Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
10.0
Superb 771 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
10.0
Superb 771 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jenniferdixie
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Hands down best place I've stayed. Beautiful location, clean facilities and incredible staff. Extremely welcoming atmosphere, felt like I was staying with an old group of friends. Absolutely loved everything about this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Truly the best hostel I've been at! The hostel is like a little home and everyone that goes through is family :-) I had the best time meeting travellers and going on amazing hikes! Much love to all of the ginger staff, Wally, and Kevin!! Xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
10.0

There's a reason why so many people extend their stay when at the ginger monkey. The place is unlike any other hostel I've stayed at. Dan, Fred and Wally do a helluva job. Stop reading reviews and just book it already!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Fun, relaxing and a great location. It has a bit of a college house vibe, which could be a plus or a minus, depending, but I enjoyed it for the two nights I spent there. The bed I had was not the most comfortable, but I still slept fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Of I could give bigger smiley faces for this review I would. Such an incredible stay at the Ginger Monkey hostel in Zdiar. The staff are all extremely welcoming and helpful for advice on local hikes and adventures. There were a number of nights where we all went out for dinner together, cooked a group meal and even did a group hike! Felt like a home away from home. Wally the dog is of course an extra bonus, giving him morning pats and walks along the river. Thanks for the stay legends!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • taylorsleaford946352
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
10.0

Great view and people always wanting to smash beers. Good shit. And good food

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th May 2017
10.0

If you're reading reviews for this hostel then you are considering and you should stop considering it and just book it. Loved every minute. It was tres dobry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
10.0

Wally F. Dogster

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
10.0

I planned for three nights but ended up staying six. The Ginger Monkey should be what all other hostels aspire to be; I've never met a staff so genuine and I've never felt so much at home. It's the perfect place to meet people, enjoy the local activities, and even spend a day kicking back. Slovakia would not have been the same for me without it. Do yourself a favor and stay here and while you're at it, make sure to pet Wally as much as humanly possible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.7

This place is known for its atmosphere and it definitely delivers. The size and configuration of the hostel are very conducive to getting to know people, and the staff really contributes as well. Keep in mind that you have to take a bus/train to the good hikes so your days are partially dictated by those schedules, but they are relatively frequent in the summer and Dan et. all will help you plan any and all day trips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.