Hostelworld.com

The Funk House

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
The Funk House Located at 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, , Sydney.
The Funk House
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW / 2011 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross
86% 407
-33.8732661 151.2240815
The Funk House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
10.0

The manager Natalia was fantastic and made my stay easy. She was very helpful, far better than any other manager ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CaughtDatTravelBug
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jun 2016
6.9

Overall it's a nice hostel, the only let down is the Rooms are very small and cramped for what you pay and the showers facilities on the 2nd floor only have a curtain for privacy. Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay here, the kitchen is well equipped and clean and the staff are all really lovely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.6

I lived in room 19. Outside the room there is a smoking area, and the window faces it. In addition on weekends especially, the smoking area bustling with drunken backpackers, and it is noisy all night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
8.3

Very cheap prices. Great dorm rooms with only 3 other roommates. Bathrooms could use a renovation but they are working on it. Location is pretty close to the inner city, but the 200m walk from Kings cross station to the hostel is very shady with a lot of strip clubs and homeless people. As a girl I would not feel safe. But then again, for that cheap price there had to be negative points. I would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.4

Great place! Good security in the night, 20 mins walk from the opera house and 2 mins from Kings cross station. Good kitchen and sociable TV room, great rooftop chill area too, just a shame the washing machines leaked on the stairs! I came for 3 days and stayed for a week, it's a great place if you're staying in Sydney for a while - there weren't that many people who weren't on working visas. Super chilled place, super chilled people, 10/10 would bang again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexphinizy9362
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel, cheap, clean, social...the best part of the hostel is the beds and duvet covers... absolute best night sleep in hostel. Great for long term

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2016
8.0

basic hostel, good location, good security, well equipped kitchen but hard to meet people. Most people who stay here are on a working visa and are in cliquey groups. Good if you want time on your own

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
10.0

All renovated, good hostel and clean. Very friendly staff. I will come back when I'm in Sydney again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.7

Great hostel! The hostel is getting renovated, but didn't disturbed me at all!!! New beds, carpet and mattresses. I slept very very well :) The hostel is very clean! Even the bathrooms. Great helpful staff! Thanks for the great welcome ;) I will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.