X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Flaming Kiwi Backpackers Reviews

39 Robins Road Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
450 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the best hostels we have stayed at! Lots of kitchen space so it's super easy to cook your own meals, the bathrooms were really clean and the staff super friendly. Really handy that there's off street parking and it's so close to town! Overall a really nice atmosphere, would stay there again in a heartbeat :)

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We arrived way later than expected when reception was closed, and the night manager was very accomodating anyways and helped us get settled. All of the staff throughout our stay was kind and courteous, and I felt like the place was very clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A perfect Backpackers! Nice dorm room with your own bathroom! Clean and spacious Kitchen, with a nice living room!! Locker in the room, with the plug inside witch is pretty clever! Only 5minutes from the center, so close to facilities but quiet to sleep! And a really really friendly Staff !


97%

Awesome double room, awesome common areas and awesome staff. Really enjoyed our stay if only it could have been longer!!


100%

Very friendly and homely environment


100%

Staff were great!


97%

Stuff was awesome! They were really friendly and they made us feel like coming home. They also helped us with trip plans. Atmosphere were relaxed and it was easy to meet people there. Recommend!


97%

Excellent hostel, just out of town in nice quiet location, yet only a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. Kent runs a really good hostel, ably assisted by Chris. Rooms are excellent, very warm and cosy. Plenty of room in the kitchens, and the hostel is beside the gondola. Only issue we had with the hostel was when we stayed in a room downstairs. It seems there are a lot of long term guests staying downstairs, very much all in a clic and it felt uncomfortable being the new people.


91%

Everything you need in a hostel but with extra quality and extra comfort. Highly recommended

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great service, best wifi of the hostels in town, everything clean and tidy. TV lounge is chilled and relaxed with nice new furnitures, kitchens complete with good cooking equipment and a lot of space so you don't have to fight for a space. After a day if tramping you can chill in the hot tub. Great hospitality and helpful staff. Location close to town and supermarket, but in a quiet area so you don't get disturbed by noise from the night life. Can really recommend this hostel!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Probably the best hostel I have stayed in, always clean, showers are really good and staff are very friendly and helpful, close to town and quiet so you can get a good nights sleep, defiantly recommend this as the place to stay in Queenstown

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel with a great backpacker atmosphere. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local area. The hostel is in a great location - it's a short walk to the centre of Queenstown and it's even closer to the main supermarket. The hostel's dorms were light and spacious and the bathrooms and kitchens are regularly cleaned by staff. I loved this hostel and would highly recommend it to all backpackers in Queenstown!


100%

Best hostel we stayed in New Zealand mostly down to the staff being amazingly helpful. Lovely facilities. Very close to town. Highly recommend this hostel if staying in queenstown. Only thing found odd was little room available in three very big kitchens for us, I think due to few long-termer guests being space greedy and buying too much stuff. Perhaps a limit of space per person should be applied by giving a box each max as some hostels do.


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in NZ. Super clean, free unlimited wifi, good location from town. Would highly recommend!


97%

Fabulous staff attitude and free phone was a bonus! Well done Thank you!


100%

Staff was really nice and helpull! The bikes you can have for free in the hostel were really good and the atmosphere in general was very good! I really recommend this hostel! :)

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff, eager to provide towels, sheets, etc. Short walk to downtown restaurants, easy parking


100%

Great and knowledgable staff that will help you set up anything you want to see or do in the south island. Great location, and the unlimited free wifi really puts them over the top - that is extremely hard to find in these parts. 5-stars, and will definitely stay there again in the future!


100%

All round an excellent hostel

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback