our room had broken blinds so very bright nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I will get the blinds fixed immediately. Kind Regards, Ian

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.