X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Eco-Living Hostel, Bali Reviews

Jl. Imam Bonjol, Denpasar-Bali, Kuta, Indonesia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
70 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 57%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

super cheap so really cool, but far from the center. nice staff.


54%

More cockroaches than people, sheets weren't changed once in 8 days, at least it was cheap!


63%

Nice rooms and beds, AC and lockers available (50k deposit). The problem was really noisy during the night, people screaming in the hall. I wake up around 4-5 times during the night.


71%

Very far from the main food, shops, beach areas, unless you get a motorbike, which seems like a hassle with all the horror stories of tourists getting stopped by the police and being asked for bribes. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy and each comes with a locker and a light & plug right next to the bed, which is very convenient. Almost empty when I stayed, so no real atmosphere. Free water which is a plus with it being so hot all the time.


74%

The dorm was clean, decent showers, comfortable bunks and a power point and reading light for each bunk.


86%

One of the best hostels that I've ever stayed. Haven't had any problems. Instead, the staff is super friendly and helpful, environment is really clean and mostly practical. The only comment that i'd say negative is, the top bed of the bunkbed is hard to reach! I had difficulty climbing all the time as the ladder is not so practical so try to choose the bottom bed :) And my backpack didn't fit in the locket :( But i can understand that, I only had to arrange my stuff putting some in the locket :)

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed there just for transit as it is close to the airport and it is very cheap. Beds are new with lockers. They can help you arrange bus or taxi.


51%

the locations was really poor, no fun getting every day around from there.


54%

Location is terrible. What you save in stay doesn't cover what you have to pay in transportation.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not a good location. Impossible sleeping situation as people arrive at all hours of the night and then have to stash their bags and sort themselves out, lights on etc. building work going on constantly, ie from morning till rather late in the evening. The place claims it offers breakfast but does not. Plus they capitalize on helping people with transport. They ask 120 for a taxi and if you go out and hail a taxi for yourself it should cost around 60. That's what I paid to go to Sanur.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We always work with Blue bird company which is the most trustworthy company in Indonesia. If our customers are going far as in to another city we advise to take a driver for a fixed price. It is always possible to get cheaper rides. But we have heard many less fortunate stories about hailing taxis. The safety of our guests is our main priority.

89%

Staff were very nice and friendly. Bit of a way out from the beach but even if you rent a scooter it's still cheaper than most places. Showers are the best.


57%

Good: comfortable beds, big lockers, great bathrooms, nice crowd of travellers, mostly nice staff. Bad: The rate on hostelworld no longer applies if you rebook or extend your stay, rooms weren't always cleaned every day, advertised breakfast was not available, no kitchen, disgusting fridge. Individual bed lightslights are much too bright. Male staff entering girls dorm to show girls right to their beds, unnecessary. Bad location but much cheaper and still nicer than other kuta hostels.


91%

Absolutely loved my stay at The Eco-Living Hostel Bali, the staff were A++ and everything was spotless which is number 1 priority when staying in places. A small distance from the center, 20 minute walk, but the staff are more than happy to go above and beyond to help out with transport or renting mopeds. Can't wait to head back for a quite nights sleep.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. It highly motivates us to keep our service at its best. We are looking forward to having you again.

97%

Eco-living was a great hostel. It was clean, great wifi and the staff were ever so helpful. The only down side is its location, you will have to ride a bike around, catch a taxi or organise tours. Other than location, everything else was fantastic!


91%

Please inspect the bed frame conditions,one of the bed frame was broken. Overall I like the hostel! :) Thanks The Eco-Living Hostel!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Boon, Thank you for your comment. We just had a full fixture in the Hostel. So we are as good as new. We are happy you liked our Hostel. We hope to see you again in future!!

71%

The hostel itself is clean with good AC in the dorms, hot water showers, free drinking water & free reliable wifi. Other nice touches are individual lights & plug sockets for each dorm bed, safety locker under the bed & self service breakfast of toast and jam with tea/coffee. Good 45 mins to Poppies Gang I and II and 30 mins to the beach but very convenient for the airport (20 mins in a taxi). Staff seemed a little unsure of what they were supposed to be doing and weren't always that helpful.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katie, Thank you for your positive comment about our hostel. Our apologies regarding the staff. We just started with a new team in August, they are getting better by day.

91%

Clean hostel with super friendly staffs. The only down side is the location(15min walk from the beach) but you can rent a scooter for 50000 a day. Good value for money


97%

Was such a great time!! Staff is great and very helpful!!! Had awesome time! One of the best hostels ever!! Stay there...


66%

The hostel overbooked on the night we were supposed to stay, so they had to move us to Bedbunkers. They only told us about this when we got there at 11pm when they obviously would have known before as there was 4 of us. It was just a bit of an inconvenience but this hostel seemed extremely nice and clean and would've been great if they hadn't overbooked.


77%

The hostel itself is really nice, the staff are friendly and they have pretty awesome showers! However, it's abit out of the way from anything really and we had to take a taxi to the beach and restaurants/bars. Great place to stay if you don't mind the taxis though!


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Kuta Hostels

Please give us your feedback