Hostelworld.com

The Duke of York

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.0
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.0
The Duke of York Located at 45 Harrowby Street, , London.
The Duke of York
England
London W1H 5HT 45 Harrowby Street
53% 279
51.5175159 -0.1639580
The Duke of York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2016
7.7

After reading previous comments I was terrified what to expect. I was positively surprised. Rooms were clean. Sheets were clean. Staff was friendly and funny. Breakfast on the Weekend was great. Only problem was that the lockers did not work in one of the 4 bed dorms. And one day one of the two toilets was not working. Fixes next day tho. Location is awesome!!!!! Very quite area but still super close to Oxford Street and Hyde park. Definitely staying there again when going to London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
3.7

Pretty shady place. Stayed in a dorm with some sketchy characters. No age limit so anyone could be there. Essentially this is a bar with some rooms upstairs. The advertised WIFI DOES NOT WORK. The beds are very uncomfortable. Not very clean either. The bartenders are cool but there really is no management. Also the location is not in a great area and is far from most destinations.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
3.7

Pretty terrible hostel. Free WIFI is advertised but it doesn't work at all. Terrible location. The only good thing is it's above a pub.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
5.4

The hostel was well located, close to buses and the tube and a wide range of restaurants. However, the rooms were small. My friends and I slept on a triple-bunk bed which was very wobbly. (Though we surprisingly slept quite well) and the toilets were always wet and occupied, and I was unable to shower in the hostel as it was dirty. Though, for one night it's doable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
4.6

It's not a bad place to stay for maybe a couple nights and only to sleep, but to stay longer it's not worth it. It looks really sketchy and there are a few people who seem to be living there that are really rude to new comers. Showers are really dirty and the restrooms are only clean in the morning when the maid is around. They also say they offer free wifi connection and it wasn't true in my case. it was really inconvenient when I needed it. I would not recommend it as a first option.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HollyMastt
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
5.1

Could have been better. Could have been worse. Location was fine, the area of London its in has beautiful nearby parks and the walk into town isn't too bad if you're up for it. The facilities were unbearable. We refused to shower there and would often walk down the street to use public toilets. However, the beds and sheets were up to par! Free breakfast on weekends was good too. You get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
4.9

Not really clean and usually very dirty. Rooms are stuffy and very small. No security

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
5.1

clean sheets would at least give a sense of security from the grimness of this place. but no, they can't even manage that. location is superb but this place is last resort

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

The hostel is very nice from the outside and in the inside too. The room in which my friend and I have been was lightful, big, clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice with all the costumers. Very kind when they show you your room and they explain all that you need to know. They were gentle even when we asked them to check if we booked or not, or even when we left the key inside of the room. Unfortunately my friend and I didn't wake up in time to have breakfast, but we will come back! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
4.9

The rooms are very small, the bathrooms are very small, the hostel is not clean, you need to bring your own padlock, there is weird Wi-Fi (you need to register and there are problems with speed). All in all it is a bad hostel but if you need cheap place to stay not extremely far from centre and you book few weeks in advance you will probably end up there anyway. Btw, there were no mice as I read in previous reviews.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.