Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
10.0
Superb 761 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
10.0
Superb 761 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

Wally F. Dogster

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.7

This place is known for its atmosphere and it definitely delivers. The size and configuration of the hostel are very conducive to getting to know people, and the staff really contributes as well. Keep in mind that you have to take a bus/train to the good hikes so your days are partially dictated by those schedules, but they are relatively frequent in the summer and Dan et. all will help you plan any and all day trips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

This place is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It's in a great location with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The staff are amazing, Dan and Nina are legends and Wally (the dog) is adorable. They also invite everyone out to various town restaurants each night and really make it feel like a community. I definitely will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Was only around for two nights but enjoyed every bit of it. Forgot to add my mark for the XXL Pizza challenge!! -Andrew

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
10.0

This is a well run tight ship that gets the balance right between professionalism and having fun. It comes highly recommended and I was not disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
10.0

I'll be recommending this hostel to every single person I meet from now on, especially solo travelers. Dan, Jamie and Nina (and Wally!) are some of the best people you'll find and have made this a very, very special place to be. Extended my stay an extra day to get one more hike in, but also spent plenty of time just relaxing and reading. This place felt like home for the few days I was there and I can't thank the staff enough for that! Absolutely worth adding to your travel plans.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Kamak26
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Just go. It's hands down the best hostel in Europe, one of a kind, run by people who are not only brilliant but who genuinely care about the guests and about the village they inhabit. It's impossible to have a bad time here, no matter who you are. Hike, laugh, eat, drink, dance, read, sleep well, rinse, repeat. Thanks Dan, Jamie, Nina and Wally.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Ginger Monkey is a special place. Great staff and beautiful hiking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

Had such a sick time at the Ginger Monkey! Dan was an ace host and Wally the dog was awesome. Would love to return in the summertime. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
10.0

Fully deserving of its exceptional rating! Ginger monkey hits the perfect balance between all of the factors that you want in a hostel. Friendly, relaxed, fun and above all else a common sense approach to hostel management that a lot of places lack. Would highly recommend this place to any travelllers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.