Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Friendly Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 468 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
8.6

lovely hostel, more like a house share. Just a shame its a bit far out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
8.0

Overall I was happy with this hostel it's nice and quiet - not a party hostel at all. Could actually have a decent nights sleep here. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Apr 2017
10.0

A home away from home. Had an excellent stay. Stayed a week, which was much longer than most people but we loved the area. A bit of a walk to supermarkets but free bikes are useful! We used the bikes to go up to Point Vernon...Worth the cycle :) Gary mentioned to us about the west coast trip to Fraser island which turned out to be a great day out. Even saw a turtle! Hostel was more of an apartment, it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Spent a night here before and after Fraser Island and really liked it. It has a homely feel, and the showers were excellent, beds comfortable and Wifi fast. I found the staff friendly and helpful, and the shuttle to the Greyhound was really useful. Definitely not a party place though so if that's important to you, go elsewhere. Overall I really recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Only stayed for one night before a day trip to lady elliot...Gary was super accomodating to our late/after hours arrival. Everything was neat and tidy, great value for money. Shopping centre (although closed when we arrived) is only a short walk away which is handy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Very quiet and great facilities. Definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Great experience here! Perfect place to kick back and unwind after a day or two (or three) on Fraser Island. Wifi is totally free, kitchens are well stocked, clean rooms, quiet atmosphere with television and book exchange to keep you entertained. A quick walk to the beach to soak up some rays or take a dip in the calm shallow waters. Cafes, restaurants, and retail shops almost line the whole esplanade. If you're staying for a few days, ask Gary or Ashley about working for accommodation and save!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.0

My stay at the friendly hostel was good. The room was clean and cosy. The owner was very nice and helpful. The hostel is very close to the beach and the Torquay greyhound bus stop is around 20 minutes walk away but there is a shuttle bus which you can arrange with the owner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place for a few night stay in Hervey Bay! Quite place with few beds. Perfect for relaxing and have a quite stay. Clean place and very available staff. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Very quiet, homely vibe. Very friendly staff. Decent little kitchens in each house, and showers with great water pressure! This is a hostel if you just want to keep yourself to yourself, not a party vibe, which I really liked. Free bikes if you want to bike around town. Location was fine, walking distance to the main boardwalk and a very very short bus ride to the big shopping centers. Free shuttle picked me up and dropped me back at the Greyhound coach stop which was very handy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.