X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Elevator Hostel Reviews

11, Calçada do Lavra, Lisbon, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
108 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

TheElevatorHostel was a great host, we felt really welcomed, they gave us a lot of tips about Lisbon, where to go and what to see and it was all really worthy. The Hostel itself was really clean and with its own character. We liked it a lot. And it's just 5 min walk to nice local restaurants and the center of the city. It also has a terrace with great views to have something fresh drink during the sunset!! Totally recommendable!

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staying at The Elevator's made my trip to Lisbon more enjoyable. The location is ideal -central but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle so I spent two quiet nights in my room. The staff (receptionists, the cleaning lady and the girl in charge of breakfast) are really nice and helpful -the kind that makes you walk off with a smile on. As for the atmosphere, the people I got to talk to in the breakfast room proved to be nice. And as far as cleaning goes, everything is spotless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Many thanks for your kind words. We really strive to make your stays unique at The Elevator Hostel. Happy travels TEH Team

100%

This was such a great hostel! Right in the city centre with everything on walking distance. The staff was really nice and helpfull. They were telling us all about the city. The rooms were nice and big and the beds were really comfortable. Really good!


97%

Staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful. Spent time outside of work with one staff who showed me cool bars, free fado tour, salgado exhibition. Really made my Lisbon stay special. Security: big lockers for free! Cleanliness: everything spotless, always. Location: very central, at the beautiful trams which are so pretty and a pleasure to see everyday. Breakfast: homemade spreads, fresh bread and coffee, tea selection, biscuits, fresh juice, cereal. So good! Dorm rooms: quiet & comfy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! What can we say? Thank you so much for your feedback! It's a powerful motivator for us! Happy travels! TEH Team

100%

Very nice and clean hostel with upgraded hi tech showers and good WiFi. Honestly probably one of the best hostels on the planet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for sharing this! Great to have you here! Cheers TEH Team

100%

simply loved this hostel! instantly warm welcoming, cool atmosphere, lovely staff, clean and very centrally located (in few minutes you’re literally everywhere) beautifully designed with love for details,very bright rooms, cozy common areas–and amazing staff! arriving totally exhausted in the very late night hours they instantly made me feel warmly welcomed in lisbon. though traveling a lot I hardly ever found so helpful, nice ppl. thank you guys!! I’ll definitely come back, whenever I’m around!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! It felt great to read your comment! We do try hard to have you guys enjoy your stay in Lisbon! We'll be waiting for your next trip. Happy travels TEH Team

89%

Very tidy and nice, right next to the fumicar and near restauradores area. Didn't have a huge social element but would depend who is ther. Staff are really nice! Recommended for sure


97%

I had a great stay at the Elevator Hostel. The hostel is located halfway up a steep hill which is a bit difficult with luggage or without sturdy shoes, however if the tram is running that is always another option. I arrived early and they allowed my friends and me to store our luggage. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and allowed us to get breakfast a few minutes before it was supposed to be served so that we could get to our bus on time. I would definitely come back.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

stumbled on this place by accident, and it was a very pleasant surprise. beautiful hostel, with an awesome view from the balcony. rooms are spacious and comfortable, power and USB outlets by every bed, great bathrooms, good breakfast, everything was good. The people at reception were great, and one guy there even called the airline for me to help out, really went above and beyond to help. a female staff made us feel uncomfortable, seemingly no manners and always grumpy,but we didn't see her much


97%

Our stay there was great, the staff very helpful and kind and the hostel itself is really pretty! We would definitely stay there if we were to visit Lisbon again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you your comment. You're always welcome

100%

nice staffs, very well located in quiet area, close to the center. not many people at that time when i was there. So i would recommand,someone does who sick of crazy party hostel, or need some time for self. I would definitely Go back!


86%

Comfortable and very well located. Just a slight rise to get up to the front door but definitely doable. Staff were helpful. The room was fine, quite loud but that was to be expected the nights we were there. Breakfast was nice enough.


77%

A nice clean hostel with nice staff. A quieter hostel than others in Lisbon but good location and good facilities.


100%

We had an awesome stay at the hostel! Friendly and helpful staff, everything was clean and nothing to complain about!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for your feedback. It is a great motivator for us. Hopefully we'll see you again soon in Lisbon...cheers

97%

Loved staying here, Staff is awesome


100%

the elevator hostel is a great option in lisbon, cheap price for the comfort it offers, the staff is awesome, always there for anything you need and just great guys overall, the breakfast was really good although i read a couple comments about not having fruits i thought it was still really good for the daily fare! the only thing is the shower close to room 22 the door does not close well so you end up with a soaking floor but thats just a minor thing, i will for sure come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you so much for your fedback. Be sure we'll be waiting for you when you come back :-) we'll even dust the red carpet! :-)

66%

Great hostel but far from the city center. Staff dozed off and didn't have breakfast ready.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We were wondering what part of town you had in mind when you refer to Lisbon's City Center. Most times people refer to Rossio/Restauradores area which is, well, next door. But we understand that it is a subjective notion depending on ones own personal preferences. We'll investigate this thing about 'late breakfast'. Thank you again

86%

The shower worked well. Breakfast was good. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. One slightly bad point is that the access to the hostel is not really easy for older people or heavy luggage, no problem for backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Armanda for your feedback!



View all Lisbon Hostels

Please give us your feedback