Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Fort Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
The Fort Boutique Hostel Located at 1 Little Stonegate, York, York.
The Fort Boutique Hostel
England
York NORTH YORKSHIRE 1 Little Stonegate, York
93% 1179
53.9607189 -1.0833764
The Fort Boutique Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Nice enough to let us change rooms when we didn't feel comfortable in our first one. Great location. Comfortable rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location, right in the centre of the city good security with a code to get in the front door and then a key to the rooms. Very clean with heaps of facilities, and a really nice kitchen. There wasn't much of an atmosphere, there seemed to be an older crowd which wasn't great if you wanted to socialise. I was lucky that I made some friends in my dorm. No reception desk, so you go to the bar next door to check in. Staff were friendly, but none in the hostel so it was be hard to ask questions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
6.9

It's a nice hostel environment, with a good lounge (although the seats aren't too comfy) and spacious, clean kitchen. While the location is very central, they do not warn you that you are located directly above a bar. The nice thing is that you get 20% off food there while staying at the hostel, and it's pretty good food. The not-so-nice thing is that both nights we were there (Wednesday and Thursday), the bar blasts music until very late at night, and you can feel the bass in your hostel bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed 4 nights at the Fort and the whole stay was great. Super nice shared dorm with private bathroom (shower pressure was fantastic 😍). I did get lost through all the hallways several times.. But everything else was great. Perfect location! And the bar and restaurant down below are wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place! Super easy and quick to walk from train station and all around York. Food in restaurant and staff is fantastic! Only huge complaint was the horrible spring couldn't sleep due to pressures of metal from springs. They need to be replaced! Otherwise awesome place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome Hostel ( Though Breakfast isn't actually included, the own the restaurant next door & you get 20% off So its still fairly cheap but just a heads up !). But really fantastic & big comfy beds !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place, easy and convenient with great facilities and very clean!!!. Only drawback was the late music in the bar below, but have slept through worse....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Nice hostel ideally located in York center. Everything is new inside. Check-in/out is a little wonky - you have to check in at the bar next door - but everyone there is friendly and ready to help. Plenty of privacy in the room as each bed is in a capsule-like space. Got a little stuffy in the room as only one small window. Overall, recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

A fantastic hostel placed in the most ideal location in York. The staff were absolutely friendly and helpful and the hostel - all areas - were clean and presentable. I didn't give the hostel full rating because of the atmosphere but this was probably because I went during the week so it wasn't busy at this time. Definitely will stop here again and will advise it to anybody who wishes to stay in York.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.4

I had a really great stay, what a great place and such nice staff, I highly recommend this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.