Hostelworld.com

The Friendly Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.9
The Friendly Hostel Located at 182 Torquay Rd, , Hervey Bay.
The Friendly Hostel
Australia
Hervey Bay Queensland 4655 182 Torquay Rd
83% 393
-25.2866786 152.8574931
The Friendly Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2016
7.4

WiFi was really great!! Hervey bay is quite quiet but the friendly hostel is a nice simple place to stay if you need somewhere not to pricey to facilitate visiting Fraser island. They had air conditioning but the wire couldn't reach the plug hole which was fairly frustrating. The hostel picked up and dropped us off from the bus station which saved us from carrying our heavy bags, and they let us spend the day there while it rained until our late bus arrived so overall were very accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2016
9.4

Great, I would recommend this to anyone staying at Hervey Bay. Really felt like home! We had almost private living room and kitchen. The free use of bikes was also awesome. Super friendly reception and atmosphere. Wow!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Mar 2016
4.3

Hostel was very poorly run. No shuttle to pick us up at 7pm from bus stop. No directions either by hostel! Had to find the number to ring the hostel to get our key, as reception was closed (seemed to always be closed). Even though the owner lived upstairs he didn't even come down to meet us! Ants were everywhere. The reception doesn't open till 8am, if you're leaving earlier than this, you can't leave your bags here to be locked up while you go to Fraser Island! -Seemed like we were a nuisance

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, if you had replied to our initial email when you booked , in which we ask all the questions that you referred to in your writing, there would not have been any problem ! I do not live on site and ants come out of no where when the rain is on its way. Unfortunately can not control nature - sorry !

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.0

really nice set up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2016
8.3

Stayed one night pretty cool setup. Stay here if you wanna solid place to crash after Fraser Island. Brah

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2016
6.6

Our arrival was unpleasant, we said in the booking we would arrive at 9pm. When we arrived at 8.45pm, the reception was closed and there was no one there. We called the number that was indicated and someone told us where we could find our key. He wasn't friendly or offered any further explanations. Other than that the hostel was okay, nothing special. They also did not respond regularly to our emails regarding booking of trips.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kenzdunlop
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Nov 2015
7.1

Love the way it was set up like a little home! Very cool atmosphere, felt like home. Free bikes were good, just only had one gear which make riding difficult. Real downside was everything closes early and to get any food past 7 or 8pm you have to walk 3km for fast food, which isn't ideal. A pretty sleepy city. But hostel itself was lovely. Really enjoyed this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2015
9.7

Although we only stayed one night we really enjoyed our stay here. It didn't feel like a hostel at all but like a small apartment we had been upgrade to. The staff were really nice and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2015
8.3

The Friendly Hostel is fantastically different. It's set up into units (each having a kitchen, TV area, bathroom, etc) which gives a great homely atmosphere. It's perfect for relaxing for a few days away from typical backpacker hostels. The manager (Gary), however, is incredibly rude. An incredibly dismissive manner about him, his attitude towards me (which was caused over something completely minor and insignificant) has ruined my stay. He doesn't know how to handle guests. What a shame!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2015
9.1

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay before or after your trip to fraser...look no further this is it! The staff can pick you up and drop you off at the greyhound bus stop (torquay), double rooms are big and bed very comfy, the hostel is basically four units with a kitchen and living room with tv in each, so it feels very homy. You can hire bikes for free and laundry is available for 3$. The units are clean and it is quiet at night. You can go to the beach by foot within 10 min.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.