Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
The Flying Fox Located at 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, , Blue Mountains.
The Flying Fox
Australia
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 2780 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba
85% 468
-33.7095612 150.3090941
The Flying Fox
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
8.3

The Fox is a great hostel. Ross is fantastic and he always hires great staff. The location is great and so is social hour. It's a brilliant place to meet fun people! It was my second time staying here and I would definitely come back again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Great little hostel.Bathrooms were similiar to my old grandma's house (very old style) and at times had to wait for a few minutes to access. Nice common areas inside and outside. Staff and long termers are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend if staying for 3+ nights

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2016
7.1

I only stayed here for one night but I found that there was a lot of people that lived here long term and the rooms felt like I was intruding on someones flat. When I was here they had social time which meant that you couldn't use wifi for a few hours, its a good idea if your there long term but if you are there to explore the blue mountains for a few days its not ideal. The facilities were good and kept in a good condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.7

First hostel where I think: "Damned, I should stay longer"

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.3

Only stayed for two nights, nice, clean, good location and a friendly owner. The atmosphere wasnt very social, only four people spoke to us out of the whole hostel, we tried to speak with other guests but didnt get much in return. Only other complaint would be not enough bathrooms for amount of guests, we were always waiting to use them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

Quite a good hostel for the location, it was so cold though and needed more heaters and blankets for sure. Room was messy due to long termers so wasn't really anywhere to put my stuff and no working locker. Free breakfast was a bonus and nice atmosphere in the lounge area in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel was brilliant! Cosy, homely, friendly clean and great location! If you want somewhere with a bit of personality and a friendly atmosphere this is the place to go! staff were lovely and very helpful on what to do in the area! Log fire is so nice in the winter and makes the place really cozy, you feel right at home! Not 5 mins walk from the station, easily done with a backpack! Cleaned every day, kitchen was great and equipped with everything and free breakfast was good! Just lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
5.1

The bathroom is so dirty, and molding shower tiles! It looks awful. The guy who runs it is very nice but doesn't keep an eye on these things. One of the workers, an older lady dressed in black, who lives there and rooms with backpackers keeps the light on and decides when to turn if off at night! So inconsiderate! Overall, it felt unclean and inconsiderate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Great cozy place to stay. Love the atmosphere. Really friendly people and cool board games.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

I love the atmosphere!!! everyone is so friendly:) awesome owner, good breakfast, good pizza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.