Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
The Flying Fox Located at 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, , Blue Mountains.
The Flying Fox
Australia
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 2780 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba
88% 439
-33.7095612 150.3090941
The Flying Fox
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.0

The flying fox is a great place to meet people. It's located very close to public transport access, had a nice view over the mountains and has all the facilities one requires for an enjoyable stay! The owner works very hard to keep the hostel in good, and cosy condition, maintaining fires inside and out, listening to music and providing treats for everyone like mulled wine or chocolates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahsecker
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.7

If you are looking for a place to call home whilst staying in the Blue Mountains then look no further. The Flying Fox is the most homely hostel I've ever stayed in throughout my travels that I just keep going back. From "family" meals, mulled wine and chocolate biscuits, Guano the cat, free breakfast and that cosy living room with the fire, I love returning to Katoomba. Ross is full of recommendations of things to do in the area and his staff are all friendly and welcoming. Thankyou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.4

Very nice staff, Ross can give you good tips on what to do around the Blue Mountains. Also nice space in the living common area to socialize, no mobiles allowed in that area from 6-9pm so people interact "do as if it was 1993.." =D very relaxed environment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel for solo travellers looking to socialise with others. The Flying Fox is a small and cosy hostel geared at creating a social atmosphere with cheap dinner nights, board games and a fire to sit around every night and share your daily adventures. I only spent 3 nights here, but had a great time and would definitely return to continue exploring all the Blue Mountains have to offer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.4

Just the perfect place if you want to visit the blue montains and meeting people. From 6 to 9 PM, there is this socialise time, which allow to meet everybody. In addition, we had a wonderful barbecue time. It is a friendly place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
9.4

This is a cozy and welcoming hostel where you are likely to meet lots of interesting people. Facilities were great and the owner is lovely! We stayed for 4 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. If you want a base to do lots of hiking in the blue mountains or you want to get away from hoards of people in the big cities then this is the place for you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

My stay in the Flying Fox was just lovely. The staff was very helpful regarding tips for hiking tracks around the area. The only thing that I didn't like as much is that there are only 3 bathrooms for all dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rhapeta9932
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

Really good atmosphere, friendly staff, comfortable beds, free biscuits handed out at night, lovely fire outside at night if you felt like sitting around a hot fire, free breakfast and wifi. I liked the art work and the comfy couches. Only downside was loud trains going by every hour at nighttime, but the second night I got earplugs so that solved that issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
8.6

Cozy hostel with lots of longtimers. Good atmosphere, would stay there again. Minor point: Lack of bathrooms in comparison to number of people can be a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Only stayed one night but lovely hostel with nice friendly staff and other travellers 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.