Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
7.7

Room perhaps a chair in room would be good . Perhaps get the lift working . All staff and Kennedy's bar was grand and helpful food excellent .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel! It could have a common area to meet other people and the bar downstairs has loud music till late on weekends but I had a good experience on the hostel overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
2.0

My booking was cancelled on the spot because I forgot to bring an ID, they said it was on their terms and conditions but I double checked Hostelworld and that was not mentioned there... it was for the best, I found a place half the price at the racecourse with breakfast included, not the location of this hostel but definitely much better attention...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Kitchen and bathrooms are lovely and beds comfy. Gets noisy around end of week with the bars below but they provide ear plugs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.9

Great friendly staff, good atmosphere! Good location except it gets very noisy at night over the weekend with all the bars around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.9

Absolutely amazing staff - Yvonne was just the most lovely lady who made us feel so welcome, and helped us save about £30 on York Mister tickets (ask her first if you're planning to go!) Great location, but SUPER loud at night - right above a bar that plays music until 3am every night, so loud that my pillow was vibrating and my ear plugs were useless! Also nice kitchen and common space, very central, close to supermarkets and bus/train station. Great comfy mattresses in dorms too!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.1

Great location for the city itself but 15 minute walk from the train station. staff are friendly, very clean place. The bathrooms were spacious and clean but as the shower and toilet are in one room they needed a door across the shower area as the whole floor gets wet. The rooms had a key which was good for security yet no lockers for your stuff. Great kitchen, great common room area. The only thing that was big turn off for me is that the dorm rooms are above a bar which makes it hard to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.1

The Fort Boutique was amazing! The floor manager was especially nice and upgraded everyones room so that we were all in a nicer room with an ensuite. Very clean and friendly staff. Kennedys Bar downstairs was also very good and the two for one burger deal was sweet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
10.0

In one word.... Amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Loved the hostel, it was lovely inside and out! Two gorgeous kitchens well equipped with coffee and lots of different teas. Private bathroom in the dorm was great, and it was perfectly clean and functionning. The towels are also a big plus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.