X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Friendly Hostel Reviews

182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
320 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Well equipped hostel for a nice and relaxed stay in Hervey Bay. Rooms were all very nice and clean, facilities clean as well. Bikes to rent if you are too lazy to walk the longer distances through Hervey Bay. Free WiFi also a plus. Definitely recommend this place if you aren't looking for a party hostel in HB, but more for a calm place.


97%

Staff v friendly, free to use bikes available which were useful. V quiet and comfortable place to stay


89%

The kitchen was sometimes a little bit dirty. But very friendly staff and nice atmosphere.


94%

We really had a great time stayed in The Frinedly Hostel! Not only enjoy the sunset and sunrise at the beach near the hostel, but had a wonderful time took a good rest and met some new friends! Thank you, for all friends we met there.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice place to stay, felt like we had our own little apartment. Great price for money!

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

"The Friednly hostel" Hahaha good joke! Never again this hostel! The staff is not really friendly. But first the story: We stayed there for 2 nights and our greyhound left at 9 pm (very late). Check out time was 10 am (normal). Unfortunately the weather was too bad! It rained cats and dogs! Really horrible. Anyways, we asked them whether it's possible to wait inside the hostel for couple hours, until the rain will stop. Answer of the "friendly" staff. "Yes sure, but 10$ each" what?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Marc, my friend, it really makes me sad when we work so hard to have people enjoy their stay and then someone like you comes along that is this unhappy about their experience , not because the experience was bad but because you had to pay for it ! Next time you must check in with the Salvation Army, they are a not-for-profit charity in Hervey Bay. The fact is that you used our kitchen, bathroom,internet, television and bikes the whole day - all these things cost us money !

97%

Very nice and as it is said friendly hostel! Nothing to complain about it loved that stay:)


86%

We stayed in one of the double private rooms. It was quite cozy. We messed up the times we were supposed to be picked up but they still picked us up at the greyhound station. We spent an over night trip to Fraser island and the friendly Host l held onto our luggage. They have bikes you can use and work a certain number of hours for a nights stay.


63%

This hostel could not be further away from town. No supermarket close, so have to go to a convenience store which is very expensive and had few options. The owner/manager was very nice and helpful. He gave me a ride to the Greyhound station when no shuttles were going. He was friendly and knew me by name, even though I only stayed one night. The French girl working at the hostel was very rude and was yelling at other guests to move out of her way when she was cleaning. Fast, free wifi. Chilled.


91%

This was one of the best hostels we stayed in during our RTW trip. The owner is very friendly and helps you finding and booking the best trip to Fraser Island, skydiving and other things. We could do our laundry for free and there´s fast and free WIFI everywhere. The hostel is divided in several units. There were 3 rooms in our unit in total and therefore we had to share the kitchen and the bathroom with only 4 other people. It was very quiet and easy going.


100%

so nice staff


97%

It was very welcoming and not as impersonal as most hostels are!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Hervey Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback