Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Dwellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
The Dwellington Located at 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon, Wellington.
The Dwellington
New Zealand
Wellington Wellington 6011 8 Halswell Street , Thorndon
84% 454
-41.2733152 174.7788172
The Dwellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.0

When does a hostel stop being a hostel and start being a boarding house? So many longtermers here that two out of the three fridges are reserved for them. Makes for a slightly unwelcoming atmosphere. Internet was terrible, even by New Zealand standards. Otherwise it was a very clean and well kept hostel with a solid breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.1

If you plan to use wifi, better to find some other place. I was informed already during the check-in that the connection will be "up and down" as they were quite full and I was not able to connect with my laptop in whole evening. I did have weak connection on my mobile phone but the connection was not enough to book tickets, check timetables or do basically anything else than open your email. Otherwise the place is clean and staff is friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.4

Overall a great place. Friendly staff, very clean facilities which were never overcrowded, doors are all swipe card access, and the location is fairly central. There's a supermarket across the road which makes food super easy. There is some free parking but not enough for everybody, staff were helpful about it though. Otherwise New World (across the street) has coupons for cheap parking, but beyond that it could get very expensive. A bit cold but extra blankets were provided! Would go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.6

Lovely kitchen and social area, new bedrooms recently refurbished and free wifi. There is a crowd of long-termers but they are very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.6

Communal areas and kitchen attractive, beds clean and comfortable, friendly helpful staff. The size of the backpackers was good, not too big, and easy bus ride into town. I would stay here again, recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.4

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. The house is super cozy with a great kitchen and places to hang out. I would live there if I could. The staff were also awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.9

The look and feel of the hostel was great and perfect for my few days in Wellington. The kitchen is great and staff were really friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.9

The staff was having a really loud party with some of the guests until 4am constantky waking up the rest of the guests. I was really disappointed in this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
6.6

Comfy beds and some helpful staff. Unfortunately rooms are so noisy that we didn't get much sleep the two nights we stayed. Most hostels we go to have either a quiet rule after 11pm or a room away from bedrooms as not to disturb others. Our room was basically in the living/kitchen area so we were kept awake till 6am by parties.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel. Really nice facilities and staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.