X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Flaming Kiwi Backpackers Reviews

39 Robins Road Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
420 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

All round an excellent hostel

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff very friendly and really helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and activities etc. Bathrooms and kitchens very clean and spacious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels we stayed at in NZ. Staff was amazing, hostel was clean and quiet


94%

Staff was very friendly and the highlight of the hostel. Location is 5min walking from downtown, but they have dedicated parking lot, very useful for those who are driving. The are two kitchens, clean and organized. Breakfast was not included but internet was free. Room and beds were ok, with little street noise. There are lockers for each person, with charger inside it, genial idea. Lots of space for leisure and socializing. Definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in NZ.


100%

I cant begin to start, how good this hostel is!!!! A very clean place to stay and located perfectly just on the edge of town (5 min walk) so your are away from the noise but still incredibly close. A large common room where everyone chills out and a real close friendship between guests new and old. i would definitely recommend stay here long or short term.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Without a doubt one of the best hostels I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Everything you need Incredibly well maintained Clean The owner cares about your stay Homely

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, and a great vibe


69%

I thought that the location was ezcellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A big drawback for me however was the lack of toilet and shower facilities. The was one shower/toilet room on the floor that we stayed in which was to facilitate at least 10 people.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, second time i've stayed here. Friendly staff, Good atmosphere, Good location (close to the supermarket and only a few minutes from the town centre), Power sockets in each locker so security is never an issue and definitely the cleanest hostel ive stayed in!

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A home away from home. Free unlimited WiFi (really!), spacious clean rooms, comfy beds with a nice lounge area make this a great choice. Easy to meet ppl, but good night sleep possible partly because the main kitchen is closed for the night effectlively confining ppl to the lounge. Props also for including power outlet inside the room lockers


89%

Good free WiFi, helpful staff and big rooms. Not enough howers though and kitchen not opened on time in the morning I departed so couldn't collect my lunch.


91%

Amazing hostel, very friendly staff willing to help you with everything! A Clean and safe place, they also have plugs in the lockers so you can charge your devices at ease(nice touch). All and all I had a great stay and I would definitely recommend it! :-)


80%

Only stayed for one night and arrived late so can't say too much about the hostel, but it seemed nice and had a chilled out atmosphere. Good value for money.


100%

Don't leave reviews normally but felt like I had to with Flaming's. Been traveling around the world for the last 9 months taking in 18 different countries and many hostels and this is the best one I stayed in. Comfortable beds, clean, lots of kitchen space, really friendly staff that were always going the extra mile to help you and loads of free stuff: quick UNLIMITED wifi, coffee and tea and bikes. 2 minutes out of town, but who cares?! A must in Queenstown, don't bother staying anywhere else.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff - helpful and friendly . Facilties were well maintained, toilets and bathrooms are always clean, free wifi, big tv room and 3 fully equipped kitchens . the rooms are very nice and spacious and give good value for money !.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

travelled through New Zealand, and the flaming kiwi is by far the best place I have stayed. I have now stayed with them for 4 weeks, and after Christmas I will be back for an additional 2. Staff is amazing Kent and Chris are just great guys, they help with your bags when you arrive and smile while doing it. Everything is clean and kept up very nicely. Great atmosphere all around. Free bikes and frisbees for an afternoon are great. Free wifi has been a bonus. Looking forward to Christmas dinner!

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A really comfortable hostel situated in a quiet part of town. Close to the supermarket and Central Park. The hostel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I felt very safe and welcome there. I will definitely recommend it to everyone going to Queenstown and will stay there again if I am in the area. Two thumbs up!

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is excellent. The staff are totally exceptional and the amenities are great. Free wifi, free bikes, free calls etc The staff were sooo helpful in helping us plan our hike when our first choice was snowed out, letting us use their phone to make reservations, and generally keeping an eye out for us. Free wifi and bag storage are basically the best things ever when traveling. A great atmosphere, people watching TV at night together and just having fun. Rosa, Chris and Kent- THANK YOU!

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This was an enjoyable stay. Queenstown is a cool place. The location is a bit "far" from the City Centre, but everything is in walking distance so it's not a big deal. It was a bit noisy after hours for us, but that's to be expected for this town I think at any place you'd stay. The host was very kind and helpful, and there is street parking as well as a small lot in the back. They have free disc golf rentals, use it!! The course was a lot of fun and the city vibe is great.


94%

Great hostel, incredibly clean and well managed with free wifi a huge bonus. Would recommend for short and long-termers.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback