Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Finnish Church in London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 65 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.5
The Finnish Church in London Located at 33 Albion Street, Rotherhithe, London.
The Finnish Church in London
England
London London SE16 7HZ 33 Albion Street, Rotherhithe
84% 65
51.4999392 -0.0525015
The Finnish Church in London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Friendly place with a nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
8.6

Quiet, friendly place, very welcoming staff. Hard pillow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback. Location we can't change, being at zone two within a 5 minute walk from both the overground and the tube stations is considered pretty good in London, and the area is a nice quiet one, but we understand it's not everyone's cup of tea. If you come again, please mention any dissatisfaction to our staff, we can help with most queries, and pillows we have plenty, so there is choice of soft, medium and firm in storage. Hope to see you here again in the future!

9th Jul 2016
10.0

My favorite place I stayed over the course of 21 days in Europe. Super clean, super friendly, super secure. Really close to a metro station, so it was a breeze to get to. I also was the only person in a 4 person room, so it was kind of like having a nice clean hotel room all to myself. The staff was extremely friendly too. Note: yes, there is in fact a church here. That may scare some people off, but if you're looking for a place to unwind/recover during a long trip, it's perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you so much for your feedback. We aim to provide every traveller a comfortable and friendly experience, it's great to here that we've been a success on your journey through Europe. If you ever return to these parts of the world, hope you also return to us at the Finnish church hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
7.7

It was exactly what I tought it would be. Very nice people, excellent breakfast. Location good! The room was very very tiny, the toilet room would have needed a shower curtain, and it was a bit noisy because of the traffic but where else can you sleep for that price? I totally recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
9.4

It's always wonderful to stay at the Finnish Church. A really peaceful place with a homely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.1

Had a great staying! Its clean and a friendly atmosphere. Also the girl in the reception was very cute.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
7.4

Once you find the hostel; it is very nice. Though, i would suggest having a good walk around the area ( which is historic but not that great ) as there is nothing open on a Sunday; apart from a pub where i had a brunch. Very clean, nice room and comfy bed. Nice and warm in hostel and it has a nice shop. Though, the sauna had limitations; only open for one hour for males. Had a guy, who was a bit strange, but friendly as was the receptionists. They brought up a breakfast pack, nice of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. The Rotherhithe are has quite a few different restaurants and our staff is always happy to point you in the right direction, as understandibly some may be hard to find when in a new area. Glad you found our hostel a comfortable place. The men's sauna times vary on different days, as some times are busier than others, therefore also some days men have longer sauna times, sometimes ladies do. Breakfast packs provided for early departures as well as on Monday mornings when church is closed, great that you found it useful. Hope to have you visiting our hostel again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
8.9

Overall a very good clean hostel. Nice and quiet.....not somewhere for party animals or late nights. Good points; Very clean and hygienic Excellent breakfast (starts at 8.30am) Good showers Safe building and caring staff Not so good, but definitely not bad points; The room was a bit of a squeeze for 6. The sauna times are very limited eg 6pm to 8pm only

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. As we are the only hostel in London with a free sauna for hostel guests, it is great if you managed to experience sauna. I am sorry to hear that the public sauna times weren't convenient for you. If you are coming again, it is worth asking for a possibility of private sauna hire, as this is available outside public times. Hopefully we'll see you again at the hostel of the Finnish church!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.