Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
The Flying Fox Located at 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba, , Blue Mountains.
The Flying Fox
Australia
Blue Mountains Blue Mountains 2780 190 Bathurst Road, Katoomba
87% 462
-33.7095612 150.3090941
The Flying Fox
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.4

Great little hostel.Bathrooms were similiar to my old grandma's house (very old style) and at times had to wait for a few minutes to access. Nice common areas inside and outside. Staff and long termers are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend if staying for 3+ nights

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.7

First hostel where I think: "Damned, I should stay longer"

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.3

Only stayed for two nights, nice, clean, good location and a friendly owner. The atmosphere wasnt very social, only four people spoke to us out of the whole hostel, we tried to speak with other guests but didnt get much in return. Only other complaint would be not enough bathrooms for amount of guests, we were always waiting to use them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

Quite a good hostel for the location, it was so cold though and needed more heaters and blankets for sure. Room was messy due to long termers so wasn't really anywhere to put my stuff and no working locker. Free breakfast was a bonus and nice atmosphere in the lounge area in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel was brilliant! Cosy, homely, friendly clean and great location! If you want somewhere with a bit of personality and a friendly atmosphere this is the place to go! staff were lovely and very helpful on what to do in the area! Log fire is so nice in the winter and makes the place really cozy, you feel right at home! Not 5 mins walk from the station, easily done with a backpack! Cleaned every day, kitchen was great and equipped with everything and free breakfast was good! Just lovely!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
5.1

The bathroom is so dirty, and molding shower tiles! It looks awful. The guy who runs it is very nice but doesn't keep an eye on these things. One of the workers, an older lady dressed in black, who lives there and rooms with backpackers keeps the light on and decides when to turn if off at night! So inconsiderate! Overall, it felt unclean and inconsiderate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Great cozy place to stay. Love the atmosphere. Really friendly people and cool board games.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.3

I love the atmosphere!!! everyone is so friendly:) awesome owner, good breakfast, good pizza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Home from home. A really friendly place, with sofas around the burning fire, board games and musical instruments for social time, where everyone comes together to share stories without devices from 6-9pm. Outside there is another area with a fire to socialise. Free tea and coffee any time is available. Bread/Toast and cereal for breakfast is provided. Owner happy to give advice on walks and is very helpful. I would thoroughly recommend staying here to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2016
9.7

An amazing place, everyone was friendly and we had an amazing time. I wish I could have stayed longer. The owner was really friendly and helpful, told us all the places to go

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.