X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Funk House Reviews

23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
355 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

The stay was really bad? I regret to have booked there. Seriously, I spent 3 nights there, and there were only people drunk and fighting like crazy during the nights until 5:00. But the housekeeper didnt find the need to apologize, maybe its is standard. Also the house is very dirty, the showers are dirty. I even suggested myself to clean the house but they said they already had someone. Obviously he/she was paid for doing nothing. But only satisfaction,the staff is nice :)

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Hostel is cleaned however many times a day that you value there feedback. We know our kitchen is small but we think its feels homely, we also have the kitchen cleaned many times a day. we take the key as safety net for us as so many guest in the past have never returned the kitchen equipment, thank you for staying with us Funkhouse.

86%

Location Excellent if you like to Party :) I guess Atmosphere depends always on the people staying there.... Value for Money: because of Cleanliness

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica, glade you liked the hostels location. We are situated in the heart of the entertainment district and only 20 min. from the CDB. You'r so right in saying that the atmosphere depends allot on the people that are staying, luckily we always seem to have a great bunch of guys and girls. Also happy to hear that you found the hostel very clean as we do try our best to keep on top of the cleanliness. Hope to see you back soon Happy travels Crew at FH

31%

This hostel is really durty, you can find cigarettes in the corridor... The bathroom and the kitchen (very small) too. The personal is not really helpful: I ask them because I found an appartment before the end of my reservation but they didn't want to refund me, because money is the most important for them... The roof is durty too. Any trust between the personal and you: you need to deposit your key if you want to borrow a pan or something to cook...

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Syvain, thank you for your comment as they are very important to us. Sorry you found the hostel dirty, not sure where the cigarette butts in the corridor came from as we are a non smoking hostel. Like most hostels we have a non refund policy as once booked each bed is no longer available on line. We do ask guest to leave there keys when borrowing pots and pans as this insures that they are brought back clean and ready for the next guest and has so far proven the most effective method to date

89%

This is a great hostel. Location is superb, close to the trainstation and supermarket. Staff is great, especially Sam who went out of his way to make sure our group of 4 didnt have to move rooms or hostels! Thanks for that. The atmosphere is really nice with lots of long termers, but without the clicky feel that sometimes causes. I would def choose this as my place to stay if I would come to Sydney for work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Johanna, thank you for all your positive feed back. Always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Your group was a pleasure to have in the hostel. Great guests make for a great atmosphere. Hope you guys are enjoying the rest of your travels. We look forward to having you back soon hopefully. Regards FH Crew

83%

Nice hostel right in the centre of kings cross! Friendly and helpful staff, very clean bathrooms (kitchen was a little less clean..) and a great rooftop to socialise and mingle with other backpackers. Good value for a 4 bed dorm!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marleen, thank you for all your positive feedback, glade you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you found the hostel clean and the staff helpful and the roof top a great place to mingle. Hope your are enjoying your travels. Hope to see you back soon Regards FH Crew

89%

Great stay at the hostel, thanks for the great accommodation and say hi to sam.! We will see you guys again soon.!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Moirne, So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation to be to your liking . It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope you're enjoying your travels. See you soon Regards FH Crew

74%

Booked in for just an overnight stay while in Sydney. Unfortunately our room-mates were really messy and had spread themselves out across our room. They left their rubbish all over the place and their clothes were everywhere too, so it smelled a bit. I wouldn't hold that against the hostel though. Might have been good to have housekeeping clean up a bit but it really depends on your roommates. Location was good, staff were really friendly, bed was comfy. It was okay for what you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Clare, sorry you had messy room mates during your stay, it happens at times. Not everyone is considerate. We would have spoken to them if we had know. glad you enjoyed everything else about the hostel and you found the staff to be friendly and the beds were comfy. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and hopefully we might see you back with better room mates this time Regards FH Crew

94%

Only stayed for one night, but it was a great place for what I needed! Everyone was really friendly! Great place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Shane, so glad you enjoyed your stay and found us to be value for money and found everyone to be friendly. See next time Kind Regards FunkHouse Crew

97%

Had an awesome stay. Met some awesome people! Great place to stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alex, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your next stay with us. Kind Regards Funk House Crew

51%

Should at least have a towel in the room. We booked a private room. It was very noisy as there were single pane windows. All outside traffic and people on the the streets could be heard at night. Found out that kings cross area is known as the red light district. Had to sleep with ear plugs. Would not stay there again

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Deborah, thank you for your comments as we always strive to improve based on our customer comments. Since you last stayed we now do provide towels for our private room. Sorry you found the area so noisy but as you found out this is the entertainment district of Sydney with all that comes with it. Most of the guest, that stay with us have researched the area and allot of them come for the lively, fun, quick passed colourful atmosphere. kind Regards FunkHouse

54%

Hostel in good location for King's Cross. Cool design inside, but looks dated. Bathrooms weren't very clean and not well thought out - nowhere to change, hang towels or clothes, etc. Was pretty noisy at night with people shouting and stamping at 4am one night. Room was tiny and basic - uncomfy mattress and creaky floor. Very basic breakfast but kitchen area was dirty with flies. Majority of staff helpful. Good BBQ for $5 with beer. Suited to younger party people as noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna, thank you for your feedback which is very important to us we are always striving to do better for our guests. As we are a very busy hostel sometimes it only take a few people to use the bathroom before you to make it seem very messy but since your comments we have increased our bathroom and kitchen patrols. We are in the process of re-designing both our bathrooms and our kitchen. The hostel is situated in the entertainment districted and can certainly get lively. Glad to hear you found



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback