Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Fully deserving of its exceptional rating! Ginger monkey hits the perfect balance between all of the factors that you want in a hostel. Friendly, relaxed, fun and above all else a common sense approach to hostel management that a lot of places lack. Would highly recommend this place to any travelllers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Pretty much ideal hostel experience: I arrived as a solo traveller and after two or three days it was as though I was among old friends. Great staff and an amazing location with loads of hiking opportunities. If you're travelling and need a few days' break from urban life then I can't recommend the Ginger Monkey highly enough. Can't wait to go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel, perfect for a solo traveller. The kitchen is great, and also a good place to hang out, in addition to the common room. Staff are cool, and so is the​ resident dog. I've jokingly given the location a 4/5 because of where it is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
9.7

Beautiful location, amazing hikes, very helpful staff, and incredible atmosphere. Would recommend that anyone stay here :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

It's no wonder this little gem of a hostel has been voted best hostel in Slovakia. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the hostel is in a great condition. Dan and Jenna go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and you can ask them anything about the surrounding area. Visitors who like outdoor activities will love Zdiar, from skiing and snowboarding in winter to hikes and mountain biking in summer. I will very definitely be coming back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Best little hostel! It's a home away from home with the most stunning backdrop! Cheers to Dan for making me feel so welcomed and to all the wonderful guests I met there who became instant friends! Ginger Monkey is a must stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at!! Dan was super welcoming and great to chill with. Great atmosphere, such a great place to relax. Wally the hostel dog is the best companion to explore the village and forest surroundings. Such a fantastic place you'll end up extending!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jawshh
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was, hands-down, the best hostel I've stayed in. The moment we walked through the doors it was like being welcomed home. The staff were easy to get along with and they have the cutest dog, Wally, who doesn't mind a cuddle in the morn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Great Place! I would recommend anyone to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
10.0

The Ginger Monkey hostel is really cozy - you feel like home. There is a kitchen and a nice living room with sofas. Dan is a really friendly guy, always telling nice histories and helping his guests with suggestions of things to do around - hikings, restaurants and places to see. Definitely worth go there and have a good times!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.