Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dublin Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Really good value for money, nice self-catering facilities and light breakfast included mean you can really save on food costs too. The beds were comfy, room airy, power socket per bed and the bathroom was en-suite and clean! Highly recommend DCH and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room we were in was quite noisy during the night as it's a busy road, but that's the compromise for being such a short walk from city centre. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

It's a good hostel, but a bit more out of the city centre than I expected. Everything is still within a walking distance. The staff was real nice, they gave me great tips for things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • i_wrote_othello5230
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Clean, comfortable and has character. Great location - ten minutes from the river, but nice and quiet at night. Serviceable breakfast (cereal and toast). Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.1

I discovered this hostel on a whim because the one I originally was staying at (Isaacs) was despicable. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. I was in a room for 8 and it was very clean, the en suite bathroom was also fantastic! It's location is ideal because it's literally a walk away from absolutely everything! I had a nice Irish breakfast right next-door and was able to walk down to catch my tour bus. It was rather pricey but if I could have, I would've stayed my entire week here!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
8.9

Great location - close enough to main shopping and buses. The staff here were lovely!! Loved the privacy of being downstairs. Room was tidy, bed incredibly comfortable! There were only two issues with the accommodation: 1st the shutter for the window couldn't be locked, as we'd entered a room with the window open we expected the shutter to deter people breaking in to be locked, 2nd the bathroom stank our room out, the shower drain. So we couldn't keep the window open to air out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Great hostel overall, nice rooms and nice location. Be aware that the toilet in the 8 bed female ensuite does not work properly. Additionally, the free breakfast is not great. There was only toast and cereal, but the spoons for the cereal were filthy with dried granola stuck all over them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
8.9

Dublin Central Hostel was a great place to stay during our weekend in Dublin! We had a private room which was clean. The bathroom was worn down, but if you just need a place to stay and aren't staying in the hostel the whole weekend (which you shouldn't!), it was fine. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I recommend this place to anyone staying in Dublin!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.3

Despite being 10min walk from O'Connel, the building is really old you can hear people walking and stepping up the stairs. The wifi does not work in the rooms. I think if you are in a small group it might me ok, with no kids.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.0

Staff was friendly and rooms were spacious, but there were only a couple outlets in room of 8 people and they weren't near the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

We stayed for three nights in a four-bed private room with bathroom, very comfortable and clean. The shared kitchen and toilet in the basement were always clean, and the stuff took care of washing all the plates and mugs in the dishwasher, so the guests didn't have to worry about it. Included in the price is also the breakfast. The people at the reception were always very helpful, and the location of the hostel very convenient, a 10 minute walk from O'Connel street. Highly recommendable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.