Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.1

The funky dodo was wonderful, and Anna was very helpful. Although there is not much to do in the town - there are lots of hiking trails about 20 minutes away or you can go do water sports. I chose to stay between the beach and the hostel and relax. The beach has a little much sea grass so beware of that. The courtyard in the center of the hostel is great to hang out in a hammock or chat with friends. Overall a great experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • henrygarnes4748
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

This has to be one of my favourite hostels. I spoke with Anna via e-mail about tours a month before I got there and as soon as I walked up to check in, she was like "Youre Henry right?". She then told me that she had enough people to go on the tours that I was most excited about. Hopkins is a nice town and everyone seems to know everyone. The hostel is close to a couple of bars, the beach and a couple of convenience stores. Only one ATM in town that never works. Be back next year!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.4

Nice hostel in centre of village, near to the beach. I liked all he hammocks and area to chill, also the kitchen was handy. Anna is a super nice owner has all the info you'll need for your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel close to bus stop in Hopkins! Owner is very nice and will assist with any information about Hopkins. Dorms/hostel clean and open-air, great hammock area and a 1 min walk to the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay at the Funky. Great location and Roy and Anna were wonderful hosts! All-around good vibe in the place, very conducive to relaxing conversation with people from all over the globe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
7.7

I felt kinda weird from the first second...the owners' mentality...all the signs (NOs & DON'Ts) and this weird system of how you can use cups/plates/etc made it sooo not funky... I can't imagine what could've happened here before, but don't really see the point why to run a hostel like this... Otherwise, just for sleeping, it's okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tobi15969293
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.0

Okay hostel.. But way too expensive. The owners seemed a bit rude.. It seemed like they didn't want any guests. They sometimes even humiliated some of the earlier guests in front of us. The were arrogant about knowing everything about the busschedule.. But in the end they were very wrong about it all and even disagreed with eachother.. Clean hostel though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place, in a lovely beach environment. Easy access, lots of information. Anna and Roy are working really hard to make this a wonderful spot to waste time. I hope to return soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.7

Stayed for two nights and found the hosts/owners very helpful when booking onto trips and info on the buses. They do have a roof top bar and do yummy pizza dilla's if you want to stay in the hostel. Mixed door room is rustic, not the most comfy mattresses but for a few days is fine. Lots of mossies in the area so deet up before bed! Only cash machine is a belize bank that does not accept British cards (HSBC) so be sure to take enough $. Felt safe walking around as a female solo traveller

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
8.6

Friendly owners.....value is great considering surrounding options. Right next to the beach and bus stop. Was a little dirty but overall stay was pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.