Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Ginger Monkey

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Couldn't have been better! Staff were all very welcoming and incredibly knowledgeable about activities/transport in the area, beautiful location with stunning views, great atmosphere, clean and good breakfast. Really wish I was able to stay longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

What can I say but....amaaaazing! Ginger Monkey was not so much the feel of a hostel but rather a home. The staff go above and beyond to make your experience one to remember, whether it's family dinners or advice about the numerous outdoor activities on offer. "Yeah, well, listen. You ought to ditch the Hostels you're with now and get in with us."

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
10.0

This is a must stay if you want to hike in the High Tatras. Staff and guests all seem to be of a similar mindset and are great to hike, chill, and drink with. Go here even if it is a bit out of your way, you won't regret it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Had an awesome time here. Met great people over breaky, there was always someone to go hiking with, watch a movie with, or go on a brewery tour with. Local dinner tips are awesome, the dog is cute, and the location is right at the start of multiple trails. Definiately stay if you can.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
10.0

One of few if any places that felt more like home than a hostel. It is cosy, intimate, ridiculously friendly, incredibly environmentally-conscious, and v comfortable. Staff were so much fun to hang out with, and the location in a quiet village/High Tatras is stunning. The family dinners, the pizza outings, curling up watching movies together - I cannot recommend this place enough! Great kitchen (included breakfast FTW!), showers, common room, amenities, etc. Stay here, you'll love it!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hmcarthur3225
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel can be likened to a convex one-way mirror - if you approach it from the right direction you will receive exactly how much time and effort you put in, amplified. However if you go from the wrong side, you will not suffer the wrath of disgruntled volunteers or workers, they will be a sponge to your poor behaviour. Run by an outrageously capable bunch of people that all mutually share the rare balance of compassion and dry sardonic humour. Tourist = moth Ginger monkey = light

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, with friendly people, funny decoration... I spent two pleasant nights with my friends there and I strongly recommend it to anyone! I have been taken with the vue on the mountains...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Would have stayed longer if I could. definitely what every hostel should be. Impossible not to meet cool people as a solo traveler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

This is the best place ever. If the Ginger Monkey was a cult instead of a hostel I would have joined.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

If you're a hiker, you won't find another place like it! I made the rookie error of only booking myself two nights here, and will regret that decision until my last dying breath. There's just so much to do, the staff are not only friendly but very likeable people who make sure everyone in their hostel is having a good time. I forbid myself to not return here within the next year. It's just that good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.