X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Grapes Reviews

47 Market Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
222 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The atmosphere are very good and the people are very friendly. The breakfast is good for the price! But the loud music disturbs those who can not sleep in this way.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

it is a good hotel but i stayed there over saturday night and a pub downstairs didnt alow me to fal asleep till about 3am

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay, very welcoming. Situated over a bar which suited me down to the ground. Clean comfy rooms. Great food menu too off mick the chef. Thanks to Will

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi had a great stay. The staff were very helpful


49%

The hostel was far away from the city center. Nearly one hour with bus. The train was faster but just a few stopped at Kearsley train station so it wasn`t much of an option. There was a pub on ground floor with karaoke in the evening and beginning of the night. The kitchen had little utilities. One of the beds had poor madras.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Myself and 3 family members came up to watch soccer aid and as i had stayed here 2 years ago decided to stay here again..it was about 20 minuets drive from old trafford and the landlord will was really nice he took us to old trafford and picked us up again after the match...even tho he had other people to pick up from another venue as well...our room was quite basic with a lovley onsuite bathroom...we had a great day and will definatly stay here again on our next trip to manchester

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

We turned up to find the place closed,the telephone number on there website was out of order.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Very dirty, it seems that nobody cleans this hostel. The room was located near a road above a pub so impossible to sleep. Poor organisation, someone else was given our room.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The price was great and the beds were comfortable, but we were most impressed by how welcome the staff made us feel and how friendly they were. I would definitely stay at The Grapes again.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The guy was friendly and helpful. His cheap minibus trips make up for being a way out of town. The room and facilities were spacious but very basic, but that's all we needed and all we expected for our £15 a night. Downsides we did find were that there were not enough plates/knives/forks etc and no washing up liquid etc to clean them. Also he was impossible to get hold of until I rang hostel world to complain. His phone went straight to answer phone for a month. But overall we were happy there.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

We arrived at the expected time and there was nobody waiting for us. The kitchen was not very clean. Although it is a pub opening until late at night we could barely hear any noise from our room, which was nice. However, the room was very cold during the night.


80%

The staff is really kind and helpful. We enjoyed stay in your hostel.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Grapes and Will Rock, a must for old trafford lovers!!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Quite basic and a bit worn but clean and tidy and was somewhere to have something simple to eat and just sleep . No breakfast facilities (one teabag left, no coffee, some bread to toast) so not somewhere to linger, but if you need somewhere short notice to crash, does what is needed!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Bed is good and very big room.. Suitable for large group...others not at all..

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

the brothers will and mike were fuckin awesome. wish we can grab a couple of beers with them and talk some shits about manchester .haha. thanks for having us the grapes


66%

The Grapes is not really a hostel. It is more a pub with some rooms upstairs. The rooms are okay, nothing special but you can hardly expect more for 20 £ per night. The breakfast which was included in the price was unfortunately impossible to eat because the toast was mouldy. The staff was really really nice! The B&B was quite far away from the city center (about 20mins car drive).


63%

It was hard to find The Grapes as it is located in/near Kearsley (a small city located approximately 15/20mn from M'cher City Centre) .Once arrived, the staff warmly greeted us and helped us sort a couple of things out. The room we had was upstairs, over a pub: good atmosphere as we can hear English people have fun around pints. The 4 bed room is spacious the beds okay and the private bathroom offers good facilities. However, the whole place really needs to be cleaned and refreshed.


91%

The staff at the hostel were excellent. They were so welcoming and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were a decent size and clean with good facilties. Although the location is 20 minutes outside of Manchester the offer a reduced taxi service. There is also a night bus which runs very regulalry.


77%

Had a verry nice stay at the Grapes. Hostel is at a good location with two pubs in the street, one is open untill late. Be sure to call the verry nice hostel owner, before you come, so he can maybe pick you up from the airport.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(149 results)


View all Manchester Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback