Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.0

Uncomfortable bed and noise all night from bar downstairs made sleep very difficult - I could feel every spring in the mattress! The rooms weren't very clean, lots of dust and someone's left clothes under bed. Freezing cold rooms, with no heaters on. Plugs not easily accessible. But handy en suite bathroom and kitchen in 6 bed dorm as well as tv which was nice. Fine for a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice little hostel right in the middle of York. Staff were all very nice. Rooms didn't have any lockers that I was aware of but other than that seemed secure. Beds weren't the best and the showers are a bit weird since there's no curtain or door meaning the water gets everywhere. Other than that, everything was super clean and all the facilities appears quite new. Atmosphere wasn't the best but I wasn't expecting much in York. All in all, probably your best option if you're travelling here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Modern hostel with plug sockets near beds and single stall shower/ bathrooms. Excellent food at the restaurant next door. Be aware that the hostel is above a bar which played loud music til 3am (on weeknights). Beds are also spring mattresses that are unfortunately pretty uncomfortable (but new with clean white bedding). Didn't see any pub crawls / social events organized for the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Only stayed one night in York on our way to Edinburgh but definitely a must! The Fort was an incredible hostel! Rooms were amazing. There weren't any big security lockers for luggage but small ones available for valuables. As we stayed only one night this wasn't a big deal for us but could see it being a problem on longer stays. We partied at Kennedys Bar that night which is next door and offers discounts to hostel stayers. Quite loud if you're after a quiet hostel because of bar but we loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Gianco
  • Peru, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel, great city. The place to stay in York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.1

One of the nicest and cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in with all the facilities you can think of. It may have been the time of year but there weren't too many people staying which made it a little boring. But the hostel itself was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
9.7

A great experience. The hostel has everything you'll need including an ironing board (which came into great us), all toiletries and coffee/tea - it makes it really easy for travellers to enjoy their stay in the hostel. The staff are wonderful and are always smiling and happy to help. It's in a great location near all the restaurants/pubs, station and sites. It definitely attracts a young crowd which added to the experience. Very glad I stayed here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel is set up more like apartments, which is unusual, but sort of nice; my room had a bedroom, living room, and fully equipped kitchen (including a washer!). Location was great, right in the center of the Old Town. It was weird that there was no reception; you check in and out at the bar next door. And no lockers was a bit weird, too, but nothing happened to my stuff, so it was fine. Wifi was okay. Beds were super uncomfortable, though; I could feel every single spring digging into me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

The fort boutique was clean and efficient. However a few things in the room didn't work properly.The side lights had a loose connection, the heater didn't seem to work so it was cold in the room and the blinds were extremely difficult to operate. However the beds were comfortable. Be prepared that at weekends the bar downstairs is unbearably noisy and the earplugs they give you are not enough to block out the sound! Great location if you can put up with the noise till 3am!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ccottee
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
10.0

Superb location and value for money. Great quality bunks and clean bathroom. Couldn't ask for more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.