Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.7

Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Bathrooms were really nice. Really good facilities, really enjoyed our stay. Improvements- lack of storage space in the kitchen for short term guests. But really lovely kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel!! Main guy working there when I visited was so helpful, efficient and friendly! Good kitchen, rooms and just generally a nice place to be! Large comfy social areas and even tennis courts if you've got kit with you to use them. Buses into town are easy to use and cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.4

I loved The Dwellington! Noah bent over backwards to help us out with whatever we needed help with. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were always spotless. The kitchen area is great, and whilst the free breaky was simple it was a helluva lot better than nothing! The building is super cute, a little further walk than from the cbd than the big soulless chain backpackers in the city, sure, but it's so worth it. We had 4 excellent nights here, we'd defo come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel, a bit of a walk from the centre but its worth it. Staff were very welcoming and the cat Luna was gorgeous. Beds comfortable and clean bathrooms. Free breakfast was great. My only critcism is that a locker could be provided for valuables. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
7.7

This is a good, clean, comfortable hostel. My only complaint is that it seems to cater to long term guests at the expense of overnighters. They seem to have the quiet rooms, and there was no room in the fridge or shelves for my food. I had a single room, in order to get some much needed sleep. But the noise from the stairs, downstairs, the fire safety door slamming shut and the bathrooms (including two guests drying their clothes with hairdryers in the middle of the night) made it impossible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2017
9.7

The facilities were clean and there were free flannels in the bathrooms to wash with. The showers and bathrooms were clean and so was our private room but the room was very much on the small side. Free breakfast in the morning and the staff member who checked us in gave us loads of information and was really helpful as we'd had a long day driving. The room was comfy and quiet and we went for a walk into town to get some dinner and it wasn't too far at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel, best I've stayed with in New Zealand. Clean, tidy and with friendly staff and guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Staff is super helpful and nice, bathrooms are always clean and there is hairdryers and straighteners! Location is bit far from center but manageable. Also no lockers and room doors often left slightly open, but still I felt ok leaving by things there. Really nice atmosphere! Definitely gonna stay there again. Way better than yha.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Having stayed at a few hostels in Welly, I can say, without hesitation, that this is the best of the bunch. The rooms are clean, with comfy beds, and lights/chargers for all. The public facilities are well laid-out, comfortable, and, clean, as well. The staff quite attentive and the free breakfast a great bonus. Book early, because this place is booked up for ages for a reason: it's the best and a great value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.4

Probably the best hostel I stayed in in New Zealand by far. Whoever decorated this place has got amazing taste, facilities are great and room was clean and quiet. I got loads of good tips from the lovely lady on reception about what to do with my day in Wellington and staff were helpful throughout. Only downside was that there were a lot of long term residents who created an unfriendly vibe in the communal areas, especially the kitchen, as it felt like they'd marked it out as their territory.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.