X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Fort Boutique Hostel Reviews

1 Little Stonegate, York, York, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1040 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such a lovely hostel would stay here again.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

That was a 5 star hostel experience

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Beds are not to comfortable. But the poor was more relates to a guy in the room that not even the free ear plugs helped. Everything else was exelent


97%

The staf both at the hostel and Kennedys were amazing. The only issue was that the apt I was in had no Wifi


97%

The staff were extremely nice, they made you feel very at home


94%

I read quite a lot of comments about the noisy environment in the hostel, but turn out we had 2 very sweet dream-nights in a fancy room after request. Staffs are nice. The atmosphere is excellent if you're a party-goer. Just downstairs in the Kennedy's Bar. The hostel have a free service bar, there you can get coffee, tea, hot chocolate on your own. We love the Twinings tea bags :)


94%

Great place to stay. However the noise from bar next door on weekends is ridiculous. They supply free ear plugs but dont expect to sleep till after 2am!

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The Fort Hostel was by far the best Hostel I have in while I have been York, I definitely recommend staying here :)

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Probably the cleanest hostel I've stayed in and I've stayed in a LOT! Very comfortable bed with clean linen and as warm as toast on a night. Excellent location, just 10 mins from train station. Clearly, the hostel has been professionally designed and constructed with numerous designer fittings. Facilities boast free internet and excellent cooking facilities Free tea and coffee are provided (with milk)


100%

I enjoyed my stay very much, if I come back one day, I definitely choose the Hostel again! Greetings to Yvonne, who was very lovely! :-D Laura from Germany


97%

I had a great stay. The bar underneath was loud but not too loud I couldn't sleep, plus they have earplugs if you need them. Yvonne is the sweetest lady ever, she'll gladly help you with just about anything!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It wasn't the quietest place in York, but it was probably the most central. Don't stay there if you really want to sleep, but do stay there if you want to be able to walk around the lovely centre of York. On Friday night, the music was loud until 11pm and Saturday night, it didn't stop until around 2am or later. It could benefit from double glazing, better mattresses & turning down the temperature of the shower water, but they did provide FREE EARPLUGS. Otherwise, clean, tidy & friendly.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

I didnt find it noisy, but stayed on a Sunday and Monday night so cant comment on noise levels later in the week / at the weekend. there were packs of earplugs in each room however. free laundry is a nice bonus.


91%

This hostel is located right in the centre of town! Impressed by the facilities such as the free washing and free hot chocolate. Apart from the malfunctioning heater in the room which made noises when you turned it up too high, it is a good stay.


63%

Perfect location, but: Room was just above a bar/disco. Music was so loud that the beds were vibrating and you could sing a long on the music even if you were using earplugs. But if you are out until late it's no problem, since the music stops at 02am.


94%

Overall the nicest, cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at, only issue was the noise from the club downstairs, couldn't believe it was actually vibrating up through the bunks! Had to sleep with earplugs and my headphones on top. But other than that, really lovely, and appreciated the 20% discount from the food at Kennedy's.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a very good hostel in the centre of York!


91%

It an be loud at night because of two Clubs nearby.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Lovely facilities with great kitchen, very clean and centrally located. However it is basically above a nightclub and was incredibly loud to the point where the walls were vibrating. It's a shame it's literally on top of what seems to be be only loud club in York as otherwise it would be a great. Some of the staff were not that friendly and reception is just the bar/club so some of the staff in there don't know what is going on with the hostel. Overpriced considering it's impossible to sleep.


86%

super loud would be my downfall...otherwise awesome




View all York Hostels

Please give us your feedback