Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Funk House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 7.2
The Funk House Located at 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross, , Sydney.
The Funk House
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW / 2011 23 Darlinghurst Rd, Kingscross
77% 467
-33.8732661 151.2240815
The Funk House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Sep 2016
4.9

Most of the people staying in this hostel were living there, so the room I stayed in was like an extremely messy teenager's room. Rubbish and clothes literally everywhere. When I got to my room it looked like someone had slept in it because the comforter was not folded, it was thrown on the bed. One evening there was a girl in the room who was not a guest of the hostel but I was told by someone else that she sleeps in other people's beds yet does not pay. No security.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.7

Best hostel i ever stayed! The atmosphere is awesome! Everyone is very friendly and for a hostel it's very clean ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel. I recommend to stay on the second floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
2.9

It was incredibly noisy at night!! I cannot sleep until 4:30am, since it was terribly noisy outside of the window and in the hallway: people are talking, laughing, gaming, and singing. Basically, you cannot expect any sleep if you stay here all night... Besides, the room smells funky and there is only one layer of window, which also explains that you can here what people are saying outside. Not recommended at all if you want a good sleep during your stay here!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
7.1

Clean room and confortable bed. Cosy TV room and well equiped kitchen. Too bad its not in my favorite neighborhood in Sydney

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.7

Pros: Nice rooftop, comfortable beds, lots of showers with hot water all the time, nice TV and dinning room, clean overall, really close to Kings Cross train station. Cons: Dirty kitchen at peak times, no lockers (at least in the room I've been), frustrating internet speed at such a point you just stop trying. Conclusion: Good for the price, I would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
4.3

Laundry services were dirty and unsanitary. Powder draw clogged so didn't use any of my powder so didn't clean the clothes properly. Only 1 out of 3 dryers working. Showers looked unsanitary. Room we stayed in was occupied by long stay backpackers so their stuff covered the room including dirty underwear. Female only dorm appeared to have a male stay in the room the night before too. Avoid this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
6.3

Never smelt so many horrible smells in the space of a 10 metre hallway. Our room smelt disgusting but I think that was just the guy staying there. Good location although the area is kinda sleazy, close to the train station. All the sinks were blocked in the girls toilet

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
6.3

More for long-term people. Kitchen is dirty and bathrooms need a makeover. Staff is friendly and beds are comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Aug 2016
6.3

This hostel was ok... Rooms are pretty bare bone, fairly small and basic. Ours didnt have curtains and had big bars on the windows so it felt a bit like a prison cell. There was also a really funky smell in the room... Facilities again are ok. The kitchen gets ridiculously hectic at peak times so its a battle to cook or make dinner. The levels of cleanliness are probably the worst thing about this hostel, they need more staff or more regular cleaning shifts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.