Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
8.0

The dorms are right above a bar area with loud, pounding music and screaming people until 3am. You will not sleep well here. If you want to party until 3am, then you'll love this hostel. Great location. Great facilities. A bit expensive on weekends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • IIeanaMene
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.0

I was completely disappointed in this hostel. It was way too expensive and didn't live up to what it promised. There were no lockers or places to keep your things whatsoever. The staff never cleaned the facilities. And it didn't provide any hang out spaces, or any kind of privacy for the beds. The only upside was the great location, but it isn't enough to make it worth recommending.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.7

Had some troubles with security, rooms could do with lockers, even small ones to keep a few valuables. Great location in the middle of where everything is happening in York!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
8.0

Clean, modern, excellent staff. Very central however its located over a bar/nightclub which meant we weren't able to sleep till they closed at 2am as the music was really loud, even when we closed the windows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

It was amazing place to spend couple of days clean and all was great thank you so much I hope the keep doing the best

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gavinmcleanelectrician8198
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
10.0

Great spot, super clean, great staff, I wish other hostel owners would spend a couple nights at this one and took notes. They do all the little things right. Great towels. Free lockers. Free ear plugs (read below). The down side is that it is in such a great location. We were there on a Saturday night while the festival was in town, the pub downstairs is the place to be in town and it went til 3 am. Best hostel we've stayed at ... maybe ever?? It was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice, good locations, not good for solo travelers, rooms in the main building were very smelly and had no fresh air/a.c For a bed it's ok, not more than that. During the weekends prices are crazy expensive

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.9

First I have to say I would definitely stay again in this hostel. The biggest withdrawal is the loud music during the night, because it depends on you but I nearly didn't get a wink of sleep. Friday night was worse than Saturday maybe it's better during the week. But otherwise it's a really good hostel, nice staff (but you just find them when you go to the pub downstairs, I think all of them work there). The facilities are beautiful and really clean and generous. Location is perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

Great location right in the city centre and they provide so much - towels, toiletries, hot drinks, hairdryers - free of charge. THe dormitory was very comfortable and had a fan which was useful as the room was hot. It could be quite noisy at night although they provided earplugs. I would have also preferred a single sex dorm and Saturday night rates are twice as much as any other night which was a bit steep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Great place to stay. I especially loved the bathrooms, which were beautiful and new, and they give you a big, fluffy towel too. It's not a quiet hostel, with a bar downstairs, but it's in a great location and the staff were super friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.