Hostelworld.com

The Flying Fox

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
The Flying Fox Located at 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, , Blue Mountains.
The Flying Fox
Australia
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 2780 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba
88% 432
-33.7095612 150.3090941
The Flying Fox
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel for solo travellers looking to socialise with others. The Flying Fox is a small and cosy hostel geared at creating a social atmosphere with cheap dinner nights, board games and a fire to sit around every night and share your daily adventures. I only spent 3 nights here, but had a great time and would definitely return to continue exploring all the Blue Mountains have to offer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.4

Just the perfect place if you want to visit the blue montains and meeting people. From 6 to 9 PM, there is this socialise time, which allow to meet everybody. In addition, we had a wonderful barbecue time. It is a friendly place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
9.4

This is a cozy and welcoming hostel where you are likely to meet lots of interesting people. Facilities were great and the owner is lovely! We stayed for 4 nights and would have stayed longer if we could. If you want a base to do lots of hiking in the blue mountains or you want to get away from hoards of people in the big cities then this is the place for you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

My stay in the Flying Fox was just lovely. The staff was very helpful regarding tips for hiking tracks around the area. The only thing that I didn't like as much is that there are only 3 bathrooms for all dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rhapeta9932
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

Really good atmosphere, friendly staff, comfortable beds, free biscuits handed out at night, lovely fire outside at night if you felt like sitting around a hot fire, free breakfast and wifi. I liked the art work and the comfy couches. Only downside was loud trains going by every hour at nighttime, but the second night I got earplugs so that solved that issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
8.6

Cozy hostel with lots of longtimers. Good atmosphere, would stay there again. Minor point: Lack of bathrooms in comparison to number of people can be a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Only stayed one night but lovely hostel with nice friendly staff and other travellers 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. A heaven for backpackers and climbers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.1

Great place! A real old-school hostel with a great community feel. Great place to meet people and great base for walking in the Blue Mountains, as the owner can give you any advise you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
8.6

Really cozy hostel with friendly people. Only spent one night at the hostel but i definitely would've stayed there longer if i had time. Very social hostel with activities planned sometimes and a no phone rule in the common area in order to talk to others and make friends. Really cool!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.