X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Grapes Reviews

47 Market Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
207 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

We arrived at the expected time and there was nobody waiting for us. The kitchen was not very clean. Although it is a pub opening until late at night we could barely hear any noise from our room, which was nice. However, the room was very cold during the night.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff is really kind and helpful. We enjoyed stay in your hostel.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Grapes and Will Rock, a must for old trafford lovers!!


71%

Quite basic and a bit worn but clean and tidy and was somewhere to have something simple to eat and just sleep . No breakfast facilities (one teabag left, no coffee, some bread to toast) so not somewhere to linger, but if you need somewhere short notice to crash, does what is needed!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Bed is good and very big room.. Suitable for large group...others not at all..

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

the brothers will and mike were fuckin awesome. wish we can grab a couple of beers with them and talk some shits about manchester .haha. thanks for having us the grapes


66%

The Grapes is not really a hostel. It is more a pub with some rooms upstairs. The rooms are okay, nothing special but you can hardly expect more for 20 £ per night. The breakfast which was included in the price was unfortunately impossible to eat because the toast was mouldy. The staff was really really nice! The B&B was quite far away from the city center (about 20mins car drive).


63%

It was hard to find The Grapes as it is located in/near Kearsley (a small city located approximately 15/20mn from M'cher City Centre) .Once arrived, the staff warmly greeted us and helped us sort a couple of things out. The room we had was upstairs, over a pub: good atmosphere as we can hear English people have fun around pints. The 4 bed room is spacious the beds okay and the private bathroom offers good facilities. However, the whole place really needs to be cleaned and refreshed.


91%

The staff at the hostel were excellent. They were so welcoming and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were a decent size and clean with good facilties. Although the location is 20 minutes outside of Manchester the offer a reduced taxi service. There is also a night bus which runs very regulalry.


77%

Had a verry nice stay at the Grapes. Hostel is at a good location with two pubs in the street, one is open untill late. Be sure to call the verry nice hostel owner, before you come, so he can maybe pick you up from the airport.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staff. Transport to central Manchester is actually fairly simple, especially as they offer lifts to and from the centre.


89%

The 5-bed room is really spacious, the beds were comfy and it had its own bathroom, which was very clean and the shower was a new modern one. As I was in a group of 5 and all of us stayed in this room, it was really good. If you wanna stay close to Manchester and you don't have a car maybe it's not the best choice but it was not a problem for us and it's really worth for the price. Also, the staff is really nice.


94%

Had a great stay at The Grapes, the staff are very nice and welcoming and the room was wonderful. The atmosphere at The Grapes is what makes the B&B feel like stepping into a peaceful cheerfulness where one can watch football, use the Internet, order food and drinks etc. All in all I liked my stay very much and I would be happy to go there again sometime.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Clean and friendly service.. We were picked up from the train station for about a tenner, which is pretty cheap considering it was about a 20 mins drive from the main train station in Manchester and for 4 of us! Decent little cheap local pub right next to it too...

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The place is cheap for those travelling on a tight budget. The owner is a nice guy (William) His chef I believe was also very nice guy, helpful and accommodating. I did not like the bartender girl. When we went to the bar downstairs she did not serve us though we waited for quite some time.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel!!




View all Manchester Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback