X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Fort Boutique Hostel Reviews

1 Little Stonegate, York, York, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
987 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Stayed in a private twin with en-suite. Room was nicely presented and had a TV. The shower was very powerful. The room got quite hot, probably 'cause it was almost in the roof. Apart from needing a few extra hooks - particularly in the bathroom - to hang clothes on, the only complaint we had was noise. The hostel is in a very central location which is really handy but the bar attached to it, Kennedy's, has a roof terrace which our room overlooked. People were out there 'til 2 am being very loud.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a lovely hostel! Wish we stayed longer!! The rooms were very modern, everything was clean and organised!! The showers were fantastic. Wifi was a bit iffy sometimes but overall was the best hostel we have stayed in for our entire trip


80%

Excelent location, nice clean rooms, WiFi and free computers, big shared kitchen . Only downside is the loud music at weekends, since the Fort stays just above a pub.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Rooms weren't too cramped with power outlets at each bed (including top bunks). Free lockers just outside the rooms and free luggage storage after checking out. Bathrooms were clean and rarely had trouble finding an empty one (although no separation between shower and rest of the room meant almost the whole floor was wet after). Full kitchen and free coffee/tea; free computer with internet (though the wifi worked fine for me). One con was how loud it can get but I was too tired to really care.


94%

Had a great time staying at The Fort - fab location in the Centre of York, 10 minute walk from the station and just minutes from York Minster. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable, and Kennedy's next door has great food - if you stay in The Fort you get 20% off! Would highly recommend.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Super place, - don't get a noisy room, overlooking the outdoor drinking area - very noisy, late at night ! Otherwise, fabulous. Staff are really helpful and friendly; the place is beautifully clean, and the food at Kennedy's is wonderful ! Thank you folks, for a lovely stay.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall a very good stay, very clean and good facilities. It's above a bar, so very noisy and I wasn't warned of that. The bathroom lock wasn't working, which was quite tricky as it's shared with 8 people.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Bigger bang for the buck, highly recommended :-)

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic location in the centre of York.Very clean and beautiful rooms.Friendly helpful staff.Our party of eight stayed in Stonegate3 and it is like a private apartment.It can be abit noisy from being in the centre and above Kennedy's bar but we all slept fine.Have already booked for next year!

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place


89%

The guy who checked us in was really helpful and friendly. The kitchen area was very nice, especially with the tea/coffee/juice for free. The bar was nice, but the music at night is kind of too loud. It was ok in the room we were in which was the furthest away. We did go to the bar for a drink and found that the music was good but too loud, especially for a weeknight. The hostel was very good though overall.


80%

The location was fantastic, I had no problems with noise and all facilities were excellent. Well deserving of the award won. Thanks for a great stay.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • ibbotsonj
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The facilities of The Fort Boutique Hostel are among the best I have seen in a hostel in Europe. The staff does a very good job.


94%

The Fort has again met every expectation and beyond. It is a genuine pleasure to stay at this marvelous hostel whose comforts far outshine those of any other hotel or hostel I have stayed at in the UK. Staff are as usual very helpful and welcoming, rooms are spotless and beautifully furnished, lounge and kitchen are superbly equipped. Bathrooms are still among the very best one may find. I expect to return many, many times. A word of caution: Kennedy's Bar downstairs is loud; plan to have fun!


97%

I have nothing but great things to say. The staff were kind and helpful, the cleanliness was hotel-level, and its location was central. I heard a couple guests complain about the noise that happened at night when people were out enjoying the great clubs that are nearby, but honestly that's to be expected. You know you've reserved a room in a hostel above a bar, so don't complain when it gets loud. Plus free earplugs are available in the common room! I would highly recommend this hostel!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Poor for security as there were no lockers in the room. Small metal lockers available in the Little Stonegate side, had to walk onto street to get to other side of hostel (other side of pub). Lockable area in pub but only accessible during pub hours. Too many beds in room and very cramped, lucky there were only 4 in the six bed dorm. No lift on Stonegate side, lift broken on Little Stonegate side. Positive - had free access to washer and dryer. Kitchen/lounge on Little Stonegate side was good.


97%

Staff was super friendly and helpful. Everything was really clean and the access to a washing machine and kitchen facilities was much appreciated!! Greater access to lockers or locked storage would be my only suggestion.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great staff, the girls were very helpful and friendly, best hostel we have stayed in!


91%

it's a very cozy hostel right in the center of york. it can get a bit noisy in the evenings though because of the pubs in the street. nice kitchen.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Extremely noisy outside. I do not know the British regulations for noise & pubs, but in Spain this level of noise on the streets after 23h is not tolerable at all. Nevertheless, it was a very nice detail to find earplugs in the kitchen. Orange juice was also artificial and disgusting

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all York Hostels

Please give us your feedback