X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Funk House Reviews

23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
377 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Location was awesome, and the hostel looks absolutely stunning on the inside with all the doors painted differently. That said, the kitchen is small, doesn't really contain anything useful for eating, there's no common room to hang around in (except for a dirty place on top of the roof), the wifi is slow and the staff was not really anything to celebrate either. Oh, it was dirty too.


83%

The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast is a plus. It was very cold in my room when it was cold as windy outside.


91%

It was a really cool hostel whit a lot of art inside on the wall/doors. The staff was really friendly and helpfull whit a nice rooftop chilling place.the toilet and bathroom where clean. The only thing that I didnt liked was that there is no acces to the fridge after 9:30

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

One of the worst hostels I stayed in. The staff is way to busy trying to be cool. They care much more about themselfs as about the customer. When I wanted to check in I had to wait until they finished their talk behind the desk about rarely important things. Room was pretty dirty, thousands of hairs on my blanket and white spots on my sheet. Dirty and smelly bathrooms, extremely dirty and really bad equipped kitchen. Loud and drunk people every night. Not worth the money at all!!!!


63%

The hostel is ok, a bit pricey maybe, but we could not sleep due to the noise of people partying in the hostel rooms, even if that was not allowed. Unfortunately the staff did not do much to solve it, so if you want to sleep maybe think it twice before booking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, glad you found the hostel to be Ok. I did apologies for the noise that morning and since we have spoken to the night managers about enforcing noise restrictions. The hostel is in the entertainment district of the city and all that comes with it. The hostel has sent you an e-mail offering you a refund on the night the excessive noise occurred but we haven't heard back from you. Hope the rest of your travels have been quiet and peaceful. Look forward to hearing from you. FH Crew

63%

Fun party hostel if that is what you are looking for. Staff was really Nice helpfull and funny! Location is great!


91%

One of the best hostels I've seen in Australia. Room size no more than 4 beds, the roo. Was relatively cool, And space to hang clothes as well as lock things away. Awesome roof top terrace and tv room where you can meet folk. The staff try hard to organize events. Great experience overall, cheers guys and a shout out to Joanna!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Suze, glade you enjoyed your stay at the Funk House and all it has to offer. Sounds like you fully embraced what we are all about and what backpacking is all about. Look forward to having you stay again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards FH Crew

49%

The bathrooms are dirty and mouldy and the carpet stinks like smelly feet... To come home at night is just a risk because of all the drunk people around there...

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry you felt the hostels cleanliness wasn't up to standard. We do schedule regular daily cleaning and checks. Since your comments we have spoken to our cleaning staff to make sure they make an extra effort, especially during the busy periods . The hostel in situated in the entertainment district of Sydney with all it's colorful characters but is strongly policed which makes it very safe. Hope your enjoying the rest of your travels. Take care FH Crew

49%

You get told a load of info when you check it, which throws you slightly,its said all at one time with no info to read through, got bitten on my arms and legs too, whether this to do with the beds I'm not sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your comment as they are very important to us. We do realize that we give you lots of information at check in but that's because we find that not everyone reads the same important information provided on the sign in sheet although they sign that they have read and understood ( clearly not). You did stay during the summer period and Sydney is notorious for its mosquitoes. It also doesn't help when room mates leave the windows open making you mosquito dinner . FH Crew

54%

No air conditioning. Place is run down and doesn't look like it's cleaned that often. Would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stephen, thank you for your feedback as it is very important to us. The hostels has full time cleaning staff and is cleaned every day and the kitchen and bathrooms are checked regularly throughout the day. Since your comment we have spoken to the cleaning staff to make sure they are on top of things even in our busiest periods which I believe it was when you stayed. The building is and older style building, hence no air-con but most find the powerful fans sufficient. Regards FH CREW

80%

nice an friendly people - low price

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day Steen, Glad to hear that you found our hostel friendly and and value for money. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards FH Crew

29%

The stay was really bad? I regret to have booked there. Seriously, I spent 3 nights there, and there were only people drunk and fighting like crazy during the nights until 5:00. But the housekeeper didnt find the need to apologize, maybe its is standard. Also the house is very dirty, the showers are dirty. I even suggested myself to clean the house but they said they already had someone. Obviously he/she was paid for doing nothing. But only satisfaction,the staff is nice :)

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Hostel is cleaned however many times a day that you value there feedback. We know our kitchen is small but we think its feels homely, we also have the kitchen cleaned many times a day. we take the key as safety net for us as so many guest in the past have never returned the kitchen equipment, thank you for staying with us Funkhouse.

86%

Location Excellent if you like to Party :) I guess Atmosphere depends always on the people staying there.... Value for Money: because of Cleanliness

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica, glade you liked the hostels location. We are situated in the heart of the entertainment district and only 20 min. from the CDB. You'r so right in saying that the atmosphere depends allot on the people that are staying, luckily we always seem to have a great bunch of guys and girls. Also happy to hear that you found the hostel very clean as we do try our best to keep on top of the cleanliness. Hope to see you back soon Happy travels Crew at FH

31%

This hostel is really durty, you can find cigarettes in the corridor... The bathroom and the kitchen (very small) too. The personal is not really helpful: I ask them because I found an appartment before the end of my reservation but they didn't want to refund me, because money is the most important for them... The roof is durty too. Any trust between the personal and you: you need to deposit your key if you want to borrow a pan or something to cook...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Syvain, thank you for your comment as they are very important to us. Sorry you found the hostel dirty, not sure where the cigarette butts in the corridor came from as we are a non smoking hostel. Like most hostels we have a non refund policy as once booked each bed is no longer available on line. We do ask guest to leave there keys when borrowing pots and pans as this insures that they are brought back clean and ready for the next guest and has so far proven the most effective method to date



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback