X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Flaming Kiwi Backpackers Reviews

39 Robins Road Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
462 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great atmosphere, clean rooms and friendly staff.


94%

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Kitchens have everything you need. Is about 5 minute walk to supermarket and 10 into town. Certainly recommend this place

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

its been a great stay, beds are really comfortable and people are friendly. i booked a week when i got to Queenstown and now on my forth week here. great place!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The managers were excellent and even drove us into town after check-out which really helped us with our luggage. Many thanks. Margaret & Claude.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel is nice, clean and has everything you need. Location is good - close to supermarket and only a few minutes to city center. Lockers are just for small bags but the power plug inside is good. Free Wifi! Atmosphere could be better, as there are many long term staying people which leads also to little space in kitchen and fridge. Very nice staff.


77%

I stayed here for only one night so I can't comment on every aspect of the hostel, but again I need to complain about the temperature in the room (in the winter). I'm not sure why this is an issue in NZ so often, but it always ruins my mood.


71%

Okay. The staff were good, plenty of people drinking and partying if you are after a hostel with that sort of atmosphere. Wifi was average (pretty slow, struggled to keep up with the amount of people there). Staff were really helpful. Was not overly enthused about the location. It isn't far, but certainly not central either. Bathrooms clean and abundant, everything worked. Kitchen facilities were good and also clean.


89%

Excellent stay here. Fantastic double room with great view, super cosy at night with the heater and staff that were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again +++++

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels we have stayed at! Lots of kitchen space so it's super easy to cook your own meals, the bathrooms were really clean and the staff super friendly. Really handy that there's off street parking and it's so close to town! Overall a really nice atmosphere, would stay there again in a heartbeat :)

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We arrived way later than expected when reception was closed, and the night manager was very accomodating anyways and helped us get settled. All of the staff throughout our stay was kind and courteous, and I felt like the place was very clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A perfect Backpackers! Nice dorm room with your own bathroom! Clean and spacious Kitchen, with a nice living room!! Locker in the room, with the plug inside witch is pretty clever! Only 5minutes from the center, so close to facilities but quiet to sleep! And a really really friendly Staff !


97%

Awesome double room, awesome common areas and awesome staff. Really enjoyed our stay if only it could have been longer!!


100%

Very friendly and homely environment


100%

Staff were great!


97%

Stuff was awesome! They were really friendly and they made us feel like coming home. They also helped us with trip plans. Atmosphere were relaxed and it was easy to meet people there. Recommend!


97%

Excellent hostel, just out of town in nice quiet location, yet only a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. Kent runs a really good hostel, ably assisted by Chris. Rooms are excellent, very warm and cosy. Plenty of room in the kitchens, and the hostel is beside the gondola. Only issue we had with the hostel was when we stayed in a room downstairs. It seems there are a lot of long term guests staying downstairs, very much all in a clic and it felt uncomfortable being the new people.


91%

Everything you need in a hostel but with extra quality and extra comfort. Highly recommended

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great service, best wifi of the hostels in town, everything clean and tidy. TV lounge is chilled and relaxed with nice new furnitures, kitchens complete with good cooking equipment and a lot of space so you don't have to fight for a space. After a day if tramping you can chill in the hot tub. Great hospitality and helpful staff. Location close to town and supermarket, but in a quiet area so you don't get disturbed by noise from the night life. Can really recommend this hostel!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably the best hostel I have stayed in, always clean, showers are really good and staff are very friendly and helpful, close to town and quiet so you can get a good nights sleep, defiantly recommend this as the place to stay in Queenstown

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback