X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Flying Fox Reviews

190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
379 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This place was wonderful. Ross was helpful in planning walks, welcoming, and went above and beyond (while I was there, he organized a free pasta bake for all of us). Very welcoming vibe with great people.


74%

The owner was very helpful with helping to decide which walks would suit us and then showing us on the map.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely hostel and fantastic atmosphere.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice hostel, got great advice for our hike and where to find the local cafés, restaurants and shops! Clean and both breakfast and sheets were included!

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A fantastic little hostel, cosy and extremely well run, with thoughtful additions like free breakfast, tea and coffee, biscuits in the evening and 'social time' between 6-9pm. This is how all hostels should be!


91%

Very friendly and original hostel owner who took us to see the sunset over the Blue Mountains out of a sudden inspiration dropping everything he was doing at that moment. Very charming!


89%

Flying fox was a fun and laid back hostel situated within 10 mins from katoomba station. We felt that the place despite being smaller than most hostels, was cozy and chill with Ross (the main man) doing such a good job. Unlile most places, Ross was warm and nice and took time off to know the people and even provided a pretty cool dinner option of pizza and company at the back yard. Overal, the flying fox was a pleasant experience with people genuinely wanting to make the place comfy and fun.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Group of people you meet really makes a difference but the dude goes out of his way to plan hiking routes.


86%

Great team, friendly atmosphere! Best bit? No television! Just good old fashioned chin wagging.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The Flying Fox was our first hostel. What a great way to kick off travelling! The staff were more than helpful with everything from what to expect at the hostel and what to do around the blue mountains. Couldn't have been friendlier. Lovely people who shared their stories and travels. The Flying Fox feels very homely, with its wood burning stove and comfort. Everything was very clean, breakfast, tea and coffee was provided and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a twin for free! Great!


100%

Amazing hostel, great atmosphere and family feel, Thank you so much, couldn't recommend enough

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Unfotunately no TimTams but the breakfast was good.


100%

This was such a great place to stay in the mountains. So informative, warm and friendly!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This was a lovely hostel! It was very welcoming and although we only stayed for one night, it was a warm and friendly atmosphere. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Blue Mountains!


91%

This was my first stay in a hostel ever and I'm extremely glad I chose The Flying Fox. As a solo female traveller from America (where we don't have hostels and hear all kinds of false horror stories about them) I was very impressed with not only how safe I felt staying in the female dorm but how welcomed I was by everyone staying in the hostel! We had a great jam session during the family time from 6-9pm and it was awesome to hang with some really neat people. Stay here, you won't regret it!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

If i had known thia hostel would be this amazing i would come all the way to the blue mountains for it and not for the views. no faults at all, it was perfect. thanks for a great stay!!


83%

I loved the Flying Fox, ok it's not all mod cons and the rooms are what they are but the people there are what make it. A lovely big room with a wood stove where guests are asked to obey no phones/laptops between 6-9pm, so people can talk and connect. We had a big meal together for both my nights and this again gets people chatting, then games after dinner which where a real good laugh! It's in a good location close to the train station and main road through the town, which leads to the mountain


100%

Awesome hostel, definitely going back.


91%

Keep doing what you're doing! Keep it personal and small as it is, makes people feel welcome and comfortable. I would definitely return here, if I was to visit the Mountains again. Perfect hostel for a long weekend getaway!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I have stayed in. It seems to attract the most friendly and down to earth people. The kitchen is so clean and well equipped with condiments. The fire at night is lovely. Has a very homely feel to it. Social time is ace because people have to talk to each other. The staff are really nice. The manager is fair and approachable.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Blue Mountains Hostels

Please give us your feedback