Hostelworld.com

The Dwellington

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 414 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
The Dwellington Located at 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon, Wellington.
The Dwellington
New Zealand
Wellington Wellington 6011 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon
87% 414
-41.2733152 174.7788172
The Dwellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jun 2016
6.9

Very much for long term stays. Was quite cliquey when I was there. Not too friendly in common spaces. Manager was very grumpy and was rather rude towards another guest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
8.3

It was super clean and really comfy beds. I was in a 4 room, which was quite small. The people in my room were staying for a few weeks, so had very much 'moved in' to the room, meaning there wasn't heaps of space for my things. It seemed like everyone knew each other, and there were lots of long term residents, so I don't know if I'd stay here alone again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
6.3

Stayed here based on the wonderful name. The staff were not very talkative. The location was a bit of a walk from the main downtown (a quick drive, however). Parking was NOT easy. Facilities were clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

It's not exactly at the city centre, but close to the Interisland ferry terminal. So if you plan on taking the ferry to South Island, this is a great choice. Free breakfast is a big big plus. Love the shower as well. It's directly opposite the US Embassy so it sort of give you a sense of added security. Ha! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2016
8.3

Only stayed 1 night but really enjoyed my stay! The host was really nice, even dropped me off at the jetty to take the inter islander ferry. Really nice people and really spacious room. Would definitely stay there again in Wellington.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
9.7

Really cool place, vibes are great as well, only wish i could have stayed longer to get the experience. The staff are really nice, the receptionist even gave me a ride to the ferry the next morning. Didnt really get a chance to use any security features since i was staying only 1 night so didnt have to use them. The house itself is also beautiful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.3

When people cook in the kitchen it smells everywhere in the hostel. Kitchen is ok. Beds really comfortable and no bunk beds! There were flies in toilet and nobody has emptied sanitize bin a loong time. Lots of long time visitors. Slightly over average hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jordanwaring7763
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.7

Beautiful hostel and very comfy beds! Great kitchen and there's also a good tv room - just no DVDs so being one. Great value for money and located close to the bus station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.9

Rooms are nice and clean and beds don't make noise. The shelves and plugs by beds are really good. However, the wifi is absolutely awful and there should be lockers in the dorm rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leemckenna19851155
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Private rooms are very nice, Wi-Fi is great. Kitchen has everything you need. Bus station is 5 mins away. If your keen to catch a sporting event, the Westpac stadium is around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.