Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Flying Fox

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 503 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
10.0

This is probably the best hostel I've stayed at. The decor makes it cosy and welcoming whether you've just arrived or have been there for weeks, everything is cleaned regularly, and the beds are comfier than even the one I have at home. Ross, the owner, works really hard to make this place somewhere that travellers can relax and connect with each other, and is easily accessible by phone for any concerns. I'd stay there again, no question.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
8.6

The hostels in Aus so far have been a bit off and very different to Asia, very clicky and not great for the money. Here Ross makes you feel very welcome and get everyone together as well as providing great local info for walks etc. He is also great at finding people jobs here and there too. Will deffo be returning to stay a little longer in the summer. There are pasta and BBQ nights too so you can always get a good meal, brekkie is decent and a nice crowd. He even upgraded our room for us which

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • imskog4452
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

Social and cosy hostel. The no-screens-rule is a nice idea. Ross, the owner, is super-helpful and not only helped us plan our trek but gave us a ride there. Tim-tams in the evening and pancakes in the morning made us feel very much at home. It's get's a bit cold once the sun sets but there is plenty of radiators to keep you warm. (It was the middle of winter when we were there) If you're a cat-person you have an extra furry friend to pamper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
8.6

Amazing vibe, really cosy and made some awesome friends :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.9

Cosy hostel, the staff is incredible and of good advice. A 6 to 9 pm "no mobile phone" policy applies, which is extremely pleasant. People oriented place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.9

The place was very homey. Lots of people from various backgrounds that seemed to Get along well. Only 2 bathrooms inside and one toilet outside so that would be the only downfall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Very cosy hostel with a homely atmosphere and good vibes. Short walk from the station and main street, free bfast, clean, fun common area with a fireplace. I really appreciate the emphasis on guests getting to know each other instead of everyone sitting glued to their phones or laptops. The evening 'no screens' policy was refreshing and, in fact, I avoided the internet altogether the whole weekend I was there. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
9.4

Best hostel in Australia so far! Recommended if looking for a sociable and extra homely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.1

Lovely staff. Clean. Eclectic guests! Nice brekkie. Homely hostel. I enjoyed my intro to Katoomba. Tx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
9.7

Would highly recommend this place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.