Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.6

The location was really good, And the staff was nice. The room was clean, and had a large shower which was great. The only problems were the noise from the hostel bar, and it also got so hot at night we couldn't sleep.. it whould have been nice if there was an electric fan in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • redrosebeetle
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.7

The hostel is very nearly spotless. I have the impression that they go the extra mile to give good service to make up for being next door to a very loud pub.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.7

It's basically a normal apartment; just with the fact that there are 6 beds in the bedroom. You definitely get to know the other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
8.6

Bad: Only 2 sockets in 6 bed dorm room. Good: Big common area with free coffee and chocolate 24 hrs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
1st May 2017
9.4

I was only there for one night and the place was basically empty on a Monday night so can't comment on the atmosphere but very comfortable, great facilities, clean and staff were great, definitely stay here if in York

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.4

Absolutely loved this hostel. Facilities are great - ample chargers, good common area with TV, nice big clean kitchen, good showers, free laundry, you name it. Location is superb. Yvonne, (who I believe is the manager there) is great and goes out of her way for the guests. There is loud music 2+ floors down in the pub late at night on weekends, but earplugs are provided and it was manageable for sure. Only thing I would say could be improved would be curtains for the bed to allow some privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
7.7

Room perhaps a chair in room would be good . Perhaps get the lift working . All staff and Kennedy's bar was grand and helpful food excellent .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel! It could have a common area to meet other people and the bar downstairs has loud music till late on weekends but I had a good experience on the hostel overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
2.0

My booking was cancelled on the spot because I forgot to bring an ID, they said it was on their terms and conditions but I double checked Hostelworld and that was not mentioned there... it was for the best, I found a place half the price at the racecourse with breakfast included, not the location of this hostel but definitely much better attention...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Kitchen and bathrooms are lovely and beds comfy. Gets noisy around end of week with the bars below but they provide ear plugs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.