X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Duke of York Reviews

45 Harrowby Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

58%

Rating
93 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 51%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Loved the location and security of the hostel. Not advertising that it is a hostel is actually quite comforting and another way to protect travels which I appreciated. Breakfast on the weekends is a great bonus as well. The bathrooms and showers were a little dirty and the water in the shower could be warmer/run longer but overall was adequate facilities. Room was clean, but also very hot.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great central location, no kitchen to make own meals, but has a restaurant/bar at ground floor and lots of restaurants nearby. Good value for money!


77%

Very nice hostel, athmosphere is comfortable :) The beds are not so good, you can feel the bedsprings. Very good, that you serve breakfast. Location is top.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

For the money, not bad.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff are great here. Super friendly. She changed the sheets of a bed that looked unused just in case other people in room might have used that bed to sit and chat or put their bags. It was a really nice gesture! I was lucky that I was there at the weekend so got breakfast. But it's a shame they don't offer it during the week. The bed itself is terrible. You really feel every spring. There are also not enough lockers. I was in a 14 bedded room and there were only 6 or 7 lockers there.


46%

The bathrooms were very dirty and filthy, and I don't think anyone cleaned them during our stay. In the 14 bed dorm there was a constant fight about the sockets, as there were only two accessible for everyone (some hidden behind beds).

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The location and price are fine, but the accomodation is so uncomfortable, too many beds and people in a tiny room.


71%

Place otherwise OK. Only the problem was, that you could not chek out before 10.00 am.


40%

Please not that i was staying there during a rebuild. but i experienced the staff as very uninterested in their "hostel" business and replied very uninterested which made me feel more of a burden than an appreciated customer. Breakfast was given at an odd hour which made us having to skip it (was given from 9-10am). the room was extremely hot as the heater was on max continuously. there was not enough lockers for everyone.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Amazing location, price , really nice staff and free breakfast. The room did stink and there was a big pool of water on the floor but this was more due to other guests! I would definately stay again for the price and locatipn

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

place to get a night sleep above a pub what is there more to be said other than ... it's "alright"


51%

In all my backpacker time i have never slept in such a unclean room at in the Duke of York. I strongly doubted that the bedsheet had been cleaned before my arrival. Even after paying i considered going straight to the airport to sleep on the floor instead of the 5 hours i could get in this hostel. I should have done so, cause im getting checked for bites or scabies right now. Not a pleasant experience!

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Hello, the hotel bar and restaurant are ok. but the rooms are very very smalls : we were 6 in a 10 square meters bedroom with only 1 square meter to move .Bedsheets were dirty, bathroom and toilets wee not very clean and not big. Besides, it was more expensive than most of the other hostel.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Location is not bad but they should be better because rooms was very small and dont enough clean

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was very messy and dirty. The toilet was very small and dirty. There needs to be a mirror somewhere in the hostel!


49%

Although the staff was nice, the hostel is awful. The rooms, bathrooms and toilet are extremely tiny. There is absolutely no spoon in bathroom and toilets. The doors are very old - it is impossible to close them quietly - so be ready to wake up during the night. The bed was so bad as well - I could feel every spring when sleeping. AND FINALLY! NO INTERNET! For the three nights I was in this hostel they could not fix it! I paid 40 pounds per night for nothing. DO NOT STAY HERE.


43%

include a reliable wifi and more lockers that aren't broken.. and most importantly hot showers!!


71%

Very bare bones hostel but for the location and price in London I can't complain much. The worst part is that there's nowhere to eat since you can't eat in the rooms and there's no common areas, just a bar so it's really awkward when you don't want to eat out. There were lots of picnics in Hyde Park. The bar downstairs can be a lot of fun, though the local drunks may be off putting at first they will soon feel like old friends if you give them a chance


46%

I wasn't impressed with the hostel. The bunk-beds were squeaky and shaky. I could feel every spring in the mattresses. There were 3 lockers in a 6 person room, and only one of them could be locked with a pad lock the other had keys but they didn't have keys. There was no place to eat your own food. It was a bar/restaurant down below, and I couldn't find a place to eat my store bought food. The employees were slightly friendly, but the bar's guests were unfriendly and uninterested.




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback