Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
The Ginger Monkey Located at 294 Zdiar, , High Tatras.
The Ginger Monkey
Slovakia
High Tatras East Slovakia 294 Zdiar
98% 660
49.2719166 20.2616199
The Ginger Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Fantastic place, more like a homestay than a hostel. Lots of character and atmosphere, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that being directly behind the church, the bells and music start pretty early in the morning and were pretty noisy from my room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolutely fab hostel with an amazing atmosphere, will definitely be returning in the future. Dan was very knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming (as was wally!). Everyone got on really well and in the evenings we watched films and played card games, and there were some fantastic hikes on the doorstep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel - the location is magical in the mountains, there was a very cool mix of people, guys and girls, a cool range of ages and every night was a chilled drinks around the kitchen table with the option of a local bar. You can chill on the patio overlooking the mountains or venture out in free snow suits to battle the cold at night. Dan the manager is awesome - gave me a written down itinerary of buses/times for my day trips, wally the dog pretty awesome too - recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicenorton5059
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed. Completely worth going out of your way for this place. Amazing atmosphere, stunning views, wonderful hiking, incredible people. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, good showers, everything kept beautifully clean. Common areas are chilled and fun, and the environment was very communal and inclusive. Wally is adorable! Most people end up extending their stay if there is room, so give yourself plenty of time here. Thanks Dan for such a fabulous week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
6.0

I can only speak from my experience but when I visited it was male dominated culture. When I asked about the wifi that didn't extend to my room, the response was "you don't come to the mountains for wifi" Another basic hostel necessity is hot water in the showers. I was lucky to get only two of the three days I stayed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
10.0

It's a great place to chill and enjoy nature. There's a lovely porch that always have people hanging out, along with Wally the dog and Kevin the cat. Dan is amazing, as are the rest of the staff. The kitchen is nice, and we watched our fair share of horror movies in the lounge. Wifi isn't great, but it just makes everyone hang out more. Plenty of great hiking trails and activities located close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jun 2016
10.0

Best hostel atmosphere. I would highly recommend at least a week here. The kitchen and bathrooms are always clean. All the staff are really easy-going, as well as the hostel mascot, Wally :) we would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Brilliant place, small and friendly, with everyone eating dinner together most nights and going out on group hikes. Beautiful location to spend a few days. Wonderful dog.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2016
10.0

What a gem! A true home away from home tucked nsstled in the Slovakian mountains. Dan, the manager, is truly extraordinary - a font of knowledge, enthusiasm and fun. Already planning our return trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2016
10.0

An amazing hostel in a beautiful part of the world. Dan is the perfect host with his infinite knowledge of hikes and things to do in the area and along with Wally dog, he makes sure everyone who stays at The Ginger Monkey has a great time and feels at home. I couldn't have asked for a more fun and friendly place to relax in the mountains

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.