Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Friendly Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.0

Nice, quiet hostel with good wifi and a good kitchen and no noisy partying backpackers. They pick you up at the bus stop and tell you about what there is to do in Hervey Bay, which was quite nice. I'd just recommend everyone to stay in Pialba than in Torquay, as this is the part of Hervey Bay where all the shops are. It's quite a walk to get there from this hostel. However, they offer free bikes, which is very nice. No air-conditioning, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Stayed for one night after doing a two day tour of Fraser Island. I ended up having a whole unit to myself which was great after a busy couple of days. The unit was well furnished with a kitchen, bathroom and lounge area. The unit was very clean. The staff were helpful and welcoming. They even provide a free shuttle bus to Torquay bus station for those getting a Greyhound bus. This was very helpful on the day I checked out as it was quite hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

If you want a party hostel, don't stay here. Otherwise, it's absolutely perfect and highly recommend it. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Cleanliness is unbeatable. You are quite close to the beach and cafes of the esplanade. This absolutely made my stay in Hervey Bay. In the midst of a long travel and bouncing between hostels, the friendly hostel felt so comfortable and homey. You'll love it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.0

Stayed with my friend in a double room here, the lay out is nice as its split up into small apartment style bits, a few rooms sharing kitchen and bathroom facilities. Close to the beach, staff were friendly and helpful. Advertised as having air con but you do have to pay extra for that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • FireyRedFox
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Jan 2017
7.1

Gary was lovely and so helpful in making recommendations and giving advice. Our first night was fine but our second night he was away and the quality of the cleaning had decreased.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Dec 2016
8.6

Me and my partner had a double room here. The place was a little dated but was clean and had all the things you need. The rooms are setting into small house like units which is nice. If you're doing a Fraser Island tour the buses pick you up right outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.7

Everything was perfect! Free shuttle from the bus stop, super quiet and confortable, the staff very helpful , they leted me leave my staff when i went to fraser island, . I totally recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vwareham
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2016
7.1

The hostel was so quaint, quiet and relaxed! Perfect place to put your feet up and hangout in the TV room. Free bike hire was great! Only issue was the abnoxiously loud farting asian who was the housekeeper. Like uncomfortably loud farts every 5 minutes. Dude needs to get that checked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay here. Setup like apartments almost with a few rooms in each block sharing a kitchen and bathroom. Not much in the way of socializing but this was perfect for us, but solo travelers looking to meet people might find this lonely. Could definitely have stayed for longer and would stay again, even if on a more conventional holiday with a bigger budget as it provides everything we needed. + Guinea pigs at the front were a nice bonus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Very friendly and nice place to start for really cheap everyone is very friendly and easy to set everything up with just a great all around time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.