Hostelworld.com

The Ginger Monkey

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.6
The Ginger Monkey Located at 294 Zdiar, , High Tatras.
The Ginger Monkey
Slovakia
High Tatras East Slovakia 294 Zdiar
97% 625
49.2719166 20.2616199
The Ginger Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.7

The monkey hostel has been a dream destination for me since 2014. It sure lived up to my dream and much much more. It is situated in such a beautiful little village surround by the most amazing mountains. Think a cute little cottage with a crazy style. It will be interesting to see how it looks after the ideas of renovations that might be happening. Everything you needed with good showers, cooking utensils and anything else you needed really.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Ah! I have nothing but fond memories of the ginger monkey. Danka is by far the best manager I have come across! She cooked us breakfast every morning (even banana and chocolate muffins when I was feeling sad!), gave us lots of information of hikes around the place (which are spectacular and epic) and just an overall approachable attitude, any hostel is lucky to have her. The house was very clean, spacious and beds great- 10000/10 recommend this home away from home

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice chilled hostel near the Slovakian mountains Breakfast is provided Out of season not many places to buy food, supermarket closed early Staff fairly helpful when around Hostel very quiet (travelled April) Got a little dirty and dog hairs around after a few days Cool dog though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

I had a wonderful stay at Ginger Monkey in March. The location is very special. The hostel has a great atmosphere, and this is largely down to it's magnificent host, Danka. A fantastic place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.7

Really really good. Cant explain in words, staff make you feel so at home and it was horrible to have to leave after our stay. Wish i stayed for longer. A must.. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2016
10.0

Thank you Ginger Monkey and thank you to the amazing managers Danka and Caroline and all of the volunteers who made us feel so welcome. This has truly been my favourite place of my travels so far and I was very sad to leave. If your looking for a hostel that feels like a home away from home then this is the one. Amazing home cooked breakfasts, cheap beer in the fridge, friendly travelers and helpful staff is just the beginning.  We loved this place so much we booked extra nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
10.0

The best place Ive been so far =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
10.0

Second time back and still as amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
10.0

Super chill environment, incredibly friendly staff, amazing location, free breakfast (including the most perfectly cooked eggs), and when you walk in the door you're treated like family. There's nice skiing/snowboarding nearby, but if you're not into that theres plenty of hiking trails or ways to relax. When it was time for me to leave, I did NOT want to go, but I will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Feb 2016
10.0

Absolutely love this place! It feels like a home away from home. The staff are amazing and always hung out with the guests + they organised breaky for us every morning. Location is really close to the mountains so perfect for hitting the snow, plus they have snow clothes available for free. I would 100% recommend this place if you are staying in Zdair :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.