Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
The Flying Fox Located at 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, , Blue Mountains.
The Flying Fox
Australia
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 2780 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba
89% 449
-33.7095612 150.3090941
The Flying Fox
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

Quite a good hostel for the location, it was so cold though and needed more heaters and blankets for sure. Room was messy due to long termers so wasn't really anywhere to put my stuff and no working locker. Free breakfast was a bonus and nice atmosphere in the lounge area in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel was brilliant! Cosy, homely, friendly clean and great location! If you want somewhere with a bit of personality and a friendly atmosphere this is the place to go! staff were lovely and very helpful on what to do in the area! Log fire is so nice in the winter and makes the place really cozy, you feel right at home! Not 5 mins walk from the station, easily done with a backpack! Cleaned every day, kitchen was great and equipped with everything and free breakfast was good! Just lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Great cozy place to stay. Love the atmosphere. Really friendly people and cool board games.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
8.3

I love the atmosphere!!! everyone is so friendly:) awesome owner, good breakfast, good pizza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Home from home. A really friendly place, with sofas around the burning fire, board games and musical instruments for social time, where everyone comes together to share stories without devices from 6-9pm. Outside there is another area with a fire to socialise. Free tea and coffee any time is available. Bread/Toast and cereal for breakfast is provided. Owner happy to give advice on walks and is very helpful. I would thoroughly recommend staying here to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.7

An amazing place, everyone was friendly and we had an amazing time. I wish I could have stayed longer. The owner was really friendly and helpful, told us all the places to go

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.0

The flying fox is a great place to meet people. It's located very close to public transport access, had a nice view over the mountains and has all the facilities one requires for an enjoyable stay! The owner works very hard to keep the hostel in good, and cosy condition, maintaining fires inside and out, listening to music and providing treats for everyone like mulled wine or chocolates.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahsecker
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.7

If you are looking for a place to call home whilst staying in the Blue Mountains then look no further. The Flying Fox is the most homely hostel I've ever stayed in throughout my travels that I just keep going back. From "family" meals, mulled wine and chocolate biscuits, Guano the cat, free breakfast and that cosy living room with the fire, I love returning to Katoomba. Ross is full of recommendations of things to do in the area and his staff are all friendly and welcoming. Thankyou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.4

Very nice staff, Ross can give you good tips on what to do around the Blue Mountains. Also nice space in the living common area to socialize, no mobiles allowed in that area from 6-9pm so people interact "do as if it was 1993.." =D very relaxed environment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel for solo travellers looking to socialise with others. The Flying Fox is a small and cosy hostel geared at creating a social atmosphere with cheap dinner nights, board games and a fire to sit around every night and share your daily adventures. I only spent 3 nights here, but had a great time and would definitely return to continue exploring all the Blue Mountains have to offer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.