X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Funk House Reviews

23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
371 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The hostel is ok, a bit pricey maybe, but we could not sleep due to the noise of people partying in the hostel rooms, even if that was not allowed. Unfortunately the staff did not do much to solve it, so if you want to sleep maybe think it twice before booking.


91%

One of the best hostels I've seen in Australia. Room size no more than 4 beds, the roo. Was relatively cool, And space to hang clothes as well as lock things away. Awesome roof top terrace and tv room where you can meet folk. The staff try hard to organize events. Great experience overall, cheers guys and a shout out to Joanna!


49%

The bathrooms are dirty and mouldy and the carpet stinks like smelly feet... To come home at night is just a risk because of all the drunk people around there...

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

You get told a load of info when you check it, which throws you slightly,its said all at one time with no info to read through, got bitten on my arms and legs too, whether this to do with the beds I'm not sure!


54%

No air conditioning. Place is run down and doesn't look like it's cleaned that often. Would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stephen, thank you for your feedback as it is very important to us. The hostels has full time cleaning staff and is cleaned every day and the kitchen and bathrooms are checked regularly throughout the day. Since your comment we have spoken to the cleaning staff to make sure they are on top of things even in our busiest periods which I believe it was when you stayed. The building is and older style building, hence no air-con but most find the powerful fans sufficient. Regards FH CREW

80%

nice an friendly people - low price

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day Steen, Glad to hear that you found our hostel friendly and and value for money. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels. Hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards FH Crew

29%

The stay was really bad? I regret to have booked there. Seriously, I spent 3 nights there, and there were only people drunk and fighting like crazy during the nights until 5:00. But the housekeeper didnt find the need to apologize, maybe its is standard. Also the house is very dirty, the showers are dirty. I even suggested myself to clean the house but they said they already had someone. Obviously he/she was paid for doing nothing. But only satisfaction,the staff is nice :)

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Hostel is cleaned however many times a day that you value there feedback. We know our kitchen is small but we think its feels homely, we also have the kitchen cleaned many times a day. we take the key as safety net for us as so many guest in the past have never returned the kitchen equipment, thank you for staying with us Funkhouse.

86%

Location Excellent if you like to Party :) I guess Atmosphere depends always on the people staying there.... Value for Money: because of Cleanliness

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica, glade you liked the hostels location. We are situated in the heart of the entertainment district and only 20 min. from the CDB. You'r so right in saying that the atmosphere depends allot on the people that are staying, luckily we always seem to have a great bunch of guys and girls. Also happy to hear that you found the hostel very clean as we do try our best to keep on top of the cleanliness. Hope to see you back soon Happy travels Crew at FH

31%

This hostel is really durty, you can find cigarettes in the corridor... The bathroom and the kitchen (very small) too. The personal is not really helpful: I ask them because I found an appartment before the end of my reservation but they didn't want to refund me, because money is the most important for them... The roof is durty too. Any trust between the personal and you: you need to deposit your key if you want to borrow a pan or something to cook...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Syvain, thank you for your comment as they are very important to us. Sorry you found the hostel dirty, not sure where the cigarette butts in the corridor came from as we are a non smoking hostel. Like most hostels we have a non refund policy as once booked each bed is no longer available on line. We do ask guest to leave there keys when borrowing pots and pans as this insures that they are brought back clean and ready for the next guest and has so far proven the most effective method to date

89%

This is a great hostel. Location is superb, close to the trainstation and supermarket. Staff is great, especially Sam who went out of his way to make sure our group of 4 didnt have to move rooms or hostels! Thanks for that. The atmosphere is really nice with lots of long termers, but without the clicky feel that sometimes causes. I would def choose this as my place to stay if I would come to Sydney for work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Johanna, thank you for all your positive feed back. Always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Your group was a pleasure to have in the hostel. Great guests make for a great atmosphere. Hope you guys are enjoying the rest of your travels. We look forward to having you back soon hopefully. Regards FH Crew

83%

Nice hostel right in the centre of kings cross! Friendly and helpful staff, very clean bathrooms (kitchen was a little less clean..) and a great rooftop to socialise and mingle with other backpackers. Good value for a 4 bed dorm!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marleen, thank you for all your positive feedback, glade you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you found the hostel clean and the staff helpful and the roof top a great place to mingle. Hope your are enjoying your travels. Hope to see you back soon Regards FH Crew

89%

Great stay at the hostel, thanks for the great accommodation and say hi to sam.! We will see you guys again soon.!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Moirne, So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation to be to your liking . It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope you're enjoying your travels. See you soon Regards FH Crew

74%

Booked in for just an overnight stay while in Sydney. Unfortunately our room-mates were really messy and had spread themselves out across our room. They left their rubbish all over the place and their clothes were everywhere too, so it smelled a bit. I wouldn't hold that against the hostel though. Might have been good to have housekeeping clean up a bit but it really depends on your roommates. Location was good, staff were really friendly, bed was comfy. It was okay for what you pay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Clare, sorry you had messy room mates during your stay, it happens at times. Not everyone is considerate. We would have spoken to them if we had know. glad you enjoyed everything else about the hostel and you found the staff to be friendly and the beds were comfy. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and hopefully we might see you back with better room mates this time Regards FH Crew



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback