Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Funk House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Hostel is easy to access and sydney harbour is only a half hour walk. Free breakfast and wifi was definitely a selling point. Easy to make friends there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.9

Upsides it was a good location and the rooms were spacious and the beds were good quality not creeky. Downsides it is called the funk house for a reason it smells very funky. The smell in the kitchen and bathroom is very strange. There is also no air con meaning if it goes past 30 degrees it is very hard to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

On hot days, it's going to be really hot and Julis inside. Although there are two fans in a room. In the kitchen are cockroaches and we had one in our room. The fridges in the kitchen are very full so it can be complicated if you want to fit in your stuff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Sehr gutes Hostel! Kostenloses Wlan und Fruestueck

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
8.0

Overall, I had a good stay at funk house. It's conveniently located to trains and busses. 40 min walk to Opera house. Staff was very friendly and positive. Blankets also heavier which is nice and fan worked well. Wifi isn't good, maybe a C- to be generous. Towels cost 2 dollars with a 5 dollar deposit (7) and 20 deposit for staying at hostel. Hostel is located near a lot of strip clubs, but so what? Also, I saw a lot of gay guys so maybe a gay area of town. That was fun

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
5.1

room tiny tiny, cockroaches in the kitchen, roof top apparently closed at night. Left after a night! Stuff was nice though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
7.4

Good location!very kind and helpful people! No hand soap in the toilets!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Great fun atmosphere and friendly staff. I had a blast with the rooftop party. The place could do with a little maintenance though and they could use some fans or aircon in the rooms. Still, had a good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Hostel it's self was fine and the staff were really great. The rooftop garden is smaller than it looks but it was still nice to have it there. I just didn't much like the kings cross area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.