X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Gallery Hyde Park Reviews

23 Inverness Terrace, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
511 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Top hostel, highly raccomanded!!


51%

The front door was never locked, people not even staying at the Hostel walked right in and showered in the main bathrooms. Bathrooms had mold growing in them.


94%

LOVED every minute of my stay at 23. Staff were all so helpful and very nice, and the receptionist was oh so cute. Beds were comfy, and rooms were not to crowded. The building itself is super nice and the location is great because its close to two tube stations. The streets outside the building do get a bit skiddish at night but it could be worse. I definitely recommend this hostel.


77%

The staff was really nice but there NEEDS to be air conditioning in the upper floors- it was ridiculously hot upstairs while the bottom floors were fine. The shower water was very weak (it was slightly leaking from the showerhead so the pressure was very low).

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Besides the rat and the cockroach in the kitchen, everything ok. Good location, nice staff. The double bed room was quite noisy, could be better.


89%

Very funky hostel with a million stairs but great little hide away in London central, would stay there again with no second thoughts!

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nothing special about this place though staff was VERY nice. Beds were comfortable, bathroom bit worn around the edges and dirty. Also there were some renovation works when I was there and (unlucky me) the wifi was out of order.The sleeping room can get quite warm in the summer and if you have noisy fellow sleepers you don't get much sleep yourself but that is obviously not hostel's fault. I would come back only out of season when it's more quiet.


86%

Grate please to stay

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Not so good as I though. Location perfect, not in the chaotic centre of London but in a tactical position close to Hyde Park, any bus stops and 3 underground's lines. Staff kind. Breakfast normal. But a lot of lacks: the cleanliness first, the space not sufficient in the rooms (a lot of people and not any lockers neither shelves) and little bathrooms. I stayed in 4-6-8 bedrooms and the problems are always the same. With 2 suitcases I had to go to 4th floor in narrow stairs and without lift!


71%

Staff were great! The place & location were quite alright with me. Wifi was a disaster though... available only in a small corner in the lobby.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guyana
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, so close to shops and restaurants, Bayswater tube station also is very close to the Hostel. The rooms could be cleaner, but still they're fine. 24h reception is great, the staff is very nice. You can play pool or some video games (like PES 2013). There is a lock, where you can keep you valuables. Price is really low. You get a breakfast (a toast with jam or peanut butter, milk with cereals, coffee/tea). You get a access card to your room. No chance to get in without it.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good kitchen and breakfast. Wifi didn't work properly and neither did the ringing bell, wich was kind of annoying. Staff was nice.


97%

Me surpreendeu. Gostei muito!! Pena que nao tinha mais dias vagos pra eu ficar mais!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The double room that we booked was quite ok but the bathroom was tiny and the carpet may need an extra cleaning... The front door of the hostel cannot be closed but the area seems to be calm.


94%

Fix the showers - whater is too hot in the bathroom! Beside of that, it is a great hostel and great value for money, I would strongly recommend!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent place. I still do not understand why it is so cheap!! I recommand it to everyone!

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Arriving after a 17 hour flight from Australia the hostel had no towels available for hire so we had to buy our own . Also the price of the hostel we could of stayed in a nice hotel in London it said 30 aud a night but somehow changed to 30 pound which is a lot of money for a hostel the lobby was terrible

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Really poor bathrooms, rooms way too small. The location was really great, the building seemed lovely and full of English charm. The staff were also really kind, helpful and understanding of our needs and request to leave and for a refund.


97%

It was value for money. Staff was good and proper hygiene is maintained. I was not expeccting this kind of hospitality.I would love to stay here again as its economical and very well connected to other places around.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

First two rooms I was in had no water pressure fruit the shower. All the sinks stank. Rooms were perhaps a little small but there's nothing to do about that, that's just the size of the building. Breakfast simple but adequate, can't complain about free stuff! Excellent excellent location.


(241 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback