Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.7
The Ginger Monkey Located at 294 Zdiar, , High Tatras.
The Ginger Monkey
Slovakia
High Tatras East Slovakia 294 Zdiar
97% 701
49.2719166 20.2616199
The Ginger Monkey
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Sep 2016
10.0

This place is great!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

I would never dream of giving this hostel less than a perfect 10. I booked for 3 nights and ended up staying 5 nights because I was having too much fun. Staying at the Ginger Monkey kind of feels like being on a family holiday; everyone hangs out together, every night the whole hostel went out for dinner, the place is cozy and welcoming and it seriously just feels like home. Dan and Andy (the staff) were amazing, helpful and funny. But the real reason to stay is Wally the hostel dog!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robclarke12
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Come for the mountains, stay for the ice cream

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Sep 2016
10.0

A great place to stay to break up the big cities. Was recommended this hostel by fellow backpackers while travelling and decided to check it out. The location is amazing, located right in the mountains with many available day hikes all with stunning views, then at night the communal atmosphere and friendly staff makes you want to extend you stay. This is definitely one place I would visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
10.0

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It was such a welcome break from the craziness of being in a city. I can't decide what I loved the best: walking the dog through the forest and by the river, hiking in the mountains, pizza Sundays, or kitchen parties. It was all great! Dan, B, Sharpy, and Andy, you guys are the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Such a great community atmosphere here! The staff are great people and very helpful, and they create an atmosphere where everyone in the hostel becomes friends and does activities together. Book an extra day in advance!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere directly when you arrive. Good breakfast with eggs. This hostel is cosy and not so many people, you feel at home. Good for solo travelers to meet other people. From there, easy to reach high tatras in the slovakian side, but also the high tatras from the Polish side. Awesome staff. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely perfect hostel! Staff were all lovely, especially the best future husband Andy. Great atmosphere. Excellent breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

The best hostel I stayed at in my trip. I feel nostalgic thinking about being there, so many wonderful people and a stunning location. Rooms are huge, lots of showers and excellent areas to hang out. Wally the dog is a beautiful being and Dan is super cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Aug 2016
10.0

Really cool place to get away from big cities, amazing views, great cheap food places near by and the whole hostile vibe is chilled and friendly. Make sure if coming here you don't miss your busses otherwise a lot of waiting around. Also they have the cutest dog. Will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.