Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

It's no wonder this little gem of a hostel has been voted best hostel in Slovakia. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the hostel is in a great condition. Dan and Jenna go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and you can ask them anything about the surrounding area. Visitors who like outdoor activities will love Zdiar, from skiing and snowboarding in winter to hikes and mountain biking in summer. I will very definitely be coming back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Best little hostel! It's a home away from home with the most stunning backdrop! Cheers to Dan for making me feel so welcomed and to all the wonderful guests I met there who became instant friends! Ginger Monkey is a must stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at!! Dan was super welcoming and great to chill with. Great atmosphere, such a great place to relax. Wally the hostel dog is the best companion to explore the village and forest surroundings. Such a fantastic place you'll end up extending!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jawshh
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was, hands-down, the best hostel I've stayed in. The moment we walked through the doors it was like being welcomed home. The staff were easy to get along with and they have the cutest dog, Wally, who doesn't mind a cuddle in the morn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Great Place! I would recommend anyone to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
10.0

The Ginger Monkey hostel is really cozy - you feel like home. There is a kitchen and a nice living room with sofas. Dan is a really friendly guy, always telling nice histories and helping his guests with suggestions of things to do around - hikings, restaurants and places to see. Definitely worth go there and have a good times!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
10.0

If you're thinking anything else or Ginger Monkey, it's gotta be Ginger Monkey! Where to begin? Breakfast? Oy oy saviloy little classical eggs. Go down to Rustika, bring a friend! If you and a friend order 7-UPs, then you got yourself a 14-UP! Everything so gorgeous, it reels you in. And that Uncle Dan fella...don't mind if I diddly do! what a saucy individual. All in all, your stay at Ginger Monkey will always be spicy, contactless or not. Ba da ba ba. Spicy. see you later. Ciao ciao!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2016
9.1

Great place to see the High Tartras from. Knowledgable staff and a place to meet other travellers. Oh and not to mention WALLY the SUPER DOG who seems to make the Ginger Monkey the hostel it is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Oct 2016
10.0

The best hostel I've been to so far. The atmosphere is amazing so friendly and relaxed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Cheers mate. Thanks for the beers and that. - Craig (from the Gold Coast)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.