Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 483 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Mar 2017
10.0

The Flying Fox atmosphere Ross has built and fostered over the years in Katoomba simply put is: in a Texas sized class all its own Plan not only for the obvious magnet of hikes, mountain bikes and sights in this Blue Mountians region, but also for the best and most novel/sacred part of this well established hostel: the No Screens allowed 6pm-9pm "Social Time" So...Ladies & Gentlemen, book now for the chance to meet explorative folks just like you from around the Blue Marble...like it's 1993!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2017
10.0

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! Cooking dinner with friends every night, board games and puzzles, singing, and good company! So relaxed, I felt at home immediately and after 3 night I didn't want to leave! So helpful with hiking routes and so super friendly due to the no screens rule from 6pm - 9pm, made it so easy to make friends and really get to know everyone! I'll be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Great friendly hostel. Ross was great as were all the team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
10.0

Can't say enough good things about this place. Was in the Blue Mountains climbing for a week and was really just looking for a place to lay my head. What I found instead was a community. Amazing staff, huge CLEAN kitchen, comfortable beds, and really just an incredible mix of staff and guests. From older folks to young backpackers the mix was super balanced. Very social but definitely a place where you can count on a great night's rest. Location was prime, 10s all around......thanks guys!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Jan 2017
7.1

We spent 3 days here. It's a very old home which was run down, especially the bathrooms. There is a lot of long term people living here so they already formed their click. Their room was dirty as. Was no room elsewhere to put our stuff as there stuff was everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.3

The Fox is a great hostel. Ross is fantastic and he always hires great staff. The location is great and so is social hour. It's a brilliant place to meet fun people! It was my second time staying here and I would definitely come back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Great little hostel.Bathrooms were similiar to my old grandma's house (very old style) and at times had to wait for a few minutes to access. Nice common areas inside and outside. Staff and long termers are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend if staying for 3+ nights

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.1

I only stayed here for one night but I found that there was a lot of people that lived here long term and the rooms felt like I was intruding on someones flat. When I was here they had social time which meant that you couldn't use wifi for a few hours, its a good idea if your there long term but if you are there to explore the blue mountains for a few days its not ideal. The facilities were good and kept in a good condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.