Hostelworld.com

The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel Located at Hopkins Village, , Hopkins.
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel
Belize
Hopkins Stann Creek Hopkins Village
79% 100
16.8588035 -88.2831072
The Funky Dodo Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2016
10.0

Convenient location, loved the close access to the beach. Lots of awesome restaurants and shops within walking distance. Fun vibe and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
4.0

The bathrooms are outside so if you need to go to the restroom during the night you have to walk outside. The storage lockers are wooden secured with a key lock but anybody could cut the wood around the lock and break in. The private room had a bunk bed that looked like it was in a shed. I canceled my stay as soon as I toured the place. It is in a good location and the treetop bar has happy hour from 4-8pm and drinks are buy one get one free which is a great deal.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
4.6

DO NOT STAY HERE. First of all, there is absolutely nothing to do in this town which ( despite all claims) is unsafe even in the day time. Second, the hostel is completely different than it is portrayed online. My friend & I stayed in a hot, wood shed that was no bigger than a closet. It was so bad that within 20 minutes we decided we were going to make other plans for the rest of the week (we had plans to stay there for four more nights) .& the customer service was horrible ( from the owner).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.0

I loved Hopkins and the wonderful new owner but she has a good amount of work ahead of her! The bugs here were the only downside. I was completely attacked buy mosquitos and sand flies in this hostel! Otherwise wonderful location and fantastic staff!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Mar 2016
6.0

I wouldn't say don't stay here, just don't stay here long. Lots of showers, decent pressure, cold water only. The hostel is surrounded by fence so the air doesn't move making it hot and full of bugs. Some beds where extremely uncomfortable and some not so bad. The owner is very helpful and location is good. Kitchen is slightly in disrepair but has everything you need to cook dinner and I'm happy they had two fridges. My advise is book a private room, or don't book a room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
8.6

Enjoyed staying at this laid back hostel nicely located yards from the beach. Nice private room but mattress a little uncomfortable. Bar upstairs good value and fun. Owner gave us good advice and helped organise a fun trip to lagoon. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • edwinvanmaanen512
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2016
9.7

I had a great stay with my girlfriend in the Dodo. The location was great. The new owner Anna is lovely and helpful and on a mission to make this place even better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
8.6

great location near beach in center of village. New owner very helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2016
9.1

The dorms are basic but serve their purpose, be sure to bring copious amounts of insect repellent. The hostel is quiet and relaxing and only a stones throw from the waters of the Carribbean. Hopkins itself isn't much but worth the effort if you want a cool place to chill for a few days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2016
8.6

Super great place has a great backpacking atmosphere. Hammocks in the center. We chose to go to seagull lodge north for our last two nights because we could get a private room with private bath for $10 more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.