Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 4.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 4.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
The Grapes Located at 47 Market Street, , Manchester.
The Grapes
England
Manchester M26 1HF 47 Market Street
67% 308
53.5459686 -2.3709010
The Grapes
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
6.6

Very basic. Friendly staff. Breakfast & kitchen facilities were not as good cleanliness etc as the bathroom. Bathroom door didn't seem to shut completely & so I propped things against it though at least I was the only person staying there so I felt less vulnerable. Having said that: at £22.50 for the night despite not eating any breakfast I feel I probably got moreorless what I paid for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
6.9

A place to sleep with very nice staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Will, was very friendly and sociable. He gave my friend and I a treat for our first night. Recommended us places. Funny guy(; Fixed our water heater when we told him it wasnt working. The location was quite far off from Manchester itself. Wont recommend if you are that type that goes home extremely late. Unless you go to his pub. The room is above a pub/bar. Our roomed was a private one so we had a our own toilet which was spacious and nice. Enjoyed ourselves greatly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
5.7

Fairly easy to get to from Manchester, but would be super helpful for future people to actually write the suburb too! We went to market st in central Manchester and took 2 hours to figure out where to go (there are 3 market streets!) No toiletpaper, couldn't eat breakfast as the table had millions of dead mini flies on it. Lock in the bedroom or the toilet didn't work. Tv didn't work. But staff was great and the fish and chips in the bar: so cheap and sooo good! Nice out of city bustle location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Came to Manchester for a Festival and couldn't have asked for a better location. Hospitality was fantastic, Will dropped off and picked up everyone each day and the atmosphere was great all weekend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.9

we had a dorm type room with shared bathroom which wasnt a problem,we had full use of the kitchen and as we decided to bring food to do a fry up we had to ask will the landlord for plates knives forks and cups as there wasnt enough,he done this within 10 minits,we were there to go to socceraid at old trafford,will took us there and gave me a taxi number to get back,nothing is ever too much trouble for wil..absolute brilliant bloke,food in the bar amazing,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
7.4

The staff are very helpful and accommodating, overall well worth the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.7

For the purposes of the weekend trip; the hostel/pub was perfect. Upon arrival at the venue, the staff were extremely friendly and ensured that everything was satisfactory. The room itself was relatively cheap, clean and fairly spacious; it suited our needs perfectly. Being above a pub meant it was amazing to drink then literally just have to stagger up to bed when we had enough; the benefits of home with the atmosphere of a pub. The food was really good, I highly recommend the Cajun chicken!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
7.7

Friendly, helpful staff. Bring groceries from the city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2016
4.9

Nino is amazing, he is very friendly and very nice, but the place is far away from Manchester and there isn't much to do around. The price is very high and not even the shower works properly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.