Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • emmaodwyer6413
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.1

This was up there with the best hostels I've stayed in. It is spotlessly clean and the facilities are great (free breakfast, towels, hairdryers in the bathroom, wifi...). It also feels very secure with key card access and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The location might not suit everyone as it is a twenty minute walk to town, but two dollar buses go all the time so it's really not an issue. I'd highly recommend staying here; I already have to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

We had a really great stay at the Dwellington! The staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and happy to debate coffee recommendations. The place was beautiful and tidy with good facilities, it was like a home-away-from-home. Only a short walk from the central bus station. We would happily stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
9.4

The room and facilities were very good. Atmosphere was a bit rowdy and the kitchen became very crowded. Also a chair outside our bedroom prompted someone to talk use it to chat loudly on the phone for over an hour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.0

Only stayed the single night, and left early the following morning, so didn't see much. But it was pleasant and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vkhowell1905
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

The Dwellington was a little far from the bus stop but not too bad. It had a cozy feel and had really wonderful staff/people. I accidentally left my whole purse in the bathroom and someone turned it in and a staff member came and found me to give it back before I even realized it. So honest and nice!! It wasn't too far of a walk to downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.1

Pretty nice hostel. Felt more like a bed and breakfast. The lounge is a bit on the dull side though. Kitchen is nice and big. Good sized bathrooms and free towels. Nice guy working there gave me a free lift to ferry terminal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Must be the best hostel in Wellington! Really lovely staff and facilities. The beds are very comfortable. Common spaces and kitchen are great. 2 ovens! Even the garden looks good in the winter time. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend. Location isn't perfect for night life, which is good and bad. Long walk/taxi/bus. However, it does make things quite in the neighborhood after dark, which is nice. Bus connections are easily available to anywhere in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here. Great atmosphere and kind staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.7

Wish I had been able to stay here more than one night. Was an awesome experience, staff where super friendly and had organised a chef to make eggs (your way) for breakfast (Saturday morning) with all fresh ingredients - bonus it was FREE! Staff then drove us to the ferry which was again a huge added bonus. Could not have faulted the hospitality this hostel showed us. Super friendly, great vibes and have already recommended to friends travelling through NZ

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the nicest and cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great setup for common areas and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.