Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.1

Lovely staff. Clean. Eclectic guests! Nice brekkie. Homely hostel. I enjoyed my intro to Katoomba. Tx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.7

Would highly recommend this place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2017
9.4

Was really clean and nice and felt very homey which was good free breakfast in the morning and late night snacks (chocolate) really beautiful. Super close to everything. Would stay again 100% :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome individual hostel with friendly staff and chilled vibe. Tim tams and tea after a long hike are the one! Nice big fire in the living room and bonfire outside go the extra mile. Would definitely stay again, thanks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.9

Wow!! They're really on with their 'no screens' 6-9pm!! A real hostel with real atmosphere! And the staff.... among the friendliest & most helpful I've seen.... had a GREAT time!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.7

Not only a good and economic place to stay in a wonderful area. This hostel tries to promote and support 'social times' in the evenings. Result: Relaxed and enriching common evening-hours; games, acrobatics, talks, fireplace, ... and some great artists / performers among the guests. Good to bring more time with you to enjoy that fully! THANKS! Peter

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.0

The Flying Fox feels like you're staying in someone's home, it has a very homey feel. We barely spent time there but the location was great with parking right in front of the house. The rooms were clean and each bed came with bedding and a comforter which was a nice addition. There's also a cute outdoor hangout spot with a bonfire and seating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
10.0

The Flying Fox atmosphere Ross has built and fostered over the years in Katoomba simply put is: in a Texas sized class all its own Plan not only for the obvious magnet of hikes, mountain bikes and sights in this Blue Mountians region, but also for the best and most novel/sacred part of this well established hostel: the No Screens allowed 6pm-9pm "Social Time" So...Ladies & Gentlemen, book now for the chance to meet explorative folks just like you from around the Blue Marble...like it's 1993!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! Cooking dinner with friends every night, board games and puzzles, singing, and good company! So relaxed, I felt at home immediately and after 3 night I didn't want to leave! So helpful with hiking routes and so super friendly due to the no screens rule from 6pm - 9pm, made it so easy to make friends and really get to know everyone! I'll be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Great friendly hostel. Ross was great as were all the team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.