Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Funk House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 614 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2017
8.3

This was a great first stop in Australia for me. I loved the area and the people I met in the hostel. However, the wifi was extremely annoying, especially since I need to work while I travel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel! The guests and the staff are amazing :) It's like a big family I have been travelling all around Australia and I can say it! It is not normal for a hostel to have this amazing atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2017
5.4

If you're looking to use Wi-Fi that actually works do not come here. Some of the staff members will either take a liking or disliking to you based on who you talk to or how long you've stayed, the hostel has an increrbibley cliquey atmosphere as some people have mentioned before so I wouldn't recommend for solo travellers. The hostel also has a big cockroach problem. Facilities are okay but nothing special...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
4.6

The common area is really dirty. The room we had was completely disgusting (smelled like the floor of a bar at 3AM) Bed was clean. Toilets and showers a bit of a joke. Backpack lockers in the room couldn't lock due to broken lock levers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2017
9.4

Great place! We got upgraded for free, staff was extremely friendly! Only thing we didn't know is that you can't check in until 2:00pm but other then that it was kept clean and friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
7.4

Nice facilities however, there were a lot of long term guests that made for a very clicky atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
31st Mar 2017
5.4

Location wasn't too bad & the staff were very friendly. However, cockroaches were a problem. Particularly if you're unlucky enough to stay in the rooms directly above the kitchen - crawling on the bed & bed frames. After spending a night sat in the stairwell & common room, we were upgraded to a private room down the corridor, where we only (!) saw baby cockroaches, not nearly as gross. We realise cockroaches are unavoidable, but I've never seen as many in a dorm room as here & I've been to Asia.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • paigehomer
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.1

this place was like our home! were only meant to stay in Sydney for a couple of days and ended up staying in this hostel for a month! we will also be returning in a few weeks. very clean! great atmosphere good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.1

Loved it here very friendly staff and guests, great social tv room and rooftop area. Rooms tidy with your own storage locker. Things to get involved in every night. Kitchen a bit on the small side for the number of people but always clean and well equipped :) would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.3

When arrived the staff were quite rude and wouldn't let us in our room we had partly pre paid for, it took two phone calls to a manager to sort our situation. We had just arrived from a three hour flight and were tired from travel and I was very disappointed with the way they handled our accommodation and stuff. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone travelling. Bathroom and facilities weren't great and it smelt really bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.