Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 518 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
The Dwellington Located at 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon, Wellington.
The Dwellington
New Zealand
Wellington Wellington 6011 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon
89% 518
-41.2733738 174.7794177
The Dwellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay! Canadian dude at the desk was awesome. so clean and beds were so comfortable. The best place to stay in Wellington

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

In my 4 months of travel on the North Island, the Dwelligton was by the far the best place I stayed at. The staff are great, the hostel stylish, and even the small details like having an outlet beside every bed were met. Not much parking but aside from that, no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2017
10.0

This is an amazing hostel. Super clean facilities in a beautiful building. Everything is super cozy and you feel home immediately. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.1

Great staff and really nice hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Probably the best hostel I have stayed at - and there are many. I had a particular crush on the tennis courts x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • themovingmug
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
10.0

It's really the best backpacker where I have stay in New Zealand. The manager is very welcoming, the place is clean and the atmosphere very friendly. A lot of Space for dining, lounge and tv room. 10-15min to the city centre at walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
8.6

Great little hostel if you want to avoid the huge hostels full of drunken noisy people. Good location, close to transport and shops. Nice atmosphere and very helpful friendly staff. I would stay here again without doubt.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mzatynski7738
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th Dec 2016
7.7

Great, spacious facility. Super clean! Excellent, friendly staff. Stay here if you need a place to crash, but if you're a solo traveller -- looking to meet other travellers -- skip it. This place is predominantly long-term residents (most of the kitchen space is reserved for them), which messes with the atmosphere a bit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
9.7

Really great place. Super high end and not crazy huge like all those hostels downtown. Those are like hotels! The Dwellington is nice and cozy. It's a little (but enjoyable) walk to downtown, but a nice short walk to the bus stop. New World right across the street, and incredibly helpful and hardworking staff. Noah even gave us a ride to the ferry in the morning :) really nice place. Highly recommend staying if it's available

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
9.1

Loved my stay here. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The free breakfast was a great bonus too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.