Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Dublin Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,243 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
The Dublin Central Hostel Located at 5 Blessington Street, Dublin, , Dublin.
The Dublin Central Hostel
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Dublin 7 5 Blessington Street, Dublin
82% 1243
53.3563851 -6.2662625
The Dublin Central Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
6.3

Inconvenient walk from the city. No lockers in the room. The free breakfast was quite limited (white bread and jam). The room was mostly clean, some mildew collection in the bathroom. The staff was friendly and willing to help.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jul 2016
4.9

Staff were friendly but location was poor, breakfast was below average and rooms were very average would not recommend

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.4

The Dublin Central was great- we arrived late, but the staff were friendly and helped us get our room. We had rented a room for four people, and there was four of us. Again, perfect. The room included towels and a great en suite shower and toilet that worked great- lots of hot water and pressure. The internet was strong. And in general it was the perfect space we needed. The beds could have been a bit better. They are the creakiest I've ever been around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fnewt2975
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
5.4

You get what you pay for! On the one hand it wasn't expensive but was very basic, not even a chair to sit on in the room and beds were uncomfy (springs from mattress sticking in you). It was also very noisy, not only from revellers returning at all hours (which I'd expected it being Dublin) but it was right by a main road and there was traffic noise throughout the night - buses or coaches pulling up by the window, as a consequence not a lot of sleep was had.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
5.7

Felt a little run down lock on my room wasn't great, shower door handle was falling off too. Breakfast was fine not thrilled I had to pay a euro for coffee. Had my laundry done for €5 soap was provided which was awesome. I also appreciate that the staff does dishes in the kitchen. It's a little bit of a jaunt from city center and it's near a hospital so lots of sirens. Didn't feel like a super safe neighborhood either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
5.4

Location was fine, could be better but good enough. We stayed 2 nights, once at the beginning and once at the end of our trip. The 2nd room was significantly better than the 1st. The 1st was in the basement and was musty and tired. The blinds on the window didn't close properly and didn't reach the bottom of the window. The window also didn't shut properly. The 2nd room was better, although the bathroom door didn't shut and the shower door was broken. The wifi didn't work well in either

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
6.0

The building is quite old and (at least in the upper floor rooms where we stayed) needs to be refurbished - in one of the rooms the window wouldn't close properly (with easy access from the outside), in other the toilet didn't flush properly. The rooms were not very clean. The neighborhood is not the nicest but it's only a short walk form the city centre and we had no problems in walking there at night. Staff is very helpful. Enough for a low-buget short stay but many things could be improved

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
6.6

Location is not too bad. Close enough 5-10 minute walk from the airlink airport bus route. A fair walk to all the attractions and shops. Room C in particular was extremely noisy, you could hear every step of the room above. The bed was horrible like sleeping on springs. Overall, for what you pay I think it was reasonable. It was clean & the security of the room was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Great experience. We were immediately greeted by pleasant desk person after our long day of travel. Bedroom for 8 people was very clean, had sturdy drawers with locks under the beds, and rooms were spacious compared to other hostels. Overall, it was exactly what you'd expect from a hostel! Bathroom was a bit tiny, but not too bad. All other guests seemed to be backpackers as well--which meant early bedtimes and early risers (which was great for us)! Loved this place, would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location in Dublin! They do serve breakfast here, but it's cereal and toast. No coffee, but there's a lovely coffee shop three doors down. Easy to get to most everything from this location. The staff is extra helpful with directions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.