Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 676 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
The Ginger Monkey Located at 294 Zdiar, , High Tatras.
The Ginger Monkey
Slovakia
High Tatras East Slovakia 294 Zdiar
97% 676
49.2719166 20.2616199
The Ginger Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Atmosphere and staff make or break a hostel. This joint absolutely kills it. Not as much as Chezza Bucko kills it, but that's too higher expectation. Cheers to Dan, Sharpy and B for an awesome week. Best location for a hostel I've seen, get around the mountains! Grouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Stayed here a week but I wish I could've stayed longer. Easily the best hostel I've been to. The staff are incredible- genuinely friendly, welcoming and will help you out in any kind of situation, the location is amazing and it's impossible not to make a new friend here. This place feels more like a home than a hostel. Stay as long as you can!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpwookey5367
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.0

This hostel is an Australian ghetto in the middle of the High Tatras (which may be exactly what you're looking for) - the staff said "we don't like Slovakians, and don't want them staying here". Whilst the hostel is in a good location for hiking, has a really well-equipped kitchen and a good social atmosphere, the staff are a little bit too-cool, and leave you feeling like your presence has inconvenienced them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

We loved the ginger monkey! Wish we could have stayed longer! Would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Just amazing. Don't miss this little place. Phenomenal experience, can't recommend it enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

By far the most incredible experience and hostel I have stayed in. The staff were so wonderful, especially Dan, B and Sarah who kept us entertained throughout. The hostel is like a home away from home and unbelievably clean! The fresh eggs and bread for breakfast was a perfect way to stay the day before our big hike up the mountains. If you are going to stay anywhere, STAY AT THE GINGER MONKEY! I'm already planning my next stay there. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Such a cool vibe. If you want to get out of cites and just chill and hike some mountains this is the place to do it. Take Wally the dog for a walk any get some good pizza from the shop just down the road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel, great staff, great environment, great guests! The setting facilitates contacts with the staff and the guests. We stayed here for 6 nights and we enjoyed it a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Fantastic place, more like a homestay than a hostel. Lots of character and atmosphere, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only downside is that being directly behind the church, the bells and music start pretty early in the morning and were pretty noisy from my room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Would highly recommend!! Would have stayed longer if I could!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.