Hostelworld.com

The Duke of York

Prices
map
reviews
5.2
Rating 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 3.8
BOOK NOW
5.2
Rating 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 3.8
The Duke of York Located at 45 Harrowby Street, , London.
The Duke of York
England
London W1H 5HT 45 Harrowby Street
52% 297
51.5175159 -0.1639580
The Duke of York
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
6.3

I've slept on rocks more comfortable than the beds. Good location, cheap. You get what u pay for

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
4.0

No secure area to store belongings. Bathrooms not secure (no door, lock not working etc...). No female-only dorms. Whole building leaks when it rains. Not too bad for the good location, but could really do with cleaning up the facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
4.9

Does the job if you're looking for somewhere to crash for the night. The facility was dirty, bed was uncomfortable, many toilets didn't work. The staff was cold and not very welcoming, but they didn't try to scam me or anything like some of the other reviews have mentioned. Location is good, close to public transport and Hyde Park. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. But if you don't care for comfort or cleanliness and just need some place to crash, this hostel will do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
3.1

That was cheap. But just pay for a bed. Anything more! No wifi, only one shower without hot water. Toilets are always dirty, wet floor. Flies everywhere in the room. No space for chat with someone only if you stay at the bar for drinking. I've never been to a hostel like this bad!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
2.6

For anyone wanting to stay at the Duke of York, think again!!!! I stayed in a four bed dorm with my partner and there were only three lockers, the bathroom had no door on it and mushrooms growing out of the walls! The second bathroom had a door but there was no hot water and more mushrooms to be found. Had to ask staff for pillows as they had not provided them for us and there was mould on all surfaces. Close ish to marblearch stn so easy enough to get around but for 30 pound a night its a joke

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
3.1

What kind of hostel has no Wifi at all? They didn't even try to fix it nor even look at it. The security cards worked for all floors so several people got into our room by accident. The lockers were bad, And the room got warm/stuffy from having 8 people in 3 square meters. They also refused a poor girl to leave her bags or make an online reservation at the house, and asked her to leave and come back with a reservation. There was also the issue of puke in the sink, for over 20 hours. No TP!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
3.1

Things they have in abundance: Rude staff Questionable Aromas

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
5.1

You get what you paid for. Location is okay, staff in the bar are weird, the showers are broken. Location is centric and that is about it. Good for stay one or two nights top.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
2.0

When I got there the place was filthy and smelled like mold. It looks nothing like the pictures. We had to leave because I how horrible this place is and the guy didn't even wanted to give us our money back. I just wish I could get my deposit back because it's lost money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2016
2.9

Our experience with this Hostel was quite dramatic. Once arrived at the hostel a really unfriendly waiter 'Welcomed us' with kind of an attitude and a bit of annoying sarcasm. We were also victims of overbooking. Me and my boyfriend had to share a really uncomfortable and quite small single bed (one of three paid bedsunavailable) The bathroom were without toilet paper and better not to mention the condition of the showers. The breakfast was minimal. Good for the position but dunno if it is worth

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.