Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Funk House Reviews

23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


387 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Friendly, fun staff and very helpful staff! Great atmosphere overall really. Rooms are of good standard and comfortable(damp smell though at first though) Kitchen could do with a makeover and good clean. Not too noisy considering its a busy area so suitable for anyone working. Great location. Highly recommend!!!


Full of long stayers that are working in Sydney, they take up the roof terrace together and the tv room and they all cook at the same time. Everybody smokes weed on the roof and it stinks, they staff do not care. Disgusting dirty rooms. Would not stay here again

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Noisy, not clean, unfriendly. My room was next to the main road in kings cross so it was really noisy due to the drunk people/sirens from outside. I wouldn't stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry you found our hostel unclean and not friendly. We do have professional cleaners in everyday and we have several common areas in which our guests can meet and hang out. Due to our central location in the heart of Kings Cross we do understand it can get a tad noisy outside and we do realize that the location isn't for everyone, however it is out of control and we do find most guests thoroughly enjoy the lively atmosphere. We hope you're enjoying your travels, Cheers FHCREW


This place was the worst hostel I've been too, very very dirty. Didn't want to use the kitchen it was awful. The staff are unhelpful and the people staying there were so loud at 4am so respect for the rest of the peopl in the hostel, the location is abit rough be careful on your own walking along there at night

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we're sorry to hear our hostel didn't live up to your expectations. We take all guest reviews seriously and decided to investigate into the noised cause by our guests during the night. Upon looking at the security camera footage and speaking with our night manager we found no signs of noisy guests at that time, and had now other complaints from those nights. We would also like to point out that we have a long history of glowing reviews of our staff and cleanliness, especially on Tripadvisor.


Great staff, always ready to help or answer all questions. Hostel clean and tidy. Besides; free transport avallable from the airport and free breakfast for those ready to start the day. To be recommended @NomadPhD

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of the free things we have on offer. We hope you're enjoying your travels and look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers FHCREW

View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback