Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
The Dwellington Located at 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon, Wellington.
The Dwellington
New Zealand
Wellington Wellington 6011 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon
84% 433
-41.2733152 174.7788172
The Dwellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.9

The staff was having a really loud party with some of the guests until 4am constantky waking up the rest of the guests. I was really disappointed in this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.7

This is the best hostel I've stayed in my whole trip! Clean, friendly, accessible, with great facilities and welcoming staff. Super nice that the beds aren't actually bunked, so you don't hear your neighbor getting in and out at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.4

Will recommend to friends. That you. 😀😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
6.9

far from city centre, but clean and staff are nice enough. this isn't the hostels fault but I met some of the most rude backpackers in my life there. most of the people are long term tenants. however out of all the Wellington hostels this one is probably the cleanest

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
7.7

The Dwellington has a very cozy feel to it, and I loved all the plants. However, the walls seemed paper thin and both my friend and I did not sleep well because every door sounded like it was being slammed. There were also a lot of kids running around and screaming at what seemed to be all hours. Also, the rooms could have used heaters or more blankets as it was quite chilly. Seemed like a good community of both long-termes and people passing through.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.0

Only one night stay. Got a room next to loud dining area. Nice new hostel. Atmosphere leading by long termers. Kitchen cool but a bit dirty. For me a good average and decent value for money paid :) Would have to stay longer to get more useful recommendation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.0

Was nice enough. Atmosphere more for long-term stays. People are in a pretty tight nit group. Facilities a bit dirty. Walls are very thin. Hard to get a good nights sleep. Location wise it is alright but a bit far away from most activities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.0

Great cooking and dining area but my bedroom was just off this and we could hear everything! Someone got up at 4am and started moving pots and pans in the kitchen. Woke me up. Needs better sound proofing. Also, a big group of people who seemed to know each other/work at the hostel were not very welcoming. Felt tense in the dining area. No effort made to talk to others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.1

Great, would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jun 2016
6.9

Very much for long term stays. Was quite cliquey when I was there. Not too friendly in common spaces. Manager was very grumpy and was rather rude towards another guest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.