Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
The Dwellington Located at 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon, Wellington.
The Dwellington
New Zealand
Wellington Wellington 6011 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon
84% 484
-41.2733152 174.7788172
The Dwellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2016
10.0

My stay in this hostel is overall pleasant! The owners were very accommodating to our request. My only request is for them to have a microwave oven in the kitchen, otherwise, everything's great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lengyeljud9811
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel, very helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable beds, spacious communal areas. Supermarket next door, close to railway station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.7

I loved this hostel - beautiful building and facilities. I only stayed for one night and the location was perfect for transportation - close to the bus and train station, and they give you a free ride to the ferry if needed. Very accommodating! Each bed has its own outlet too, which is great. Highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.4

Loved this Hostel. Staff could not do anything more for you, so helpful and kind. Lots of suggestions for good and bad days, people staying at the Hostel were all so nice and friendly. Just outside of town but such a good location. We have nothing to fault!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel, absolutely wonderfull, only little minor, short stay don't have lockers in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.1

Great central location, nice communal areas downstairs. Small dorms, an extra mattress was squeezed into our room for another guest, leaving v little space for luggage. Few toilets / showers, though these were clean and functioned well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Amazing hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dzegr
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.7

Really pleasant experience, good vibe, bathrooms and kitchen clean, rooms big enough, beds comfortable, nice personnel. Its not exactly in the city center like other hostels but still in 15min walking distance and there is complimentary coffee/tea and breakfast for free. Wifi works fine everywhere in the building for free. I can compare with YHA and Trek Global - dwellington is better in every aspect except location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Oct 2016
8.6

Really nice hostel, clean, fast wifi, close to the station. Nice lounge area, kitchen wasn't too small. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
5.4

15min. from city central. there is a supermarket close by the hostel. the stuff is friendly. the kitchen is okay. you get a simple breakfast every morning, toast, jam, peanut butter, butter, milk and cornflakes. the beds are made of wood, so very steady, the mattress are comfortable. the toilet and the shower: very, very dirty. the towel was not changed for days in the toilet. there are a lot of longtermrs living there, so its quit hard to get in contact. would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.