Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Funk House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
The Funk House Located at 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, , Sydney.
The Funk House
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW / 2011 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross
81% 426
-33.8732661 151.2240815
The Funk House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2016
7.1

Ok...I read really bad comments about this place on trip advisor but that was after I booked. I was quite scared about it. But it wasn't that bad.Room was clean,kitchen was messy and quite dirty but that's dirty people's fault.Bathroom was smelly at night but again that's people's bad education.Internet was free and good,slow when busy but good.Overall we enjoyed our stay,the German girl at reception was really friendly,the other German guy was...too German.Missing a few things in shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

In my opinion, the best hostel in Kings Cross. Not too expensive, great rooms (Best mattress I ever slept on!), free breakfast! The staff is amazing! I will come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Great staff and good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
4.9

No hooks or anything to place towel or clothes on in shower room and only a single shower curtain for privacy. The hostel is dingy, a bucket was placed in the hallway during rain to catch water. There were cockroaches on the door and in the room. Honestly baffled at the good ratings on this website. Very cold too. Only upside was the very friendly staff. Still, would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
7.7

Decent. The main living space seemed a little dirty and overall the place smelled kinda bad. But it had a big kitchen and was in a good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
6.3

Smell really funky.... pretty dirty in the kitchen bathroom also not so impress

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kccfeatherston750
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jun 2016
6.6

Good value for money for location. Very close to train station which takes you straight to Circular Quay and Central! The area itself is a bit dodgy. Staff were nice and helpful. Cleanliness lets the score down, bathrooms were not very nice and neither was the kitchen. There also wasn't a secure place to store luggage while waiting for check in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.3

The hostel was very good and had everything needed for spending a few days. Great location. All Sydney sights could be reached within a few minutes. The nights were noisy but really okay. I just write it for those who are concerned of their sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.9

Had a great stay here... Hostel staff super nice and really enjoyed our time here :)))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
10.0

The manager Natalia was fantastic and made my stay easy. She was very helpful, far better than any other manager ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.