X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Friendship Reviews

Singel opposite 77, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
124 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Pros: location location location - it is excellent in relation to the train station and much of the fun sights and sounds of the city. Cons: Proprietor actually lives on the same boat - not clearly laid out or mentioned in the ad. Not a huge problem at all, but quite a different feeling from thinking you will have the accommodation to yourself

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Fabulous boat, great location, lovely size and Chris was extremely helpful and friendly, I would stay here again! Many thanks!

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This houseboat was incredibly; perfect if you have a small group and don't want to mingle with other at a hostel.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

This Friendship Boat was nice for the price !! Been there with 3 friends and everything was great. The host was welcoming and give to us some usefull advice and comment about Amsterdam. He was also discreet and let us liberty on his boat. If i'm going again in Amsterdam, i undoubtedly book for this one. we are recommand you this place ;).

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Well, hi Chris (manager of the hostel) all four of us staying agree to say that the value for money was poor for these reasons: - The advertisement promised a lot, but once there, a lot of what was promised wasn't available - The owner seems fairly light headed and disorganized -The repairs to be done on the boat are many, and we would have appreciated them being done before our arrival, not at 01 am!

  • 16th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

well, the boat itself was pretty goood, basic bunkbeds , reasoable size, its close too several really good coffee shops However when we arrived at 12.30 pm the boat was not ready . and our room had a washing machine in it and we couldnt relax the boat wasnt vclear untill 9.30 pm . we found this quite annoying, im sure it wouldnt be like this all the time probably a one off , but even so when we asked for sme money back because of this we were declined. also the bloke is nice but really full on

  • 18th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a great experience to stay on a houseboat in such a great part of Amsterdam. The boat is very smoker friendly (there's even a cheeky bong provided) and in general was a really nice place to stay. I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks Chris!

  • 2nd Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Expensive for what it is. Location is fantastic, guy on the boat is a bit strange (but he does live on a boat). Could be cleaner, but enjoyed trip all the same.

  • 11th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice stay on the boat! Perfect location, 3 min walk from the main station. Chilling neighbourhood and stuff. The place isn't the cleanest in town (guess) but OK and it's much more freedom than in any hotel or backpacker. Host is legend. Would go back if I return to Amsterdam.


77%

good position, very fun place to stay!the owner is funny and polite, he always gives information and help! the cleanless is not the best! suggested, of course!


93%

IT is genial staying ata boat in the river. The owner its a cool guy and very polite. It.s diferenta a very cool


93%

Best!!! If you want to live in a truely Amsterdam place - that's it! It's a boat, only one room for guests and one for the "staff" - I mean for the boat's owner, nice and funny man. You have a big window on the ceiling, about 15 different small cosy lamps, a computer right in the room, a kitchen, a shower - and all Amsterdam on your own! Plus great location: very quet place - edge of the "red-light district" and only 10 minutes to the main square. It's really the best!


77%

Good address, especially if you are a group of 4 people. You'll share the kitchen and the bathroom with the owner, who lives on the other side of the boat. It's quite small, but it's comfortable, and clean (except the kitchen when we were there). You'll be very close to the center of the city and the central station.


100%

four of us stayed on the friendship and all of us agreed it was the ideal accomadation. the owner chris is lovely and very friendly. the location was perfect we were close to everything. the boat itself is in good condition and i would recommend it to anyone travelling in a small group.

  • 19th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


93%

What a great boat! Location is spot on, check out the veiw from the window at night up the canal. Everything you need is on this boat. The boat has got loads of character and beats staying in a hotel anyday. If you get to see the owner, pick his brains about Amsterdam, he knows his stuff! Will be returning here.


90%

A fantastic set up on the boat which was very easy to find and in a great location, beats staying in a hostel anyday!

  • 13th Jan 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing, the ideal place for you to stay in amsterdam, good location, near the central station and very quiet street, I recommend, very very nice place!!!

  • 25th Nov 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female
  • (1 review)


80%

Unique experience in Ams. If you're looking for a lot of fun, go to a hostel. If you want a clean, posh, cozy place, book a hotel. But if you're a group of 3 or 4, wanna be close to the hype and yet in a very quite area and looking to relax and have fun in a boat-house with your friends, this is the place to be. Good bunk beds, good shower, boat is not so clean but okay, nice heating, free pc & internet, games onboard...fun. Owner is a guide and will help you a lot. PS:Don't expect to use the kitchen to coo


73%

Fairly run down - A lot of spiders outside the boat on the deck - Still best experience in A'dam so far.


90%

Fell in love with this place after the first day... owner is chilled as and the location is amazing


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback